🌋 For the latest information on Iceland's volcanic activity click here

About

Black Sheep Campers is a seasoned player in the car rental industry, offering a range of 4x4 campers that allow you to enjoy the open road without limits. They are committed to fulfilling customer expectations with no hidden charges or added fees. Customer reviews on Northbound highlight their excellent service, reliable vehicles, and the overall value for money. When you book Black Sheep Campers through Northbound, you're choosing a supplier that consistently receives positive feedback for their quality service and commitment to customer satisfaction. Northbound's strong partnership with Black Sheep Campers ensures a smooth and hassle-free booking process, enhancing your Icelandic adventure.

Reviews

9.35
50 total reviews
Fantastic!
5-Star
76%
4-Star
24%
3-Star
0%
2-Star
0%
1-Star
0%
Staff
9.3
Value
8.9
Cleanliness
9.3
Pickup
9.3
Dropoff
9.3
Condition
8.3

50 reviews for Black Sheep Campers

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from Black Sheep Campers

Submitted 21. Nov 2023
Outstanding!
The instructions were very easy to understand when we picked up and dropped off the car. They were very responsive to my inquiries. Although, it was a short road trip, we enjoyed every bit of it and loved the rental! It was perfect! We will be returning so we will definitely be renting from them again.
Lorena rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 07. Nov 2023
Very Good
Gareth rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 27. Oct 2023
Excellent
Everything was great, except for the space utilisation in the car. Because of the cooler, a bag with a heater, a box with dishes, a outdoor table with two chairs, and the sleeping equipment- there isn't really a lot of space left for your own belongings when going to sleep. We had to resort to leaving the table and chairs outside of the car in the evening and really kind of pushing all other things into the car to make it all fit.
Jesse rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 25. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
Lovisa rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 24. Oct 2023
Very Good
Zi-hao rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 30. Sep 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was amazing from the car service to the excellent customer care! So happy
Erika rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 05. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
Max rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 21. Sep 2023
Outstanding!
Had a great experience traveling the entire ring road in this car! The tent withstood all the weather perfectly and was quite warm. We had all the equipment we needed within the rental for a successful car camping trip.
Victoria rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 11. Sep 2023
Outstanding!
Dylan rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 09. Sep 2023
Outstanding!
Car was perfect for me and my girlfriend for a 4 day trip. We’re both around 5’5” and it felt like the perfect fit. It was more comfortable than we expected
Dominic rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 01. Sep 2023
Excellent
Stefan rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 28. Aug 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was fine. That was my First time in a roof tent and I loved this experience.
Aleksandra rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 27. Aug 2023
Outstanding!
Very good!!
Magdalena rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 28. Aug 2023
Outstanding!
The whole communication with Blacksheep campers went smooth. I could reach to them even via whatsapp so that was very convinient. Suzuki Jimmy was very nicely mainrained camper and roof tent was super easy to setup. The sleeping bags and matress was clean and very warm and comfortable! I drove the camper in highlands and had no issues whatsoever. I fully recommend Blacksheep campers and I will book again when in Iceland. Thanks for the experience 👍
Omkar rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 26. Aug 2023
Outstanding!
Tamas rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 22. Aug 2023
Great
The car was a Suzuki Grand Vitara, not a Ford Explorer. The car was quite old, but everything was working ok. We had a break oil leak, but they serviced in half an hour. The wiper blades should be replaced, and something was rattling in the driver door window mechanism, maybe a loose screw. I personally was more happier with a cheaper old car wearing little scratches and chips instead of a new one, where I have to worry about any scratches. Somehow on the phone the email was not readable, that the car is a Suzuki instead of the Ford, so I did not find it at first, but after calling the support everything worked fine. I'd go back to Iceland tomorrow, and continue exploring the nature.
Peter rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 27. Aug 2023
Outstanding!
Our trip with the Ford explorer was very nice. We had everything we needed for camping. We are two adults and two children and we could sleep two in the car and the two children in the roof tent. We had no major problem with the car, some little bugs that could be fixed: the lift gate window sometimes randomly unlock without any reason while driving.
Francois rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 12. Aug 2023
Outstanding!
wouldn't hesitate to rent this again. the mattress was actually quite comfortable and the car did everything I needed.
Jon rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 04. Aug 2023
Outstanding!
Black Sheep campers were amazing! And the booking process on northbound was easy.
Drake rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 27. Jul 2023
Outstanding!
We had a great week in Iceland with it and everything was perfect!
Kai rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 19. Jul 2023
Good
The car and the top roof tent are excellent. The sleeping bags, pillows and mattress were also very good. Some kitchen utensils, such as pots and pans, should be renewed. The worst drawback of the rental was that at the time of booking, the app gave us the option to return the vehicle to Keflavik airport, which was fine for us to finish the trip. In fact, this was one of the main reasons for renting through your company, but at the end this option was not available, and our return to the airport was by bus. You should remove this option from your website because it is misleading.
Roger rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 17. Jul 2023
Excellent
This was a seamless rental. We had lots of questions which were kindly responded to by the staff. The rental pick up and drop off was seamless and I appreciated their trust in their customers, unlike the large car companies who try and get as much money out of you as possible. Overall Black Sheep Campers was incredible and I will be using them again on my future trips to Iceland!
Savanna rented a vehicle in July 2023
The Supplier Response:
Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that your rental with Black Sheep Campers was seamless and enjoyable from start to finish. Our team is dedicated to providing excellent service and ensuring our customers have a memorable and hassle-free adventure.

We're glad that our staff could assist you with all your questions and concerns. We understand that renting a camper can involve many details, and we always aim to be responsive and helpful to make the process as smooth as possible.

It warms our hearts to know that you appreciated our trust in our customers. We believe in transparency and fairness, and we're committed to offering straightforward and reasonable pricing without hidden fees. It's essential for us to build trust with our customers, and your kind words reinforce that we're on the right track.

We're delighted to have been a part of your Iceland trip, and we're honored that you're considering using Black Sheep Campers again for your future adventures. Iceland is a beautiful country with so much to explore, and we'd be more than happy to welcome you back and provide you with the same incredible service.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and for your glowing review. Your satisfaction is our ultimate reward, and we can't wait to see you on your next trip to Iceland!

Safe travels and warmest regards.
Submitted 04. Jul 2023
Outstanding!
We loved our Grand Vitara with the rooftop tent. Sleeping in the rooftop tent was comfy and better than expected. There was also plenty of room for our son to sleep in the vehicle. Black sheep campers was responsive when we had questions. Overall, it was a great trip and a great experience.
Kristin rented a vehicle in June 2023
The Supplier Response:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic trip with the Grand Vitara and rooftop tent. Our team at Black Sheep Campers is dedicated to providing the best possible camping experiences for our customers, and we're delighted to know that we could contribute to your memorable journey.

It's fantastic to hear that you found the Grand Vitara and rooftop tent to be comfortable, providing you and your son with a restful sleep during your adventure. We always strive to offer top-notch equipment and amenities, ensuring our customers have a truly enjoyable and hassle-free camping experience.

Moreover, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our responsiveness. Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, and we are committed to being there for our clients every step of the way. Your positive feedback motivates us to keep delivering exceptional service to all our customers.

Once again, thank you for choosing Black Sheep Campers for your trip, and we are truly grateful for your recommendation. If you ever plan another camping adventure, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. We'd love to be a part of your future journeys and continue providing you with the best camping experiences.

Safe travels and happy camping!
Submitted 05. Jul 2023
Fantastic!
The car didn’t give us much trouble. It was a 2017 duster 4X4 manual. Rusted at places but mechanically sound. There were a few rough edges but nothing to bother us. The pick up and drop off was hassle free. Overall good experience and have nothing to complain about. Would recommend these guys for renting your car.
Aditya rented a vehicle in June 2023
The Supplier Response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We're glad to hear that your experience with the 2017 Duster 4X4 manual was overall a positive one. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the rust spots; our team constantly works to maintain our fleet in the best possible condition, and we appreciate your understanding.

We're pleased to know that the car performed well mechanically, despite the minor rough edges. Our goal is to provide reliable vehicles that can take you on your journeys with confidence, and it's rewarding to hear that the Duster met your expectations in that regard.

We take pride in ensuring a hassle-free experience for our customers, and we're delighted that the pick-up and drop-off process went smoothly for you. We understand that convenience and efficiency are crucial when renting a car, and we strive to make the process as seamless as possible.

Your recommendation means a lot to us. We value our customers' trust and are committed to maintaining the quality of service that led you to recommend us to others.

Should you need a rental car in the future, we'd be more than happy to assist you again. Please feel free to reach out to us, and we'll be ready to provide you with another excellent car rental experience.

Thank you once again for choosing us, and we wish you many more wonderful adventures ahead!
Submitted 23. Jun 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was Fine. Duster seems to be most common car in Island and it was absolutely sufficient car even for the offroads. Sleepeng was Fine in the car for two People. Everything was prepared sleeping bags gas and cooking Dejvice plates even a Sharp knive and bottle of watter. We didnt take the car non personally Just with the key Lock before. It was ok becouse we arrive at 1.am... car was without any troubles so yes. Next time and thx
Jiri rented a vehicle in June 2023
The Supplier Response:
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We're glad to hear that everything was fine and that the Duster proved to be a suitable car for your off-road adventures. We take pride in providing well-equipped campers, and we're delighted that you found the sleeping arrangements comfortable.

It's great to know that everything was prepared for you, including the sleeping bags, gas, cooking devices, plates, a sharp knife, and even a bottle of water. We understand the convenience of our non-personal key lock system, especially for late-night arrivals like yours at 1 am.

We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that the car performed without any issues throughout your trip. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you for choosing BlackSheepCampers, and we're here for you whenever you need us.

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.