Reviews for Northern Lights Car Rental

Smooth rental experience with Northern Lights car rental. It was the best price we could find online. We rented the vehicle for 7 days and had no issue nor complaint about the vehicle. Airport pick up process was a bit hectic with a large crowd waiting upon arrival, so only one passenger from each reservation was shuttled to the office and expects to come back and pick up your travel companion.

Northbound provided excellent customer service, I had to amend my reservation prior to arrival and their staff made it so seamless.

Maris

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Very easy.

Deanna

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

very comfortable and easy to set up an pack away again ... considering to get one for my own 4WD in Australia

Markus

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

View all cars from this company

Click here

Ljudmila

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Raquel

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Was not a Dacia Logan but a Hunday I30.
All was fine, the only problemwe had to wait 40 minutes before someone picked us up to pick up the car.

Alessandro

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Logan

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The car was good, though the steering wheel was a bit shaky at speeds between 70/80. Furthermore the roof tent was fine but during windy and rainy weather, water came insight and it became wet. In addition, the cooking stove was not really working properly as we were not able to adjust the flame. These are some small drawbacks concerning the equipment - would be good if these would be fixed for the next customer. But in general we are satisfied with your service.

Robert

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Northbound representatives are very responsive in replying to emails. Excellent service. Thank you.

Philippe

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The car itself was great, but the service was not ideal. The car needed check-ups that should have happened prior to rental. The rear light was out, making reversing in the dark dangerous and challenging. Start-up was weak and concerning. I was not sure if the car would make it. We purchased camping kitchen gear and there was no cutting knife provided, either. This is a pretty standard tool for camping and the response we got was that we were being a bit demanding.

Cristina

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Ok, a little smaller in the back seat for 3 adults than we had hoped for. The car ran perfectly and we enjoyed getting around in it. Appreciated the charger for a phone and r

Eileen

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Everything was fine, and our journey went very well. Suzuki Jimny is perfect for Iceland, a little rough on tarmac but very tough and reliable on gravel. We did also some river crossing and everything worked perfectly.
Just a minor issue, a headlight out but it was no problem since I almost always drove in daylight.
The roof tent was very practical, easy to open and close, and definitely very comfortable!
The staff was always very kind and efficient.
I definitely recommend Northern Lights Car Rental.

Davide

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Conforme à notre attente :-) mais compliqué quand vent violent
Une poêle et un couvercle seraient les bienvenus dans le set de cuisine.

JEROME

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Nice car to drive!

Vitaliy

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Service was brilliant from start to finish. We had an issue with tyre pressures leaving the office and was told to just inflate them ourselves at a garage so we did. Then the one tyre went flat completely after 20 or so miles. We got straight onto the emergency line and were told to go to a garage nearby to have it replaced or fixed. They fixed it but then it blew just yards from the garage. We went to a 2nd garage who changed it to a new tyre. The communication from David at the office was outstanding! We have nothing but high praise for how it was handled and we didn’t have any other issues for the rest of the week. The car itself is great for the F roads, and economical, we covered 1770 miles in the 7 days. The roof tent was cold a couple of nights but that’s to be expected, it’s very comfortable for 2 people and space in the car is great. I wouldn’t want to use it for more than 2 people though if having it for a week...

Marc

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

I asked to show me the car before I pay. Car was dirty inside and in very bad condition, I asked about another one. They said they do not have. I did not accepted that one and was ready to look for other rental company, then they gave me Renault Traffic in excellent condition. Car was great. I would not recommend anyone to pay before you see the car.

Janis

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Renault Trafic

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The 4x4 was reliable. Unfortunately for the money, approx $100/day, the car was very old.

Dave

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Everything is beyond good I’d say. 4WD with sport and mud/sand mode allows for all conditions of road. 24/7 airport shuttle service is fantastic for flight at anytime. It would be better if there is a suggestion on the website about the car insurance.

Ruoyan

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

It was okay, except for the problems we had the first day with the battery and the gas levels. We phoned several times and the first time we phoned the person who took the phone was very rude and didn't want to help us. The rest of them very well. The car and the transportation to and from the airport was als okay.

Pau

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Jimmy had 175k on it and was worn out. To say it wallowed in the wind was putting it mildly. After using 4x4 the wheels locked up and a mechanic was needed to in unlock them, cost us 25,000k.

James

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Our Suzuki was an excellent vehicle and it performed admirably of the F-roads!! It was well maintained and cared for. The staff at Northern Lights were quick, responsive, and easy to get in touch with. They were the first to welcome me to the country made my experience in Iceland convenient and memorable. Their prices beat the competition and they will surely provide a serious return-on-investment.

Jared

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

The Suzuki vitara met all our needs.

Susan

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Una gran experiencia, el coche era nuevo y cumplió nuestras expectativas. El servicio muy correcto

FRANCISCO JAVIER

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Everything went extremely well. We were picked up from the airport earlier than we scheduled and we had no problems returning the car. We purchased the extra gravel insurance and it really saved us. We ended up cracking our windshield and getting dents from the roads, and we didn't have to pay anything extra. It may seem like an extra unnecessary cost, but it saved us a lot of money in the end. I would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling beyond Reykjavik. Overall, great experience with Northern Lights Car Rental. Friendly and helpful staff.

Olivia

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Andre

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

View all cars from this company

Click here

La voiture était propre mais :
L'agence n a pas de monnaie pour paiement en espèces
Voiturier pas aimable et pas disponible pour nous expliquer les choses correctement
Le second responsable de l'agence sentait l alcool très fort !
Voiture : roue de secours usée jusqu'au témoin, suspension à mon avis usée, volant qui vibte tres fort à 70 km/h, consommation excessive
Nous avons du payer +de 50 euros pour 6 heures de location en.plus (restitution prévue à 23h et nous l avons rendu à 5h)

SIMON

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Hi,
Our experience with the car itself was not as good as we expected. The car was pretty old, it had 155.000km on the clock and was not comfortable to be driven at all, brakes clutch, transmission, direction control, suspension, everything has to be checked and repaired in that car prior renting it. Icelandic roads are rough and sometimes can be dangerous in a car like that.
The rooftent was in the same condition as the car, pretty old with holes everywhere (we had to buy duct tape to repair it).

Although the pick-up at drop-off with NL was really easy going, and the staff was friendly as well.

We are coming back to Iceland soon (hopefully) and we will try another car rental company and maybe a different car also, but we will most probably use Northbound again as the website and customer service is good.

Alberto

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

I rented a Suzuki from 2015, but got one from 2013 with already 128800 km. Day 11 the engine was overheating because of a broken cooling belt. Lucky we were close to the town Egilsstadir. The person from Northern Lights Car rental gave us a good phone support. The car was quickly repaired en redelivered. If this had happened two days earlier in Kerlingjarfjöll, it would have been terrible. So we were very lucky, not ?
We read on their site : Opening hours
In Keflavik we are open 24/7
This was not the case. We had to choose the hour of return.
So we were very surprised about this.

Marc

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Our original flight was canceled I sent an email regarding the change. The rental (Northern Lights) apparently did not recieve the message.
When we arrived, we had to have the help desk call to have us picked up.
The man that transported us from the airport to the car rental location was VERY rushed, did not help with luggage. We had to chase after him.... were instructed to "C'mon, C'mon let's go. Put the bags in ... get in". There was NO conversation on the way.
When we arrived, he said "the keys are in it, go!"
We went in, signed agreements and left.
On returning vehicle, the person who so rudely picked us up from the airport was more conversant, NOT helpful with luggage, but delivered us to the airport alive.
The vehicle was less than expected ... never used on "F" roads (I don't think it could handle them ... regardless)
The Jimny struggled to make it up most hills, specifically Route 1...

Sophia

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

The guy was too busy, we have no chance to talk in details for my rental terms. My stop run out battery on 18/10. I rang to man he told me to call taxi to help jump start and promise to pay me back the cost. It was 3000 krona. I don't know to claim back this as the rental guy was so busy.

Yiu Wah

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

the people working there are ok, especially the lady and man from Romania who did the 2 airport transport were very friendly and reliable. But I was very disappointed about the car we received: A Dacia Duster 4 wheel with more than 130.000 kilometers (!!) - I have been renting dozens of car but never had one with more than 100.000 km. Funny enough your rental office team was highly recommending (insisting) to an insurance upgrade for gravel protection which I finally agreed, but what a nonsense for a car with more than 130.000 kilometers that has seen all roads and gravel of whole Iceland hundreds of time... Next pain point: The fuel consumption was terribly high (around 9-10 liters per 100km) also mainly driving 80km with 6th gear and not many steep or bad roads - my budget for filling up the tank was far above everything I had expected before. After 2nd day a yellow warning lamp was showing up - obviously something with air pressure of tires but we first had problems to find out the systematic of checking and charging air...

Andreas

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster