About

Northern Lights Car Rental, a local car rental provider in Iceland, offers a wide range of vehicles, including 4x4s, 2WDs, and campers. Their commitment to low prices, quality vehicles, and personal service has earned them a solid reputation among travelers.

Northbound customers who have rented from Northern Lights Car Rental have shared their positive experiences, highlighting the company's reliable vehicles and excellent customer service. One customer praised the company for its seamless pick-up and drop-off process, while another appreciated the car's performance on tough mountain terrains.

When you choose to rent a Northern Lights Car Rental vehicle through Northbound, you're not just getting a car; you're gaining a partner that's committed to making your Icelandic adventure unforgettable.

Reviews

8.21
919 total reviews
Good
5-Star
69%
4-Star
22%
3-Star
6%
2-Star
2%
1-Star
1%
Staff
8.4
Value
7.4
Cleanliness
8.7
Pickup
8.7
Dropoff
9.1
Condition
7

861 reviews for Northern Lights Car Rental

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from Northern Lights Car Rental

Submitted 03. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
The car is great, it did well on dirt roads. The rental company quickly prepared the car and picked up. I bought a platinum insurance package and didn't worry about anything. I will probably rent again from this place in the future. Employees in Northern Lights also speak Polish.
Wojciech rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 04. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Sameera rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 19. May 2024
Very Good
All staff were amazing and very helpful, only thing is when being collected from the airport the driver was constantly on her phone. Suzuki Jimny with a roof tent was great. Tent itself was very clean and comfortable.
Amber rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 09. May 2024
Good
В целом, машина мне понравилась. Не смотря, на внушительный пробег (245 тысяч километров) мотор работал хорошо и особенно хорошо работала коробка передач. Потребление бензина- минимальное. Меня это очень порадовало, с учетом цен на бензин в Исландии. Единственное, водительская дверь прилегала не очень плотно и было много шума. Иногда, с нее дул ветер. Не сильно, но моя голова это чувствовала. Повторюсь. Машина прекрасная. Я проехал 1000 км за три дня
Roman rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 17. Mar 2024
Outstanding!
Everything went well as agreed. We did whole ring road in March 2024. Went through sun, rain and snow without problem. Car is equipped with winter tires with spikes. Great service, everyting on time. All recommendations!
Miljan rented a vehicle in March 2024
Submitted 20. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
świetna wypożyczalnia, auto w pełni sprawne bez problemów dało się polubić :), obsługa super miła i pomocna POLECAM!!!!
Karol rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 06. Feb 2024
Fine
Had a bad experience with Northern Lights Car Rental in the check in process: - different information in the invoices received (total ammount of 32.384 ISK or 32.051,42 ISK) - the 5.033 ISK ammount already paid was at first not being considered by the rental car firm as they wanted to charge the full ammount. Only after hard conversation I paid the new ammount asked (28.051 ISK) just to avoid more trouble even though it was above the ammount due - they tried very agressively to sell an upgrated insurance - the car was in very bad shape and lacked performance - the radio was not functioning
Tiago rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 23. Nov 2023
Good
Armando rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 12. Nov 2023
Excellent
The car was perfect for driving through Iceland
Tjarco rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 06. Nov 2023
Outstanding!
The car was ideal for our road trip across Iceland. It handled all the roads well and had enough space for all our luggage, as well as 4 adults. The heated seats, air conditioning and bluetooth music options were also very useful. Also the pickup and drop off service from the airport was very smooth. We landed earlier than expected and still managed to pick the car up early without any issues. The whole process was very smooth, and we didn't have any issues, highly recommend Northern Lights!
Kelem rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 11. Oct 2023
Fine
Good value for money. The problem was that when we arrived at the airport there was only one seat available on the shuttle so they told me to leave my wife waiting for me at the airport and come back later to get her or call a taxi for her. I didn’t like to leave her alone like that waiting for me to come back with the car, this is not good planning. A member of the staff was pretty rude.
Fabio rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 11. Oct 2023
Great
The cruise control was vital to help maintain the speeds and avoid traffic tickets.
James rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 02. Oct 2023
Fantastic!
It was Ok
Mateusz rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 20. Sep 2023
Excellent
Great car for the highlands!
Vincent rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 17. Sep 2023
Very Good
Car was changed to Suzuki Vitara
Christoph rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 31. Aug 2023
Manteinance of the car is terrible. Serveral lights of error in the panel, including engine error, and your staff said it was ok. The car has no power at all, almost impossible to drive at 70km/h up hill.
Alejandro rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 01. Sep 2023
Fantastic!
The car is in very good technical condition, quick service and help in providing the necessary information
Piotr rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 26. Aug 2023
Good
Car was good, considering I chose an older car. It had some dents and scratches, but I didn't mind. The cigarette lighter (to use my USB chargers) was not working, but all it needed was a fuse The car had the orange engine light on, and sometimes it would cut back on power, but nothing major, still got us everywhere we needed to go (including the off-road F roads!)
Duncan rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 24. Aug 2023
Good
It was okay. The lights didn’t work properly, and therefore I had to use the full headlights in order to see at night. It was very expensive considering the same car in March was 1/3 of the price, but of course this is because of the summer months no doubt.
Brendan rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 25. Aug 2023
Fine
We got a Dacia Duster 2015 instead of 2017 as booked. It also had already 380000 km on it. Fuel gauge was broken. Therefore, the poor price-performance ratio.
Tobias rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 10. Aug 2023
Very Good
Lorenzo rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 13. Aug 2023
Very Good
Lisa rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 17. Aug 2023
Good
The car was not the news model but drove really good and was for the roads in Iceland what we needed. The price to rent the car was really good.
Arne rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 10. Aug 2023
Fantastic!
Perfect communication and car
Isabel rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 14. Aug 2023
Excellent
The Jimny was reliable, good maintained. The rooftent was ok. We knew we‘ll rent a 7 year old car. So: we will recommend it to friends.
Karlheinz rented a vehicle in July 2023

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.