Reviews for Northern Lights Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
It was a good choice. Everything went well. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 14. Sep 2022
Good
We had a very nice holiday in Iceland and luckily we didn't have any car trouble driving on the Icelandic gravel roads. Nevertehless my opinion about the car was that its quality was under standard: - the hood was trembling when riding over roads that were not perfectly flat (so it trembled most of the time) - the gearbox makes noise when it its shift from 2 to 3 and from 3 to 4 - there is also a trembling noise at the left rear wheel (probably a worn out shock absorber) Conclusion: The car had too many km's (287.500) to be in a good condition.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 17. Sep 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 01. Sep 2022
Worst experience I’ve ever had. Finding your shuttle driver was difficult. She was angry with all passengers. The agent pointed out MANY things that were wrong with the car when he gave it to us - multiple warning lights stayed on, dents, torn seats. We had to work on the driver’s door before we could get it to lock because the lock was falling off. The clutch is failing. I brought it back a day early but was refused a refund. NEVER again!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 13. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was in good condition for our 3 week rental. It handled all the F Roads and unpaved roads well. A spare tire was in the car, with a jack and a safety/medical kit. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. They did not try to claim damages to the vehicle that I did not cause, like some other car rental companies. Thankfully, they did not try to upsell mThe car was in good condition for our 3 week rental. It handled all of the F Roads and other unpaved roads. A spare tire e insurance that I did not want. My only critcism is that they could have done a better job cleaning the windshield (inside and outside) before the rental. Overall, I was very happy with the service and would recommend them.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 07. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Fantastic service, I got the vehicle I needed with tent for F roads. Everything worked as expected. Thanks
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
I had a wonderful rental experience with Northern Lights - the car was exactly what I'd requested (being familiar with Subarus), and was in excellent shape. Airport pickup and drop off was on time, and beautifully coordinated. Most of all, I admired the staff's ability to provide a very personalized booking and rental experience. I'll happily rent from them again, during future visits to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Good
Lacking some acceleration, but overall it was great.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 26. Aug 2022
Good
The online booking went easy, perhaps some more detail photos of the car/tent. We booked at northbound.is but later two other companies took over the reservation which is a bit confusing. Questions are answered quickly and clearly by customer service. The pickup service and arrival was good. During our trip, the car has performed great. Although the tent was not weatherproof and our mattress and sleeping bags got wet.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 21. Aug 2022
Very Good
The car was a bit rundown, the gearbox was hard to operate, the engine made a strange noise sometimes, but it did the job. The fan on the top of the roof tent was leaking in rain somewhat when the car was going. We could see that probably an earlier customer covered it by tape, but it did not help. We also tried, with limited success. Disregarding these issues we enjoyed our time in Iceland with the car. The customer support was excellent.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 20. Aug 2022
Good
Pickup from the airport was slightly chaotic. There was one gentleman running the shuttle back and forth from the airport and could only fit 8 people. My husband and I had to split up, one stay behind and one go for pickup. Not a huge deal but overall the checkin experience took a much longer time than we allotted for. On our second to last day, our car began to give us mechanical issues. They were unable to help us that evening but luckily our car was still drivable so we were still able to venture out and see things. They were willing to exchange our rental for us to have for our last day and were extremely accommodating. Could not say better things about the in-person customer support. Everyone we interacted with was kind. If I had to select one thing to improve upon, it would be the pillows for the roof top tent. Mine had mold on it and I’m highly allergic to mold. Thankfully I had packed a decent travel pillow for the flight. Overall, we would use this company again though!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Great
véhicule moyen dans l'ensemble
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Great
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 24. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Absolutely satisfying! Thanks to Northern Lights Car Rental we had an awesome and flexibel stay in Iceland as well as a mind-blowing impression of the country. We would recommend NLCR without any hesitation.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 22. Aug 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 11. Aug 2022
Fine
Everything was fine until the staff failed to mention that a small 5mm diameter dent on the car would get you charged the full deductible amount which is extortionate. I fully expect to have to pay something but the full deductible is a ridiculous amount for such a small area of damage. And they tried to tell me the cost would have been even more except that we had upgraded insurance which is even more ridiculous! After contesting the cost issue, I was only then informed that I can email in a few days to find out if the cost of repair is less that they will arrange a refund but that they wouldn't contact me automatically to arrange this which is akin to thievery as far as I am concerned. Either the service department is lying about the amount of time/effort that will go into repairing the vehicle or they are deliberately inflating prices in order to get more money. Would not hire from this company again. I would rather pay more for another company that is more forthright in their dealings with customers when issues go wrong as this is when customer service is really important.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Good
For all the places we encountered, this car, for some inexplicable reason, seemed to work on any road. In that sense, although quite small and fragile-looking, it was perfect for our adventure. However, as the days went by, the tent had several holes that got bigger and bigger, and the waterproofness got way less within each day. We would wake up with drops on our faces, our sleeping bags wet on our feet. That was really not nice since Iceland is famous for raining all the time. Overall we found the car okay. Not great but okay.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Good
Car was good agency did not refund bringing car back more than 1day earlier or credit insurance. Poor customer service. Also should tell customers about buying gas cards at N 1,
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 15. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
It was okay. Pretty good on bumpy roads, a bit unstable on paved roads. The tent was not perfect though - it has become very wet during the trip and because of that the pillow was humid all the time and it was impossible to dry it. The tent should be more waterproof, in my opinion. But overall, it was a great experience, thank you!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 04. Aug 2022
Good
A problem with the car break but changed immediately so nice ..and very useful the airport transfert nice agent too
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 10. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The best car rental company in Iceland! They picked us up and brought us directly to the airport. The car worked like a charm! The service was perfect and transparent. I recommend!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 05. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Great pick up service 24/7 at the airport. The car was clean and easy process when giving it back, no issues. The Dacia Duster 4x4 proved very good for river crossing F225/F208 and F206, F207.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 10. Aug 2022
Good
The car already had a mileage of over 290' km, the condition and the fuel consumption (11 liters) was accordingly bad. The existing damage was significantly more extensive than noted on the handover protocol. We documented these by photos and they did not pose any problems when we returned the car. During our 4.5' km the engine control lamp came on 3x, this is apparently normal in the road conditions. We had tried several times to reach the mobile service but this did not work due to my phone. An email asking for a call back was only answered with a reference to the hotline. The employees were very eager and courteous.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 30. Jul 2022
Good
The car did the job. The car had 177k kilometers and made me a bit uncomfortable
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Excellent
I was surprised how much the car shakes at 70 km, but it is not your fault.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 02. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent experience and great service! Suzuki Jimny was a champ, drove the whole island :)
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 02. Aug 2022
Good
Overall a positive experience with my Suzuki Jimny with roof tent. But I would remark the following: - the car was too old with 100.000 km and even if it worked, we had the feeling that it was ending his life soon (due to road conditions and km and some noises in the mechanical part) - this also cause huge use of fuel. -kitchen book really below expectation. For that price, I would not expect just a little camping-gas with very minimal stuff to cook (seems they just provided randomly some old stuff - gas was already half used). Knowing this, you can bring your own stuff from home saving money. I DO NOT RECCOMEND IT. -the roof tent was ok. -overall price was super-expensive but you should consider that this solution offer you the possibility to drive&sleep having no time pressure.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Everything well
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 02. Aug 2022
Fine
The car was clean and in very good condition / low mileage. But 1. Your instructions regarding arrival at the airport and pick up were inconsistent with what the rental company delivered. There was no one at the arrivals with a board waiting for us. The information we received from you was that there should have been – and as a result we were confused. Eventually we rang the rental company number and we were told that the driver could not find us and had left. This seemed strange as we were standing by the exit door in clear view. Eventually, the driver returned and picked us up – but we had to wait over 30 minutes and were not sure as to what we should do. 2. On return to the airport the driver was using her mobile phone to listen to private calls and to answer messages etc. She was not always in control of the vehicle and I did not feel safe (I was sitting in the front seat). I assume that using mobile phones in your hand in Iceland is illegal. This was not a good advert for yourselves or the rental company company.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 28. Jul 2022
Excellent
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 25. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Nice camper car, staff very helpful and 24h pickup and drop-off with shuttle to the airport. I would rent a car again with them for sure.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 30. Jul 2022
Excellent
Cute car. East to drive. No blindspots. Very rugged. Suspension was lacking. Had to go VERY slow on the F roads because the vibration was overwhelming. However, other 2015 jimnys on the roads seemed to be going much quicker than us. Maybe I was given a bad car? Other than the suspension it drove very well.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 25. Jul 2022
At the drop off I have been told that there is a damage (two dents and small scratches) on passenger's front door, which supposedly occured during my rental period. I was very doubtful because we really took care and parked car in campsites or elsewhere in safe distance from other cars. Because I was stressed due to approaching flight and intimidating attitude of your employee, I signed the »acknowledge of responsibility« and was charged the amount of 80.000 isk. On our way to the airport my children told me that they have noticed the damage already at the pick-up, but they didn't think it is important. I myself haven't inspected the car carefully, because I trusted that this has been done by staff (which was the case on our arrival). But we did made some photos at pick-up and the dent can be seen on the photo. I wote to the company asking for refund (and attached the photo), but received no answer....
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 17. Jul 2022
Excellent
Everything went perfect from reservation to pick-up to drop-off! Communication with the Office is very easy and always fast reply. We would recommand Northbound to everyone who wants to enjoy the island by car.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 20. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Amazing car. Super easy and clear on how to pick up and drop off. The staff was very nice and quick and I was able to get on the road quickly. The car was quite expensive though - admittedly it was booked closer to the rental date and Iceland is quite a popular location.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 08. Jul 2022
Good
It was everything ok with the car, just the tent on the top caused some small issues during the really windy days. Nothing to complain after all
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 16. Jul 2022
Great
Old but safe car. Everything worked fine.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
We rented the Dacia for 3 weeks and drove around the country with no problems at all. Iceland has some pretty narrow, steep and winding roads and there were no concerns at any point with the car. We were 3 adults with camping gear (Including a tent) and managed to pack everything in, though it was cozy! The car is basic, manual transmission without major bells or whistles. We needed an adaptor for the lighter to charge our cell phones, for example. However, I wasn't looking for luxury - I was looking for safety and practicality at a reasonable price and that is what I got. Staff and service were great too!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 12. Jul 2022
Excellent
Quick and easy rental with good price and quality. No problems with an old car with high mileage. Everything worked find, car was clean.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 10. Jul 2022
Very Good
Car was good, good value for money, a bit old, but performed well. Roof top tent was a new experience for us, but we loved it. Pickup could have been smoother - member of stuff met us at the airport, asked us to wait for the next transfer in 20 minites and then disappeared for 40, the company didn’t pick up the phone. Not critical, but had us worried. The rental also had a weird requirement to give them our credit card number, including cvc code, by writing it on a piece of paper (???). When we argued that it does not sound secure, they just kept saying that this is how they do things here. Drop-off ran smoothly.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 05. Jul 2022
Excellent
With 230.000 kms it already felt a bit old, but for our purpose, experiencing the highlands, it was great!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 11. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Rented a Duster 2017 with rooftop tent from Nothern Lights Rental, because they had the best price for that setup when we researched, so I was a bit suspicious. But have to say: Very good experience overall! (as the Icelandic weather is nothing to blame the rental company for ;-) But if you choose this setup you should be aware of the fact that - if it's rainy, which can happen a lot in iceland - all your life must happen inside the car, or the rooftent, or (if you find one) in the shared spaces of the campsites. Can sometimes get complicated especially for the gas-cooking in the wind. A Note: The rooftent only works for people up to a height of 1,90 I'd say to sleep comfortable. A TIP: If you have to build down the rooftent while rain, you should put the matress into the car to dry over the day, otherwise you'll get it wet from the water on the other cover of the tent and have a moldy bed in the evening. Nothern lights rental did a very good job, also the very friendly staff, who took some time to answer questions, although it was busy at rent out and drop off. We got a free upgrade to a 2019 model, because the originally 2017 Duster had some strange noise from the machine. That car brought us safely through 14 days of iceland, including Highland visit (fyi: F905 and 910 works with the Duster, but be sure to contact the rangers (for example at Dreki hut) before to check the conditions, especially water-levels in the rivers). Against my prejudice the Duster 2019 is a great car for it's price, the best 4x4 in this pice-segment you can get imho! Just a small critique would be the cheap quality of the Camping Equipment they rent, especially the stove and the dishes could be a bit more higher quality, they would also last longer then ;-) But would absolutely recommend the experience.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 09. Jul 2022
Great
The car made it through the trip but unfortunately had 4 bald tires I didn’t catch on the initial inspection and when we accelerated would make a cranking sound. Otherwise a good car that handled itself well!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 07. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
All good, staff was super friendly, no problems with the car, check in and out was fast. Special mention to the guy that check us in and out, and also drove us to the hotel, he was very nice. (Romanian guy, with long black hair.. can't remember the name😅). Just a couple of comments: On arrival we were not sure what to do, wait, go outside to look for the shuttle car..? We asked the guy at the counter and he told us that the drivers come to pick up people and that we should wait. It will be good to state this clearly somewhere (if it already is and we missed it, our bad). The car doors don't have a blocked position when opened, maybe this is to prevent them from being open and potentially damaged by the wind, but at the same time is quiet annoying when you are unloading your stuff because the door will close on you all the time. (Again, if there's a good reason for this, ignore the comment 🙂). Thanks!!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 03. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
It was amazing to have that kind of freedom in Iceland. The rooftop tent worked great and my son enjoyed sleeping in it. We can highly recommend this service to others.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 14. Jul 2022
Very Good
Unfortunately we could drive only 20km. After 20km the Motor did not start anyway. But the Service was very good, After 30minutes we got a new suzuki vitara and holidays could begin. 3 days later we had another Problem with the car, so we lost a wheel in the middle of nowhere in the West of Island. We could find the Wheel and the Support of the rental car helped us to find a Person repairing the car ( Person works together with the car firm). Therefore we got a new second car 150km wider, the hyundai Tucson. Till the end of our holidays the car was very comfortable. Nevertheless the car had a smaller watt of depths than the suzuki vitara, therefore we could not drive through bigger Rivers. But that happens. All in all i am very satisfied with the support but not with the condition of the Cars we got at first.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 07. Jul 2022
Excellent
Our Dacia duster was a great fuel-efficient car to carry us through our journey in Iceland. The individuals at the rental agency were very kind and helpful with excellent customer service. The rooftop tent was surprisingly comfortable and handled the elements well. We especially appreciated that Northern Lights Car rental included a free airport transfer and the driver had a great sense of humor.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 30. Jun 2022
Great
It was not a 2017 Dacia Duster we got but an older Suzuki Gran Vitara. The car was exactly what we needed for our trip on Iceland. We were well informed by the staff of Northern Light Car Rental when we picked up the car. We had to search a bit for the shuttle service but found them. On return everything went smootly and we dropped on the airport well on time before our departure.
rented a vehicle in June 2022