Reviews for Northern Lights Car Rental

Everything was ok. On our arrival we didn’t see anyone, made a call and they get quickly. The car it was ok, I didn’t realize it was very tiny car but that was my fault, Jimny is good but with wind storm need to be more careful, for summer i think is good cheap option. We had good winter tires for bit of snow we had. Check out was easy, took us less than 30 min and they leave us in the airport, great chat btw with a polish guy. I’d recommend their service.

Helen from Mexico
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

The car was amazing, worked super well and we even got upgraded to a better newer car. The reason why i gave this a 3.5 though is because at the airport it was hard finding the company rep. I didnt see my name and also it didnt even have the rental car’s company name; it said iceland 4x4 but we thought it would be under northern lights rental, so this caused major confusion.

Also when renting the car we were basically forced to purchase additional protection for 300 canadian dollars or else they would freeze 3000 dollars on our credit card. This was really inconvenient because this was not addressed to us when we rented car off the site. Had we not brought our credits we would have been screwed for the trip due to something we weren’t even aware about. So please becareful and bring additional cash just incase!

Stephanie from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

The car was fine! However I am quite unhappy with the return service. No one was there to wait for us and confirm that the car has been returned and give us a confirmation.

silvia from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Great affordable price with the best customer support. Had an issue with the vehicle a few thousand KM into the trip and was taken care of in full within the hour. Car was as expected and performed good, will definitely choose Northbound on next trip.

Kasey from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

The car rental was easy to get and the car was reliable. We had no issues but were very glad we purchased gravel insurance. We had no major complaints

Cara from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

very good

Josef from Austria
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

We were picked up at the airport and brought directly to our car. The rental was well organized and we were very satisfied choosing Northern Lights Car Rental.

Markus from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Not great. The first vehicle we were rented we ended up having to return the next day, as the speedometer was not working. We were told the only solution was to bring the car back--not how we wanted to spend one of our few days in Iceland. When we returned to the car rental location, no one was there. When someone finally showed up, no vehicle was ready for us and we had to wait while they cleaned another vehicle--which had studs on the tires. The gentleman explained that they were illegal, but the company would pay the fine if we got pulled over. This seems like a pretty ramshackle operation. I would not recommend this company.

Hannah from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Hi All
Everything went quiet well with the car rantal. Still we have a few things to say. When we arrived at the Airport I had to call your company two times because after 40 minutes we were still standing at the airport and now one piked us up...... After nearly an hour I've got a call that a nother company takes care of us and brings us to the car rental office.

The car it self had quiet a lot of damages but still good for driving. Really positiv was the Wireless Internet in the car.

As I said, all we neede was a car (4x4). In this case all was fine and we had a nice trip.

Thanks and greetings
Fabian Boehmer

Fabian from Switzerland
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

The experience was great. We were picked up from the airport on time, set up with a vehicle as quickly as they were able to. We had no issues with the vehicle and loved driving it. Dropping off the rental was easy and we were immediately transported back to the airport. We would definitely rent from Northern Lights again!

Megan from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Only positive reviews about our whole car rental experience with Northbound and Northern Lights car rental! They came to pick us up at the airport and dropped us to the airport at the end of our trip. We have been very well welcomed in the middle of the night by the company's employees. The car was in very good condition and offered a GPS as well as a very practical free wifi device that was offering us internet access anywhere we travelled around the island. The whole process went perfectly, from the reservation, to anwering my questions before the trip, to insuring a great tip with our rental car. I would strongly recommend these companies!

Amelie from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Great experience! There to pick us up at the airport when we arrived and the service was fast and helpful. The car was great for the week and handled well in all weather and conditions. We had no issues with the vehicle and the price was a great deal based on other car rental options at the airport.

Sarah from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

hello Runar, I loved the country, its people and the trip. It is a country that is recommended to discover it and with the service you have provided us. the car very good and the deal also. It is a great company

Carlos from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Our car was great, we had a Jimny and it did everything we needed , easily handled a few bumpy roads as well. Having the gps Navman with the car was a huge help also. Thankyou

Hugh from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

About the car: it is as good as we expected about. Was clean and appropriated for the journey. Easy and sure to drive.
About Northern lights: when we arrived to the airport, October 2nd, 4 PM, nobody from the company was waiting us. We waited half and hour with anguish, so we decided to phone (International fare for us) and somebody answered that the person to pick ups us was on the way, that we have to wait...
20 minutes later, near 5 o'clock, arrived the person. When we asked him the reason of his delay, in a very bad way he said he had been busy... From that moment all the negotiation about the car was tough. He seemed to be hurried and angry.
The attention was better when we returned the car. The employee was polite and make everything easy.
Nevertheless we will recommend your company, in spite of this incident.
Regards
Susana Halperin

Susana from Argentina
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

It was fine, no problems, prompt pick up and drop off when they said they would. Only thing I didn't like was that we arrived at 4:30a.m. in the dark and rain and were told to look over the car to make note of any dents and scratches; very hard to do under those conditions without lights and trying to use a cell phone light but at least they had a paper where some of the marks were
located. It didn't turn out to be a problem. Would rent again from them.

Michael from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Very pleased with the car. It took us everwhere, in all weather conditions Reliable car.
Unfortunately the gps didn't work, so we used our smartphone. Wifi in the car!

Monique from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Fine car and value for money. Very informative staff. Willing to bend over backwards to help us!

terence from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Renting here was quick and easy. The communication from the members of the company is very good. They were very friendly and made everything so easy. Also, the vehicle was very nice, clean and affordable for what we needed. I would definitely rent from here again.

Shaquita from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

We booked the car for one week and it was adequate. We were able to use all roads (including F-roads) and there was free WiFi we could use even when we left the car to go for a walk!

Laura from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Had a good experience with the rental. Someone waited for us at the airport and the paperwork sign off went quickly. No issues with the car and the return was smooth as well.

Jan-Willem from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

We hired a Jimny from Northern Lights for our trip around Iceland. We were met at the airport and taken to our car. The pick up process was really easy and we were given some very useful information about the car and driving in Iceland. We were even provided a Wireless Internet router which was invaluable during our trip as we needed access to google maps.

I cant recommend Northern Lights rental enough!

Polly from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

The car was really nice, not too big and not too small, at least because we were only 2 people. We took it offroad some times and it worked out just fine. Also the 4WD came in handy when it was snowing and slippery!

Manon from Belgium
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Everything was very good. We had not any problem with the car and the tend was very useful. Easy to pick up and return the car.

Roger from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

We had a wonderful experience

Suzane from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

It was a great experience hiring a Suzuki Jimny to travel around Iceland and comfortable to enjoy of the ring road

Joan from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

It was really good. Everything worked as booked and the car was in great condition.

Finn from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

The 4WD car had about 125,000 miles on it, but it came exactly as advertised and performed well. The included wi-fi was very helpful. There was no pressure to buy unnecessary insurance, and there were no extra charges for claimed damage at the end of the rental. The only negative is that the car pick-up and drop-off point is about 10 minutes away from the airport, but we were met at the airport and driven back there by Northern Lights at the promised times.

Walter from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

My experience was superb. I had a really nice customer service, easy peasy rental and a wonderful, clean car. Nothing to complain about at all. The pick up and drop off service was easy going, quick and extremely useful.

Sarah Sophie from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Northern Light Car Rental was easy to work with. They provided pick up at the airport and explained how to use the tent system on top of the jeep. The Jeep was a little old but it was perfectly functional. The top tent was very easy to set up and worked well for us on our trip. The only gripe I would have is that they charged us for the license plate on the front of the vehicle missing. The winds were extremely high while we were there and the front license bumper was not solidly attached to the vehicle and was not properly maintained so it flew off in the wind, but I was charged for it. Other than that it was a very positive experience.

Daniel from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny