Reviews for Northern Lights Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Submitted 30. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
We absolutely loved the car! On day 8, we were traveling on many tough mountain terrain and the car almost quit on us but thankfully it did not.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 30. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Thank you Northbounb for helping me to make an awesome road trip come true. At the beginning it was the bargain price you offered that made me choose your company but what I appreciated the most it was your customer support, during the organizing of such a demanding trip.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 23. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
We had a great adventure in your car. We will definitely rent from you again. We would suggest better directions on gps and or signage to your location. Thank you for your hospitality
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 20. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The experience was great
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 14. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Hi Ivar As we have informed on 8/11, we had a crash in the front glass of the car We are waiting for the invoice and as soon as we have it we will send to you Best regards
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 23. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
everything was seamless, picked up at the airport, quick check in
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 04. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The on-line service was extremely easy to navigate and handy to compare prices (with another tab opened). The SUV was 1st class in regards to price per day, insurances, space, comfort and very smooth when driving long distances around Iceland. Also very economical in its fuel consumption (would recommend anyone this size of vehicle). The staff were very accommodating and great communicators to all. Everything was explained in good detail and the pick up and drop off was very quick, really made the customer feel at home.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 01. Nov 2022
Fine
The car was pretty old, lot of kilometers (near 300.000) and rusty. Not so important but... Many mechanicals problems, gearbox (noisy), steering (noisy on chaotic roads) and brakes (not efficient). The northern lights car rental team was good.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 14. Nov 2022
Good
The car was fine. Unfortunately, the indicator light of the tire pressure was defective and went on again and again after 20 kilometers despite sufficient pressure. The Road Assistant unfortunately could not help us and arranged a mechanican, which was closed. After that, no one answered the phone. I was not satisfied with this service. We unfortunately spent a lot of time checking the tire pressure. Upon return was said the problem is known at Dacia Duster. Please fix the defective sensors!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
Fantastic!
Great service from the whole team and a smooth experience collecting and returning the car which took us round Iceland with no problems at all. A better system for getting the shuttle bus as several times while loading cases people jumped in front and ended up splitting our family apart.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 04. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The Dacia Duster was a great choice and we were so happy with our rental! It allowed us to get off the beaten path and feel much more comfortable driving on the non-paved roads.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 26. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Car was perfect easy check in and check out. Very friendly stafff enjoyed our stay and rental
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Good
The car had many minor damages as paint problems, small dings, rust on some parts of the chassis/painting, the system for raising and lowering the pilot's seat did not work, rusted wheel rims, the windows did not work properly, etc etc. I was not worried because i had the max insurance, but if I hadnt had... The good thing is the price, which is lower than others, but you can't expect have a great car. It would be great if the company indicates the km to get an idea of what you will have, in my case it was a Dacia Duster 2017 with 302.000 km. The process of dorpoff/pickup is nice and staff explains well the insurance but it could be very tough if you have to wait. The staff does not check the car with you, they simply give you a sheet of paper with the damages and thats all.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Good
The pick up and drop off was smooth and easy. The extra insurance seemed expensive but we did purchase it and felt like it wasn’t necessary. The car had a lot of cosmetic damage, dents, rust, scratches etc but that didn’t bother us. There were some issues with the car that we did find annoying but didn’t notice until the journey was underway. The washer fluid for the front windscreen didn’t work (the back was fine) this was quite dangerous at times as visibility was bad. The rubber seal around the door on the front passenger side was broken so a cold draught was always present.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Very Good
Welcome to the agency, smiling and helpful staff. Vehicle conforming to the reservation (model and year) On the other hand, vehicle with a lot of km, creaky gearbox, noisy belt, headlights illuminating the ground in front of the car, impossible to adjust and drive safely at night... for the rest no pbs encountered and very interesting price I do not put 5 on the return because too fast, no information from the control, we leave without really knowing what will happen...
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 21. Oct 2022
Excellent
In general, we are satisfied with the experience of renting the car and with the coverage offered during that period, we did not highlight any problems recorded and everything developed normally.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 15. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Very good treatment. They have the garage on the outskirts of the airport, they come with a van to pick you up and take you to the airport
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 12. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Hello Ivan, Everything worked out great. We were actually a large group of 20 and we have rented 5 vehicles from your company, and we got icked up at the airport and brought to your rental location in timely manner. What made the experience even better was that when we have arrived there were 5 red Subarus waiting there for us. That was a nice touch and it made it easier for us to follow each other to and from our visiting destinations. Great service even better staff.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 14. Oct 2022
Good
Durable car that got us through a blue Oxi pass. Great on gas.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 11. Oct 2022
Fine
Overall satisfied with car that we rented as it did get us around the whole of Iceland. Areas for improvement. - couldn’t complete check in for car online prior to arrival as asked for information that doesn’t exist for UK traveller’s. i.e. social security number. Sent 2 emails and did not receive a response. - waited over an hour to be collected from the airport. Rang office and told shuttle would be there but not given an ETA. - we requested a car with a sat nav. Sat nav console built into car but had issues inputting coordinates. Asked for help and advised we are best off using our mobile phones. - told at check in that although we had paid for the top insurance this didn’t cover tyres and that would be our personal expense. - noticed that the rim for front car door windows appeared damaged. Became apparent when traveling that the seal was gone so had to put up with whistling through the windows during the journey. If window was opened, had to get out of car to push window back into place when closing. - 2 days into trip, the ‘change oil’ warning appeared on the dashboard. We rang the office who transferred us to mechanic. Told to check oil and if levels are ok then fine to continue driving. Oil levels were ok but was unsettling driving the rest of the road trip with a warning light on. - The wifi was hit and miss which is to be expected given the remoteness of some areas but it also dropped on and off where we wouldn’t have expected issues. Was a good job that we had access to internet on mobiles so we could keep an eye on ever changing road conditions. - didn’t use the flask or anything from the kitchen box as we didn’t need to in the end. Did go to use the flask but the cup was cracked.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 10. Oct 2022
Very Good
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 01. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Good Car, with good comfort. 6 Gear-shift, don't need so much fuel (Diesel). 4x4 is essential for the Highlands!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Great
My only thoughts are that there are some cars that should be discontinued. This car struggled a lot with incline roads, the breaks are all rusty and they don't work super well, the wheel starts shaking like crazy for some minutes and after that it stabilize itself, the wiper washers don't clean much. This is a comment for the company who owns the car, I know that northbound it's only an intermediate
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
It was a good choice. Everything went well. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 14. Sep 2022
Good
We had a very nice holiday in Iceland and luckily we didn't have any car trouble driving on the Icelandic gravel roads. Nevertehless my opinion about the car was that its quality was under standard: - the hood was trembling when riding over roads that were not perfectly flat (so it trembled most of the time) - the gearbox makes noise when it its shift from 2 to 3 and from 3 to 4 - there is also a trembling noise at the left rear wheel (probably a worn out shock absorber) Conclusion: The car had too many km's (287.500) to be in a good condition.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 17. Sep 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 01. Sep 2022
Worst experience I’ve ever had. Finding your shuttle driver was difficult. She was angry with all passengers. The agent pointed out MANY things that were wrong with the car when he gave it to us - multiple warning lights stayed on, dents, torn seats. We had to work on the driver’s door before we could get it to lock because the lock was falling off. The clutch is failing. I brought it back a day early but was refused a refund. NEVER again!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 13. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was in good condition for our 3 week rental. It handled all the F Roads and unpaved roads well. A spare tire was in the car, with a jack and a safety/medical kit. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. They did not try to claim damages to the vehicle that I did not cause, like some other car rental companies. Thankfully, they did not try to upsell mThe car was in good condition for our 3 week rental. It handled all of the F Roads and other unpaved roads. A spare tire e insurance that I did not want. My only critcism is that they could have done a better job cleaning the windshield (inside and outside) before the rental. Overall, I was very happy with the service and would recommend them.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 07. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Fantastic service, I got the vehicle I needed with tent for F roads. Everything worked as expected. Thanks
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
I had a wonderful rental experience with Northern Lights - the car was exactly what I'd requested (being familiar with Subarus), and was in excellent shape. Airport pickup and drop off was on time, and beautifully coordinated. Most of all, I admired the staff's ability to provide a very personalized booking and rental experience. I'll happily rent from them again, during future visits to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Good
Lacking some acceleration, but overall it was great.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 26. Aug 2022
Good
The online booking went easy, perhaps some more detail photos of the car/tent. We booked at northbound.is but later two other companies took over the reservation which is a bit confusing. Questions are answered quickly and clearly by customer service. The pickup service and arrival was good. During our trip, the car has performed great. Although the tent was not weatherproof and our mattress and sleeping bags got wet.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 21. Aug 2022
Very Good
The car was a bit rundown, the gearbox was hard to operate, the engine made a strange noise sometimes, but it did the job. The fan on the top of the roof tent was leaking in rain somewhat when the car was going. We could see that probably an earlier customer covered it by tape, but it did not help. We also tried, with limited success. Disregarding these issues we enjoyed our time in Iceland with the car. The customer support was excellent.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 20. Aug 2022
Good
Pickup from the airport was slightly chaotic. There was one gentleman running the shuttle back and forth from the airport and could only fit 8 people. My husband and I had to split up, one stay behind and one go for pickup. Not a huge deal but overall the checkin experience took a much longer time than we allotted for. On our second to last day, our car began to give us mechanical issues. They were unable to help us that evening but luckily our car was still drivable so we were still able to venture out and see things. They were willing to exchange our rental for us to have for our last day and were extremely accommodating. Could not say better things about the in-person customer support. Everyone we interacted with was kind. If I had to select one thing to improve upon, it would be the pillows for the roof top tent. Mine had mold on it and I’m highly allergic to mold. Thankfully I had packed a decent travel pillow for the flight. Overall, we would use this company again though!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Great
véhicule moyen dans l'ensemble
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Great
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 24. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Absolutely satisfying! Thanks to Northern Lights Car Rental we had an awesome and flexibel stay in Iceland as well as a mind-blowing impression of the country. We would recommend NLCR without any hesitation.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 22. Aug 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 11. Aug 2022
Fine
Everything was fine until the staff failed to mention that a small 5mm diameter dent on the car would get you charged the full deductible amount which is extortionate. I fully expect to have to pay something but the full deductible is a ridiculous amount for such a small area of damage. And they tried to tell me the cost would have been even more except that we had upgraded insurance which is even more ridiculous! After contesting the cost issue, I was only then informed that I can email in a few days to find out if the cost of repair is less that they will arrange a refund but that they wouldn't contact me automatically to arrange this which is akin to thievery as far as I am concerned. Either the service department is lying about the amount of time/effort that will go into repairing the vehicle or they are deliberately inflating prices in order to get more money. Would not hire from this company again. I would rather pay more for another company that is more forthright in their dealings with customers when issues go wrong as this is when customer service is really important.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Good
For all the places we encountered, this car, for some inexplicable reason, seemed to work on any road. In that sense, although quite small and fragile-looking, it was perfect for our adventure. However, as the days went by, the tent had several holes that got bigger and bigger, and the waterproofness got way less within each day. We would wake up with drops on our faces, our sleeping bags wet on our feet. That was really not nice since Iceland is famous for raining all the time. Overall we found the car okay. Not great but okay.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Good
Car was good agency did not refund bringing car back more than 1day earlier or credit insurance. Poor customer service. Also should tell customers about buying gas cards at N 1,
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 15. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
It was okay. Pretty good on bumpy roads, a bit unstable on paved roads. The tent was not perfect though - it has become very wet during the trip and because of that the pillow was humid all the time and it was impossible to dry it. The tent should be more waterproof, in my opinion. But overall, it was a great experience, thank you!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 04. Aug 2022
Good
A problem with the car break but changed immediately so nice ..and very useful the airport transfert nice agent too
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 10. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The best car rental company in Iceland! They picked us up and brought us directly to the airport. The car worked like a charm! The service was perfect and transparent. I recommend!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 05. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Great pick up service 24/7 at the airport. The car was clean and easy process when giving it back, no issues. The Dacia Duster 4x4 proved very good for river crossing F225/F208 and F206, F207.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 10. Aug 2022
Good
The car already had a mileage of over 290' km, the condition and the fuel consumption (11 liters) was accordingly bad. The existing damage was significantly more extensive than noted on the handover protocol. We documented these by photos and they did not pose any problems when we returned the car. During our 4.5' km the engine control lamp came on 3x, this is apparently normal in the road conditions. We had tried several times to reach the mobile service but this did not work due to my phone. An email asking for a call back was only answered with a reference to the hotline. The employees were very eager and courteous.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 30. Jul 2022
Good
The car did the job. The car had 177k kilometers and made me a bit uncomfortable
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Excellent
I was surprised how much the car shakes at 70 km, but it is not your fault.
rented a vehicle in July 2022