About

Northern Lights Car Rental, a local car rental provider in Iceland, offers a wide range of vehicles, including 4x4s, 2WDs, and campers. Their commitment to low prices, quality vehicles, and personal service has earned them a solid reputation among travelers.

Northbound customers who have rented from Northern Lights Car Rental have shared their positive experiences, highlighting the company's reliable vehicles and excellent customer service. One customer praised the company for its seamless pick-up and drop-off process, while another appreciated the car's performance on tough mountain terrains.

When you choose to rent a Northern Lights Car Rental vehicle through Northbound, you're not just getting a car; you're gaining a partner that's committed to making your Icelandic adventure unforgettable.

Reviews

8.2
917 total reviews
Good
5-Star
69%
4-Star
22%
3-Star
6%
2-Star
2%
1-Star
1%
Staff
8.4
Value
7.4
Cleanliness
8.6
Pickup
8.6
Dropoff
9.1
Condition
7

859 reviews for Northern Lights Car Rental

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from Northern Lights Car Rental

Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Good
Lacking some acceleration, but overall it was great.
Lukas rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 26. Aug 2022
Good
The online booking went easy, perhaps some more detail photos of the car/tent. We booked at northbound.is but later two other companies took over the reservation which is a bit confusing. Questions are answered quickly and clearly by customer service. The pickup service and arrival was good. During our trip, the car has performed great. Although the tent was not weatherproof and our mattress and sleeping bags got wet.
Diana rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 21. Aug 2022
Very Good
The car was a bit rundown, the gearbox was hard to operate, the engine made a strange noise sometimes, but it did the job. The fan on the top of the roof tent was leaking in rain somewhat when the car was going. We could see that probably an earlier customer covered it by tape, but it did not help. We also tried, with limited success. Disregarding these issues we enjoyed our time in Iceland with the car. The customer support was excellent.
Sandor geza rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 20. Aug 2022
Good
Pickup from the airport was slightly chaotic. There was one gentleman running the shuttle back and forth from the airport and could only fit 8 people. My husband and I had to split up, one stay behind and one go for pickup. Not a huge deal but overall the checkin experience took a much longer time than we allotted for. On our second to last day, our car began to give us mechanical issues. They were unable to help us that evening but luckily our car was still drivable so we were still able to venture out and see things. They were willing to exchange our rental for us to have for our last day and were extremely accommodating. Could not say better things about the in-person customer support. Everyone we interacted with was kind. If I had to select one thing to improve upon, it would be the pillows for the roof top tent. Mine had mold on it and I’m highly allergic to mold. Thankfully I had packed a decent travel pillow for the flight. Overall, we would use this company again though!
Callie rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Great
véhicule moyen dans l'ensemble
Jean rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Great
Andrea rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 24. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Absolutely satisfying! Thanks to Northern Lights Car Rental we had an awesome and flexibel stay in Iceland as well as a mind-blowing impression of the country. We would recommend NLCR without any hesitation.
Christoph rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 22. Aug 2022
Good
Paolo rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 11. Aug 2022
Fine
Everything was fine until the staff failed to mention that a small 5mm diameter dent on the car would get you charged the full deductible amount which is extortionate. I fully expect to have to pay something but the full deductible is a ridiculous amount for such a small area of damage. And they tried to tell me the cost would have been even more except that we had upgraded insurance which is even more ridiculous! After contesting the cost issue, I was only then informed that I can email in a few days to find out if the cost of repair is less that they will arrange a refund but that they wouldn't contact me automatically to arrange this which is akin to thievery as far as I am concerned. Either the service department is lying about the amount of time/effort that will go into repairing the vehicle or they are deliberately inflating prices in order to get more money. Would not hire from this company again. I would rather pay more for another company that is more forthright in their dealings with customers when issues go wrong as this is when customer service is really important.
Carol rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Good
For all the places we encountered, this car, for some inexplicable reason, seemed to work on any road. In that sense, although quite small and fragile-looking, it was perfect for our adventure. However, as the days went by, the tent had several holes that got bigger and bigger, and the waterproofness got way less within each day. We would wake up with drops on our faces, our sleeping bags wet on our feet. That was really not nice since Iceland is famous for raining all the time. Overall we found the car okay. Not great but okay.
Rita rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Good
Car was good agency did not refund bringing car back more than 1day earlier or credit insurance. Poor customer service. Also should tell customers about buying gas cards at N 1,
Michael rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Jeannette rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 15. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
It was okay. Pretty good on bumpy roads, a bit unstable on paved roads. The tent was not perfect though - it has become very wet during the trip and because of that the pillow was humid all the time and it was impossible to dry it. The tent should be more waterproof, in my opinion. But overall, it was a great experience, thank you!
Jevgenijs rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 04. Aug 2022
Good
A problem with the car break but changed immediately so nice ..and very useful the airport transfert nice agent too
Hervé rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 10. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The best car rental company in Iceland! They picked us up and brought us directly to the airport. The car worked like a charm! The service was perfect and transparent. I recommend!
Jean pascal rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 05. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Great pick up service 24/7 at the airport. The car was clean and easy process when giving it back, no issues. The Dacia Duster 4x4 proved very good for river crossing F225/F208 and F206, F207.
Aimery rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 10. Aug 2022
Good
The car already had a mileage of over 290' km, the condition and the fuel consumption (11 liters) was accordingly bad. The existing damage was significantly more extensive than noted on the handover protocol. We documented these by photos and they did not pose any problems when we returned the car. During our 4.5' km the engine control lamp came on 3x, this is apparently normal in the road conditions. We had tried several times to reach the mobile service but this did not work due to my phone. An email asking for a call back was only answered with a reference to the hotline. The employees were very eager and courteous.
Maximilian rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 30. Jul 2022
Good
The car did the job. The car had 177k kilometers and made me a bit uncomfortable
Roberto rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Excellent
I was surprised how much the car shakes at 70 km, but it is not your fault.
Tommy ulbæk rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 02. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent experience and great service! Suzuki Jimny was a champ, drove the whole island :)
Justin rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 02. Aug 2022
Good
Overall a positive experience with my Suzuki Jimny with roof tent. But I would remark the following: - the car was too old with 100.000 km and even if it worked, we had the feeling that it was ending his life soon (due to road conditions and km and some noises in the mechanical part) - this also cause huge use of fuel. -kitchen book really below expectation. For that price, I would not expect just a little camping-gas with very minimal stuff to cook (seems they just provided randomly some old stuff - gas was already half used). Knowing this, you can bring your own stuff from home saving money. I DO NOT RECCOMEND IT. -the roof tent was ok. -overall price was super-expensive but you should consider that this solution offer you the possibility to drive&sleep having no time pressure.
Andrea rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Everything well
Andrea rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 02. Aug 2022
Fine
The car was clean and in very good condition / low mileage. But 1. Your instructions regarding arrival at the airport and pick up were inconsistent with what the rental company delivered. There was no one at the arrivals with a board waiting for us. The information we received from you was that there should have been – and as a result we were confused. Eventually we rang the rental company number and we were told that the driver could not find us and had left. This seemed strange as we were standing by the exit door in clear view. Eventually, the driver returned and picked us up – but we had to wait over 30 minutes and were not sure as to what we should do. 2. On return to the airport the driver was using her mobile phone to listen to private calls and to answer messages etc. She was not always in control of the vehicle and I did not feel safe (I was sitting in the front seat). I assume that using mobile phones in your hand in Iceland is illegal. This was not a good advert for yourselves or the rental company company.
Charles rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 28. Jul 2022
Excellent
Mark rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 25. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Nice camper car, staff very helpful and 24h pickup and drop-off with shuttle to the airport. I would rent a car again with them for sure.
Carolina rented a vehicle in July 2022

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.