About

Northern Lights Car Rental, a local car rental provider in Iceland, offers a wide range of vehicles, including 4x4s, 2WDs, and campers. Their commitment to low prices, quality vehicles, and personal service has earned them a solid reputation among travelers.

Northbound customers who have rented from Northern Lights Car Rental have shared their positive experiences, highlighting the company's reliable vehicles and excellent customer service. One customer praised the company for its seamless pick-up and drop-off process, while another appreciated the car's performance on tough mountain terrains.

When you choose to rent a Northern Lights Car Rental vehicle through Northbound, you're not just getting a car; you're gaining a partner that's committed to making your Icelandic adventure unforgettable.

Reviews

8.19
922 total reviews
Good
5-Star
69%
4-Star
22%
3-Star
6%
2-Star
2%
1-Star
1%
Staff
8.3
Value
7.5
Cleanliness
8.6
Pickup
8.6
Dropoff
9
Condition
7

863 reviews for Northern Lights Car Rental

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from Northern Lights Car Rental

Submitted 10. Aug 2023
Fantastic!
Perfect communication and car
Isabel rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 14. Aug 2023
Excellent
The Jimny was reliable, good maintained. The rooftent was ok. We knew we‘ll rent a 7 year old car. So: we will recommend it to friends.
Karlheinz rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 28. Jul 2023
Good
An old version of the suzuki jimni which showed its age. Car rattled a lot and not the smoothest of cars, didn't even try am F road. I have previously owned a suzuki jimny and think I should have been warned it starts in 4 wheel drive not 2 wheel as this was not normal for this car. Despite all the comments above, it was a sturdy little car. Tent, surprisingly good, easy to put up and down.
Ruth rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 06. Aug 2023
Excellent
Easy, straightforward process to hire, personally I think it was a little expensive for the car compared to other rental companies but it wasn't rediculous.
Reece rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 28. Jul 2023
Outstanding!
It was a perfect experience!
Raquel rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 17. Jul 2023
Very Good
Service was fast and hassle free Car was just as described. Was slightly in doubt on where to go for the shuttle bus. Perhaps a sign (wait here) if the airport allows? But not a big problem. All in all good experience:)
Eskil rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 26. Jul 2023
Good
It was a great car to explore the island. It was the perfect mix to drive on the ring road and at the same time to go on the easier F-roads. The car was quite "old" and you could see and feel the +300'000 km it already did. At a first glance the car didn't seen reliable and after 20mins of driving we had an error message on our dashboard. So we turned around only to hear that this is normal for Dacia Dusters... When picking up the car the agent tried to sell us another insurance (even though we were already fully covered) and he wanted to charge us for the extra driver. Luckly we knew what we already paid and had our documents ready. In the end the car did us a great service.
Manuela rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 13. Jul 2023
Outstanding!
Had an amazing experience with the rented car and also interacting with the team at Northern Lights car rental. We arrived to Iceland a little earlier than the time we were expecting to on the day of the pick up. Rental agency was really kind enough to allow us the early pick up at no additional costs. Felt positive interacting with the guy there. Car was in great condition despite having a 300000 plus mileage on it. It was a camper car with a rooftop tent. Tent was very cozy, comfortable, warm and spacious enough for the two of us. Overall had an amazing experience and highly recommend renting with this fun bunch.
Shubha raveesh rented a vehicle in June 2023
Submitted 09. Jul 2023
Outstanding!
Small but reliable car. Even on gravel roads it travels well. Always ready for adventure 😃
Pamela rented a vehicle in June 2023
Submitted 13. Jul 2023
Very Good
Florian rented a vehicle in June 2023
Submitted 28. Jun 2023
Outstanding!
Great car, great experience, great price. Airport pickup was prompt, the car was in good working order, return was smooth. Whole experience was friendly.
David rented a vehicle in June 2023
Submitted 25. Jun 2023
Outstanding!
everything perfect.again,with pleasure
Nicole rented a vehicle in June 2023
Submitted 22. Jun 2023
Fine
Christa rented a vehicle in June 2023
Submitted 18. Jun 2023
Outstanding!
This was a great car for Iceland. We could go to all of the places we wanted to. We were not looking for the Super Jeep off-road experience, we just wanted to drive to some of the places a 2 WD couldn't. It was also comfortable and roomy for four people with luggage. Adding the optional wi-fi gave us comfort as we headed into more remote areas.
Glenn rented a vehicle in June 2023
Submitted 25. Jun 2023
Excellent
2015 Suzuki Jimny was magnificent on F-roads, not so great on paved roads, but that's the price to pay if you want to see untouched nature. The cheapest 4x4 you can find. Suspension is a bit stiff, so you'll feel every damn rock. Between 75-80 km/h the steering wheel wiggles as this is a manufacture issue as I was later told. Engine wasn't so powerful when driving into steep hills. Iceland was a great experience in this car, thank you for that.
Tomas rented a vehicle in June 2023
Submitted 10. Jun 2023
Outstanding!
Very organized and professional
Luca pietro rented a vehicle in May 2023
Submitted 09. Jun 2023
Excellent
The car was good and reliable. The camper rented ended up good as well. I would suggest the company look at the breaks and the car pulled one way when breaking.
Mazie rented a vehicle in May 2023
Submitted 25. Apr 2023
I'm disappointed with the service in relation to the price.. Moreover, thé réception is not friendly and the driver have nothing to do Witherspoon driving and phoning at the same tire. The car received was very dirty. A Light Washington constantly on orange but we were told that it was normal with a car with more than 304000 kms. The wipers were completely damage. And we've been forced to subscribe an extra insurance making us thing ours crédit cardiaque is not going through.
Vincent rented a vehicle in April 2023
Submitted 09. Apr 2023
Fantastic!
Un coche muy adecuado para recorrer la isla de una forma relativamente barata. Contaba con todo lo necesario: 4x4, ruedas de invierno, un consumo ajustado, climatización... Sin embargo, un precio algo elevado, teniendo en cuenta que por poco más ofertan coches mucho más modernos y equipados.
Victor rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 11. Mar 2023
Good
Pickup at the airport was a little bit fuzzy. Two many customers for the shuttle bus, I was carried to your office, but I had to pickup my girlfriend after I got the car.
Andreas rented a vehicle in February 2023
Submitted 28. Mar 2023
Outstanding!
The car was good, things got a bit worse when we had damage. But in the end, Northern Lights Car Rental as the extra insurance we bought from northbound did well, and everything got covered.
Janus rented a vehicle in February 2023
Submitted 11. Feb 2023
Outstanding!
It was a realy nice car. Minor issues with the break/sign on dashboard, but the mechanic (recommended by the company) checked it and there was no major problem at all. Furthermore easy to keep in touch with during the holiday, which (in our case) was needed due to the weather. Kind employees. The shuttle service was so nice, I forgot my shoes (which I realised just at the airport) in the hotel (close to the rental service), the driver was willing to take me back with him, took the shoes ans could take the next shuttle to the airport. We also exchanged some music :) All in all, really happy
Rik rented a vehicle in February 2023
Submitted 04. Feb 2023
Outstanding!
We are very happy with the se4vice provided. Harpa fron customer service was very kind and quick whn We needed help.
Javier rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 30. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
We absolutely loved the car! On day 8, we were traveling on many tough mountain terrain and the car almost quit on us but thankfully it did not.
Bailey rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 30. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Thank you Northbounb for helping me to make an awesome road trip come true. At the beginning it was the bargain price you offered that made me choose your company but what I appreciated the most it was your customer support, during the organizing of such a demanding trip.
Vasiliki rented a vehicle in November 2022

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.