About

Northern Lights Car Rental, a local car rental provider in Iceland, offers a wide range of vehicles, including 4x4s, 2WDs, and campers. Their commitment to low prices, quality vehicles, and personal service has earned them a solid reputation among travelers.

Northbound customers who have rented from Northern Lights Car Rental have shared their positive experiences, highlighting the company's reliable vehicles and excellent customer service. One customer praised the company for its seamless pick-up and drop-off process, while another appreciated the car's performance on tough mountain terrains.

When you choose to rent a Northern Lights Car Rental vehicle through Northbound, you're not just getting a car; you're gaining a partner that's committed to making your Icelandic adventure unforgettable.

Reviews

8.19
922 total reviews
Good
5-Star
69%
4-Star
22%
3-Star
6%
2-Star
2%
1-Star
1%
Staff
8.3
Value
7.5
Cleanliness
8.6
Pickup
8.6
Dropoff
9
Condition
7

863 reviews for Northern Lights Car Rental

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from Northern Lights Car Rental

Submitted 21. Jun 2022
Good
The car was very old, it had 125,000 miles on it It had no power and would not have been good off-road . Disappointing for 1000 week
Christopher rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 20. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
The staff were really great, initially we booked a 2017 Duster but we got a free upgrade to a 2020 Duster. The first one that we picked up we noticed that the tyres were very used. We came back and they gave us another one exactly the same. The car felt really good in all conditions. The prices might be the best on the market. When we'll be back in Iceland for sure we'll rent from them again. The small minus is that they didn't noticed the used tyres on the first car before they gave it to us, but they responded very quickly and changed our car with no questions asked :) I will recomend them further for the great experience that we had!
Adrian iulian rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 20. Jun 2022
Fine
We got icerental 4x4, or Northern Lights as they also are called, as our car providers. I am really unhappy with the whole rental experience and to show this I can copy here the review I wrote on google: "Beware of this company, couldn't recommend it to anyone. Worst carhiring experience I've ever had. Really many damages externally to the car, we tried to get everything on pictures before we drove off which turned out to be an impossible task. They said there was new damages to the car, charged 80000ISK for repair cost that, considering previous damages, never will be repaired. Really felt like a scam in so many ways and it was sad our otherwise great trip ended on this bad note! Also the extra insurance I had purchased had such a high selfrisk amount that this money came out of our own pockets. They also accused us of going on F-roads which was not the case, and impossible with a Hyundai i10. Another family at dropoff seemed to have similair problems and were likewise just as frustrated as us. Also got a clearly older model of the car then we had booked. Oh and no one tells you they take a 2500€ deposit on your credit card. Couldn´t recommend this company to anyone! Beware also that some companies act as umbrellas and you could end up with them even if it seemed like you booked through someone else. Like I had booked through Northbound and ended up with this company."
Lara rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 27. Jun 2022
Fantastic!
All good, nothing to complain about
Suraj rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 23. Jun 2022
Hello, we had a very good stay in Iceland, despite a 1st vehicle which was not in good condition (TOYOTA RAV4), and replaced by an old Cherokee V8 which was very greedy in fuel. We are very disappointed with your performance with vehicles from another age. Cordially.
Jean-charles rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 22. Jun 2022
Good
The Jimny was awful because it broke down the first day. The replacement car I got afterwards was much better but also had some problems with the radar brake support system going off randomly.
Nicole rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 25. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
super
Nicolette rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 20. Jun 2022
Very Good
++ : - well equipped (only a cooler was missing) - price - advices -- : - the tent was not totaly waterproof - the sleeping bags were not warm enough - we wait 50 minutes at the airport for the shuttle (we didn't know we should wait so long so it was a bit stressfull)
Audric rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 10. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
This was the best car rental we've ever gotten in Iceland! The tent was super comfortable and easy to use. We had no issues with the car and customer service was incredibly friendly and helpful!
Tyler rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 13. Jun 2022
Fine
Santiago rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 21. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Rental went smooth and dropping off was easy with no issues or hidden fees or charges. I would definitely use you guys again.
Deryk rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 13. Jun 2022
Fantastic!
The first car I got had a problem with front wheel vibration at 75-80 kph, but was immediately exchanged for another Suzuki Jimny with no problems. As a bonus I got a table and chairs for free. The second car was in good condition for a car with 220,000 km on the odometer. Everything worked as it should, except for the handbrake. It had a little loose grip on the wheels, so I was not comfortable when I had to start the car uphill. And the key fob should be replaced with a new one because it had such worn buttons that it was difficult to remotely lock or unlock the doors. Many times I had to open the car manually with the keys, which was inconvenient for daily use because I had to open the passenger door first and then the driver's door from the inside. The roof tent was new, so it was in excellent condition and worked very well.
Rafał rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 13. Jun 2022
Excellent
The car rental service worked really well, without any problems. We had a great time with the Suzuki and the roof tent!
Kathrin rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 03. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
The car is really super, the bed is very comfortable The only problem is that the car consumes a lot But for that price is amazing
Stefano rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 13. Jun 2022
hello we had no problems with the car, despite it not being in very good condition and with a lot of kilometers (310,000), in France we are not used to that, I only regret that your staff does not want to make a condition of the car during pick up, we say only take pictures, and when returning the car, that you do not return the deposit. 2500€ all the same, I point out to you that I still do not have proof that you had returned it to me, while the person who made the return told me that I would receive an email, which I did not the case because it is now more than 15 days. You have a credit card terminal to take the deposit, this same terminal must be used to return the deposit on return, that's how it works in all countries, why not at home. Cordially Daniel DEJUNIAT
Daniel rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 05. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Great service, great car (although an older model and some scratches/denches on the outside it drove perfectly) and very friendly staff at Nothern Lights! I will rent my car here again on my next Iceland trip!
Joost johannes adrianus petrus rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 26. May 2022
Excellent
Our car was amazing and did really great on the long roadtrip however inside the tent continually got wet soaking the mattress and making it extremely uncomfortable to sleep in and the CD player and usb cable also weren’t working so that was really disappointing but otherwise the car did great and the customer support prior to the trip was excellent.
Hayley rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 05. May 2022
Good
Great company and kind and helpful people. The car was not new, 260000km, but it did the job! Good choice
Marco rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 24. Apr 2022
Good
Okay.
Lea rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 21. Apr 2022
Good
All is ok but the wifi connection sometimes was wrong. And the car a little old.
Sergi rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 17. Apr 2022
Fine
At the beggining we were not satisfied as the child seats were not already installed, the employees said they don't have the training for it. At the end the very friendly employee - driver from the airport - helped me with one of the seats. Into our initial Dacia also the water was leaking, what we found out the next morning, after rainy night. The car also broke down that morning, but in one hour (lucky for us we were still in Reykjavik) we got another Dacia. That one was newer and much better, so the experience was good. The staff was always very helpful and frielndly. If there were no trouble at the beggining, the rate would have been much higher as this was a good value for money experience. So I would rent a car there again!
Martin rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 18. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
The team is great, very friendly and welcoming. They explained everything very well at the car pickup, including which roads not to take and how to be careful with the icelandic weather. The car was very good for the trip we planned, comfortable with a large truck for the luggage. We didn't include any F-road in our itinerary, so we don't know how well it would go on those. The car return was quick and efficient, they were fair while taking into account the video of the car we made during pickup and didn't charge any extras. It all went very smoothly, we definitely recommend this rental place!
Lais rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 31. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Fantastic experience. Obtaining vehicle was simple, clear instructions provided, good prices, fair policies, easy access to and from airport. Would easily recommend.
Adarsh rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 29. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Good platform with lots of choice/prices and perfect customer service
Loïc rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 24. Mar 2022
Everything was fine until very strong winds ripped the door from both of my friend’s hands and we were charged $5,000 USD FOR SOMETHING THAT WE HAD NO CONTROL OVER. We did everything that we were told to do and it still happened . $5,000 for door damage is a COMPLETE SCAM, AS IS THE “INSURANCE” YOU CON PEOPLE INTO BUYING and you should be ashamed of yourselves.
Brittany rented a vehicle in March 2022

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.