Reviews for Lotus Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lotus Car Rental
Submitted 20. Jun 2021
Excellent
vehicle was great! Only possible problem was insurance. I originally requested "Gold Insurance" but wanted changed to "Platinum". I ended up with original insurance. Not a problem because we didn't have any issues, but if had issues, what would have happened?
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 22. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience. We were picked up directly from the terminal and taken to their location. Checkout was quick and efficient. We didn't get the exact car specified, but did get a larger car from the same category. The WiFi worked great the entire trip with just a few remote locations where there was no service
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 14. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
The car was amazing, and at a much more affordable price than other car rental places and the team was incredibly friendly and moved fast! Highly recommend using this company!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 12. Jun 2021
Good
The car itself was fine, and Northbound accurately made 1 change to the rental period as requested when the airline changed our flight. However, the pickup process was not as described in our instructions. That cost us about 1 hour at the airport trying to figure out exactly how and where to get our car. Lotus sends a private van to pick up customers right outside the terminal, not the bus at the (far) end of the footpath, as described.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 16. May 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was well Organized even we did not get in physical contact, the car was perfect for 4 adults
rented a vehicle in May 2021
Submitted 10. May 2021
Outstanding!
For a fairly high mileage, older car, it was in very good condition. It served our purposes very well. I could find cheaper cars and newer cars to rent online, but Northbound offered the best overall value of car quality and price. Also, the people at the pick-up and drop-off were really friendly and helpful.

Northbound mailed some information about insurance and about driving in Iceland before our trip. Everybody should read the info and watch the video! (and maybe watch other online videos to get a good sense of what driving is like in Iceland's diverse terrain and very dynamic weather conditions - it snowed 5 out of 8 days we were there in March). Customer support before and during the trip were really good.

I would definitely rent from Northbound again.
rented a vehicle in April 2021
Submitted 25. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Very positive experience, friendly staff, dependable rental. I was hesitant to rent from a smaller company as it is a bit more of an "unknown", but my experience was overwhelmingly positive. The staff was friendly, helpful, and the car was great!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 25. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We had an amazing experience in Iceland and with Northbound. Renting a car from Lotus Car Rental was easy, picking up the car was very quick and simple, the car was great for our trip and there were no problems at all. I would definitely choose Northbound again.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Very nice experience. They were in contact before arrival and make clear all the details about pick up. No problems at all
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 31. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We get an upgrade what is always good!! Thanks for that.
We spent 2 weeks with this car and without issues, only our mattress get wet because of the rain. Lotus Car rental contacted us bud the next days it was dry and also the mattress was dry very soon! Great experience Thanks a lot.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
It was great! Very fuel efficient and comfortable.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Car was clean, new, in perfect conditions: everything went as smoothly as possible and Lotus car rental offered full time support for our every need concerning the car. 4500+kilometers without any problem or issue doing just everything we wanted onroad and offroad.
Great service on Northbound's part and very competitive prices
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 14. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Good
Overall a very good experience and great price. Getting the vehicle with the voucher was no issue and we could start our trip right away.
The only issue we had was a flat tire which was not the actual problem. Unfortunately our car did not come with a car jack so we luckily could borrow one from other tourists. The support from Lotus Car Rental however was very helpful and they even gave us a small refund for the missing jack.

The car itself was sufficient for all roads including F-roads (we did not cross any rivers). The insurance package (Platinum) was a good choice considering the flat tire as well as it came with free Wifi.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Very good Service! Due to flight changes I had to change the rental car dates a few times. It was always a very fast reaction from Northbound. The car was exactly as described and run very good all the time in Iceland. We drove about 4500km through the country without any problems including F-Roads. I highly advise Northbound to book a car.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent service from this company ( Lotus rental) Very friendly, competitive rates and good service. I always use Northbound when renting cars in Iceland because they are very knowledgeable about insurances and the best cars. This Toyota Aygo was a great rental for 3 weeks in the West Fjords.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Both pick up and drop off were friendly and efficient, pointing out the various minor bodywork blemishes.
Minor suggestion, they are so close to the airport that walking directions, rather than reference to a non operating shuttle bus would be preferable.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 14. Aug 2020
Excellent
The dacia Duster is sufficient for easier f-roads. The roof tent is well suited for 2 normal size people.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 11. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything worked, we were happy with the support!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 11. Aug 2020
Excellent
Easy to find, good communication pre-rental. The car is rather new with not much mileage. When we pick it up, some part of it are not so clean compared with rentals in other countries. But after driving around Iceland especially in F-roads, I understand how difficult it is to get a thorough clean of the entire car.
The cigarette lighter socket did not work and we noticed it only the day after we pick it up. It is not a big deal but would be great if we are informed when we pick it up.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 25. Aug 2020
Good
A good experience on quite all points. Friendly staff, no problems with the car, good price and quick check in/out.
Just, credit cards are not common in France (only debit cards) and the money debited for bail generated unexpected fees (change rate)
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Very good service, great overview of the market, competitive pricing. I found it extremely helpful!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 06. Aug 2020
Good
Dacia is a fine car, only i dont drive on F roads with this car.
Gravel road are oké
Next time i rent a beter car for driving on F Roads
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 26. Jul 2020
Fine
Ein auto wie ein bratwurst injection lamp Brent verbraucht viel zuviel benzine Und klappert an alle seiten.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Good
Easy to pick up and drop-off (free shuttle bus from airport to rental office or 4 minute walk.
Car was very clean and in very good shape.
2200km without any troubles.
Friendly guys inbthe office, always with a smile :-)

Whats missing for a 5 star rating?
I got the ordered Subaru Forester for driving F-Roads, but tires where not A/T Tires, just normal tires (with good profile!). A/T tires would have been more save (and probably no flat)

rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Excellent
They forgot to let us know that the shuttle bus was cancelled when we arrived at the airport. That meant we were waiting for a while in the rain at night. We called them and sorted it out and then walked 5 minutes to the office.
Everything from then on was perfect. Nice people, excellent service and great car. Highly recommend.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 02. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was fine. You cannot find the Lotus car rental in the airport terminal, but it is only about 5 minutes walk, not so difficult to find. It was easy to get and return the car. The car is quite new, it is a small car but enough for us to travel around Iceland. Everything went well. According to my experience, Lotus car rental is reliable.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Excellent
excellent
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 15. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
The employees gave us very good information about iceland and how to get around in the car.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 12. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
No stress at all. It was easy to get the car and drive away. Nice friendly staff very helpful. It twas also very simple to return it at the end of our vacation. The car was good and fun to drive. We were really glad to have the Dacia Duster especially one evening when we pulled into our Airbnb long private street (over 200 mt) in the country, south-east of Reykjavik, and found that it was not plowed, and there were about 20cm of snow!! But with the Duster it was a breeze!!! That much snow was nothing for this car. with a different type of car we would have been stuck for sure. I would highly recommend this type of car. 
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 04. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Véhicule très pratique équipé de pneus hiver cloutés,ce qui était indispensable pendant notre séjour. La location de voiture était très proche de l'aéroport.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 27. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
Great experience. Rented a 2-year-old Duster which had some wear and tear. The staff walked me around the car and had noted every little ding you could possibly see on the inspection sheet. It snowed for most of the trip and the car went everywhere we wanted to go due to being equipped with studded tires and 4x4. I am very pleased with the entire experience.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 11. May 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 25. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
It was a great experience no fuss no hold up thank you .(we will be back).
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 20. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
Office staff were really helpful and friendly. Car was perfect for what we needed.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 16. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
I booked a car through Northbound and I couldn't be happier. Thordis was so helpful, answered with patience and true interest all of my questions, helped us choose the right car AND the right insurance and the instructions about picking it up were so specific. Also got a pretty fair price! I would totally recommend them!
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 18. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
It's a nice car, we enjoy driving it ,and the journey is wonderful.
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 14. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Very good, friendly, straight forward and helpful service. Any changes we made were sorted out very quickly and efficiently.
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 13. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
I am very satisfied with the Dacia Duster from Lotus Car Rental.
The car was clean and spacious for 4 people with suitcases. We had a Gold Insurance Package, but fortunately we had no dangerous situations even during changing weather conditions.
The pick-up and drop-off in Lotus Car Rental was very fast and easy-going. Lotus also is sending emails advising of weather issues and have very friendly and helpful customer service.
Defiinetely i will choose Lotus next time!
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
My general experience overall was 10/10. Free shuttle from airport to the office to collect the car. The guy who dealt with us was brill, very smooth fast transaction. Was able to return the car in the early hours on a Sunday and get the shuttle bus directly outside the office back to the airport. Also received a discount on petrol and free coffee coupons from Reykjavík’s main gas stations. Would also like to mention that the customer support before renting the car was so good, genuine and fast with replying. Didn’t try to up sell any cars or insurances.
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 04. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Great experience with friendly staff at the desk. Quick hire and hand back of car. Car had studded tyres and was very safe, it even had heated seats and that was an added bonus.

No qualms at all
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 05. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Great stafff very efficient service. Would definitely recommend
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 21. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Thanks for the perfect service. The car was really good and reliable. We had a great experience with Lotus Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Fine
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Excellent
Picking up the car and taking it back was very easy and customer-friendly, the information service by email was very satisfying. The information about the weather, which would get worse, was very kind and helpful. I can recommend the Lotus Car rental at any time.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Excellent
Extremely nice and helpful staff. Fast service and absolutely no hustle. Clean car as described. I highly recommend Lotus Car Rental. It was a great experience. However, for driving in winter conditions in Iceland I would rent a car of a higher class next time. While the duster was great driving on both, gravel and paved roads it had some flaws: When it was -15 degrees, I could not prevent the windows from freezing inside and for driving in intense snow (storm) situations snow/fog lights are missing, it could have a bit more power too. However, this has nothing to to with Lotus but only with my choice of car before the trip.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 03. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Good company, currently one of the cheapest. Located 300 meters from the terminal.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 04. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
No problems, good service, good car.
rented a vehicle in December 2019