Reviews for Nordic Car Rental Campers

The office was very hectic and they were very unorganized. When we arrived there was only one man at the entire place, but there were a lot of people dropping off and picking up.
When we receive our camper everything looks great! The guy shows us how to use the back heater and off we go! Our 4th night on ring road we experience a storm. It was very cold, windy and raining very hard. Our van started leaking and our heater did not work. It was a miserable night. Our sleeping bags and pillows were soaked and it was very cold.
When we mentioned this when returning our van the guy behind the didn't seem to care very much. He just brushed us off and continued to help the next customer.

Nicole

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Very good experience . Nordic campers showed great courtesy in hospitality and great professionalism. We were very satisfied with the free pick-up service at the airport and the efficiency of the vehicle.

Maurizio

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

Overall the experience was pretty good. The only thing that was frustrating was how long it took for pick up. It seems liked that front desk staff wasn’t sure what they were doing and it made the process fairly slow. However, the accommodations were up to par they made sure we were equipped with all the right tools.

Tehah

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

Fair

Chaula

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

We had a great experience booking our caravan with Northbound. The client support was available an pretty fast before, during and after our trip. They are very nice people always there to help out. Thanks a lot!!

Alvaro

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018

The camper was clean and in great condition, ideal for touring the south coast. One thing that could be added would be a matteres of sorts in the back as it was a little uncomfortable sleeping on the hard board but was fine for a few days. Really friendly and helpful staff though it did take a short while to get the vechal as everyone arrived at the same time and staff seemed a little flustered. Overall was exactly what I was looking for and at a great price!

Amy

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Roberto

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Good so far. Needed to wait about 40min till to get the camper but in the end everything worked fine. The camper was already a little bit older but for us good enough. Price is high as everything in island. We had some issues with the drain sensor which was most probably defective and show after a short time already that the tank is full. everything else fine thanks.

Raphael

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

The vehicle was old and dirty. Nobody explained to us anything about its operation. When it broke down, we did not receive assistance from the company. We had to take the vehicle to the garage. They did not respond to e-mails or text messages, and when they answered the phone they were quite unpleasant and rude. We lost two days with the damaged car outside a garage. To finish, no apology or compensation.

David

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

We had a great Icelandic experience thanks to Northbound. They helped with everything and the motorhome was in perfect condition.

Daniel

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018

Our experience with Nordic Campers was good.
We had to overcome a first general impression that was negative: 1 hour wait at the airport and unclear information about who would pick us up + 45 min wait at the rental place. A camper that did not match the model we chose online (no bed at the back, so we had to unfold the bed below the dining table every night) and that was older than expected.
Yet at the end, Christos, the manager has been great: good explanation, available, honest, service oriented. He made of our experience a good one. We warmly recommend Christos and we hope that the above points mentioned will be improved: accurate camper pictures, differentiation between model, accurate information about the pick up, etc.

Charlotte

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

Heater broke, Spare tire was thrown in and not secured, the lining on the door kept coming off, I had to wait 3 hours before a vehicle was ready.

KALVIN

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

We were collected from the airport and checked in promptly and the camper we hired was clean and well stocked with cutlery, utensils and pots/pans. Everything in the camping box contents looked in very condition. We had one missing item which was replaced for us without any problem. We had booked a basic camper and it was just right for our short trip. 24 hour opening was really helpful for us as we had an early flight at the end of our stay in Iceland. We were happy with the service we received.
We would recommend that customers always check any hire vehicle carefully before they leave the rental place, ensuring that any previous damage is noted and that all items (in an equipment box) are available. An equipment checklist might be helpful so that any accidental omissions can be sorted out before driving away.

Michelle

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2011 Renault Kangoo Camper

The camper was running great but felt run down. There were no long stairs to climb in bed above tge drivers seat.
The fridge was only working on gas. It didn’t cool on battery or electricity. The controlpanel didn’t work on battery when car was switched off.
Apart from these issues we had a great time and truly enjoyed iceland.
It also would have been nicer if it was possible to get insurance without any selfrisk. We took the top insurance package and still had 100k isk self risk.

Thomas

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

As advertised, the motorhome was not new, but was in general fair condition. We encountered three issues we did not expect and should be taken care of:
1. We had an engine problem on our first day of the trip that got us stuck for 18 hours until the mechanic from Nordic Campers was able to arrive with the replacement part. We might just be unlike, but proper maintenance should avoid this situations.
2. The windscreen wipers' controller was not working well and many times the wipers did not respond, creating a security risk that could have ended up in a severe car accident.
3. One blind did not work properly and sunlight was comming into the motorhome early in the morning (not big deal).

Lluis

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

Didn't get off to a good start when no-one was there to pick us up at the airport and no-one answered the phone number we were asked to call if this happened. It turns out they pick up every hour on the hour so it would heave been helpful to know this in advance. The van had done 36,000 miles and needed servicing; the oil change warning was on continually, the ABS developed a fault and there was a leak from water system which ran across the van floor. The electrical lead was faulty and we couldn't plug in the first night but we went back the next day and they provided new ones which were fine. Overall, they were helpful if a little disorganised and the van got us right round the ring road which allowed us to have a fantastic holiday despite these problems.

David

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Perfect, nice team, great support. Everything was fine. Thanks for making this amazing iceland round trip a nice experience.

Denis

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018

Very good... except that pick up at the airport was late and the shuttle was quite late when we needed it to get back to the airport. Fortunately, one of the employees gave us a ride there and we made our flight on time. I think including a map back to the facility would be helpful to those of us who do not read Icelandic. I would rent from Nordic Campers again.

David

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

The Dacia dokker was great on gas, and a very simple vehicle. My boyfriend and I found that the beds were more comfortable than we expected, and it was definitely enough room for the two of us. All necessary utensils were provided for us which made things simple, including propane for the gas stove. The staff at Nordic campers were very friendly and helpful, giving us travel tips and recommendations on sites to visit. Additionally, we had spent a decent amount of time looking at camper van companies, and found that this was the cheapest option for what we wanted. I would definitely rent from Nordic campers again. Thanks for the amazing Icelandic experience!

Johanna and Jeff, from Canada

Johanna

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

It was very good. The camper was confortable, the only problem was the glass on the roof that ws broken and with rain it was raining inside...

Loris

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Firstly,we had a great time in Iceland. The van enabled us to do this.
Booking the van through Northbound started out very easily, but soon got very confused when we heard that the model of van was changed to an earlier model and price changes were made. Alot of emails later we came to an agreeable figure.
The van we received certainly showed its age and possibly was not detailed very well before pickup, the luggage space under the bed was very dirty . The windscreen had 4 large chips in the drivers vision area. At the end of the trip the front brake pads were completely worn.
The front suspension had serious issues and on return I recommended that the vehicle shouldn't go back on the road before being thoroughly checked out.
The vans interior was very basic in its fit out , but chosen through Northbound because of mainly cost , and seeing other vans on the road , we got exactly what we paid for...

Barry

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2011 Renault Kangoo Camper

Despite my poor English, I will try to describe my experience with Nordic Campers.
Establishment of the file: Professional but after a long wait (there were several people before us)
The vehicle (Dacia Dokker) was perfectly clean and well equipped.
I asked for the car user's book, I was told there was none, but later I found it in the roof compartment above the dashboard.
The car is big enough and comfortable for two people, the internal heating system (engine off) is very convenient and very powerful.
The power of the engine makes driving enjoyable, and consumption (about 5.5 l / 100Km) is reasonable.
We traveled 2000 km without any problem.

We cleaned the car and returned it where we had seen it.
An employee from Nordic Campers kindly brought us to the airport.

Michel

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

very good experience in generally . caravan was in good condition .
i was a little bit disappointed that we had to pay for everything extra like bed kit, gas , camping chair etc
i think these things should be included reminding the quite high renting price.
and : i am used to get the car with full tank, not ca 35 procent . it makes it more complicated for returning .
the watertank should be full by getting the camper( was quite empty ).
but in summary we enjoyed our road trip very well.

Andrea

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

TERRIFIC experience with Northbound on our Iceland vacation! Our Renault Trafic High Roof was the best cost-benefit option for us to tour Iceland with detours off the Ring Road on our own time schedule and gave us the ultimate flexibility to stop when and where we wanted for the night. The "dinner box" included was a lifesaver for those days when we found a perfect spot to stop alongside the road and prepare a quick meal. It had everything we needed. Northbound's customer service exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend them!

Robin

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

Pau

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

Excelent

Ignacio

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

The experiencewith Northbound was very good. The pick up and drop off were very easy and the support during the trip was almost always available.

Elena

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

The price is really attractive. The vehicle is in good condition and fuel efficient as well. Staff were friendly and processed our rental and return quite quickly. The heater on the van works well and kept us warm at night. There was no foldable plate windshield provided so we couldn't really cook as the fire always get blown off. Overall its a good experience. The only downside is that we waited for 2h at the airport before we finally found the pick-up guy.

Yiming

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Northbound support was excellent. Really we do appreciate how Liam answered all of our many questions. The employees of Nordic Campers also gave the best of us to help us. The sleeping mattress and camping equipment were really good. But we must tell you that we had a feeling the something is wrong with the management of the office in Keflavik. One day it was impossible to get anyone on the phone for five hours and also it was impossible to receive exact instructions for changing the flat tire. At the end, everything worked fine, but also we had a strong impression that you need more people in Keflavik office. There was a lot of waiting and stress among other customers. We are traveling a lot and have a lot of experience with renting the cars around the world and this is our honest opinion. You and CC car rental should work more on the management level.

Davor

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Generally, we had a great time with the camper. It was the perfect size for us (2 adults and 1 teenager). And we loved the campgrounds we stayed at. A couple of things were wrong at the start: they weren't going to give us the camping package until I showed them the email where it was discussed. Also, there was no electric cooler as was mentioned in the description of the van. We had to build a make-shift cooler from a plastic box wrapped with a camping ground cover pad. One more thing, the fuel tank should be given to the customer as full. It was at "80 %" to be returned at 80% full. Do you know how difficult it is to fill a tank to 80%? We ended up returning it at full. Iceland is wonderful. Thanks for your request for comments

Ellen

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper