Reviews for Nordic Campers

Overall our experience was great. We had a rough start getting into a motorhome because of a few minor mechanical issues in the first 2 that we tried, but the guys made up for it by getting us into a great camper with everything that we needed. Also, even though they got extremely busy while working with us, their sense of humor and laid-back attitudes made the whole experience as easy as it could have been.

Dustin

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018

Service was ok - we were picked up, but the Nordic Campers sign was barely visible. They should make it a more clear one. Communication was pleasant and sincere. The office and its surroundings did make an untrustworthy impression. The car was clean and in good condition, fully equipped with all the necessary camping equipment, bedspread, pillows and even blankets as a bonus. There were some drawbacks: front tires were almost slick, but on Icelandic roads with such a coarse surface it did not cause any problems, the steering wheel alignment was off by a couple degrees and the most annoying - the wiper blades were so damaged that using them was of no difference. Interestingly enough, I could not find a blade with a matching attachment head in 6 different gas stations. All in all - a strong 4 out of 5. I would definitely recommend Nordic Campers to friends.

Jolita

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

The service, the camper and the experience was perfect with Nordic Camper!

Alain

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

Overall was OK. We got the motorhome and we didn't have any problems. However, the interior have some issues, like plugs didn't work, shower curtain hang was broken, some storage doors were difficult or impossible to close.

Bogdan

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018

Amazing , the Camper helped us to be mobile and enjoy our trip. Nordic Campers was the right way to go.

Bernardo

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

Overall staff were very friendly - Caravan was in good condition, with all utensils that we needed.

We had to wait a little while for collection at airport, and also to collect the vehicle from the depot.

Our camper wasn't available, so we were given a free "upgrade" - perhaps not ideal as this was a motorhome, meaning that we doubled our fuel costs for the trip compared to the camper we had ordered, and had a bit of a rockier ride when the winds picked up - That being said, it was very comfortable, so I guess it was more positive than negative.

Michael

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

My boyfriend and I had a really good experience with the Dacia Dokker provided by Nordic Camper. We had very fast check-in, very quick check out, and the personnel was so nice that he gave us a lot of extra indications for spending a good journey in Iceland. The car was less than 2 years old, the heating system and the seat warmer highly appreciated (even in September), the mattresses were comfortable, all the cutlery and gas stove included and pillows included. The service is ready to pick up the phone and pick up -drop off - check in and check out 24h a day 7/7, which is very comfortable when traveling in a foreign country with different obligations with flight etc. We had such a good experience, I just highly recommend travelling with Nordic Camper!!

Laurie

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

We were really pleased with Nordic Campers. Their motorhomes have all of the essentials... Just add food. The Fiat model we rented was perfect for the two of us, drove easily, and had a great heater and kitchen. I'd highly recommend booking with Nordic.

Adam

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018

Marta

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Very good

Alexandru

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018

Airport shuttle was late, we waited 45 minutes. (Nordic Campers) Contact provided in the booking cannot be reached. We dialled like 3 times and no one picked up. When we asked them about the phone number (to check whether it is working or not), they explained to us that sometimes there's a queue, and they have yet to set up an auto reply bot advising caller on the queue.

Pick up process was ok. We were upgraded to the larger Renault Traffic, which we very much appreciate, although it consumed more fuel. The staff didn't care to explain how to use the car, he didn't even bother to walk out with us to inspect the car. We asked about heater (is there one, how to use it), and they can't even answer us properly. We had to figure everything ourselves. Even had our first night sleep without the heater, cause we only figured that out the next day. Pillows were provided but not blanket, we had to pay another 25 EUR extra for sleeping bed rental...

Jeremy

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2011 Renault Kangoo Camper

It was challenging at start but ended well. We had to wait for more than 1 hour at the airport before pick up. We then were offered a motorhome with no bunk beds in the back (only one couch, a convertible table and the over cabin bed) for 5 persons! Moreover, the campervan had cracks on the window and a broken rear mirror. We eventually changed the motorhome to a bigger one for the same price, as we explained that it was impossible for our 3 kids to sleep in the narrow table bed (they are 185 cm tall!). The persons really was helpful and efficient changing the vehicle for us, and we then spent 10 wonderfull days of camping!

Stephan

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

Really the experience was not very good.

We arrived late to the Reykjavik airport, around 1:30 AM and Nordic Campers transfer arrived more or less in time.

Around 2 AM we were ready to leave and when we tried to start the motorhome (Ford), the engine was broken, that means that they didn't review the vehicle to ensure it was working correctly.

They provided us with another motorhome (Fiat). We moved all the luggage to the new van, and then we notice that the second bed in the dining area was very small (around 1.50 meters or less).

Nordic Camper responsible tried to convince us that it was fine and that we could use it as a bed without problems. I had to literally lay down in the bed to show that it was impossible to use.

They didn't have more motorhomes available and the solution that they give us is that we should drive with the new van to the nearest camping (at 3 AM), sleep in the camping and then return at 8 AM when they open the office to get a new van...

Diego

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

Airport pickup was late - we were unable to make contact with the company during this time
Staff - staff member going over rental paperwork was not friendly and said it was our fault the airport pickup was delayed
Emergency - we had an issue on the weekend in which we needed to contact the department nd the emergency hotline was not answered at all, we called 7 times over a two hour span. The regular line to the department took 3 times for an answer, we were lucky we were not in an emergency as this would have been an even more serious issue
The van - the actual van was wonderful with all the amenities we needed! The price was also ideal in comparison

Katherine

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

OK. Some things on the van did not work or were missing which we only discovered once well on route (half the curtain between the driving bay and rest of vehicle; something to light the gas; and it took us ages to find a gas station that sold gas cylinders - there is no point renting a van without gas so a cylinder with gas should be part of the package; and to get the gas stove to work we had to hold down the buttons with something otherwise the flame went out; impossible to open vent above double bed because of missing handle; window blind on left side above table would not stay up so impossible to keep out the light which made sleeping difficult given short nights). There was an orange light on the dashboard that sometimes came on indicating the engine struggling or the disc slipping (?) - in 40 years of driving have never seen this symbol so spent a lot of time worrying the fan-belt or clutch was about to give up...

Martin

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018

My experience was awesome. I loved the mini-camper van and its great flexibility. I will definitely return to the Land of Ice and Fire and rent again from Nordic Campers . . .

Julian

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The booking process was correct, price and conditions were corrects too. Once there we had to pay 100 euros for propane gas, we thought was included. The Motorhome was clean but the battery was totally empty, after a chat with owner he gave us as a solution stay over and charge it with his own electricity, but obviously we didn’t expect stay a whole night at book office. A part of this, the RV was correct, some imperfections as fuel indicator broken, so was hard to control the fuel levels. This kind of things must to fix it before rent but the most important things , the RV must to be full and ready to go, no matter what. In spite of everything, it was a great experience. Thank you.

Javier

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018

The office was very hectic and they were very unorganized. When we arrived there was only one man at the entire place, but there were a lot of people dropping off and picking up.
When we receive our camper everything looks great! The guy shows us how to use the back heater and off we go! Our 4th night on ring road we experience a storm. It was very cold, windy and raining very hard. Our van started leaking and our heater did not work. It was a miserable night. Our sleeping bags and pillows were soaked and it was very cold.
When we mentioned this when returning our van the guy behind the didn't seem to care very much. He just brushed us off and continued to help the next customer.

Nicole

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Very good experience . Nordic campers showed great courtesy in hospitality and great professionalism. We were very satisfied with the free pick-up service at the airport and the efficiency of the vehicle.

Maurizio

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

Overall the experience was pretty good. The only thing that was frustrating was how long it took for pick up. It seems liked that front desk staff wasn’t sure what they were doing and it made the process fairly slow. However, the accommodations were up to par they made sure we were equipped with all the right tools.

Tehah

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Fair

Chaula

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

We had a great experience booking our caravan with Northbound. The client support was available an pretty fast before, during and after our trip. They are very nice people always there to help out. Thanks a lot!!

Alvaro

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018

The camper was clean and in great condition, ideal for touring the south coast. One thing that could be added would be a matteres of sorts in the back as it was a little uncomfortable sleeping on the hard board but was fine for a few days. Really friendly and helpful staff though it did take a short while to get the vechal as everyone arrived at the same time and staff seemed a little flustered. Overall was exactly what I was looking for and at a great price!

Amy

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Roberto

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

Good so far. Needed to wait about 40min till to get the camper but in the end everything worked fine. The camper was already a little bit older but for us good enough. Price is high as everything in island. We had some issues with the drain sensor which was most probably defective and show after a short time already that the tank is full. everything else fine thanks.

Raphael

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

The vehicle was old and dirty. Nobody explained to us anything about its operation. When it broke down, we did not receive assistance from the company. We had to take the vehicle to the garage. They did not respond to e-mails or text messages, and when they answered the phone they were quite unpleasant and rude. We lost two days with the damaged car outside a garage. To finish, no apology or compensation.

David

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

We had a great Icelandic experience thanks to Northbound. They helped with everything and the motorhome was in perfect condition.

Daniel

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018

Our experience with Nordic Campers was good.
We had to overcome a first general impression that was negative: 1 hour wait at the airport and unclear information about who would pick us up + 45 min wait at the rental place. A camper that did not match the model we chose online (no bed at the back, so we had to unfold the bed below the dining table every night) and that was older than expected.
Yet at the end, Christos, the manager has been great: good explanation, available, honest, service oriented. He made of our experience a good one. We warmly recommend Christos and we hope that the above points mentioned will be improved: accurate camper pictures, differentiation between model, accurate information about the pick up, etc.

Charlotte

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

Heater broke, Spare tire was thrown in and not secured, the lining on the door kept coming off, I had to wait 3 hours before a vehicle was ready.

KALVIN

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

We were collected from the airport and checked in promptly and the camper we hired was clean and well stocked with cutlery, utensils and pots/pans. Everything in the camping box contents looked in very condition. We had one missing item which was replaced for us without any problem. We had booked a basic camper and it was just right for our short trip. 24 hour opening was really helpful for us as we had an early flight at the end of our stay in Iceland. We were happy with the service we received.
We would recommend that customers always check any hire vehicle carefully before they leave the rental place, ensuring that any previous damage is noted and that all items (in an equipment box) are available. An equipment checklist might be helpful so that any accidental omissions can be sorted out before driving away.

Michelle

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2011 Renault Kangoo Camper