Reviews for Lagoon Car Rental

The car was in poor condition for a vehicle supposedly less than 2 years old. The body work had very many scratches and chips with a crack on the front spoiler which we had to point out on collection. The seats in the car showed a great deal of wear ( much worse than my 9 year old car with135000 miles on the clock!) they had to be cleaned again before we took the car as they were muddy,
The car itself performed well but we were left feeling dissatisfied as in all the years we have rented cars we have never been given one in such poor condition. When the condition of the car was pointed out the staff member didn’t seem to be bothered, not even apologising for the state of the seats

Maura

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 KIA Cee'd Sportswagon

The car was fantastic, great car. But....we got the car with a very bad smell ..maybe dog urine or similar. We did not notice because it might have been vented but we had to keep venting the car for days, This really was not good at all. The car was not completely clean when we got it, looks that they were in a hurry to get it ready for us. A clean and not smelly car would have made all the difference.

EDUARDO

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2018 Subaru Outback

We got a Dustia Duster with a flat tire that has been Repair with pins. It wasn't safe and the owner of our cabin saw that and connected you so you'll change our jeep to another one.
It wasted our time so our experience wasn't that nice. We paid our best money and didn't expected to get a jeep in this condition. Beyond that the shuttle was good and everyone were very nice.

Shalom Yaron

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

View all cars from this company

Click here

Hi,
We booked a camper van at Lagoon Car, we enjoyed driving with the car. Regarding the process, At the time of the return, I was wondering if I could just have a proof that I returned the car, a receipt with the signature, date, name of the agent and signature. This is the only part that think should be corrected, otherwise everything was really smooth an professionnal. The speed of the transaction, the employee, the shuttle service were those details that made our trip much easier. Thanks Lagoon!

Reda

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Volkswagen Caddy Camper

When picking up the car I noticed immediately it had a low tire. The person at Lagoon rental disagreed, even though the car was indicating it. He said it was because it just had winter tires put on but if I insisted would put air in the tire. We struggled with this low tire our entire trip, including having to add air 2 times each day (at least!). This is super disappointing because they moved the car in the lot and didn't say anything to us. I had to point it out.

When returning the car I was met with what I would call poor and rude service. Maybe this is an Icelandic thing, but I would expect them to ask how the car was and if we had any issues.

Additionally, the car seats we rented and were given were poor at best. I can't believe that's the European standard, we would've been better off bringing our own.

Overall I would never recommend or rent from Lagoon Car Rental again...

Ashley

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 KIA Sorento

When we arrived at the airport “Blue Lagoon cat hire” were not aware of our arrival. Albeit I produced the paperwork indicating the change of address for the vehicle pickup the representative at the airport was rude. However they did transport us to the Blue Lagoon car hire place near the airport. We were asked to inspect the car in darkness with no initial lighting. We had to ask for the vehicle to be move from the storage area so we could carry out the inspection. Overall experience was not great.

Alwyn

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2014 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

They treated us right and there was no unexpected taxes.
But when we got stucked in a blizzard they didn't help us at all, we had to get out by ourselves.

Pablo

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2017 KIA Sorento

Car was all good. They should remind you when car is due. After a long series of flights, details slip. Took 1 hour to get ride to airport after drop off and they need better office maintenance. Trash overflowing all cans and in bathrooms.

Anne

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 KIA Rio

We were met at the airport at the agreed time. We didn’t get a Hyundai i10. It was burning oil and Lagoon suggested that we take some oil with us. We declined this car. Lagoon gave us a Kia Picanto instead. This was fine but the delay cost us half an hour of our holiday. Both cars were covered in scratches so at least we didn’t have to worry about that. The car had done 100,000km already so not even remotely new...The staff were really pleasant.
On returning the car everything went smoothly except that the shuttle driver was stressed. We got halfway to the airport and then turned around and went back to pick up some more clients so this took much longer to get to the airport. In the end we arrived in good time but only because we arrived at the car hire place in lots of time.

Christian

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Laura

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Subaru Forester

Hi ,
On the whole was pleased. The Subaru car was good. When we arrived we were disappointed that we had to wait 40 mins plus to get a shuttle to the car office. The the driver had to take some people before us , so we just had to sit around at the airport. Other than that it was fine . We chose Lagoon for the car and price .

Andrew

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Subaru Outback

The 2017Kia Rio was a great car. It was clean, and though a few years old, practically new. The staff was helpful, friendly, and pleasant. I have rented cars on several occasions across Europe and this was the best experience.

George

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 KIA Rio

It was just the right size. It met our expectations. We were pleased with it.

Stephanie

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

It was great, everything worked fine.

András Gábor

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Booking process (via agency) was smooth & efficient.
Pick up at the airport was well announced and organized
The hand over process was cumbersome as the car was heavily scratched but not all scratches were marked in the hand over report.
Drop -off was smooth
Overall a good transaction at an attractive price, only the homework before handing over the car should have been done better

Michael

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 KIA Rio

Hi Runar,
The interaction with the rental location personnel was pleasant. I think they’re spread thin because I had to wait a while and call to be picked up after landing into KEF. The vehicle has issues .. cracked windshield, steering veering to the left, wipers which worked erratically in the rain and a window which was completely inoperable. I was assured that the vehicle was safe to drive and was road worthy. However, given the issues I didn’t feel comfortable driving to destinations in my original plan and kept to good paved roads instead. The people at the rental location checked out each of the issues and promised to fix them all before the car is rented out again. Too bad my rental experience was ruined because of a vehicle riddled with issues.

Regards,

Sanjeev

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

I did not Get a KIA, but I GOT a similar car. When I GOT the car everything was good and got a lot of help. The driving from airport to the car rental was okey. When we were going to give back the car, we had to wait a lot.

Kristine

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Kia Picanto

The 2018 Dacia Duster that I was supposed to get had over 130 000 km on the meter! Assuming it had been in service since the end of 2017 - say for 700 days - this means 186 km EVERYDAY all year round... Car however robust, with a rather good suspension, but noisy. Staff at drop-off completely understaffed (no one at arrival at the Keflavik office, the guy was returning from his shuttle service to the terminal, with no one else in the office!)

Bruno

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

As is the norm you get a car that is of the same class as the one you specify but that's not a problem. Car pick up and drop off was easy airport office is open 24/7
Information given about the roads was useful. All in all a good experience.

Tom

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

We loved every little bit of our caddy :) Shuttle service was also perfect, and the process of check-in/out was super easy!

Monica Laura

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Volkswagen Caddy Camper

It was a great little car with a funny little horn!

Irene

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

I was late in picking up the car because I understimate the distance from the city center and I walked there.
The person at the desk (2,30pm) was kind and patience. The car was fine, we had no problem at all and right for my journey.
The service with the shuttle ti the airport was quick and good.
I only didn’t understand why I had to pay extra 4.500 isk for a tunnel when on internet it is said it is free from the 2008.
That was the only doubt I had a out the whole service.

ENRICO

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

First of all the car I had rented was not available as it had an accident. I was offerede a smalller car to start with but we finally agreed to a mini van as we were 5 adults and 5 suitcases. The car was dirty and honestly it was not in great shape either. Lots of dents and scratches and the spare wheel was missing. Gas tank was only half full, the number plate almost fell off and some other minor parts were about to fall off.
All that said, the car turned out to be a great choice for our tour of the Ring 1, with lots of space for all passengers and the luggage. It drove without any problems.

Except for the spare wheel which I only discovered later, your very helpful handling agent (Birge?) fixed all the issues and made sure the systems was up to date, so I had no issues returning the car.

Michael

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Subaru Outback

I wanted to thank you for your hospitality, it was much appreciated. Both my girlfriend and I felt very welcome in your beautiful country.

Joseph

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

View all cars from this company

Click here

Booked a car with this agency through northbound.is
I was a little concerned about booking a "cheaper" vehicle instead of using the mainstream competition, especially if you read some of the reviews available!
However, everything was just fine.
We were met at the airport with only a very slight delay, and this was only as the shuttle bus was going backwards and forwards, so fair enough. I did call to check and received a very prompt, polite and efficient response.
The hiring process was simple, the car was in good condition (not excellent, as not new, but as the colleague explained, this did mean they were a little more relaxed about how the car came back too!).
Go ahead and use Lagoon.
It was all good.

Adam

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Subaru Forester

Very good service. Great prices.

Silly

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

Lagoon Car Rental has been very easy to deal with. The car was ready in time and the car was really good. What was not so nice though was that I could not get an overall invoice 'as the prepayment was done to Northbound' so I only got an invoice of the part I still had to pay to Lagoon.....

Andrei

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Subaru Outback

Everything went good! Would recommend 100%

Luca

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

It was all fine :)

Mani

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Subaru Outback

It's a nice little car, zooms along very nicely, well equipped. Seats get a bit uncomfortable after a long drive.

Peter

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10