Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Nice small and agile car. Ideal for my one day weekend trip out of town
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 05. Aug 2020
Good
Bilen er en rigtig god type bil til formålet med familien på Island.
At batteriet til bilnøglen ikke virkede var irriterende.
At vinduesviskeren var slidt og dårlig (larmede) var irriterende
At den ene billygte foran var slået i stykker (rusten, gammel skade) dels ulovligt , dels ubehageligt at vide at modkørende ikke kunne se bilen.
"småting" er svære at sætte tal på, men det reducerer bedømmelsen fra 4,8 til 3,5
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 02. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent communication
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 10. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We had an amazing trip in Iceland.
Glad we had a 4DW, so it was really easy to get to Holaskjol Highlandcenter.
Everything went really well!!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Car was great and the service really good.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
have allredy made a coment on your site
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
For a manual driver it served as a good way to transition to Iceland left hand steering. On the whole an excellent experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 11. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Great experience with Northbound for our road trip around Iceland.
We could pick up the car at our first guesthouse then drop it at the second one before leaving. We could even change our plans without any problem, Thordis was always kind and reactive. A good car too, perfectly clean and well-equiped. To be recommanded
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Hi
Our experience with northbound and mycar was outstanding : due to Covid19 our flight has been rescheduled several times and Northbound did adjust our booking accordingly, with a great level of service to us.
Mycar is very good too and the car we got was brand new (244 km) - they were also good adviser about the road conditions !
Thanks to both of them we have had a great time in Iceland without fearing any matter
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Aug 2020
Good
Car suited us and ran well... particularly for a car with nearly 200k on the clock.
Unfortunately only the driver was taken To collect the car after waiting for 20 minutes and then I had to drive back to the airport to get my kids. But overall it was ok
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Good
We rented a Dacia Duster and went for the westfjords. The car was totaly suited for all roads we traveled. The rental and return were quite easy and quick. Would rent again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Good
The Suzuki was quite good. Just that the radar brake was most times automatically disabled when it rains and the navigation system was out of date.

The communication and the customer support was quite good.

A few topics to improve:
- Transport capacity between airport and northern lights...we had to wait more then one hour
- At the end we had to park the car directly at the airport. A short notice via mail would have saved us the way to northern lights
- Maybe we missed it but a notice about the deposit would have been good to know
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We got an excellent car from Lava Car Rental. We had no problems, the car was clean and comfortable. Pick-up at the airport was very quick and at the office they adapted the original contract to the due to Covid changed plans. Next time we'll use Lava Car Rental again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 06. Aug 2020
Good
We had a great time.
Picking up car was a little weird. Only one person could get the car and then I had to drive back to the airport.
Tire looses pressure after only 1 day....okay bad luck I guess. Had to go to the garage after a few days.
But for the rest of the journey we had a great time. Drove 2800 km in 12 days!
Hope to come back to Iceland next year!!!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We rented a Dacia Dokker from Star Car Rental. And everything worked out great.
We where picked up at the airport, 30 min later we had filled out the papers, got a quick tour of the car and we where on our way. We had the car in 6 days and no problem at all.
Before hand we wanted to extend the car rental with one day. No problem at all Northbound support helped us out.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
The experience with Geysir Car Rental was amazing. Your empolyee Gunnar should get a promotion.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 06. Aug 2020
We didn't get a Vitara. They gave us an S Cross. We think it wasn't a comparable car and for the F roads in the highlands not high enough and an inadequatly springing.
The driver who picked us up at the airport and at northern lights didn't help us with the luggage to disposite it right in the car for transport. The navigation wasn't up to date so we used our mobile phone. Many roadds were unknown.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent service from Affordable Campers. Very good communication before, during and after the rental period.
The car is not the biggest one but we had no problem at all with the mechanics.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 10. Aug 2020
Fine
average - car really needed a big check up BEFORE the keys were hand over. Too many things weren't checked. Also essentials such as the windshield wipers we had to replace ourselves. There were lots of strange noises in that car and the sun visor at the passengers side wasn't original which made it impossible to decently open OR close it. Returning the car was also a mess because of lack of staff. Only two people there who had to do the documents, check the cars AND drive the busses to the airport. Result: long queue in the office and nobody there because they were at the airport. Neven seen such an bad organisation before.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We got great service from MyCar.
The car we rented was fantastic. The Toyota Land Cruiser must be one of the best cars to travel Iceland
Highly recommended
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Lava Car Rental is a very good place to rent a car at - great to have a transfer from/to airport, pick up and drop off of the car was easy. I do recommend Lava car rental.

Dacia Duster - it is a good car to rent.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 29. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Great car - and brand new!
When i com back home - i buy me 1 like this!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Nice and clean car, just sufficient for 2 adults. Fairly new and did the job very well. Equipped with all the necessities for a 2 week visit. Will definitely return to both Northbound and Lava rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 06. Aug 2020
Good
Dacia is a fine car, only i dont drive on F roads with this car.
Gravel road are oké
Next time i rent a beter car for driving on F Roads
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 06. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent service for a reasonable price!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Aug 2020
Excellent
When we arrived at the airport in Iceland (around midnight), we were picked up at the appointed time and we were taken to the office to pick up our rental car. On the way we got some tips from the driver about driving in Iceland.
The car was brand new with few kilometers on the clock and in very good condition for a correct price. The car had a big trunk. There was enough space for 4 big cases and 4 back packs. And there was more than enough space for 4 adults in the car. The tiptronic did everything what he had to do in a smooth way both in the mountains and on F-roads.
On the way back we were transferred at the agreed time to our hotel at the airport.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Excellent
Good, new car working perfectly - even if I would probably have liked to be recommended a 4 x 4 with some higher clearance even for the usual F roads in the highlands. A tad expensive maybe but service was good - so nothing to complain about.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Nice and helpfull stuff, good car, smart architecture of interior in a car, easy for using, all equipment for camping included, sleeping bags included...
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Very good
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 31. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Serious, fair and thumbs up - Everything worked professional
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 02. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Good and reliable car for our 12 days roadtrip (3650 km), with enough space inside for 4 people and our luggages.
The roof tent is very comfortable for 2 normal-size people (I'm 1,80 m and I could stay in it), giving good protection from wind and rain. The mattress and the pillows inside it were clean.
The pick up at the airport when we arrived was in time. The staff is kind and helpful.
Definitively a good choice. We don't have any complaints about the car or the company.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
A good experience, perfect veichle, nice staff, efficient pick up at the airport
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Good experience with this company, very helpfull and friendly. I recommend them.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Good
Dear sir, The car was nice to drive and eco friendly except that there was no cruise control!
Please change this on your site because this not in the car!
I've driven 4000km and this was really tuff! Especially on the road ( 1) for speeding tickets!
Other request is above the bed I missed some space for clothes!
I saw this in a dacia. If you need more info let me know
Kind regards
Johan

rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 31. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent. We always like a landcruiser as it’s so good on all terrain.
Some car hire companies don’t let you soecify the vehicle, only the type,which is annoying when you specifically want a particular car.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent rental experience. They sat down with us and gave us practical tips and recommended places for us to see during our rental. I like that they guarantee the car type when booking. The car was brand new and very comfortable, both for highway driving and F-roads. Highly recommened, would rent again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 06. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was good. High mileage, but reliable clean and comfortable. I was pleased with the car.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 26. Jul 2020
Good
A few days before our rental we informed if an upgrade to a 4WD would be possible but unfortunately we didn't receive reaction before our rental pick up time. When we showed up at the address were we would pick up our car it turned out the office had moved to the domestic airport (due to corona) and after a few calls we got a ride there. Geysir said this was Northbounds fault but Northbound said this was Geysirs fault. The Dacia Duster now wasn't available so that was a bummer. I must say things didn't start great, but we received a compensation from Northbound which we appreciated. I think we just had bad luck, but it wasn't quite what we'd expected.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 27. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Car and its equipment, although that I choosen 5 years old car, was in a very good technical condition. I didn't have a single problem with car nor on tar roads, neither on gravel roads.
Young and friendly staff at rental point. Fast and easy rental procedures.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 10. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was great.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 22. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We had a 4WD for 1 day, which was simply a perfect experience. The car was brand new (1 month old!!), the pick-up and drop-off was smooth and the staff was friendly. Unlike other car rental companies this company does not push you to get more insurance for your car, I really appreciate that you guys do not force me to get one! Moreover, two tiny things that did not bother me but might help you guys is 1. In the booking confirmation you guys stated the address of the other office and not of the airport office, therefore I first drove to the main office and after that to your airport office 2. It was not entrily clear to me that the car rental company was inside of the hotel, perhaps place a sign or something to indicate that you guys are there. Just some minor feedback. Thanks again for the great ride we loved the highlands for one day!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 02. Aug 2020
tires have been run down, GPS was not provided, car was dirty inside, tank was not full, radio was not working, license plate loose, team very unfriendly > stay away
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 02. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything went very good ! The car was new. We could schedule the shuttle from/for Airport at any time. MyCar Rental is easy to contact by email or phone if needed and we always had a quick answer. I can only recommand this company !
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 12. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Superb experience!The crew of this young company was available day and night(always with a smile)!The administrative side (pick up and return)was very laid back and relaxed.
A high Icelandic-coolness factor!Thx again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Excellent
Very good support. First car had some technical problems - it was replaced in 5 minutes. Fast transfer from / to airport.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car we rented was the 2018 jimny with roof tent. We had a lot of fun with this car, it brings you everywhere you want to go in this country. The roof tent can be a little cold sometimes, but that’s what you’d expect. After all, it is still a tent. I would recommend icerental 4x4 to my friends.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 05. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The experience with the company was excellent (good and quick communication)
The car we've rented was like we've expected (it was not a new one but that was known by us)
We've had a nice holiday and would rent again a car with northbound
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 26. Jul 2020
Fine
Ein auto wie ein bratwurst injection lamp Brent verbraucht viel zuviel benzine Und klappert an alle seiten.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 02. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
I liked the Toyota Land Cruiser a lot. MyCar was always very help full - also when we had an accident and had a flat tyre. They were always with help on the phone. Nice service before arrival when ordering an upgrade for the car.
rented a vehicle in July 2020