Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 01. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
For its age and the weather in icelend it’s great.perfect!
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 19. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Efficient service and good value
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 21. Feb 2022
Fine
The car was ok, it served its purpose, however it was a relatively old car with big mileage, and consumed a lot, it would definitely increase customer experience if newer cars would be used for the purpose as they would consume much less gas and therefore save the customer quite a decent amount of money while traveling
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 17. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Yes - great service and quick to get us in our car so we could get our holiday started!!
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 19. Feb 2022
Good
the car was ok and our trip with it was nice. Just we had not the brush to take off the snow and it snowed a lot one night so we had to ask someone for lending one.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 16. Feb 2022
Terrible experience!!!
A representative of LAVA car rental supposed to waiting for me at the airport with my name sign. At the time of the booking I had provided my flight number and landing time. In reality nothing from above happened, no one was at the airport. I waited 20 min. and give the rental company a call, they said that I need to wait another 15 min. After that given time I rang them again and they said to wait another 15 min. After 20 min I tried to call one more time and no one pick up this time and machine answering come in place. I definitely thought that this a scam!! I’m spending already 1 1/2 hours at airport after my plane was landed, eventually someone with sign LAVA come to airport and I started asking questions. The
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 19. Feb 2022
Good
Simple to drive, no problem.
The information about the insurance and the money take in case of is not clearing before we arrived at the office.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 19. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Nice car and nice people at MyCar
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 16. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
The experience renting through Northbound/Go Iceland was extremely easy. The shuttle picked us up form the airport and the car was clean and ready to go at the rental shop. Rental was quick and the four wheel drive was perfect for driving around in Februrary!
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 14. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
We had a little issue as we started out with a blown fuse which the guys repaired quickly. No other issues with the vehicle, everyone was very professional, and got us to/from the airport quickly. I’d definitely rent here again.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 11. Feb 2022
Excellent
Very straight forward booking and pickup/drop off process but requires a transfer from/to airport. Reasonable prices and very friendly and helpful staff. Would use Northern Lights again.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 15. Feb 2022
Excellent
The car was brand new and very comfortable. The drop off was easy. The only little problem is that the rental office of Reykjavik was very far from the center and it was difficult to go there early Sunday morning (we took an expensive taxi...).
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 13. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Very easy online rental, with range of vehicle options easy to identify.. Thrifty was the vehicle provider and they were very helpful, gave me an upgrade, no charge. I was able to extend my rental by one day through email, also very convenient. Would use again.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 17. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Our full-time 4WD Duster carried us around the entire Ring Road comfortably & handled the winter roadway conditions very well. The backup camera was continuously (internally?) fogged, as it gave only blurry useless views despite clearing it of ice & snow. Pick up, drop off & the shuttle services were easy & smooth.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 10. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Fara were great, picked me up from the airport promptly and the car was warm and waiting for me at their office. They didn't have any of the car that I ordered in stock but the car they gave me was definitely an upgrade. They gave me a few websites to check for weather and road conditions and also emailed me a couple of times with advice because of an incoming storm.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 14. Feb 2022
Excellent
The car was lovely to drive, very comfortable. There was plenty of room for all of us as a group of 7. Lots of room in the boot for 7 suitcases as well.
Only 3 negatives, 1, within 1/2 hour of leaving we ran out of screen wash and had to buy some as there was none in the van. 2, the heat only reached the back seats if the fan and heat were on full blast, which meant that it felt like my face was melting as it was so hot in the front. And 3, as I have an iPhone I tried to use the apple car play but it kept cutting out, so ended up having someone tell me the directions rather than using the satnav.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 08. Feb 2022
Good
Nada mas salir a carretera salió una alerta de neumático deshinchado o pinchado, por lo que volvimos, comprobaron los neumáticos y nos dijeron que con este tipo de neumáticos ocurría
El último día nos aplazaron 24h el vuelo y nos dejaron alquilar 1 día más el coche, aunque el precio pagado es superior al del resto de días

El coche no nos ha dado problemas ni en nueve ni en hielo
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 21. Feb 2022
Excellent
Everything was great, customer service was superb. The only issue I have is the original Suzuki Vitara we have booked is advertised as a 4x4 but it is not a 4x4. It is an all wheel drive vehicle with snow mode. A 4x4 has the option to lock in four wheel drive and typically has a low and high mode. Other than that everything was great and I appreciate you all.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 17. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
The car saved us in the sandfok, also was reliable, from the beginning to the end a great experience from the people involved to the equipment on the car everything worked perfectly, friendly and ready for us, one of lights of the car broke but Bogi quickly came out on top and we had it fixed in a matter of minutes, when I’m back on Iceland I will use campingcars again marvelous experience
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 11. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Booked for 1 week in February 2022. Service was good. Shuttle picked us up from the airport. Ten minute drive to the pick up location. Filled in paperwork and away. The return was also simple - back to the pick up location and then a shuttle to the airport. The car was good. Ran well and dealt with the icy conditions well.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 10. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Great service and we were picked up at the airport terminal and the paperwork was all ready . Arriving early in dark winter morning makes it difficult to find your way around but we managed. The Toyota Corolla was excellent but will definitely rent taller vehicle due to snow condition and safer travel
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 02. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Overall the service was excellent. This was my first time hiring abroad and found it to be very easy. The only down side was that we had booked to have a WiFi box with the car but this wasn't included when we picked up the car. Luckily we had enough data available with our mobile phone provider to cover our trip.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 13. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
The car was really very practical and absolutely sufficient even in hard winter conditions.
The winter tires did good job on roads with snow – only one icy mountain road we could not make.
Driving was really funny – equipment very useful – sleeping area quite fine if you are not more than 175cm.
Highly recommended car type and rental agency – especially price 4 value was perfect.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 31. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Car was clean, in good condition and on time. Ivar was great explaining the rules of the road and offered a couple of suggestions.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 31. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
The service was very good. Everything went well. Lava Car Rental helped us with everything and were very flexible. We would definitely book this service again.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 02. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
The car worked fine for my journey on the ringroad around the whole island in winter! But the headlights are really bad. It is like there were candles instead of lamps.
The whole procedure with northern lights was very easy and good. Everything worked out fine! Next time in iceland i will rent a car here again!
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 30. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
All good! Perfect communication and suggestion to get insurance for the front! Will deffinately return!
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 25. Jan 2022
Excellent
A very good experience! Thankyou
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 28. Jan 2022
Good
The pick up instructions were not very clear. The car was very clean.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 24. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
The car was great! It was well maintained and equipped for the winter driving conditions. A Car Rental’s service was excellent, they drove to us for a Reykjavik pickup which was super easy and they were super flexible about the return of the car, too. Would definitely recommend!
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 22. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
We had a great experience. The car they gave us was very comfy. We drove quite a long distance and we felt very confident. The picking up was great and on time, they were flexible for the return. We would definitely rent a car here again.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 31. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
The car was clean, prepared for winter, ran smoothly. Basically what was described was what we got. We did not encounter any issues.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 23. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Hi there, car was perfect for all we did. The team very nice, special nomination to Benjamin and Ann. Thanks for all.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 19. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
We have had a very succesfull tour and Go Campers are so nice and helpfull.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 14. Jan 2022
Very disappointed with the car. Very battered up. Engine light came on halfway through the trip. Doors were not sealed and air was penetrating everywhere. The worst is that they inspect the car on delivery as if there was nothing wrong with it. They intentionally look for something to charge you.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 14. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
It was a great experience. Our vehicle from Northern Lights Car Rental worked wonderfully and kept us both safe and comfortable throughout the entire trip.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 13. Jan 2022
Excellent
We had a really nice road trip with the 4x4 Duster.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 17. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
I had an excellent experience with Cheap Campervans. The vehicle was clean and included equipment was in excellent condition. Best customer service I have experienced from a car rental company ever as they went out of their way to accommodate my requests after working hours. Highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 11. Jan 2022
Well, it was my choice to go for a 2017 model, but I was not expecting a car with more than 200.000 km of life; the driver seat was slightly moving when hitting bombs and the front wheels were not at all what you were expecting when you have to face Iceland winter, as too much used and with a small number of spikes (back wheels were much better). One wheel was visibly low pressure when we rented the car and we had to ask to be fixed, and they forgot to mention we had discounts on the fuel provider (one lady at a counter of N1 mentioned it to us).
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 11. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Great car and amenities
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 08. Jan 2022
Good
Hello,
the deal by north bound was great! The car was good as well. The pick up went smoothly and the drop off as well.
The colleagues at the drop off were a bit rude (Icerental 4x4) - but maybe because it was 4:00 in the morning :-)
We would definitely consider going for northbound again in case we travel to Iceland!

Thank you
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 10. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Everything worked as expected. Car was as promised and we never had any issues. The integrated WiFi was practical. Would choose again.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 09. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Great comfortable car. Good in every condition. Car was brand new and exactly as described. Easy communication with the company, we even got massages about the weather conditions during our trip.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 07. Jan 2022
Fine
Driving the car was very nice, good power and lots of space. Unfortunately the car was very old and a lot of damages and problems: window at driverseat could not be opened/difficult to open doors from the inside.
Besides this, because of weather-predictions we had to go home one day earlier so we gave back the car one day earlier, but did not receive any refund..
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 09. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Its a good car to drive in Iceland. Smaller than expected but definitely git the job done.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 04. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Great service.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 02. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
From start to finish the car rental was seamless and made our trip to Iceland fantastic. We knew we didn’t want hotels and tour companies and hiring a van gave us the freedom to move from place to place at our own rate. I’ve never slept in a van before and was worried campervanning in Iceland would be miserably cold but our van was wonderfully cosy and warm and we slept so well each night! I was so grateful for the overnight heater! We had no problems on the road whilst driving. We both have Volkswagens back in the UK so were familiar with the inside of the van. Definitely a cheaper way to see Iceland and great if you love driving and seeing some insanely beautiful scenery. The ability to hand the car back at the airport was also a huge help as our flight home was very early. This made our lives a lot easier. I couldn’t recommend this company more and if we return to Iceland we’ll be using them again. I will definitely recommend this to friends and family.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 03. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent service. The car was great on the roads during bad conditions. Very economical for the amount of driving that we done.
Very pleasant to deal with, helpful, very easy to collect and return with options. Prompt pick up and delivery to the airport. Would definitely use this company again when we return.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 03. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Great car and great service by the MyCar team. Simple process and really helpful staff.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 10. Jan 2022
Renting a car with "MyCar Rental" was the only bad experience we had in our travel around Iceland.
After arriving from Airport to the renting house and ones we had the keys of the car, we realised that the car had the front window almost broken with a fairly large slit.
We had to discuss it for about an hour until we got another car.
We had made the reservation almost two months in advance, enough time for them to have the car in perfect condition.
It is known that in Iceland, due to the roads and the climate, there is a high risk of glass breakage and we had no intention of taking risks.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
The Supplier Response:
Hi Maria,
We are really sorry that you had this bad experience with our service.
Our main focus is to provide a quality service and vehicles in the best possible conditions. Today we are facing a global problem when it comes to lack of manufacturing vehicle parts. We always make sure the windshield is checked properly so we are sure it's safe to use but of course it's always ideal to have it replaced and we do show your concerns a full understanding.
Luckily we were able to upgrade your car and we hope that you enjoyed your visit to Iceland :)