🌋 For the latest information on Iceland's volcanic activity click here

Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

11769 Reviews

11769 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 01. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Our booking was changed to a FORD Kuga, which was fine. Spacious, comfortable and ran well.
Anthony rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 03. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The car was great and we had no issues at all
Andreas rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 01. Jan 2024
Good
A small problem with the pickup...the shuttle was too small and not everyone could go...we had to wait a long time on the return trip to the airport. But no "moving" problems... overall everything was good and OK. Happy New Year Uwe
Uwe rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 06. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Zydrunas rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 31. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
This was our first of many trips to Iceland. We prebooked months in advance and our driver/transport to car rental was waiting for us at the airport. Our plane landed after they closed so it felt above and beyond from them to be waiting for us after hour. She explained everything throughly and went over all insurance options. Nicely answered all my questions. Went by effortlessly and will use them again in our future visit to this beautiful country.
Sean rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 27. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
The pick up and return went very well. The staff were excellent and very professional.
Alex rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 01. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Jelle rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 25. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Nice car everything is good Very good. If anyone choose go Iceland u will get a nice car with a nice price and 2 handsome reception boys excellent service. Without hesitation,if u go to Iceland ,u must choose go Iceland!!!!!!!
Shifeng rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 26. Dec 2023
Fantastic!
The Suzuki was perfect to go through the changing weather conditions! I would recommand this car! Employees were also very friendly, everything went very smootly. Happy to have chosen your company!
Bart rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 01. Jan 2024
Good
The Tucson is a hybrid car but the battery have been used up and I get no plug in to charge up Rental location should be more specify as there is no “GO ICELAND” colleague pick me up and another wrong company pick me to “4x4 rental” which your rental provider “ACE” was never mentioned in the booking ref page
Tak chuen rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 27. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Marius rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 24. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Instead of the Citroen C4 we got the Peugeot 5008 and I am not sure of the comparison, but the Peugeot was great. It had all the amenities we needed and it was great on the road. A problem we ran into was space. For our trip we needed a seven seater because there were 6 people travelling in our group. The person who sat on the third row seats were just suffering on longer drives. They had little to no space for their feet. Other than that the car was good. As for the car rental Thrifty the communication and customer services was good they worked with us when we were uncertain. However, and I do not know if it is right to review about it here, when we checked our bank statements we saw we got charged twice for the car insurance we got and after the holidays we will try to get in touch with them about it.
Georgi rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 16. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
perfect car to tour the country. Easy to drive and well equipped. Wifi booster made navigating easy.
Andrea rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 19. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Winter hire, great campervan based on a VW T5, I booked the Clever 4x4 X , X meaning 'experienced' i.e. an older van with more miles/ wear and tear, however you couldn't tell honestly, it was perfect for solo and would be great for a couple! The leisure battery and diesel heater was perfectly sized for the van, an hour of driving every day kept the battery topped up and the heater running all night (which was essential in the Icelandic winter). No electric hookup on the van, which I never felt I missed honestly, but if you were going for a very low mileage holiday or were staying on a site for a few days you may want to bare in mind. I slept great every night! There was one minor defect on the van, the main cabin heater direction switch was not working so I couldn't defog the windscreen 'easily', but with a bit of a wipe and a preheat it was fine. The defect would have been resolved had I reported it during my trip I have no doubt as the customer service was excellent! Everything else, booking, shuttle service from and to the airport, opening hours for pickup/drop-off etc was all exceptional, very slick and polished operation. I travelled with my parents who hired from Indie Camper and honestly CampEasy were night and day in comparison, that's not to say Indie Campers were bad persay, just couldn't hold a candle to CampEasy's polished service. Highly recommend.
Christopher rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 20. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Excellent vehicle, near new, perfect condition and well equipped for a good trip. Was seamless service from northbound and camp easy and the trip was fantastic. Thank you. Would use them again
Toby rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 23. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
This car was fabulous. Plenty of room for 5 people. Customer Service was A+
Nancy rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 14. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Richard rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 12. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Arsen rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 17. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Absolutely amazing service and an outstanding car. When we were held up after losing our luggage, I rang lava and they came straight away to collect us. After a 23hr flight we needed smooth transition. Every one was polite, professional and very informative. A very streamlined service. Extremely happy
Christopher rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 14. Dec 2023
Great
The car was fit for purpose, very clean and fuel efficient. The car collection was a little confusing, it took a while for the shuttle to arrive and the shuttle could only take the driver leaving my partner at the airport with the bags, it would be good if this was explained before but returning was easy.
James rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 07. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Very smooth process. I highly recommend and I'll use again
Marco luiz rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 10. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Muy satisfechos con el servicio, todo lo contratado (vehículo nuevo, recogida y traslado al aeropuerto) correcto. No dudaríamos en repetir
Maria araceli rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 02. Dec 2023
Very Good
Stephen rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 29. Nov 2023
Outstanding!
We were collected from the airport as previously arranged by minibus . Hand over of car both ways went very smoothly!
John rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 05. Dec 2023
Very Good
Buenas noches, primero de todo daros las gracias por la facilidad de alquilar el coche, la verdad esque el no tener que dejar ningun tipo de deposito y el poder recoger y dejar las llaves sin ningun tipo de burocracia se hace muy facil. A pesar de que Islandia es un pais caro, el precio creemos que podria ser algo mas barato
Yeray rented a vehicle in November 2023

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.