Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 09. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Really great car at a reasonable price! Had absolutely no trouxe from pick-up to drop-off.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
We requested an automatic car but the first one assigned was manual. But the company quickly fixed this by changing out the cars. Pick up was easy once we understood the process. Car suited our needs just fine. Didn't go on F roads.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 03. Oct 2022
Fantastic!
The Prius was in perfect condition! As a family of 4 traveling the ring road, we did wish for more cargo space, but we crammed everything in and made the best of it! It was worth it for the better gas mileage than other larger options provided. I wished for a more secure harness for my young children though. I felt a bit rushed through the process of choosing from the pile of varied and unfamiliar booster seats available. The woman checking me in was not super friendly or helpful. We did receive great customer service at drop-off and being shuttled to the airport.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 01. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car we rented was perfectly equipped for our time in Iceland. The company communicated really well, answered all our questions promptly, and made the process super easy. We reccoended it to many friends, and to all who are looking for a vehicle in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 30. Sep 2022
Good
Generally, the vehicle was ok. It was the perfect size snd easy to drive. However, the lights only worked on bright and then it was as bright as I would expect on for the regular setting. Also, the brakes squeaked terribly. I would not recommend this particular vehicle for a family. I did like the service though. The people we worked with were great and the gentleman that got us going on our adventure was very helpful. We added Wifi because of his advice and we were very thankful we did!!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 03. Oct 2022
Good
Attention! All of the insurance covers nothing if you have a damage on your car caused by a F-Road although it‘s a F-Road vehicle and allowed on F-Roads. This information wasn’t clear to me so I hope this is a help for others!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 01. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The perfect car for a road-trip around Island! Warmly recommand it for 2 to 4 people!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Really liked the Jimny, it's an awesome car and it ran great despite being very old. Also both the pickup and return were very fast and friendly at both ends, excellent service by Star Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 29. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was a very good choice, very comfortable and no troubles. We didn't spend a lot money refuling.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Fantastic!
I had read lots of reviews and we made the decision to take our campervan from rent.is. We had a great interaction with the staff and our vehicle performed very well. Great gas mileage (which is important) and customer service. We will definitely use northbound.is for any future rentals and referrals in Iceland!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
The van was good, no problems other than the passenger window would not go down unless the button on the driver side was used.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 23. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very good overall experience. Transfer from and to airport was smooth and fast. Very good, friendly customer service. Car was in really good condition. Well done Lotus Car Rental Team. Will definitely use your service again
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was great for the purpose.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 05. Oct 2022
Very Good
Good experience. Maybe the tyres not in the best condition for F_roads
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 04. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Well experience in general
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 27. Sep 2022
Good
First, it was not a 2018 Ford Fiesta Maual. It was a Subaru. Good car except the windshield wiper blades, both front and rear, were shot. They hardly cleared the windshield and rear window. Generally that wouldn’t be a big problem, except it rained every day and it did create a problem. Also the passenger side front door window would not lower using the operator switch on the door.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 27. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very nice vehicle.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Lava Car Rental was reliable and great! They offered us free coffee when picking up the car, and provided discount gas cars for the trip.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great experience, very simple, good at communication.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The best !!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 30. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
My Car was awesome! Quick pickup, easy return and had no issues with the car the entire trip. I actually liked how they pick you up in a shuttle and take you to a location just outside the airport to get the rental. The airport rental area was super crowded and loud.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I have nothing but good things to say about my experience with northbound. The online booking process was easy and had some of the best prices I found. A shuttle came to pick us up from the airport and took us to the pickup location. The pickup process was seamless, efficient, and easy. Our shuttle driver was friendly and gave us the rundown of how to drive in Iceland. Overall experience was a 10/10!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 27. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
Hi, Ivar! This car was adviced by my friend from autosport. He has never been in Iceland, but he said bigger is better, automatic much more easy to drive, just close your eyes when filling tank. We choosed 8 years old car to minimize expenses in case of total destroing it. Colour of peach helped my wife to find car among others. So, we, retired pensionaries, succesfully made 3800 km around Iceland, time after time exploring F roads. Just 2 rivers stopped us. Partly because I promised at rentals not to take risk on water. Big surprise for us was roof tent - it is super cool! Never sleep in tent better as on the roof of car. Thank You, Northbound for kindness, we will never forget. Andris
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 27. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
really creat service! we return our car at 2 at night and still get shuttle bus to airport.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Hi, I had a great time in Iceland. The only thing that I would recommend you to do is to send a message or reassure that the person who is about to pay for the rental car is aware of the specific insurance that he needs. I had a misunderstanding with that, it could have been less stressefull if I have checked the insurance again before getting to the rental office.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great car. Very easy to drive with nice features. It was great to travel all around Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great car for summer weather in Iceland! Good gas mileage, super clean and user friendly. We loved it!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was in excellent condition and carried us over 720Km as we toured the southern coast of Iceland, some spots quite Remote so the reliability of the vehicle was paramount. Apple car Play was a nice feature so we could use Waze and listen to our playlist during the ride. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and the price was very competitive. Definitely would recommend with a 5-star rating.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 01. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The 2022 Toyota RAVV4 GX Automatic from MYCAR was comfortable, surprisingly fuel efficient, and did a great job during our trek around the Ring Road in Iceland! We ran into no issues with it and the car was able to bring us to any and all of our destinations on our itinerary. The staff at MYCAR were friendly and welcoming. The pickup and drop off from the airport is a plus as well!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Car was quite good, we enjoyed driving it. The only complaint i have about the car was that there was very little room in the passenger area to place anything other than a drink in the cup-holder.... but that is more of a complaint to Suzuki, and not your choice of car.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 03. Oct 2022
Good
The rental process was very smooth and the inclusion of a shuttle service to and from the rental office was very appreciated! The vehicle itself performed really well and we had very little issues with it. The issues we had were very minor such as the driver's side seat warmer not working and moldy rooftop tent interior. Otherwise we had a lovely time in iceland and it was made a lot better by the easy process of renting and returning the vehicle!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I booked car with GoIceland via Northbound. Upon arrival at the Keflavik airport around midnight, a shuttle was waiting for us. I gouge the shuttle only had space for the main driver, it took us to nearby car rental office. The check in was smooth and they gave me free Wi-Fi device for the whole duration. The vehicle was very good condition, it was a hybrid vehicle. Hyundai i20 petrol automatic hybrid. We travelled through south Iceland over a thousand km and had no issues. Absolutely satisfied with the service. Word of caution: while you return the vehicle, you are required to hand over in full tank condition. DO NOT REFUEL FROM OB AOLGATA STATION NEAR KEFLAVIK AIRPORT. It refueled for 4500 ISK but my account got debuted with 60000 ISK.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Excellent
What an amazing car, the Fiat Doblo Maxi is! I enjoyed my time with it immensely. It drives well, feels well, is quite economical, is comfortable for sleeping in and as a storage base (once you find "your system" of organization). It was clean and had lots of nice features. And the manual gear driving is so much fun! I would buy one of these were I to live in Iceland or a similar country. Rent.is's camping equipment, stove, heater and so on - were also great. The sleeping bags were find for sleeping in up to 4 degrees Celsius without a heater. I highly recommend rent.is! Pros: New! Great to drive, fun Economical Very spacious, huge front pane of glass that makes Iceland feel "right here with you" Great sound system Comfortable Cons: No good place for coffee cups or open drinking cans No reverse sensors (or even better, camera) Fridge is a bit uncomfortable Hard to shut the back door properly from the inside (when going to sleep) - nothing to grab Can't go on F-roads (but most roads are not F-roads, check out https://vegasja.vegagerdin.is/eng/) Pickup was a bit harder than it should have been - couldn't find the shuttle near the airport, and the rent.is guy didn't hold a sign or really go into the Arrivals terminal except for standing near one of the doors for a few minutes every now and then, before leaving and returning again.. but after emailing them and asking for help around, I found the guy and after that the pickup process was completely fine in the office. Tips: Bring your own 12v car plug to multi-USB charger Use Bluetooth or Android Auto Follow the speed limit! Not only is it the right thing to do, there's tons of speed cameras around Iceland and the fines are expensiveeee Remember to pay the toll in some tunnels, like near Akureyri Don't get parking fines!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Excellent
Very good experience with MYCAR. Easy pick-up and return, no fees or "extras", brand new car and very good staff and commnication. Recommended!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect experience!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very good service! Everything ok. Best price I could find.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 06. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Après avoir passé 3 semaines sur les routes islandaise avec le jimny comme ami , il ne m'a pas lâché, il es peut être un peu "mou" dans les montée sinon super véhicule super expérience super compagnie super pays merci a vous et vous recommanderais sans hésitation
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 08. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was excellent! Super fun to drive, very reliable. The service at Lava was great. Would rent from you again.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 23. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The vehicle was more than adequate for our travels.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 11. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
New car in perfect condition. Efficient and economical service
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 27. Sep 2022
Very Good
we had doubts about the reliability of the vehicle but they reassured us immediately by taking a tour and checking with us. the stay went well.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
We loved the car very much. Very comfortable and also powerful. Steering even through quite challenging roads was very easy. We will book this car again.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
Es war alles super und die Kommunikation war unkompliziert. Die Camper waren in einem sehr guten Zustand und es war alles vorhanden, was man braucht. Auch der Shuttle Service vom und zum Flughafen war problemlos. Alle Mitarbeiter waren sehr freundlich und haben alle Fragen beantwortet.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
This car was perfect for our trip. We were really well received and everything went fast and easily. Thank you for your service!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 04. Oct 2022
Excellent
the car it´s a little old but it works perfectly. The things to put in the windows for de night are broken. The system to make the bed it´s very good and the rest of the vehicule was ok.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 20. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very satisfied with car and service
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Great
Wonderful. The vehicle was nice. The N1 tag which was suppose to give us a fuel discount did not seem to function or we didn’t know how to use it properly so an explanation of how to use it might have been helpful. Employees were good. Could have used a better explanation of where the shuttle to pick us up at the airport was though since we were waiting at the wrong door for an hour and the help desk at the airport was no help. Lol. Overall a positive experience though.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Good
The rental process was easy and we enjoyed our trip. However, we were not provided with the 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper Manual but were given a smaller van (Renault Kangoo) and told that this was an upgrade because it was an automatic transmission. This was not the van I had reserved to rent and I wasn't completely satisfied with the van or that the rental company (Lava Car Rental) did not accommodate my reservation nor provide a discount.
rented a vehicle in September 2022