Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 15. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was great. From the customer and shuttle service to the car. Everything went flawless and we had a great time. Will definitely use again.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 14. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The land cruiser was perfect for my family of 5 plus luggage. I was able to pick up a car seat for my toddler as well from the rental center and they even rent out this wifi adapter that plugs into the car so you have wifi in most areas. Pick up and drop off was easy and I would definitely recommend this rental agency to others.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 15. Nov 2022
Excellent
Everything was fine. The car was as described, clean and well maintained. The only thing to keep in mind is that there are fixed times for picking you up from the airport and back.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 12. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 14. Nov 2022
Good
We had a great experience, the car was pretty old but served our needs nicely. Even when we had some issues with the car they made sure the mechanic arrived within an hour!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 13. Nov 2022
Great
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 16. Nov 2022
Great
Very good
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 14. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 08. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Great, it was just what we needed at a great price. Easy pickup/ transfer etc. if I had a complaint it would be don’t polish the rubber floor Mats, too skippy. 👍
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 20. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The experience was great
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 11. Nov 2022
Fine
The car worked ok, but it was not a 2021 Dacia Duster, it was an older version of Dacia Duster with more than 200.000 Km when we took it. Door handles were broken and they hurt when you operate them with cold hands. As we started to drive, several warning lights of the car switched on (engine, tyres,...). We had to go back to rental point and ask about it. They told us to ignore that lights and keep on driving, but we were all the trip suffering for the car not to break. Less value than expected.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 10. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Good morning Mr. Ívar, the car was pratically perfect but there was a small crack in the rear light (but very very small 😊). The staff in the office is wonderfoul ad very professional, congratulation!!! If I come back in Iceland I will come back to you for rent a car e and I will recommend your rental car 😉. Thanks for everything end see you soon…I hope!! Best regards Tommaso.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 14. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Hi Ivar As we have informed on 8/11, we had a crash in the front glass of the car We are waiting for the invoice and as soon as we have it we will send to you Best regards
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 23. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
everything was seamless, picked up at the airport, quick check in
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 06. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Comfortable! Very easy to handle.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 06. Nov 2022
Good
Hi Ivar - This was our first trip to Iceland. After landing at the airport, we went to the rental car area but could not find Lotus. I asked a representative with Avis if they knew where we could find Lotus but they did not know. I then asked a person holding a sign if they were with Lotus. He was not and told us that we should call them which I did and the Lotus rep. got us a short while later. It would have been helpful to us if we were given a text message stating that we need to call Lotus after we get off the plane. We discovered that Google maps did not work on our cell phones and needed to rent a portable WiFi device which worked intermittently only. It would be very helpful if the rental cars had navigation systems since we did not know our way around especially since it was dark when we arrived. Thanks for the opportunity to share our thoughts.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 25. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Renting with Northbound was super easy and clear to know what I was getting, how much it would cost, and how to pick up my vehicle. The RAV4 I rented to drive the Route 1 in November was in excellent condition and was equipped with snow tires and could handle all of the snow and ice conditions along the way. Staff was friendly and were responsive to answer any questions I had. I will definitely go with them again when I can return to Iceland!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 11. Nov 2022
Great
Mostly served our needs very well. A few recommended improvements: getting in and out of van for sleeping is difficult. No internal handles on side doors and rear door is small latch with no handles. Mattress is a bit too long and not able to slide forward due to wire cage behind driver's seat, to allow rear door to close easily. Perhaps remove the wire cage (not sure what it's needed for). Place a few hooks on the side walls of the rear for convenience (hanging towel, wet swimwear, headlamp, etc.)
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 18. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Overall, everything worked well, from the transfer (pick-up) at the airport to the rental station and the return at the rental station or transfer to the airport. Pick up and drop off at the rental station is short and sweet. The car was very clean and well maintained.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Excellent
YouTube
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 04. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The on-line service was extremely easy to navigate and handy to compare prices (with another tab opened). The SUV was 1st class in regards to price per day, insurances, space, comfort and very smooth when driving long distances around Iceland. Also very economical in its fuel consumption (would recommend anyone this size of vehicle). The staff were very accommodating and great communicators to all. Everything was explained in good detail and the pick up and drop off was very quick, really made the customer feel at home.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 10. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Tha car is perfect to travel in Islanda
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 04. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The car was wonderful and easy to use. It handled the unpaved road to our cabin very well. The wireless access point that was provided was a real lifesaver.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 04. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
We arrived at the airport exit one hour early. They were short on staff at the evening on saturday but nevertheles managed to complete the pickup in less than 45 minutes. The staff was friendly, the car model was the same as booked (only red instead of grey but we actually prefered it :-). The inspection was quick and they were fair, not trying to charge us for damage, despite taking only the most basic insurance. It was comftorable enough for 5 people, and handled good. The drop off with the ride to the airport took only 15 min.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 06. Nov 2022
On the techincal side one issue that we experiencied was the lack of insulation. Both the walls and the roof got covered with water drops everyday. Therefore, every time we drove the water fell and got everything wet. Also was very unconfortable to move and stand as we got our heads wet. Also, the gas deposit was 2,5/8 when they gave us the van, and as half deposit is requiered for the heating system we had to change our plans in order to find a gas station and fill It. This time loss was incresed at the pick up (30mins delay) and at the kevlavik Office. At the Office we asked how to open the bed and had to wait while 3 different persons tried to open it (we were lucky to have asked because they did not gave us this information, they gave us the van in a huge rush without explaining this basics and would have been a problem that night). However the main issue that occurred was that one of the staff lost her personal phone and asked us to call her through our personal phone but didnt find It. We found It that night and spent many time that night and the next day calling and trying to Contact the Office to let her know. At the end she contacted us to our personal email through her own personal email, which is illegal according to GDPR general data protection regulation and totally not acceptable. We demand an economic compensation or will consider taking legal actions. We look forward to your replay, Best regards, Arkaitz Olabarriaga
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 04. Nov 2022
Good
The car was ok for us. It was clean and had everythong on board we needed. But the window had a stonedamage, no one told us, one door didn't close well, so that the noise from the wind was loud and to open the tank was difficult. So no big problems, but we would be happier, if someone had toll us, when we got the car.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Outstanding service. Collected from the airport immediately, car was in perfect condition and very easy to deal with staff. Will use this service again.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 09. Nov 2022
Excellent
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 13. Nov 2022
Hey there, Unfortunately, our experience with Go Iceland were horrendous. All the employees working there were incredibly rude. The car that we got was dirty, not fully tanked and had many damages. After about 30 minutes driving with the car, the car's system said "check brake system". Since you have to be really careful with notifications about brakes, we stopped, googled the alert and realized that you should definitely not continue driving with such an alert. That's why we called Go Icelenad. They were extremely relcutant to help us and we had to wait about 2 hours until they arrived so we can switch cars. The second car had a major crack in the front window and also several other small damages. Also, the tank was only half full. All in all, horrible experience. Customer wise all of the employees were incredibly unhelpful, rude and showed no sympathy whatsoever.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 05. Nov 2022
Good
The option for early morning pickup was great. 5:00 versus our friend who booked with camper van Iceland (which actually ended up being europcar) he had to wait until 8:30 when they opened . Our car was dirty , the sleeping bags smelled bad (maybe some sort of deodorizer was used that smelled bad), all the window shades were broken except the trunk hatch one . The car was reliable , although when idling for long the coolant temperature dropped so low that there was no warm air . It was good while driving . The oil change service light was on when we picked the car up and would ding every time we started the engine. The latches for our butane stove case were broken . There were screws and rivets used to fix things inside the camper. One of the rear side windows would not open . The dometic fridge didn’t stay very cool. Our friends rented from Europcar and their van was almost brand new, and had a built in kitchen - and it was the same price . Thank you for your time and making an easy pickup and drop off. ,tucker wimmelman
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Vehicle collected at tip top condition, handover was smooth and Northbound team has been really responsive. The rental was the best we could found too. We had fun, smooth and memorable trips with this Toyota Proace Verso across the south island, it fits comfortably for 6 adults full of big luggage and huge jackets. All of us are really satisfied with the service and vehicle provided by Northbound, thank you.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 01. Nov 2022
Excellent
This was a great car and perfect for our holiday. The rental company was easy to work with and everything went smoothly. Would recommend!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 01. Nov 2022
Great
Hello, the car was fine. A bit creaky and there was a crack in the windscreen (that wasn't dangerous but grew larger). The doors didn't seem fully closed for some reason and sounded like they were open at times. In terms of the customer service – that was excellent. Pick up, I called and was asked to wait until 2.20pm, whereas we were the only customers being collected, maybe we could have been picked up quicker? Understand they may have been busy. Overall, good experience.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 01. Nov 2022
Good
Amazing car! Realy realy grumpy lady on the desk, that was not pleasant. Very derogatory toward us. We did everthing to borrow the creditcard of our parents but she just cheat us 150,- euros. That was not nice and fair. Please contact me if you want to compensate the trouble. But amazing car en good pick up from the airport and drop off. These employees were nice compared to the girl in the desk. For the drop off they mayby could a little more hurry because of cathing a flight :) but we didn't complained. Good price for the car. Tank contant could be bigger instead of 15 liters, we have to tank many times. Or give customers de plug to tank electric, also beter for the environment Thank you very much and have a nice evening. Iceland was amazing!! Best country ever, and that is a lot for a sober Frisian.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 19. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The review states for a 2019 Volkswagen Polo but I actually ended up with a Hyundai i20. Overall I was very happy with the car, it served me well and was a great little car. The collection was great, even though I arrived an hour earlier than expected the guys had the car ready and after a brief chat about the roads and conditions in Iceland I was on my way. Very happy with the service, I just wish I'd known the collection point was a 5 minute walk from the terminal. I ended up getting the bus but it would have been quicker for me to just walk over but this is no way is the fault of Go Rental as it was only when I dropped the car back off again I realised how close it was. I probably wouldn't have found the collection point if I had just walked from the airport but it is a very short distance.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 01. Nov 2022
Great
Good car for our purposes!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 03. Nov 2022
Good
As I did not drive the Jeep Compass but an older Nissan Qashqai, i cannot judge.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 05. Nov 2022
Good
The car has met our needs during our trip , we have appreciated the roof box. The only small problem is that we had to inflate the tyres from the third day. The drop-off at Go Car Rental into the night at the airport was not clear, I’ve never reiceved a code for the Keycafe system. So I put the key into the letter box next to the Keycafe boxes, I hope it’s OK for Go Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Good
We ended up switching to a Mercedes Van. The first can had a damaged tyre/wheel and we had to drive it on a spare to the main office to swap for another vehicle. This prevented us from making it to the Westfjords which was disappointing and cost us the $350 USD rental for a house for that night. The second van had to have air replaced in one of the tyres daily.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 08. Nov 2022
Great
We liked it a lot - it was a good companion trough all our adventure
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 27. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We had a really good experience with Northbound. Everything went smoothly and as expected. Would recommend!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 02. Nov 2022
Great
The experience was great and we found everything we needed to live inside the camper during our stay. The over-night heating system kept us warm while sleeping and the sleeping bags/blankets were in good condition. Unfortunately, one of the windshield wipers broke during our trip so it was quite hard for the driver to see when it rained and mostly at night.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 27. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Great car for family's you can put in large isofix car seats in and fit suit cases in easily. Easy to drive, we didn't take any F roads (and didn't intent to) but it handled the long gravel tracks to the remote cabins easily.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 03. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
I had a great time using Northbound! They replied back quickly, provided me with everything I needed, and helped me navigate part of my trip. I look forward to using them again on my next trip!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Very happy with car, with discount gas fobs, with check out process and return.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The Subaru was great and the team very accommodating. I was impressed with the service and flexibility. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
Very Good
A great experience with icerental 4x4. Good service, very capable off-road vehicle supplied. Did 800km in 3 days and all very straightforward.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
I am very happy with all aspects of this booking. The staff at MyCar were amazing, when it became apparent that our luggage and wheelchair were not going to fit in the RAV4, they upgraded us to a Landcruiser at no extra cost! I also witnessed some very patient customer service with another customer who was being quite awkward and picky. The vehicle was clean, well maintained and performed perfectly throughout the trip. Airport pick up and drop off were prompt and efficient too. All in all, excellent!
rented a vehicle in October 2022