🌋 For the latest information on Iceland's volcanic activity click here

Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

11769 Reviews

11769 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 23. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The car it self was good for te roads we drove. The ALM was really anoying on the snowy roads and I had to turn it off again every time I turned off the engine. I ordered a benzine car, but I got a hybride, I found out to late and we didn't really have time to turn around and ask for a different car. There was only a 230V charger with the car, but at most accomodations it was not long enough to reach a power point. Because of the long roads it didnt really charge on the way. We had to make a lot of tankstops because of that. The pick-up and drop off service was verry good. I even got dropped off at my hotel in stead of the airport.
Sander rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 22. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The service provided by Northbound and Ring rentals was smooth and efficient. We had no hick-ups at any point in the process. Receiving the car as arranged and dropping it off was seamless, so was the two airport transfers provided by Ring as their offices are a few minutes drive from the arrival/departure terminals at the airport. The staff at Ring rentals were also friendly and most helpful with tips about driving in Iceland and places to go in winter. The Dacia Duster 4x4 is great to drive, has ample space for 2 persons plus luggage. Unfortunately some of these Dusters have a reputation for being damp on the inside in winter when it is wet and cold, the ventilation from the heater is not efficient enough to keep the windows beyond the front screen dry. I do admit, that was an outright nuisance and somewhat a hazard as there was considerably reduced sight through the right, left and rear windows. As i live in the dry parts of South Africa`s semi-desert and Savannah i will acquire a Dacia Duster on my next 4x4 purchase but will refrain using it in the wet northern parts of the planet. Thanks Northbound and Ring, job well done and we benefited from not going the route a full insurance cover as we saved ourselves money and had an incident/accident free 1500 km long ride through the beautiful southwestern part of Island.
Peter rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 18. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
It was great! Easy to drive
Nazli rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 17. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
We had á Toyota proace. Perfect service and car. Thank you !
Bart rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 17. Feb 2024
Good
Instead of a Hyundai Tucson we received a Toyota RAV4. Though it’s the ‘or similar’ option, afterwards we experienced it as far less comfortable. We specifically chose the Hyundai because we own one in the Netherlands. The advantage would be that we are familiar with the car, making it easier to concentrate on the driving.
Eric rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 19. Feb 2024
Excellent
Only driver was shuttled to Location. Took extra Time to go back and pick up the Party. Car was OK, Everything was as expected
Daniel rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 18. Feb 2024
Excellent
Excellent.
Sunil rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 19. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Our trip to Iceland was amazing. Thank you souch northbound for making our experience that much easier and stress free. We will be back!
Jeffrey rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 14. Feb 2024
Very Good
The cover flap door of the tank didn't work properly. It was a two-person job to open it in order to refuel the car. It took a while to figure out this and was quite stressful and time-consuming. Midway through the rental period, a warning light "check the antipollution system" appeared. Apart from this, the car worked fine. Last but not least, I was overcharged during the payment process so I'm waiting for the staff at Go Iceland to issue a refund.
David rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 23. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Northbound provided a GREAT experience. We booked with LAVA car rental and when we arrived were upgraded to a Mitsubishi SUV. Communication was perfect.
Anthony rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 20. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
TODO PERFECTO!! El coche era un Toyota por lo que ya sabes que va a ir de maravilla y con esa marca no vas a tener ningún problema. Northbound se supo en contacto conmigo en el momento que aterricé para decirme exactamente donde te recogen. Ivar, es amabilisimo, puedes preguntarle cualquier duda porque te da su numero de telefono y mandarle un mensaje, siempre dispuesto a que tu experiencia en Islandia sea perfecta. Al devolver el coche todo rápido y sin problemas. Sin dudarlo, si tienes que alquilar un coche, hazlo con ellos.
Maria rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 20. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
We loved our car. Thank you very much for everything. We saw unforgetable places on an incredible Island ❤️ We are still overhelmed with all our experiences.
Claudia rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 15. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Tito rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 29. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
It was good, but maybe brakes require some additional attention, it worked properly but the sound of it suggested brake blocks are to be changed :⁠-⁠) I really like the staff, professional & easy-going. Reservation conditions are clear & simple, additional insurance and no deposit is the thing you do well and should be underlined in your offer I think. Special thanks to a Polish guy who were responsible for our service at the desk, I don't remember his name.
Dominik rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 11. Feb 2024
Fantastic!
It was a great experience! It was very easy and trustworthy. The booking process was straightforward and easy. I would definitely recommend!!!
Jaidyn rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 18. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
La location s'est très bien passée, nous avons pu faire tout ce que nous voulions visiter et la conduite du Duster était très agréable
Manon rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 14. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Absolutely loved it. Maybe a bit too cramped for 5 people spending 5 days in it, but that’s on us. 10/10 would choose again.
Zvonimir rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 19. Feb 2024
Good
Pick-up was very fast but lacked in explaining or inspecting the car. We later found out the gas tank was 1/4 full and the windshield wipers were not functioning properly after we left. A thorough walk-through of the car would have identified these issues beforehand. The "Maintenance Required" light and low washer fluid triggered by the end of our trip. We contacted the company, who was responsive, but did nothing to fix the situation. A proper explanation of the car during our pick-up would have helped tremendously. The staff could confirm gas and other fluids were actually full, check the wipers were functioning properly and explain the basics of the car (gas lid and hood release buttons, various car's features, etc.). The staff were nice but lacked service and attention to detail. They seemed more focused on getting us in and out as quickly as possible, which left us feeling nervous to drive off to a new, unfamiliar country. A little more care and attention would help ease tourists' nerves about renting to a relatively new rental car company.
Maggie rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 14. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Sara rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 13. Feb 2024
Good
The information about where to get a lift from at the airport could be simpler and some of the info was out of date, it mentioned walking past a bank in the airport that is no longer there. It would be easier if they just said outside of exit number ** adjacent to P3 parking or included a map. I'm afraid I can't give many marks for customer service as the guy who picked us up didn't give us any form of greeting whatsoever, did not help us with our bags and seemed to be in a bad mood and didn't speak to us once in the whole journey. It wasn't a great welcome. It was slightly better in the offices but only a bit. On the plus side the car was very nice, clean and good value.
Bernard rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 12. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The car had a problem with the right door of the car, but Rent.Is have been very helpfull and emphatic about that and i really apreciate that.
Luka rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 19. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The team was very young but really supportive. We had trouble on the road, but they provided suggestions via Whatsapp and we were able to solve the issue. I am really happy with them! The car itself was very good, full optional, even if quiet expensive in terms of fuel use (only 10 km with 1L).
Laura rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 11. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Ring collect me from the airport, was friendly and took me to the car in Keflavik. The Dacia was a great car and recommend any one to rent a car for touring Iceland.
James rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 11. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The Land Cruiser was an absolute tank. It handled all the weather, white outs, ice, unplowed roads, and off roads we threw at it! Super comfortable and the diesel sipped on fuel. We went from one end of Iceland to the other and even out ran a volcano (yes we were evacuated from blue lagoon). We will use you guys for our next Iceland visit.
Alfred rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 07. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The vehicle performed great with the conditions. We had many days with heavy snow & wind. I would recommend more signs to find the building for rental return., the address took me to a parking lot.
Michael rented a vehicle in February 2024

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.