Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 31. May 2022
Outstanding!
Great car rental for driving around the country for 9 days. We had the mobile hotspot which was a lifesaver, it worked great in about 95% of the country. Would definitely rent from GO Car Rental again!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 25. May 2022
Outstanding!
We loved our camper! It was pretty basic, but we didn't spend a lot of time in it except to sleep and store our stuff, so it worked for our purposes. It was also a great price so we didn't expect many bells and whistles. The rental process was easy and the van was clean, ran well, and was gas efficient. There was a check engine light on for most of the trip but they assured us when we picked up the rental that it would be fine, and it was! We drove it a lot and never had issues.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 06. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 30. May 2022
Fine
I already sent an email to you regarding our first day bad experience Our rental car experience didn't commence well.
First we were misguided on the rental voucher where to wait for the shuttle bus. What was the reason to wait for the shuttle bus at the departure entrance instead of the arrivals? We were not informed about this in the car rental voucher. We wasted over an hour until we found exactly were the shuttle bus is. We had to call several times to the office. The representative didn't clearly informed us to wait outside the departures because normally like all other car rental companies you wait in front of the arrivals. Secondly after we finally got the car, after 45 min drive a strange noise started coming from the rear. We thought that we had a puncture and when we stopped in a safe place to check, we found that the right rear wheel was completely loose with even one missing nut from the wheel. We were very fortunate that the wheel didn't came off at 85 km /per hour as otherwise this could have caused a major incident with serious consequences or fatalities. I can't understand how the wheel was left loose. Imagine you have to take all luggage out from the boot to check for the wheel spanner and you find nothing. We waisted a lot of time because the car didn't have any jack or box spanner to tighten the wheel. We were desperate and annoyed because we couldn't do anything. We tried to stop two cars similar to our model but these were also rental cars and without the tools. When we called the car rental company we were told that we had to wait for another 45 mins. After waking at 4.00am in the morning to travel to Iceland and we still had another two hours drive to reach our accommodation we didn't expect this to happen. Finally after stopping another car we managed to get the box spanner to tighten the wheel and continue with our journey. I called the person who was on the way to assist us to turn back not to waste his time.
Apart from the loose wheel the car was good. Regarding the plug in hybrid if you don't charge the battery it will not be fuel efficient for long distances. There are not enough charging points were to charge apart that you have to wait and loose time until charging. We managed to read the manual and started to charge it at our holiday home and find it ready in the morning.
An apology is only the reply we received.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 05. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Reservation, Pickup and DropOff were without any problem. The car (Dacia Sandero) was in good condition. We definitely recommend Northbound/Go Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 28. May 2022
Outstanding!
Everything went great, from the pickup to drop off. The usb connection wasn’t working so the staff was very kind to give us the extra piece so that we could still use usb.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 27. May 2022
Outstanding!
Great experience.. hopped right in shuttle upon airport arrival at 5 am, quick trip to rental location.. car was ready, clean, worked great, drop off was easy..
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 31. May 2022
Outstanding!
As a mode of transportation it was flawless, as a camper it had a couple of minor issues, like the water container leaking. Nothing too bad, just a slight nuisance.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 28. May 2022
Outstanding!
La mia esperienza con MyCar è stata molto positiva, auto praticamente nuova e accoglienza da parte dello staff perfetta
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 31. May 2022
Outstanding!
The experience was really good and quick.

Sadly I hit a rough spot while driving and damage the bumper. I’m glad I took full coverage and everything was settle with ease.
They told me everything is covered and just drop the key with them is all I need to do. Highly recommended and also highly recommended to purchase those insurance!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 28. May 2022
Outstanding!
Hello,
The car was perfectly maintained instead of its 255 000 km.
The motor orange light was visible but no problem on the road.
Third gear was a bit domaged.
Dacia Duster mudguard conception is very bad for Tur and gravel.
Employees were very understandable and available.
Thanks to them.
A great experience I wish to do again.
Bye-bye !
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 27. May 2022
Outstanding!
That car itself was brand new as i was first driver and was more than perfect. And Rent.is is really good place to rent cars.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 29. May 2022
Outstanding!
Great rental experience, easy pickup and easy drop off, no issues with the car!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 31. May 2022
Hello. My name is Daniel and I rented a car with this company (Jeep Renegade) I PAID to take it outside the established hours. I call to be picked up at Kefkavik airport and they don't pick up the phone and I get an answering machine. After calling a dozen times, we decided to go to the Hotel the 5 people with the cost of traveling to Reykjavík, where we were staying that night. The next day I call during office hours and now they pick up the phone and tell me that they will compensate me financially for what happened because of the company.
With the rental, I contract the PREMIUM insurance (includes everything), the car suffers a breakdown, I call and they tell me to take care of it and then they will pay me (because I am 700km from Keflavik). I arrive and return it and they tell me that everything is fine. And they tell me that to receive the compensation they will contact me. No one has sent me an email, nor has anyone called me.
I recommend not contracting with this company, they are very unserious and deceive you.
In a serious and honorable country like Iceland, these companies give a very bad image.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 31. May 2022
Excellent
The car was great, just suitable size for 2 travellers. With sport mode it was easy to go up the mountains & hills also. Reliable and good car.

However, MyCar rental place was disappointing, as they tried to charge of a damage that was in the car already when we received the car. The damage was so obvious that it was clear that it was there already and fortunately we had a picture of it before we left MyCar yard. I haven't still received all my money back from them, that they falsely took from my creadit card. Not satisfied with their service.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 01. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper in May 22, car was absolutely reliable and did not have any issues during journey. Guys from Affordable Campers were transparent and helpful, before journey everything was clearly explained (insurance packages, functionalities of car etc...) and I was given useful information that saved some money (where to buy fuel, where to buy food & drink etc...). Given the size of cars in their list, I would definitely recommend this rental company for single travelers or for travelling couples. Price of camper car was one of the bests in the time of my trip.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 01. Jun 2022
Very Good
We really enjoyed our road trip around the ring road in this van. The van itself did the job. A few things we complained about - we were given a very small cooking pot that could not make food for 2 people if 1, we were given tiny square curtains that did not keep light out of the van, one of the camp chairs we were given was broken, we are pretty sure the exhaust fan for the interior of the van did not work. We raised these complaints to the company and they responded promptly and were very kind in reimbursing us for a new pot. Overall, the van was suitable and our experience with the staff at Lava car was great, just some questionable quality depending on which car you get.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 25. May 2022
Outstanding!
Very nicer car. Good for 3-4 people depending on luggage needs. Limited recharging stations in Iceland although Hotel Klettur in Reykjavik had many charge plugs in their free basement parking when staying there.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 31. May 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 20. May 2022
Excellent
While the pick up instructions left a great deal 2b desired, after getting a handle on that, the young man who picked us up was outstanding, very personable and friendly. I'm sorry I don't know his name, he was relating that he was over from the UK for the summer if that helps. At the location, the gentleman helping us was also very kind, we appreciated his strong grasp of English. He processed us quickly, gave helpful directional and return information, and got us on our way. Car was clean, appeared well kept and maintained, and we encountered o mechanical or operational issue. To note, we were give a 2021 Hyundai Tucson, 63,000 Mi, but it suited our purposes just fine. Return was a bit more difficult. The young man who checked us in and the driver who shuttled us 2 the airport seemed a little disinterested. When I walked in and stated my purpose he said
"go put your suit cases in the van". Not a huge deal, but a little unexpected I guess. He Drop this off in a good location and did help us get the bags out of the back. There was another couple taking the shuttle back to the rental office so our conversation ended abruptly there. Overall I would say you guys did a great job-we were/are very satisfied and I think,with this being my first interaction with basically anyone in Iceland, it Helped set a nice tone for our visit. I did go on here a little bit but I wanted to give you my honest opinion in response to your request and explanation that you’re a new company. I certainly think you’re on the right track for what my individual comment worth, But suffice it to say that we would recommend the Lava/circle team to anyone coming to the
area. and as impressed as we were with Iceland itself we will be telling our friends to make every effort to visit.
Thank you for giving me a hearing and providing the space to do so.
Bill Mullen
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 30. May 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 20. May 2022
Outstanding!
Great little jeep. Took us all round the west coast of Iceland.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 23. May 2022
Outstanding!
Car was comfortable and gas efficient
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 26. May 2022
Excellent
Our car was amazing and did really great on the long roadtrip however inside the tent continually got wet soaking the mattress and making it extremely uncomfortable to sleep in and the CD player and usb cable also weren’t working so that was really disappointing but otherwise the car did great and the customer support prior to the trip was excellent.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 28. May 2022
Outstanding!
The car was excellent for 4 passengers plus all the luggage. Driving was easy in spite of the larger size car.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 25. May 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect!!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 29. May 2022
Excellent
Alle dort waren sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Die Abholung sowie die Rückgabe war vollkommen problemlos und der Shuttle Service hat super geklappt. Ein wenig enttäuscht waren wir, als man uns das Auto mit Sommerreifen vermietet hatte. Das wäre so vorgegeben. Ab Mai Sommerreifen. Wir waren schon öfter auf Island und so etwas ist uns noch nie passiert. Selbst der Suzuki, der direkt neben uns stand, hatte noch Winterreifen. Da wir wussten, dass man kurzerhand kein anderes Auto bekommt, haben wir es für 14 Tage genommen und es hat uns fast überall problemlos (etwas mehr PS wären von Vorteil gewesen) hingebracht. Bei der nächsten Buchung werden Winterreifen schriftlich gewünscht.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 22. May 2022
Outstanding!
The Dacia Dokker Camper were a bang for a buck. Everything was good,regretteda bit that we took without the heater. Because condensation formed so the roofs and walls became wet. The only thing i can complain about is the tire pressure were low on the right wheels.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 24. May 2022
Outstanding!
It was a perfect fit for our journey. Functional and versatile. Plenty of room for the two of us (and our too much luggage). It would easily accommodate another persona and their luggage or four people who are more efficent packers than my daughter and I were.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 23. May 2022
Outstanding!
Great service! The car was exactly what I reserved online. The airport shuttle was clean and on time. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 22. May 2022
Outstanding!
wE HAD to cancel our trip due to Covid. Thanks for your kindness and concern. Brian OHara
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 22. May 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 26. May 2022
Outstanding!
Fantastic service. The vehicle was in great condition.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 31. May 2022
Outstanding!
The provided car and transfer service was great. Car had everything that we needed for a 10 days trip around Iceland, including fridge, cooking equipment, independent heating, sleeping space with mattress, pillows and blankets . Despite the others companies, these VW Caddys have very low fuel consumption, which is well appreciated considering the fuel prices on Iceland.
It is a smaller company, having just around 15 cars, but they have fair approach and the owners are such a great guys!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 24. May 2022
Fantastic!
On the whole the 2017 Dacia Duster is a spacious, good value car and was an ideal choice for the variety of road surfaces found in Iceland! There was more than enough room for four occupents plus baggage. The only slight criticism with the car was a lack of lumbar adjustment for the drivers seat. Lava Car Rental was extremely efficient and helpful with the pick up and drop off process.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 22. May 2022
Outstanding!
The car was perfect for our trip around the Ring Road! Pickup and dropoff were easy and smooth and communication was great with both Northbound and MYCAR.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 19. May 2022
Outstanding!
This car was great! We chose it because of the good reviews, unlimited mileage, and no-charge additional driver. This Subaru got us from Reykjavik up to Mývatn and down to Vik, and everywhere in between. No issues, and very good gas mileage as well!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 19. May 2022
Outstanding!
This was my first experience renting a vehicle internationally and MYCAR made that experience very easy. Excellent communication, direction, and timeliness. I will use MYCAR on our next trip to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 30. May 2022
Good
I had some problems at the beginning with the car that, thanks to the great help of Paulina, I was able to solve, and she made sure that everything was fine.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 25. May 2022
Fantastic!
We were very pleased with the van.
Easy to maneuver and very fuel efficient.
Comfortable sleeping
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 21. May 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 22. May 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect. The Team from Lotus Car Rental was very professional, helpful and friendly. Rental car was also in a good condition. There was nothing to complain and we would choose this company always again.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 22. May 2022
Outstanding!
Wonderful service and the car! The car was in great condition, didn't cause any issues, and was easy to drive in snow, rain, and windy roads. One of the best choices in Iceland, in my opinion. I would choose it again.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 17. May 2022
Outstanding!
We ordered a minivan for an 8 day rental from Northbound. Excellent communication and service. The van was brand new and in perfect order. We changed to a pick-up at airport a day earlier and within hours it was accommodated. We hope to return to Iceland sometime in the next few years and they would absolutely be our first and only choice for rental.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 16. May 2022
Good
Airport transfer and pick up smooth. Vehicle condition was expected due to age of car, dents, rust and scuffs all pretty standard in Iceland. Drop off was an unnecessarily stressful. Accused of damaging the car on the drivers door. Damage was there pre rental and noted on the contract damage before pick up. Staff member showed picture of door in their records showing two dents present, arguing that this is the damaged that was there prior to rental and not the damage now on the door. Records were clearly not accurate as the two dents in their pictures had 'magically' disappeared. Other staff member stepped in and agreed that they records must have been inaccurate and we were not liable for the damage. Just be sure to scrutinise the car and question/record (take a video) all damage before taking the car. Shame as all other staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Maybe he was having a bad day?
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 23. May 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 08. Jun 2022
Good
WHAT AN AWFUL EXPERIENCE WITH GO ICELAND
AWFUL !!
I WILL NEVER DO IT AGAIN WITH THEM
FIRST OF ALL THEY CHARGE ME TWICE THE AMOUNT WHEN I PICK UP THE VEHICULE
IT MEANS THEY CHARGE ME TWO TIMES THE AMOUNT OF 1500 EUROS AND THEN I HAVE TO PROVE IT FOR THEY DID NOT WANT TO RECOGNIZE IT, IN SPITE I SEND A COPY OF WHAT APPEARS ON MY BANK ACCOUNT
SO I HAVE HAD TO CALL MY BANK AND ASK FOR HELP... SO THEY AT LAST RECOGNIZE THEIR ERROR AND GAVE ME BACK THE 1500 EUROS

THEN I GOT A PROBLEM ON THE CAR WITH THE WINDSHIELD WHICH FEELED OR CRACKED BECAUSE OF A THERMAL SHOCK:( NOT A ALL MY RESPONSABILITY ) JUST THE COMBINATION OF THE VERY COLD TEMPERATURE ANT THE HEATING INSIDE THE CAR WHEN I PUT IT ON IN THE VERY EARLY MORNING IN THE MOUNTAIN AREA, SO I HAD TO PAY AN EXTRE 600 EUROS
THEY NEVER WANTED TO BELIEVE. ME AND SAID IT WAS ONLY DUE TO A GRAVEL CAUSE

SO AWFUL EXPERIENCE WITH GO ICELAND; NEVER NEVER AGAIN WITH GO ICELAND
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 19. May 2022
Bad start for the pick-up. They asked a deposit of 2500€ what wasn’t possible on our credit card’s. Then they forced us to take an insurance instead for 195€. When we got the car , the car was full of scratches. They said everything was on paper and we didn’t have to worry. Glade we toke a lot of photos before we left. On our way we discovered a lot of Flaws. Like handbrakes that doesn’t work etc.
When we turned back the car , it was another guy how checked the car and tried two times to blame some of the scratches to us. Luckily we had our photos from our pick-up that we could show to him. After all , not a good experience with icerental 4x4.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 23. May 2022
Great
Overall, I am satisfied with the whole experience. I was always informed, for example when there was a change of the phone number etc. The vehicle had dents and other smaller damages, but these were explained when I picked the car up and there were no further issues with it. There was somekind of a warning symbol in the dashboard, but it was probably due to somekind of sensor failure, meaning it really wasn't an issue. And if I wanted, I could have called about the issue, but it didn't seem problematic and it really wasn't.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 16. May 2022
Fantastic!
There were a few cosmetic remarks, but overall the car was perfect for its age. Technical problems with the sensors. But apparently this model has this weakness. I traveled nearly 2500 km. And everything was fine.
rented a vehicle in May 2022