Reviews for all companies

Good with our 5 days trip. Just nice for two of us. Can fit in 3 luggages.

Yin Ying from Malaysia
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Good quality vehicle. Affordable price

Mark from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe

The car was excellent, we were told by Nordic Car Rental to take out time and take pictures of scratches, dents, chips etc. on the car for insurance purposes.

Thomas from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Nissan Qashqai

The car itself was great, it was exactly what I wanted. I don't need a brand new car to drive around the island, just something reliable and in good shape at a very good price. That is what I got.
I would have given a rating of 5 if it wasn't for the rude van driver that took us back to the airport.
It was raining hard on the return day and I had a lot of luggage to unload so I parked near the front entrance.
Suddenly a van driver came in, very angry at me because apparently I had parked where the minivan is supposed to park. Well that is all good if there was a sign to tell me that or if I had been told before not to park there. I am not a mind reader!!
If you don't like customers to park near the door, then post a sign that will let them know, don't assume they will know! And for the driver, don't drive so aggressively back to the airport, I know you are in a hurry but following a big bus just 1 meter behind, passing him on the double white line and then talking on the phone at the same time isn't the best way to make your passenger feel safe in the van

Gerald from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Nordic were brilliant from start to finish. They rang us before we left to check the pick up time. The hand over was quick and efficient and the agent gave us great tips for driving in Iceland. We got useful weather bullitens by e-mail. The car was great. The return process was easy. All in all one the best car rental experiences I have ever had.

David from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2013 Dacia Duster

Very good experience, the not so good news first, we had to wait around 10 minutes for the rep to sort out some other clients but he explained what was happening so that was OK. Other than that everything was fine. Ordered an older car and got a 2015 Jimny 4x4 Automatic that had seen some action but nobody wants a pristine car in winter in Iceland potentially going off road. It was great value and got us around and goes everywhere the 4 x 4 Mercedes with the big wheels can.
Don’t be put off by the negativity around a do it yourself drive get a 4x4 from these guys!

Martin from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Overall experience was good, but windshield wipers needed replacing. I had to clean the windshield by hand a couple of times.

Aaron from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Hyundai ix35

Nordic Car Rentals was superb to deal with before and during the trip around Iceland. They were quick to respond to emails, picked us up and dropped us off to the airport. The car was fantastic and was really good for driving around the country.

Joseph from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Excellent service! Flight was 4.5 hours late in arriving and LAVA kept abreast of flight status and contact with us. Pick up went smoothly, paperwork easy, and drop off went without a hitch.
I would highly recommend LAVA.

Jeffrey from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was a great experience from beginning to end, thanks!

Joey from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

There were six of us with copious luggage, so we opted for a Mercedes 4 wheeel drive van. So glad the great people at Lotus turned us on to this more spacious option. Very comfortable. The people at Lotus were kind, friendly, and helpful. Great experience!

Vicki from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Toyota Land Cruiser

Excellent

Thomas from Belgium
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki Jimny

Henk from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Renting through Northbound was so easy, and the price was the best I could find anywhere for our trip. Lava Car Rental was fantastic (great service, super convenient, immediate communication, painless return), and we absolutely loved taking our Dacia Duster all around Iceland for five days!

Eric from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Nordic Car Rental was honest, professional, and friendly. Definitely get full insurance and make sure you look at all details of the car.

Jacqueline from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Nissan Qashqai

Overall a very good experience. Only issue I experienced was that I was unable to contact the company through its listed phone number as i waited for pickup from the airport (I had an EE number from London not sure what was wrong, another fellow traveller also had the same issue). However, they were very quick in replying by email. I got an upgrade at no charge as my booked car was not available at the time which was great. Staff was friendly and courteous. Will book again through this company.

Kiam Sin Jonathan from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The Forester Diesel was an excellent choice for our destinations as well as the road and weather conditions. Glad you had it available! The wipers, however, were worn and in need of replacement.

Rein from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Subaru Forester

Lava Car Rental were fantastic. Picking us up from the airport and taking back when we returned.
Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable.
We had a Dacia Duster 4x4 and it was brilliant. We racked the miles up and took it everywhere. Fuel was great in this motor too.
Northbound were also extremely helpful when we emailed them before our trip.

John from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We had a fantastic experience with Nordic Car Rental. They picked us up promptly from the airport and we were driving away within half an hour. During our trip we had an emergency with some travel documents and we had to have them shipped priority to Iceland, they didn't arrive in time and the team at Nordic Car Rental helped us contact DHL and even drove us to the sorting centre so we could try and find them - unbelievably helpful and friendly! I would absolutely recommend using this company for your trip to Iceland.

Jennifer from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

Excellent! Quick responses via email, easy to book and good value for money.

Jade from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

amazing great staff great car! not like the normal rental company trying to bleed you of money! best car rental experience ever!

Nicholas from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

5 stars all around for Northbound and Ace/Star Car Rental! We had a lot of options for our rental, but attractive prices and excellent reviews helped us make our choice, and it did not disappoint! Customer support before our arrival via e-mail was extremely efficient and friendly when we had to add extras and change the drop-off point (Hurray for custom drop-off points!) shortly before we arrived. We got picked-up at the airport and shuttled to their offices, where paperwork was quick and painless, with helpful tips. The campervan was in excellent condition (a few scratches here and there, nothing to write home about), no mechanical problems to deplore, clean inside and outside, and had a full tank. We didn't get to use it, but they had even stocked a bit of gas in the camping gas stove which I found nice and provident (especially since it is written black-on-white that you have to provide your own gas)...

Julia from France
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

coline from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The rental experience was fine. The issue with your shuttle bus was a little issue and the Ford Explorer is starting to show its years but all was good

Michael from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Ford Expedition

Good family car, good company

David from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Nissan X-Trail

It was OK, suited the purpose for what was needed. A bit battered but the company were more relaxed about picking up any minor chips etc.

Doug from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We had a very positive experience renting a 4x4 from Icerental 4x4. The price was reasonable. The vehicle was very dependable and performed flawlessly. We faced some windy and icy conditions and vehicle handled it all very well. The communication was prompt. The transfers between the airport and the vehicle pick up and return point were prompt and the drivers were very helpful and curtious. We were very satisfied.

Terry from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Quick responses and pick up/drop off from the airport. Friendly and helpful staff, car was in good condition and perfect for what we needed. Thank you!

Alison from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Booking was easy, I was able to see the car make, model and year, and what insurance packages were included and what was extra. We were picked up at the airport and driven to the rental office. This process was quick and efficient and we were on the road very soon after landing. The car (Toyota Rav 4) was clean and comfortable. There were only 2 of us but would suit up to 4 people with cabin luggage. We stuck to mostly tarmac roads but did use the gravel roads too, and drove in a blizzard. The car handled well throughout. Much better value to rent a car than to book Northern lights/golden circle/South Iceland tours. Would use your company again, and recommend to friends.

Caroline from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

All when smoothly in the booking process, but once we landed at the airport the experience was not so good. Lodged a complaint after we returned and this was handled well.

Malik from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Ford Tourneo