Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Good
Overall experience was good, we did not have a 2018 Hundai Tucson, we had a Honda not sure of the year that had a check engine light on and a definite shake in the transmition at 1500rpm. But it got us where we needed to go.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
This is the must drive vehicle if your plan is to go off the path for those hidden treasures of Iceland. Highly recommend!
Room for 4 with luggage and some space to spare!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 16. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was excellent.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
Excellent
Good car, no problems driving around the island. Plenty of space, rooftent was great and the seat heating was a big plus after a cold night. The only downside was that because the car was fueled with diesel, something with the filter was not right and the cruise control didn't work almost the whole journey. But other than that, everything was great. Booking through northbound was very easy and pleasant. Would recommend!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 12. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Awesome experience! 5 stars without a doubt!
Received a Dacia Dokker in great condition, well equipped for camping. The staff is nice, supplied us with extra blankets and few more surprising (free extra day, pillows, lift to a local pub after returning the car).

Getting & returning the car was really plesant.

Recommended!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound is a very reliable company. I have enjoyed its prompt and friendly service with excellent car condition. Toyota RAV4 is sturdy in dynamic Icelandic weather and very responsive to challenging road conditions. It has strong horsepower and an excellent break to drive uphill and snake roads very safely. Without the reliable service of Northbound and Toyota RAV4, My 17 days of Ring Road journey would have been miserable. Northbound and Toyota RAV4 will be my choice again in the next Iceland trip.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 07. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
It was the right car for what we needed. Great on gas, easy to drive and roomy enough for two not so tall people.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Fine
We waited 1.5h to pick up the car because only one person was processing pick-ups and returns. The pair ahead of us had their car changed 2 times because of the car condition (ignition issue / one side of the car crashed and stop light not working) and someone calling for assistance due to technical issue was told to wait until next day for resolution.
We took Nissan Xtrail which was advertised as 7 people, 3 bags, but actually with 7 seats occupied you can barely fit 1 suitcase (6th and 7th seat come at the expense of trunk space).

Otherwise, no issue with the car or return. On the plus side, you get a discount with a gas station chain with a large footprint across the island
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 08. Sep 2021
Good
Rather good
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Our Kia Ceed was excellent for our trip around the Ring Road. The pick up from the airport and transfer back (at 4am!) all went smoothly. The car was in great condition and really clean.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
I had a very nice experience with MyCar. I got the same car as the one I booked and it had an excellent fuel consumption (~4.2l/100km for the 2021 Toyota Yaris Hybrid Automatic). MyCar stuff were very friendly and responded to my emails very quickly. I would definitely recommend MyCar to anyone who wants to rent a car in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 07. Sep 2021
Good
Hi, Car was absolute ok and in clean condition. Handover was delayed by 45 minutes, circumstances would have been avoidable. On the other side drop of the car at Asbru-Hotel very convenient. A short introduction the Landcruiser would have been nice, but we found everthing. GPS is terrible, no F-roads, very bad addresses, so nearly impossible to enter the target adress, always a work around.
Tires with very low profil, not good in the sandy passages on the F-road near Askia.
But so summerize: everthing ok with some room for improvement.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Excellent
Everything was OK. Car was in good condition, quick and easy administrative handling
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 10. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
We are very satisfied! The car was great, the entire transaction uncomplicated and the service immediately available in case of queries. We would book a car with Northbound or MyCar again at any time.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 09. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
I loved this vehicle. For the mostpart I lived out of it for two weeks, driving many F-Roads and tracks, while hiking, backpacking, and camping. This was the perfect vehicle for these purposes. I was sad to give it back.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
The experience and the service was awesome, clearly I will recommend Star Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 28. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Our experience with northbound and Lava cars has been perfect. The airport pickup was prompt and after a very short drive (less than 5 minutes) to the car rental site, the Lava team were very helpful. The staff were friendly and gave us a very warm welcome to Iceland. The car itself was spacious and well-equipped, with all of the kitchen utensils that we needed to make 3 meals a day easily. Though we brought a small bottle of washing up liquid with us (as previous reviews mentioned that this was not provided by Lava), all campsites have this on site so it wasn't necessary. The Lava team checked in with us during our trip to offer helpful advice about safe travel around Iceland. The return was also very convieniant for us. Since our flight was very early, we returned our car directly to the airport, where staff picked it up from. I would highly recommend this company!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Good
We liked the car. No issues.

Prior to the trip, your customer service was excellent. I made a couple of changes to the reservation, and you got back to me right away. Thanks for that.

My only complaint was the pick-up shuttle from the airport when we arrived. We had reservations for the 7:20 shuttle. Driver came in around that time and said "someone will be here in a couple of minutes". A couple of minutes stretched out to at least 20 min. And then when he came back and found us and another couple, he only had 3 seats for 4 people because there was also a large family group, so the other couple had to wait some more. It would have been more helpful if the first driver had said it would be 20 minutes. Then our expectations would have been set accordingly and we wouldn't have been standing there looking for someone the whole time. And then the rental desk was very slow also. There was 1 person ahead of us, and it took at least 15-20 min for our turn.

The good news is that the return (14:00) went much more smoothly and the shuttle took us back to the airport at the promised time. Thanks for that.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
The Camper was not in the best conditions:
- heater was not working properly, only went one night
- the lock of the camper also went wrong given a failure of the lateral door sensor so we could not lock the Van until we got to know the problem.
- we report all problems to the office LAVA, but the only solution was to offer a different places of mechanic which were not close to were we stayed at that moment, were in HELLA (we were going to be there the day after) we had different stories upon how it was going to be solved. Not a good response from you.
- camper conditions in general were not the best, we even found a mask from other person when we got in.
We had to solve things by ourselves, and adapt to the conditions in order to not stop our route. But not happy, without solutions.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 02. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Nice car, big enough for the group, comfortable, great communication with you and also good support from the car hire company. Thank you.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 01. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 01. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
At the beginning of the year I started looking for a rental car for our Iceland trip.

On your website I finally found what I was looking for.

Appealing to me was the price-performance ratio.

We were not disappointed. After landing in Reykiavik, one of your employees picked us up at the airport. The rental car a Dacia Duster from 2017 with four-wheel drive made a very good impression. Thanks to the all-wheel drive, we were able to drive on all slopes and off-road trails.

We were very satisfied with the rented car.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Excellent
We were received at the airport with smiles and greetings by a representative from Lava rentals. Soon we arrived at Lava office were the staff handed over the keys to our camper and on demand (with extras) gave us wifi device for our 7 day trip.

The vehicle was extensively used, yet in good shape and cleaned just before we rented it. Technically we had no issues with the car, person at the desk gave us an overview of the car, sleeping, water tank, cooler and heating system.

Vessels and cutlery was sufficient, though I would have liked a bit more equipment like a can opener and a set of paper rolls to start the trip.

On the whole, I would recommend renting it through Northbound and in particular Lava car rental.

As always, I would like to put forth some constructive remarks. It might be useful to upgrade cars (mileage on this one was inching closer to 100,000 Kms), additionally, since it rains and is mostly windy in Iceland, might be worthwhile to explore an extendable plan on the rear of the car and a retractable roof cover in the back to help cook on a windy and rainy day. To be honest, it would be a luxury to have such a setup, not a must have though.

We managed to cook inside the car on the wooden plank provided, works like a charm.

Just go ahead and rent a small camper through Northbound for the best rates and also Lava car rental for a great experience.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Great car, super performance on the F-roads
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound reserved a rental car for us using Fara Rental Car. The process was efficient to the extreme. We were promptly picked up by Fara when we arrived. The gentlemen at Fara were extremely professional and friendly and provided us the perfect car for our journey (1,200 km across Iceland). The car worked great. Extremely positive customer services all the way around - great work, Fara & Northbound!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Good
It's a quite basic car inside and under the hood, but it was a reasonable price so it was fair value for money. The engine is underpowered but, given the low speed limits in Iceland, it was only tested on hills so we just changed down a gear or two and it was fine. The car was very clean, and had an excellent spare tyre which we had to put to good use so were very grateful for.
There wasn't anyone to meet us at the airport, so we had to call for our ride which was a little frustrating at the time, but the return process and subsequent transport to the airport were very speedy by contrast.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Tutto molto bene!!
Comunicazione con sito e assistenza perfetta.
Possibilità di prendere l auto senza dover lasciare il deposito come abbiamo fatto noi.
Sicuramente lo consiglio per prenotare un auto in Islanda
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Our MyCar Rental experience was perfect; their customer service outstanding. Our rental car was in excellent condition. We couldn’t be more pleased.
The folks at Northbound we’re most helpful and a pleasure with whom to do business. We look forward to visiting Iceland again, and will be in touch soon.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Rented this car for a week when I solo traveled to Iceland. I liked it a lot, the fact that it comes with apple carplay made my trip more fun. I didn’t have any problem with it driving around Iceland. Also, the price is unbelievable. This company is cheaper than other. Definitely recommend it!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 30. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Hello
We had problems picking up the vehicle because we did not know that the company was Lava car and above all because we did not know that Lava Car was outside the airport. I think they should have explained it in an email. Otherwise, all good .A beautiful country !!!
Thanks for everything
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 05. Sep 2021
Good
reliable car, well suited as a 4x4, the gears are very short so that driving in a town is not the best. Very good gas consumption, diesel at 5.5 l / 100 km.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Very nice car, easy to drive, clean.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 30. Aug 2021
Excellent
Great for traveling around the island.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 25. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience with MyCat. Picked up and dropped off very efficiently. Definitely would rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
We had an amazing experience with our RAV4. The car was brand new and very very comfortable. The people working there were also very friendly. I would recommend MyCar to everyone that wants to live a wonderful on the road experience! :)
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 05. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
excelent 4x4; everything was fine; the personnel of the company very professional; fast and impeccable service
highly recommended
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Excellent
The car was great for our needs! We chose the cheapest four-seater we could find because we didn’t need luxury and this definitely did the job. Service was very friendly once we arrived at the office, but we did wait quite a while (30 min) at the airport for the shuttle (although I’m not sure if that was because we didn’t know what to look for at first). Thanks for a lovely rental experience!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 23. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The Car was in good condition. Enjoyed the Ring Road and not faced any problem while driving around for 7 days.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 31. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Almost brandnew car, people off MyCar were very friendly, very good rental conditions.
I would certainly recomend MyCar rental
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 05. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Very good!!!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 25. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went well, smooth rental process, reliable car and good communication
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 25. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The car was ok, the service so so
The car was ok and we got one a bit bigger than the one booked ( a Hyundai i20 instead ofi10). It worked properly but the seats were quite dirty. The arranged pick up time was 12 but they didn’t come until we called them. So we got it 1/2 h later. And the people at Lava car not specially friendly or kind just doing their work.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 07. Sep 2021
Excellent
Car was a great companion on my 3 week Icelandic summer adventure. It didn’t accelerate as quickly and smoothly as I would have liked but held its own on many types of roads and weather situation so I’m happy.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The 2021 Nissan Qashqai that we rented from Lava Car Rental through Northbound was great. New(ish), clean, and functional.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Tutto perfetto! Auto ok e la stessa scelta on line. Personale gentile, servizio veloce e preciso. I migliori rental car mai trovati! Grazie
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 23. Aug 2021
La macchina era ben tenuta, ad eccezione delle gomme che erano completamente lisce, ed i freni che non funzionavano.
Prezzo onesto
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 30. Aug 2021
Excellent
Our camperized Suzuki Jimny performed very well through many km of rocky uneven f-roads. The car had about 80k km on its back and the tires were near the end of their life, but we managed to do everything we had to. Not a powerful car but can get you everywhere! The assistance, both at northbound that at Icerental 4x4, was ready and nice. I definitely recommend you this company if you want to save a big bunch of money!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
All ok
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 23. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Service was really great!
rented a vehicle in August 2021