Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
I am very happy with all aspects of this booking. The staff at MyCar were amazing, when it became apparent that our luggage and wheelchair were not going to fit in the RAV4, they upgraded us to a Landcruiser at no extra cost! I also witnessed some very patient customer service with another customer who was being quite awkward and picky. The vehicle was clean, well maintained and performed perfectly throughout the trip. Airport pick up and drop off were prompt and efficient too. All in all, excellent!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
Fantastic!
The car was absolutely fantastic… we definitely made the right choice and couldn’t have wished for more in a car… only slight issue was the pickup with email communications saying that I would be met by agent in departures and another saying I’d be met outside by P1 parking. I spent an hour waiting and doing laps of the airport. We were at the airport hotel and fortunately the staff there helped me phone Lava to arrange pickup. That said, this was a relatively minor issue, the lava staff were very apologetic and we were still able to get everything sorted very quickly. It didn’t detract from the fact that the lava staff and the car itself were both fantastic.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 06. Nov 2022
insurance too expansive person at the reception on our arrival at 16:30 on Sunday Bad reception impossible to get an invoice
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 01. Nov 2022
Fine
The car was pretty old, lot of kilometers (near 300.000) and rusty. Not so important but... Many mechanicals problems, gearbox (noisy), steering (noisy on chaotic roads) and brakes (not efficient). The northern lights car rental team was good.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 31. Oct 2022
Excellent
Good Morning Ivar, thanks for your question. We had a very great time in your iceland and everything was good! We get a nissan 4x4 but it´s the same. There were a little bit issues at the car but rent.is repairs and check instantly . Very friendly and open 24/7 is very good. We can give back the car in the morning at 04:00 am and so we can sleep the last night in the car and reach our flight at 07:00 am in the morning. Pick up and drop off at the airport were also great. Regards Jörn
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
Good
All is good but with smile all is perfect 😔 After we check out your car in your company one week before you say me you drive me in my hotel inkeyflawik ( 3 km) but you don’t want only for the airport and you tell : walk without smile 😳
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 31. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car is very smooth , the trunk is big enough room for 4 people with many luggage. Highly recommend, will book again in next time Ann Nguyen
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 28. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
I like the 2022 Toyota RAV4 GX automatic car because it is hybrid, however it would be better if it is a driver power seat, it is easier to adjust driver seat when switching driver.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 28. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 14. Nov 2022
Good
The car was fine. Unfortunately, the indicator light of the tire pressure was defective and went on again and again after 20 kilometers despite sufficient pressure. The Road Assistant unfortunately could not help us and arranged a mechanican, which was closed. After that, no one answered the phone. I was not satisfied with this service. We unfortunately spent a lot of time checking the tire pressure. Upon return was said the problem is known at Dacia Duster. Please fix the defective sensors!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
Fantastic!
Great service from the whole team and a smooth experience collecting and returning the car which took us round Iceland with no problems at all. A better system for getting the shuttle bus as several times while loading cases people jumped in front and ended up splitting our family apart.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Northbound is an excellent rental car company operating in Iceland. If you have the opportunity to come to Iceland don't hesitate to choose it. I have rented the 2022 Toyota Yaris Automatic and it was the best option for the Ring Road: comfortable, excellent driving experience and low fuel consumption (4,2 L /100km). The customer sopport was also fantastic: fast reception in the airport and the same for the return. Thank you for making my 9 days in Iceland a great experience. I would recommend it to everyone. 100/100 🇮🇸✨
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Dec 2022
Excellent
The car was really comfortable and easy to drive. The climate control worked well and the heated steering wheel was great as I was in and out of the car quite often as I drove around. After I got used to how the hybrid worked I was able to cut the fuel consumption a little also. It performed well on paved and dirt roads, although it was not really great on the little bit of snow I went across, as it was not quite as high as some 4x4s and the tires not as wide as some. I was surprised there was not a frost scraper in the car, I had to buy one myself.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Fine
Customer service terrible. Upon arrival my husband could only come to pick up the car from your depot, 12 minutes. Myself and 2 children stayed behind at the airport. At arrival at the depot my husband realised he didnt have the correct creditcard for the downpayment. So we (myself and 2 kids) had to take a taxi to your office (€27.00). So far so good...... When we arrived we sorted the payment out and came upon a really rude person of your staff. We had a couple of questions concerning our insurance to which he responded if you don't like it there is the door..... needless to say we were not impressed.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
The worst experience of rental. They have changed the van that I've ordered with one smaller and with a broken glass. All the nights was very cold and umid because the rear of the van not covered. I will not order a car with Lava car. Regards
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 31. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Great value for the money. Good car condition, very friendly staff, reasonably fast and efficient pickup and dropoff, even with many customers standing in line. All in all, a great experience!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 06. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
It was great. The owner was such a nice guy. The car was working perfectly, we had 0 problems with it. I would absolutely recommand this company.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 28. Oct 2022
Good
MyCar could use minor improvements. There wasnt enough room for the whole group that arrived around same time, in the airport transfer to their "office." I volunteered to stay back and they said it would be back in 20 minutes. I waited about 45 minutes and then they did come back for me. Their office seems a tad thrown together. Although it may be legitimate... they could use better signage and more professional facilities. The car itself was great. I had no problems. The return to their city location was ok, but confusing to find due to signage and exact location of their office entry. Return was quick on e I found the location. He helped me get a cab back to my hotel. I dont know what portions fall with Northbound, but MyCar could use experiential improvements
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 26. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect service and communication. Highly recommendwd.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 04. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The Dacia Duster was a great choice and we were so happy with our rental! It allowed us to get off the beaten path and feel much more comfortable driving on the non-paved roads.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
It all went really well with the car, both collection and delivery. The car fully lived up to expectations. I would like to recommend Northbound and GO Car to others. Kind regards, Anette
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 26. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Car was perfect easy check in and check out. Very friendly stafff enjoyed our stay and rental
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Overall Excellent. Car worked perfectly. Very friendly and helpful customer support. Very fast, easy and good communication.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 26. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent and so easy to drive. Nice and roomy.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 23. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 08. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
We were picked up at the hotel on time. The car we hired as planned. Highly recommended. Nos recogieron en el hotel con puntualidad. El coche que contratamos según lo previsto. Muy recomendable
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Good
The car had many minor damages as paint problems, small dings, rust on some parts of the chassis/painting, the system for raising and lowering the pilot's seat did not work, rusted wheel rims, the windows did not work properly, etc etc. I was not worried because i had the max insurance, but if I hadnt had... The good thing is the price, which is lower than others, but you can't expect have a great car. It would be great if the company indicates the km to get an idea of what you will have, in my case it was a Dacia Duster 2017 with 302.000 km. The process of dorpoff/pickup is nice and staff explains well the insurance but it could be very tough if you have to wait. The staff does not check the car with you, they simply give you a sheet of paper with the damages and thats all.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 22. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Great
On the first day the shuttle was at the Airport Keflavik on time. The Man who drove us to the rental-office and handed us everything was not very friendly and seems to not like what he was doing. But as we get the Car it was fine. Very clean car. It droves as were we wanted to go. But i would prefer a stronger one for the next trip. Bringing the car back was very easy. The man wich worked here was very nice. Shuttle drove as back to the Airport within 10 minutes.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 08. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
I found really easy to book via northbound. Once at the airport I got confused cause I was looking for a sign with northbound on it, but when I called, staff told me to look for the go Iceland one and that if nobody was there, that he will arrive shortly. We got the shuttle to the office and we discovered that we had been upgraded for a bigger car and a 4x4 on top ( dacia Duster). It was definitely a nice surprise and totally suggest people to get that type of car from October on. The return was pretty easy as well, bit don't forget to ho there a bit ahead of time cause you might not be alone and the shuttle leaves when the whole return group is done. Make sure that you take pics of all the car, also under it , it was also suggested by the staff.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 21. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
I highly recommend this enterprise. Everything was easy and went really well. Also the service in Lavacar and the guys who worked there were really nice and helpfull. Thanks
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 31. Oct 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Very Good
Wonderful booking process! Much smaller vehicle than I was expecting and it hardly seats three (small) people. However, we were really happy with how reliable it was and it's gas mileage! The only major note is that we did not learn about how the doors worked when we picked it up. There is no way to get out from the side and the backdoor opening is not clear, which caused quite a panic when we first got in. I would just recommend adding this to your overview when people pick up the vehicle. Last, it would have been great if Lava could have picked us up at the departure zone rather than the Arrivals area. Their directions were a bit confusing as it said to cross the street - we looked around everywhere for our driver, but then he just showed up about 20 mins later. It all worked out and we were so happy with Lava overall, but just a note if they are open to the feedback! :) Thank you for the overall experience and for helping us get around Iceland!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 23. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We loved our blue whale to drive us all across Iceland!! When we first got in it was a bit getting used to a 4x4 for me and the lights for oil and the air in the tires came on but the customer service ensured us that everything was fine with the car. And it was. It took us all the way from Reykjavik, to Vik, Hofn, back to Reykjavik and to Kirkjefell. This trip was honestly a trip of a lifetime and as a photographer I couldn’t have asked for better weather, lighting, company and a rental car. Everything went smooth from pick up to drop off and we had coupons for free coffee too. Thank you. That’s all we have to say.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 20. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Everything about Northbound was great! Everyone I talked to was helpful and friendly. Pick up and drop off was so fast and convenient. Iceland is the most beautiful place I’ve ever been, and I got to see so much of it thanks to Northbound!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 28. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We didn't get the RAV4. You were awesome and upgrade us to a Land Cruiser. The car work wonderful and ran well for the roads we drove in Iceland. We drove almost 3km and never had worry about gas since had a huge miles. I would definitely support this company when coming back. The customer service was helpful the whole time. Thank you.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 22. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Hello, I’m very happy with my choice of your company to rent a car in Iceland. We had zero problems with the vehicle, it had a lot of futures and was very reliable! Also I would like to thank your customer service team, they are very friendly, helpful and communicative!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Hello Our stay in Iceland was greatly disrupted by an incident that took place on the second day. We were driving, when a thick cloud of water vapor began to come out of the car hood: We pulled over quickly and opened the hood, only to find the engine was boiling: the water pump belt was gone, only bits of it remained on the ground, the engine burning, smoking everywhere. I called the rescue service, who responded quickly and said they would send us a replacement car. It took 2 to 3 hours to wait. We then left to wait in a café, leaving the hood open to allow the engine to cool down, in order to avoid any more serious consequences for the head gasket. 3 hours later, the Icerental team met us at the cafe, showing us the damage done by the hood to the fenders of the car: during our absence, a gust of wind had unhooked the hood and opened it very hard, and it had damaged the corners of the right fender and the left fender. We are distributed in the replacement car, a Dacia Duster, after having signed the report of the damaged fenders. At the end of the stay, Icerental demanded from me the payment of 380000 Isk, for the damage suffered at the Vitarra, overestimated estimated price of the repair. There was no way to discuss with the person at the counter who had no decision-making power and we had to leave to catch our plane. So I paid this sum, knowing that I will have to contact Icerental again in a few days, when the actual invoice is established, so that they reimburse me for the overpayment. If I have a share of responsibility in this incident, the biggest part must be taken by Icerental which is at the origin of the problem: a water pump belt NEVER breaks if it is changed by respecting the maintenance book: on the Vitara it must be changed every 100,000 km, and, given the condition of the belt, it had probably never been changed. You should see the vehicle's maintenance book (but I doubt it still exists). To confirm this lack of maintenance, we can also base ourselves on the headlight lenses which are dulled by time and have not been replaced: we drove at night, which was dangerous because the lighting was very weak. In France, the compulsory Technical Control prohibits driving in this state and I suppose that in Iceland it is the same thing: this vehicle has therefore not passed the technical control. (see photo of the headlights of the car). To confirm this company's negligence, the replacement Duster's handbrake is totally ineffective, which is extremely dangerous when stopping the vehicle on a slope: we had to put a stone under the wheel to block it. (I filmed the vehicle moving forward while the handbrake is fully applied) That also cannot pass in a technical control. Also, for your own reputation, I ask you to act with Icerental so that they recognize their share of responsibility and bear part of the repair costs (and I am not talking to you about the damage I suffered by having had to pay a hotel where we could not go because of the 3 hour delay on our trip...) You are a young company, prove yourself worthy of commendation, and I will be grateful. I am waiting for your reply. Cordially Patrick Chapusot
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect. Everything worked as planned and detaiked in the booking instructions. Couldn't ask for a better service than this! Car was awesomne too!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with our car rental. I needed to make a change to our reservation and there was a quick response and great customer service. It made a great trip even better. We’ll rent with GO Car again when we return to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 27. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Great car for Iceland weather. Save me a lots of gas renting hybrid
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Good
The pick up and drop off was smooth and easy. The extra insurance seemed expensive but we did purchase it and felt like it wasn’t necessary. The car had a lot of cosmetic damage, dents, rust, scratches etc but that didn’t bother us. There were some issues with the car that we did find annoying but didn’t notice until the journey was underway. The washer fluid for the front windscreen didn’t work (the back was fine) this was quite dangerous at times as visibility was bad. The rubber seal around the door on the front passenger side was broken so a cold draught was always present.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Fine
The worst experience in my life: 1 hour waiting for an agent to pick us up at the airport They didn't know Id already paid full rent and they were to charge the fee twice. They charged 193.000 ISK from my card for "damages" without any explanation or report.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 19. Oct 2022
Good
It was perfect Very comfortable and everything worked out great
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 16. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was nice and comfortable. The cooler was useless because it wasn’t hooked up to a generator, so it turns off when the car turns off. All our meats and dairy went bad immediately. The provided pillows are also very small and uncomfortable, I recommend just spending the same amount of money to buy a couple at the nearby ikea. The wifi died when the car turned off as well, so I would bring a charging brick if you intend to use it while camping. It also could have used some camping mugs provided for hot drinks.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 23. Oct 2022
Good
Unfortunately, I was disappointed with my experience because the campervan I rented had a broken overnight heater and a broken cooler. I was given a replacement van on the 14th which worked fine but I still lost out on three days of my trip. I couldn't camp those days, I lost the food I put in the cooler, and had to drive over three hours to get the replacement van. All of which severely hindered my vacation. The staff was friendly, but when I went to drop off the car there was only one person working and it took a while.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 25. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Una empresa recomendable y los vehículos súper equipados
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 15. Oct 2022
Good
The car we have rented for six people met our expectations. Low price for such a huge car. It is an old car but that gave us also a lot of fun.
rented a vehicle in October 2022