Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 18. May 2022
Excellent
Everything as promised, 2007 is not a young car, so, few thinks related to the age, but overall it was great trip.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 22. May 2022
Outstanding!
Hello, We had an amazing experience driving the car around Iceland. We didnt find any problems except the Carplay wasnt working well everyday when we start the car. Although we were using the original apple cable, it wasnt working. We have to unplug and plug it couple times to make it work. Other than that, it was perfect!
Thank you!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 25. May 2022
Outstanding!
Fara rental company is reliable. The employees are very friendly and thorough. The car that I rented was really great, with wifi that eased navigating Iceland.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 22. May 2022
Good
The experience with LAVA could have gone way better; the vehicle had multiple issues and ultimately LAVA also admitted that they should have checked it better before handing it out to me. The refrigerator was not working properly, the backdoor did not open/was blocked, the gas stove can was almost empty already, the electricity ports in the back of the van (usb and 12V) were not working well, the water tank was leaking and the inside of the car smelled TERRIBLY: probably they painted the wooden plates in the van very recently and did not let the air inside the van change or just breathe, so it really felt like toxic fumes when I first got into the car. Eventually after 3-4 days the smell situation was better, but still not ideal. On top of it, on my first night, when it was time to go to sleep, I tried to make the bed and only then I realized that the 2 mattresses in the car were not matching in size, meaning I had to sleep on only one (there was no room to align them together). In my case, this was a "small" issue cause I traveled alone. But in the case this had happened to a couple, that would have been a huge problem, making it not possible for two persons to sleep in the van.
On my second day I went back to LAVA office and asked for another mattress and to check everything else, cause I had to spend 15 days in that car. Martin, the employee who took care of me was really kind and helpful, and also very sorry for all the issues. They offered me to change car but honestly the one they offered was even worse (refrigerator and water tank were not "fixed" and at every turn they would have fallen on the ground), so I declined this offer.
I have to mention, when the mechanic guy came out and I asked to check the backdoor and fix it, he answered with "I have to go to lunch now". It was 11am and I was already there waiting since almost 90minutes. He took a hammer and "fixed" the backdoor. I then apologized, thanked him and said I would leave. Worst icelandic experience of my 2 weeks.
All around, I knew the Nissan NV200 was the cheapest option, and in all honesty I have to mention that the car (engine, tiers etc.) worked smoothly; but it is BY FAR very different from the pictures on the Northbound website. If I had known that, I would have gone for a different model.
LAVA then tried to make it up for it and refunded me with 250€ at the end of my trip, which was nice even though it is not much at all. At least they appeared to be sorry and apologized for all inconveniencies. I am also sorry I had to go through this, I am a very easy going person and I don't like to complain etc., but in this case it was all just too much.
Regarding Northbound, you guys offer an amazing service and what I value the most is your customer support. I have been in touch with Thordis for weeks and she always found the time for replying to my many emails. Simply awesome!! I know that in Iceland the competion in the car rental field, with camper van and so on, is very tough; nevertheless, opting for the cheap solution and selling it as a "great offer" when it really is not so great, might work as a boomerang. So my suggestion is either to lower the price for this old models with huge amount of km (my Nissan had more than 140.000 km when I picked it up) or to offer better solutions for newer models.

Thanks again,
Luca
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 16. May 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 18. May 2022
Very Good
Very weird and unsafe request for credit card information (name, number, validity date and cvv) via email, but otherwise fine.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 06. May 2022
Excellent
Very nice staff, quote good car (the only problem was with blowing / heating - I could only make blowing on the windshield, the other direction didin't work).
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 05. May 2022
Good
Great company and kind and helpful people.
The car was not new, 260000km, but it did the job!
Good choice
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 05. May 2022
Outstanding!
The car was new and good for 2 of us to drive around even the up hills.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 06. May 2022
Outstanding!
Everything went right, the car was very good, no problem during our trip.

People were nice and kind,
Our experience with Lotus was overall great !
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 02. May 2022
Good
Car was ok, but with lot of scratches. The arrange thing for me is that Lava Car Rental didn't give me any documents after car returning. They Just said that everything is ok.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 04. May 2022
Outstanding!
The car was perfect! It made our stay at Iceland wondeful!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 30. Apr 2022
Good
Far From Perfect But Did the Job.
We have hired many a hire car before but never had one in such an old beaten up condition as this. It did not fill us with confidence on pick up. It was obviously well used, many thousands of km on the clock, bashed, scratched, the rear doors felt like they might fall off, the power sockets were a bit unreliable/rusty, etc - I could go on…….. Having said that, it did the job perfectly and went everywhere we wanted to go without incident (and we travelled a long way, used F roads etc). So maybe looks aren’t everything. It was reliable and that’s the most important thing. The Lava guys were very helpful and efficient too. I would recommend.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 25. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
A bit basic, but charming and comfortable. Not a whole lot of storage, so for longer trips it might be a bit too small. Go Campers were absolutely amazing.

10/10 will go again
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 28. Apr 2022
Excellent
The car was great and all the process ran smoothly.
Only one small thing happened, the rearview mirror from the passenger side was cracked and we didn't notice it when we took the car.
But we called the service of Go Iceland and they took note and apologized for it.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 01. May 2022
Excellent
We enjoyed our experience with the van rental. The van had everything we needed for our trip and drove very well. It was also very good on fuel which kept our fuel cost down so that was a plus! When we picked the van up it did already have some superficial damage but these defects were recorded by a member of staff so that didn't bother us at all. Overall our experience with Lava was a great one, when we mentioned that the offer we chose on the website stated free GPS, we were actually upgraded to wifi due to the GPS holder being broken so that was very kind of you. Only reason I have given 4.5 stars instead of 5 was because our cool box in the back of the van unfortunately stopped working half way through the trip. Also, I think it would be a great idea to include a jump pack in all rentals just in case, especially for Iceland travelers due to the periods of time which can pass on the road without coming across another car or village for help. Luckily we didn't need one but like I said, I think it would be a good idea for future reference. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 04. May 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 30. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Fara was an excellent company to rent from. The whole process was smooth and easy. Before my trip I reached out to extend my dates and they willing to help me out. On site every was lovely and easy to talk to. I would definitely rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 29. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
All was ok, the free shuttle from the airport, the car was as expected, I recommend
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 25. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
What a service, great customer service, The car was excellent and communication with Northbound is excellent and all my queries and questions were answered almost immediately were professional. The procedure for hiring and returning the car is very fast and then transfer to the airport. Thanks to MyCar rental car and Northbound.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 26. Apr 2022
Excellent
Great car, much comfort, nice to drive in, plenty of space in the 4x4 2021 Toyota RAV4 GX Automatic
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 23. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Cheap and easy!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 24. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
When we arribed they changed us the car, we must have a Toyota aygo and finally they gave us a Dacia Sandero, we think that’s a good change. Everything was fine with northbound, the car and Lotus rental car! 100% recomendable.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 22. Apr 2022
Good
The pickup at the Kaflavík airport was somewhat chaotic. There were many representatives of different rental companies waiting at crowded arrivals hall holding tables with many small rental company logos at the same time but no northbound or go iceland. We had to wait for the pickup guy with go Iceland logo approx. 20 minutes. It must have been a rush hour as the capacity of his shuttle was filled up as soon as he emerged even before he entered the arrivals hallway. At the rental agent desk there was a queue of clients too. I was a little surprised about the costs of a premium insurance we were advised/pushed to purchase additionally and that has not been clealy communicated in advance at booking on northbound web that made up around 1/3 of the rental price of the car itself (around 240 eur per week). The rental agent told me the car was rented practically without any necessary insurance coverage which I found quite odd. Anyhow I would recommend to take the premium insurance as it simplified the car return at the end of the week and honestly on Iceland you may very easily get the car damaged in any way by gravel, wind etc. not to mention the F-roads you would be often tmpted to try in highlands no matter how you drive. Another surprise was the car handover by the rental agent guy who just showed us the car over the window with engine turned on. It's obviously up to you to check the car state and take the pictures of everything issuable in order to have some records of evidence. Ours had an engine control unit error light on (how odd) and several minor defects in painting, not even 2/3 of fuel in tank (although full fill tank policy on takover and return has been anounced at the desk) and as it was a plug-in hybrid and it had a completely depleted battery which otherwise itself should give you over 50 additional kms of pure EV range on 2021 tucson. Not to mention that a 1.6turbocharged petrol engine on rather heavy plug-in tucson pays its consumption toll without the proper electric support. Again I had no knowledge in advance I would get a plugin hybrid version instead of pure petrol. To be honest, to receive a full tank on plugin hybrid one would not expect a depleted ev battery and no local charging key/card and proper ccs cable for public charges supplied. Otherwise the car was perfectly clean and in a good condition. Although the engine ecu error light somewhat scared me all the time, the engine luckily had no apparent defect and it drove rasonbly well even without ev cpability but the consumption was rather high. Tucson 2021 is a good and comfy spacious suv that can easily carry 2 big suitcases at the back but note that it is suitable for just somewhat 'light' terrain and there were situations in highlands where I did not reallyvhave courrage to push it through. An additional warning regarding driving in Iceland - keep the speed limits even on long boring liner-like long totally empty roads with no cars at all. A police car not clearly distinguishable came in a second in opposite direction and measured us at 113km/h instead of 90km/h which resulted in stupid 270eur fine. As regards the car return, as said with the premium insurance coverage the rental guy did not give much attention to car condition and did not even bother stop phone calling while taking the keys over. In fact I received no confirmation on car return at all not to mention the confirmation on good state which I find really odd. My general rental experience was therefore somewhat mixed up.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 20. Apr 2022
Good
Booking through Northbound was flawelss and without any complications. The car itself could use some maintenance, but nothing serious, so overall it was a very good experience :)
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 19. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
I have used Northbound twice and the second time was twice as good! This company gets 5 out of 5 from me!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 21. Apr 2022
Excellent
good morning, we were happy with everything in general. Well maintained vehicles and trained personnel.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 23. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Very Friendly Staff, Informative and Accommodating…Absolutely No Issues with Vehicle…Would Gladly Use northbound again when in Iceland. Thanks Guys, Gerard.(Ireland)
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 20. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Car was a bit old but did its job perfectly, staff is very friendly and professional, clear information and no problems at all. Highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 21. Apr 2022
Excellent
Fantastic
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 23. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
We had a brand new Hyundai Tucson and it was PHENOMENAL!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 23. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent vehicle and excellent service, staff very helpful and freindly.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 24. Apr 2022
Good
Okay.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 19. May 2022
Outstanding!
Sería conveniente avisar de que no hay mostrador en el aeropuerto y que alguien de la empresa te viene a recoger para llevarte a la sede para retirar el vehículo alquilado. Genera cierta incertidumbre no tener dicha información nada más de llegar a un lugar. También habría que entregar el papel como que certifica la entrega del vehículo, sin la necesidad de reclamarla. Esto también genera cierta incertidumbre. Por el resto, todo muy cordial.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 20. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
The shuttle service from the airport to the car rental and back. Fast proceeding. Reliable car at a good price, I'm satisfied...
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 23. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Recommended!
Easy booking, easy picking up, easy returning.
Car was OK.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 23. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Bonjour
Un grand merci à Mickael ! Un mauvais délire qui s'est très bien terminé grâce à Mickael ; une reconnaissance profonde. Et aussi, à nos trois sauveteurs. On n'est pas prêt d'oublier !
Merci aussi à Anna qui a géré notre modification de véhicule. Très professionnelle.
La prise en charge et le retour du véhicule se sont très bien déroulé.
Le véhicule correspondait très bien à notre périple.
Merci à l'équipe
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 26. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 21. Apr 2022
Good
All is ok but the wifi connection sometimes was wrong. And the car a little old.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 18. Apr 2022
Good
Overall, nice people and ok car. But there are a few caveats. Some of the window panes were worn down, and generally the car had significant signs of usage. Furthermore, the key and the tail door broke underway. Rent.is were quick to respond and help with a temporary solution for the key (ducktape) but were unable to fix the tail door due to Easter holidays. Over the phone, it was insinuated that we were responsible for breaking the key (although we had used it entirely in accordance with official guidelines). Upon arrival, the tone was luckily very different, and we got a small compensation for the key and the tail door.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 17. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
I will definitely return as a customer.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 27. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Amazing vehicle! Lotus car rental was very helpful :)
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 18. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Service was great! Price was very good.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 24. Apr 2022
Good
PROS: El precio es correcto (al menos comparado con precios Islandeses). El coche suficiente para dar la vuelta, se comporta bien.

CONTRAS: El estado del coche es el peor que me he encontrado en alquileres de coche: 274.000 Km., el freno de mano no funciona, el volante había que tenerlo un poco girado para que vaya recto y todo el viaje con luces de error de motor, error electrónico y error de presión de ruedas.

Aún así, el coche ha funcionado bien y ha hecho su trabajo, pero cada día con la intriga de si nos podría dejar tirados en cualquier momento.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 17. Apr 2022
Excellent
Everything was all right
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 17. Apr 2022
Fine
At the beggining we were not satisfied as the child seats were not already installed, the employees said they don't have the training for it. At the end the very friendly employee - driver from the airport - helped me with one of the seats. Into our initial Dacia also the water was leaking, what we found out the next morning, after rainy night. The car also broke down that morning, but in one hour (lucky for us we were still in Reykjavik) we got another Dacia. That one was newer and much better, so the experience was good. The staff was always very helpful and frielndly. If there were no trouble at the beggining, the rate would have been much higher as this was a good value for money experience. So I would rent a car there again!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 17. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Really good company to rent a car, the car was as expected and the service too.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 17. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 16. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 16. Apr 2022
Good
Everything was good.
rented a vehicle in April 2022