Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

12284 Reviews

12284 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 22. Jun 2024
Fantastic!
Great customer service, quick and reliable shuttle, and a quality rental vehicle. Two suggestions (don’t forget, we loved everything else!): - offer a map of places to get propane and dump the rv black tank, along with hours of operation. As a tourist this was really hard to find and figure out, and we ended up missing the opening hours (too late the night before and too early in the morning before our flight) so we had to pay the terribly expensive fee to leave the black tank un-emptied! We realize it’s our responsibility but that task has to be left to the last minute (literally) and knowing where to do this would have saved stress (and money) - write a short ‘cheat sheet’ of how to use the various equipment and components of the rv/van. It’s a lot of info to take in at pickup and, even though we are seasoned campers, each vehicle is different and a quick reference sheet would be helpful. For example, it took us a few tries to get the heat working at night and by then it was too late. The mechanicals on each vehicle are slightly different. But we loved this vehicle for our family of 4 and our short trip around Iceland!
Shannon rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 28. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
The car was great and was the best price we could find. Booking the car was easy. I appreciated how Northbound (who use MyCar vehicles) reached out before we arrived to schedule a pick up from the airport and even called me to check in when we were late to the shuttle getting off the airplane. There were several discount tags for different gas stations with the keys which was helpful. When we returned the car it was very easy and the guy there was very nice to take us straight to the airport even though the shuttle just went. I would recommend Northbound to anyone looking for a car rental in Iceland.
Jackson rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 01. Jul 2024
Outstanding!
Paul rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 26. Jun 2024
Fantastic!
The rental went effortless. The camper van worked great. They gave us an upgrade to an automatic with a heating system. The heating system was a lifesaver because the weather was pretty much terrible the whole time we were in Iceland. All in all we had a great time in Iceland.
Susan rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 24. Jun 2024
Excellent
Great car. Served us well.
Jakub rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 02. Jul 2024
Very Good
The car rental was great. Almost everything whent smoothly. The car itself was in excellent condition. The only criticism I have is that a more precise description of where the Lotus car-rental person would be standing in the arrival hall (at pickup) would be welcome.
Dennis rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 28. Jun 2024
Very Good
It felt like a really solid and reliable car. I choose this car because I drive the same one at home. I was happy with the 4x4, had to use it once, on a unforeseen bad road.
Sandra rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 25. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Mariia rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 22. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Excellent vehicle for what we required, both on F Roads and in the snow.
Peter rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 25. Jun 2024
Fantastic!
I didn't realise how small the Toyota Yaris is until I picked it up, but amazingly it seated 5 adults (slightly tight in the back, but still OK), plus two large suitcases. The vehicle was spotless and almost new, and the pickup service was great with really friendly staff. Some delays on drop-off, awaiting another couple who were really slow, but a fast ride to the airport helped. The Yaris was a hybrid and returned excellent fuel economy, but still had enough zip to maintain the speed limit on those windy roads, even overtake! Lots of safety features, especially in adaptive cruise mode, and really easy to drive. Some things to remember; (a) drive on the right hand side of the road, (b) keep headlights on continually as per the law, (c) if you park on the road, park in the same direction as the traffic.
Ian rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 26. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
We had the best car. Comfortable sleep, safe driving, easy check-in and check-out. Everything was perfect. We had a special experience thanks to this car. Thank you Blacksheep and Northbound.
Shintaro rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 29. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
It was the perfect car for Iceland, like a miniature G-Wagon. Fuel efficiency was good, and perfect size for two people traveling together
James rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 02. Jul 2024
Outstanding!
Pierre rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 23. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
staff was very friendly and kind!
Morad rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 25. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Irina rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 21. Jun 2024
Fantastic!
We have been delayed upon arrival at the rental office and the staff said that our reservation is not in the system and it us the first time that something like that happens however the staff was very helpful in general and honored the reservation and upgraded us as well so all went good at the end
Milica rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 29. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Tamara rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 03. Jul 2024
Great
The car was perfect for our 12 day road trip around island with some excursions on F-roads. Even though the car has more than 220 000km on it, the car looked clean, in generell good shape and we did not got problems once. Communication with northbound/ring was easy and reliable as well. Price was good and homepage clear.
Manuel rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 22. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Great service from the Mylar team. Excellent vehicle in first class condition and prepared so well for us renters. Keys came with discount petrol fobs attached for the three main suppliers in Iceland plus a package of discount vouchers.
David rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 21. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
We had a very good car and very good service at LavaCars. We would go back anytime.
Herbert rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 30. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Rockey rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 30. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Friedrich rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 27. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Das Auto war absolut ausreichend für unsere Fahrt um die Insel. Die Größe ist super für jeden Parkplatz und unser Gepäck hat auch rein gepasst.
Carmen rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 28. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Uwe rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 03. Jul 2024
Outstanding!
The car was very clean and reliable - no issues driving it around the country for 10 days. Fuel efficiency was also excellent.
Nathaniel rented a vehicle in June 2024

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.