Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 19. Apr 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
My car rental experience with My Car was very good. It was very easy to rent and employees were very helpful even though I had to make changes to my reservation several times.
I got a 2021 Toyota Corolla Hybrid and it’s a great car to have In Iceland, very fuel efficient.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 24. Apr 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 16. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The Northbound representative originally misunderstood my order and cancelled my car. When they booked it again, it was double the price. When I informed them, they ordered the car again and also gave me the original price. That is great customer service. We picked up the car, but it was not available so they upgraded our car. The experience at GO Car went well too! The person who checked us in was nice. I returned the car and everything was great!
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 15. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience working with MyCar. No issues with the car and was picked up and dropped off to the airport right away.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 14. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
All was good for our trip for a part of 4 on the Ring Road. Easy pick up in Reykjavik after two days in the capital and return a week later at KEV airport, saving cost of taxi to airport.
JP - July 2021
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 14. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
It was great exactly what we needed.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 14. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent experience. Blue Car Rental had the best prices, and there were no surprises. The shuttle pickup at KEF airport was prompt, the staff was friendly and helpful, the wi-fi device worked perfectly for navigating, and things couldn't have gone more smoothly.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 14. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Hello Northbound team
Taking it short:
- customer support: 5 (excellent), although we didn't have to overuse it
- car: 5 (excellent), no problems, no surprises, trustworthy Suzuki Jimny
- pick up, drop off: 5 (excellent), on time

Thank you and regards
Adam
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 18. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The car was great and the customer support from Northbound was excellent. They went the extra mile to make sure everything was great. Amazing customer service.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 17. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience with renting the car! Super easy pickup and drop off. We had to change our dates and the reply from northbound was super quick and with no charge.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The car was in fantastic condition and performed even better than expected! Everyone at the company was friendly, professional, and very helpful. I would recommend this car and company to anyone! The Suzuki Vitara was especially fantastic on the f-roads and gravel driveways outside of the city.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 15. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
We had good experience with renting our car with Northern Lights. No other car rental agency could beat their deal plus a good customer service make them my favorites in Iceland. From their shuttle pick-up to drop everything was smooth. No issues faced and car was in a good condition. I highly recommend trying Northern Lights car rental while in Iceland. You wont be disappointed.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 17. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Excelent
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 10. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Absolutely stellar customer service from Northbound throughout, despite several changes to our booking due to Covid etc. Thordis could not have done more to make sure we were set up for a great trip. The Dacia Duster from Lava did just fine too :)
Thanks again Northbound.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Vehicle worked great for highways and mild 4wd roads
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 09. Jul 2021
Excellent
Our rental car treated us well.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Quite an old car, but did the job. Had no problem getting us to Landmannalaugar and Askja, crossing several rivers on the way.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 06. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
This car was perfect for our trip and our service was great! The car was comfortable and easy to drive and just the right size. When we returned the car we were cutting it close to catching our flight, but Óðinn from Star Car Rental already knew that and did not hesitate to get us to the airport. Thanks again for a contributing to a great trip.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 06. Jul 2021
Car tires was in bad condition. During the trip I had to visit the service and change all the tires. Before that, one tire had to be replaced. The money was returned, but I lost on the exchange rate. The staff was polite.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 04. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The pick up and drop off was pretty easy, the car was in great condition, customer service was very friendly and helpful
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 05. Jul 2021
Excellent
The van was great. Easy to drive, very sturdy. A few things would have made it better. Another row of hooks on the opposite side. A seat that reclines a little or a lumbar pillow. A boot brush. And a line to let wet things dry in the van are just ideas. My only real complaint was that our blankets were absolutely horrible. Thank goodness we brought our own.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 09. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
This little car is a BEAST!! It allowed us to travel to the golden circle and the golden ring! The camping tent on top of the car was an experience, but we felt very safe when we used it to camp. The staff was very helpful and kind.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 06. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
It was a great car to rent while driving around the island. I also really appreciated the gas mileage and the fact it was diesel.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 03. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The car was in excellent shape, clean and fun to drive. The hybrid technology helped with fuel economy and the sport mode was great for passing. I only wished it came with a spare tire, especially with such remote locations.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 04. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
IT was absolutely pleasure to deal with this company as matter of fact they upgraded our car to suv for no extra charge
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 01. Jul 2021
Good
The car given was beat all to hell - but it ran perfectly, and we had zero issues. You get what you pay for in this instance - a car that works just fine, but is not very nice cosmetically. All in all - we were very happy with our experience.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 02. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 13. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
We had reserved a Toyota RAV4 but ended up with a Hyundai Tuscon which was fine. Rental experience was smooth and eash and price was reasonable. Mobile wifi was super helpful since we were traveling internationally without reliable cell service.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
No problem with vehicle except the low tire pressure light was on even though the tires were OK. They told us to ignore the light. Be sure to read the insurance options so you know what you are paying. The rate is much better than most rental cars. I got about 11 km per liter of bensín 95. It handles well on gravel roads but not a lot of power on uphill highways.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 02. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was great! We loved the 2021 Toyota RAV4 GX Hybrid Automatic from MyCar Rental. It took us all over Iceland and it was the best vehicle for our rugged travels! Thank you for your excellent service and for the high quality vehicle which made our trip so awesome!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 28. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Easy place to rent from and the vehicle worked out nicely for us.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 28. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 02. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
We ended up with a relatively new Kia Sportage instead, which was great, but the experience with Blue was flawless. Little to no wait and their friendly reps explain driving in Iceland thoroughly, even mentioning the lone toll in the north. The windshield was cracked on the passenger edge, but it had already been documented. Excellent car and support for a reasonable price.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 24. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
I am lucky to find this site for my car at Lava for my Iceland trip. I got the requested car and the customer car at Lava is also as good as Northbound! 8-)
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 20. Jun 2021
Excellent
vehicle was great! Only possible problem was insurance. I originally requested "Gold Insurance" but wanted changed to "Platinum". I ended up with original insurance. Not a problem because we didn't have any issues, but if had issues, what would have happened?
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 20. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Easy and pleasant. Rental company picked me up from the airport and provided some simple but very important information on driving in Iceland. Will rent from them next time I am traveling.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 22. Jun 2021
Excellent
Great & efficient service at Blue Car, the car it self was as I expected for its type & age.
Return transport service to terminal could be improved especially during poor weather!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 16. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
It was awesome! The young man was helpful, friendly, courteous. Great car no problems would gladly rent from them again. Thank
You
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 16. Jun 2021
Excellent
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 22. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent service, car was exact model that we paid for. Much cheaper than your usual U.S. car rental companies, and you’re supporting a local Icelandic company. Gravel protection included and is a must for driving in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 22. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Best price and excellent service through Lava Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 20. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
We had the best experience with Blue Car Rental! Getting our car took at most 5 minutes, so quick and efficient. The car was so nice and clean. It drove great! No problems at all. Just a wonderful experience.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 29. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
This was a great experience! Star Car Rental was very helpful and professional. Will defiantly use again next time I am in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 16. Jun 2021
Excellent
Lava rentals were very good and the handover was seamless and quick.

The car itself was adequate and did the job for the few days we were there. There was significant damage to the drivers door when we pick up the car and other dents so a little disappointed but overall would probably rent again from Lava.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 18. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was super smooth and easy!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 21. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
The car was good. It lacked power on the hills, but got good gas milage. When we returned the car we saw your information sheet on the tunnel tolls. It would have saved us a ticket if it was pointed out to us when we rented the car.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 19. Jun 2021
Excellent
Great experience - very good customer support at the rental location, everything went smoothly. Good value for the rental vehicle - easy drop off and hardly any waiting either at arrival or drop off. Glad we found your company!!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 21. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Car was nice. Never had to use the 4 wheel drive but it was a security blanket. Your staff was very friendly and kind.
rented a vehicle in June 2021