Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 26. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound gave a very professional service as my agent, Anna was a great help, professional and also fiendly.
My experience with Go car hire started poorly but ended on a good note.
Firstly I was asked to pay almost double the agreed bill. Very strange or even suspicious but after showing my bill from Go he said he would amend the charge.
I paid cash but he was unable to produce a receipt but rather said he noted it on my file.
The car had a plastic trim in the drivers footwell that was not attached and twice jammed my foot on the accelerator.
Things improved on my return the young man on duty was very professional offering us coffee and was polite. Luca was the driver back to my accommodation. Later I received a call from him to say that I left my drone in the car which I needed early the following day. Luca drove back the half hour round trip in his own time to ensure it was returned to me safely.
Good customer service saved the day.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 24. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Good, roomy vehicle
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 20. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Best customer services provider in the area! Stop by this place if you want to rent a camper van for your adventure in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 20. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 21. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 22. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Staff were very efficient and made whole rental process very easy. I want to change my booking to extend rental period and Anna Heiða made this very easy by email. Pick up and drop off was seamless. We decided to drop the car off night before as we heard mornings were busy and we chose to stay nearby and they gave us a lift to our hotel. Simple and easy booking process, would recommend.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 19. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect van life
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 24. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Car was very good and served we need. It had enough room for 3 of us and our luggage. It had sufficient power for get us through the winter road in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 19. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience, friendly staff.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 16. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
We loved our car! It was perfect for the November weather conditions in Iceland. We felt very safe all the time. And we loved that the interior warmed up very quickly and also had heated seats in the front!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 14. Nov 2021
Excellent
FARA - Great at pick up ( David) Great at drop off ( Dominic )
Customer service was really good
The CAR - Perfect for long journeys, made driving easy and made you feel safe. Took the car becasue of Satelite Navigation BUT broke or got switched off within 1st hour and FARA were contacted. No suggestions on what to do so didnt have Radio or SAT NAV for entire journey :(
I have let FARA know of my thoughts and await. However, i would still book with them again
BUT great drive in the Mazda Cx-30.
Price was competitive BUT went for FULL insurance which i thought was a little pricey BUT gave me peice of mind
Suggestio - It would be nice if someone was waiting with a board as i did not have a phone and used someone else's
Would i use NORTHBOUND - YES
Would i use FARA - YES
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 14. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Verry good experience with Icerental4x4 with Northbound. The vehicle was perfect for our trip in south Iceland! No problem to declare on arrival as departure, treatment fast and efficient and really attractive price.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 21. Nov 2021
Dear northbound Team,

thanks for the opportunity to comment.

The land and the people were fantastic. I really did enjoy my time in Iceland, even though the weather wasn't always kind during the trip.

Unfortunately I have to raise a few points regarding my rental. From a riding perspective the car was doing more or less a fine job, even though the rainsensor for the wipers was broken, so the wipers only knew stop or full throttle. In a little bit of rain this was very infuriating, as you had to manually adjust all the time. Additionally the breaking pads in the front were faulty and were gone after a few hundred kilometers which made the onwards journey not only a bit nervewrecking, but looking back also a bit dangerous.
This was also a big part, why I ended my trip two days early and gave the car back on the 18th of November and not as booked on the 20th.

Overall the condition of the car was not completely as I imagined.
In the windshield there was a gravel damage which if it was not properly handled beforehand, could have easily damage the windshield further. Additionally the car had on both front doors damages from overextending the doors from wind, as well as different other damages on the chassis. Considering the overall condition of the car, looking back I would not choose the same insurance package again...

Also:
The lighting in the back was not working. Not the two small booklamps and not the light on the ceiling, which was supposed to be the main light in the back. The only light working was the one for the back door which was linked with the car main battery, which always runs the danger of depleting the main battery.

Also the interiour was very dirty and moldy. This did have an impact on breathing. And I never fully felt comfortable.

The camping gear provided with the rental was in parts faulty or broken. Case for the gas stove was broken, one chair provided etc.

I am not an overly picky person, but all in all I expected something a bit different.

As I was already a few kilometers into my journey when I noticed all these things, I decided to keep going, but with faulty breaks during the challenging weather on a roundtrip of whole Iceland I did no longer feel safe. Therefore the earlier return.

I raised these concerns very early to Lava Car Rental, but never got a reply or a comment. When I returned the car and raised my points again in person the clerk in charge assured me, that he would have his boss look over my concerns. Until now, I did not get any amendmend from their side.

Also the interiour of the car was very spartanic and not at all as I imagined it. As it was functional this was no great concern, but there was a only a cheap fitout of the car with wooden boards with no insulation whatsoever, which made it necessary to run the heating system the whole time and to position oneself away from the outside walls, which were blank metal.

Summary:
- The car was functional, but faulty in parts; maybe even dangerous with faulty breaks and also with the mold an health hazard

Best regards
Bastian
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 15. Nov 2021
Voilà bien la pire voiture qu'il nous a été donné de louer! Et nous n'avons pas payé peu cher. Une vieille Dacia qui a un stop and go qui ne fonctionne plus et qui s'arrête donc à chaque stop et à chaque feu rouge. La consommation s'en voit donc augmentée ( 500 km avec un plein de 70 euros...). Le bruit du démarrage équivaut à celui d'un camion, etc. Très mauvaise affaire. De plus qu'un 4x4 n'est pas forcément nécessaire même en novembre. Le service ça a été par contre (rapidité, politesse, explications), sauf qu'il n'ont pas écouté les commentaires sur la voiture, estimant qu'on ne savait pas faire avec le stop and go, ce qui est faux.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 15. Nov 2021
Fine
Camper was as expected, however there was damage to door on return we got charged 900$CAD after inspecting photos of pick up we notice the damage was already there we just missed it in the initial inspection. now we are in the process of getting are money back
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 24. Nov 2021
Good
We had a few issues with the car.

- The doors in the back wouldn’t stay open which made it tough to get our daughter in and out.
- The overhead light didn’t work in the back of the car which made it difficult to locate things in the back seat at night.
- The oil light came on mid-way through the ten day trip which caused unnecessary stress as we didn’t know the seriousness of it.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 17. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
It was all amazing!! the car is really comfortable and good for drive on the road. The company is incredible good, they are really friendly and happy to help you before and during the rental. I highly recommend!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 17. Nov 2021
Good
It was a nice experience to travel around Iceland with Dacia Dokker Campervan. It wasn't big and confortable, but just enough to enjoy the trip and the country.
Whatever the car isn't ventilated and insulated and we weren't informed. Some nights were very very cold and car was freezed some morning because of condensation and cold.
Maybe you should just informed your clients that cars are fitted out but not ventilated and insulated.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 12. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound Car Rental (aka Go Car Rental) was wonderful! 5 stars for the vehicle, pricing and customer service. We will definitely rent with them again on our next trip to Iceland! Prior to our trip they were very communicative and picked us up at the hotel upon our arrival and dropped us off at the BSI bus terminal to get back to the airport. Easy!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 15. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
The service of ice rental 4x4 was very perfect !
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 09. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
This was the best rental car experience I have had until now in my 20 year plus experiences, Super easy, super clear, very good pricing, very good service. I wish that all rental companies would work like this. Thanks!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 11. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
The car was great and the experience with Lava Rental too.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 12. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Very good and reliable car to travel through the island during storm, snow fall, strong winds and every other weather condition we encountered.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 18. Nov 2021
Excellent
The Camper Was Overall a great choice. The price was really good and the General Service as well. Besides one or two small issues with the car.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 14. Nov 2021
Excellent
Great experience overall. 3 ISK discount in all N1 stations as well.
The 2017 Duster had definitely seen better days, but was very realisable, especially considering mileage it had. Staff was very friendly and explained everything you need to know.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 08. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
One of the easiest + smoothest car rentals I've ever done. From the shuttle to the location to how quick it was to pick up with car without all the usual rental BS and up selling. Will rent from them again on my next trip!!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 06. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 12. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Really enjoyed our ten days with this car. Never once had a problem, went over snow packed roads, sleety roads and rain slicked roads like a champion. Would recommend this car to anyone visiting Iceland and it’s unusual weather changes.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 10. Nov 2021
Good
Very good
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 07. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Friendly service, no nonsense. The car was well equipped for traveling along the roads of Iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 13. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
We actually ended up with a newer Duster because our first car started acting strangely however we are very grateful to Northern Lights who, after we rang the breakdown number (we hadn’t even broken down) came out with a replacement car within a couple of hours. Both cars were great and appropriate for the conditions- we drove the whole ring road with blizzards in the north no problem.

I also thought the price was good and there was no hard sell on insurance. Finally the airport shuttle could do with a bit better explanation but it was reliable.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 08. Nov 2021
Good
The car bring us to the final destination - we had couple of issues because the car need service
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 03. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
We had the best time in Iceland, and renting from Camping Cars made it even better enjoyed every minute! Can’t wait to return and explore more!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 08. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Easy to rent and everything was clear since minute 0
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 02. Nov 2021
Good
Good overall service. The car was a bit older than I would have expected .
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 09. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Awesome car, everything worked perfectly, guys from Affordable Campers pick us up and drop of at desired destinations in Reykjavik. Car was equipped well and even had winter tires with spikes which helped a lot! Totally recommend! :)
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 04. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Mycar Rental is prompt.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 05. Nov 2021
Excellent
Great rental experience with Icerental 4x4. We had the car for 5 days and there were no issues. We did purchase the premium insurance on advice from friends and online recommendations and it was worth it. There really are a lot of gravel roads and rocks hitting the windshield so get it. The staff were great and the entire rental process was quick and easy.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 03. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect
I asked for a JEEP COMPAS and FARA gave me exactly this one and put new winter tyres on it.
Thanks
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 02. Nov 2021
Good
Great prices, that's why I chose this company, altough the car was probably the worst they own, personally if I knew I'd rent a better car, but it's not their fault obviously. They were nice and professional. Recommended
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 30. Oct 2021
Hi , we had a great time in Iceland, but the Suzuki is out dated now, it was not a nice car to drive , a lot of thing in the car don’t work right, the high beam switch not working right, the door lock not working right, the hand brake was a joke ,the car was also pulling to the right what you was driving it , the car as got a lot of faults but the main one is for the head lights are so dull when driving in the dark , which made it hard to see the road
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 29. Oct 2021
Excellent
Great company very reliable open 24hra wich is amazing and drop you to airport was great.
But i would suggest to make it clear that you pick people up at the airport as we ended up getting the shuttle to Iceland rentals
Instead of waiting for Iceland rentals 4x4 at arrivals.
Apart from that very happy.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 31. Oct 2021
Good
There check in process for procuring the car was smooth . Good pricing compared to other established plans . The reason for 4 start is because the car I rented was a bit run down with around 180k kms on it so was a bit choppy however had no issues navigating through the island . Would recommend this company with a better upgraded cars.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 01. Nov 2021
Fine
An old car.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 08. Nov 2021
Excellent
Rented through Lava car rental. Reliable, low-consumption Duster for your worry free road trip around Iceland's Ring Road. Included free GPS, although we all know that only Google maps are actually useful. The only downside is that the car already had a lot of bumps and bruises.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 03. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Just perfect!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 25. Oct 2021
Good
Car was new and in good condition. The WiFi router made navigation with Google maps really straightforward! It was a little tricky to figure out where to pick the car up from, but a quick email sorted that out! Thanks for a great rental!!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 11. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
It was excellent. You made everything super easy. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 05. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
We couldn't have had a better experience with Lotus Car Rental. Our flight to Keflavik was cancelled last minute and we were not able to pick up our rental on the date we had set. We called Lotus and they assured us that everything was fine and that they would keep our vehicle and have it ready for pick up the following day.

Lotus had the car ready for us right as we pulled into their lot and it was spotless (interior and exterior). The car itself was a dream to drive, even through all the harsh elements of Iceland. Highly recommend this vehicle if you're looking for a comfortable drive.

The return process was also very smooth and quick - it took maybe 5 minutes or less.

Overall, I had such an exceptional experience with Lotus and I highly recommend this company for those looking to rent a vehicle in Iceland. Everyone at Lotus were extremely friendly and informative - just amazing customer service.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 31. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
the car was perfect and performed well. The rental car process itself was awful. It took 2 hours from the time we got to the waiting area to the time I drove back to the airport to pick up my wife, because apparently she couldn't come with me in the shuttle to get the car
rented a vehicle in October 2021