Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The Toyota Highlander was great and we had great service !from the staff at Lotus
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
Hi, we liked everything a lot! The only thing that would be great is to either tell people where they can buy normal water or to provide a large can in the Car:) it was quite difficult to find bottled water Thank you for the organization we all loved the car and the trip, Magdalena
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Really liked the Jimny, it's an awesome car and it ran great despite being very old. Also both the pickup and return were very fast and friendly at both ends, excellent service by Star Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
The van was good, no problems other than the passenger window would not go down unless the button on the driver side was used.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 23. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very good overall experience. Transfer from and to airport was smooth and fast. Very good, friendly customer service. Car was in really good condition. Well done Lotus Car Rental Team. Will definitely use your service again
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was great for the purpose.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The best !!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I have nothing but good things to say about my experience with northbound. The online booking process was easy and had some of the best prices I found. A shuttle came to pick us up from the airport and took us to the pickup location. The pickup process was seamless, efficient, and easy. Our shuttle driver was friendly and gave us the rundown of how to drive in Iceland. Overall experience was a 10/10!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great car. Very easy to drive with nice features. It was great to travel all around Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great car for summer weather in Iceland! Good gas mileage, super clean and user friendly. We loved it!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was in excellent condition and carried us over 720Km as we toured the southern coast of Iceland, some spots quite Remote so the reliability of the vehicle was paramount. Apple car Play was a nice feature so we could use Waze and listen to our playlist during the ride. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and the price was very competitive. Definitely would recommend with a 5-star rating.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Car was quite good, we enjoyed driving it. The only complaint i have about the car was that there was very little room in the passenger area to place anything other than a drink in the cup-holder.... but that is more of a complaint to Suzuki, and not your choice of car.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I booked car with GoIceland via Northbound. Upon arrival at the Keflavik airport around midnight, a shuttle was waiting for us. I gouge the shuttle only had space for the main driver, it took us to nearby car rental office. The check in was smooth and they gave me free Wi-Fi device for the whole duration. The vehicle was very good condition, it was a hybrid vehicle. Hyundai i20 petrol automatic hybrid. We travelled through south Iceland over a thousand km and had no issues. Absolutely satisfied with the service. Word of caution: while you return the vehicle, you are required to hand over in full tank condition. DO NOT REFUEL FROM OB AOLGATA STATION NEAR KEFLAVIK AIRPORT. It refueled for 4500 ISK but my account got debuted with 60000 ISK.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Excellent
Very good experience with MYCAR. Easy pick-up and return, no fees or "extras", brand new car and very good staff and commnication. Recommended!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect experience!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very good service! Everything ok. Best price I could find.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 23. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The vehicle was more than adequate for our travels.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
Es war alles super und die Kommunikation war unkompliziert. Die Camper waren in einem sehr guten Zustand und es war alles vorhanden, was man braucht. Auch der Shuttle Service vom und zum Flughafen war problemlos. Alle Mitarbeiter waren sehr freundlich und haben alle Fragen beantwortet.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
This car was perfect for our trip. We were really well received and everything went fast and easily. Thank you for your service!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 20. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very satisfied with car and service
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Good
The rental process was easy and we enjoyed our trip. However, we were not provided with the 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper Manual but were given a smaller van (Renault Kangoo) and told that this was an upgrade because it was an automatic transmission. This was not the van I had reserved to rent and I wasn't completely satisfied with the van or that the rental company (Lava Car Rental) did not accommodate my reservation nor provide a discount.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Fine
Cuando dejé el vehículo se me obligó a pagar una sanción de 35.000 ISK por fumar dentro del vehículo. En ningún momento lo hice, nada más un par de cigarros con la puerta abierta mientras tomaba un café. El precio de la sanción, justa o no, me parece desproporcionado, teniendo en cuenta además que entregué el coche en perfectas condiciones y lo cuidé como si fuera mío. Absolutamente desproporcionado. Fue imposible conseguir una rebaja en la sanción.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very convinient
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Absolutly perfect ! The description is very clear and the equipment is complete and effective. The car is perfect for 2 persons : we spend 8 nights in the car and except the fresh temperature is was very confortable. The check in and check out were very simple and clear with sympathique staff. We recommend this compagny at 100%.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Excellent
What a surprise “do you have a personal insurance?” The cost rise from more than 700 to more than 1000. I never see that in other countries. Please made a “all inclusive mode”
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was a great car! Thank you!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
This was a really cool way to get around Iceland and we had a great time. Everything we needed was included in the campervan and we didn't even need the heating at night we were toasties. Recommend wholeheartedly. Thanks Lava.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Good
The car worked, but was lackluster. The electrical seemed strange, the passenger door was drafty, there were cigarette burns in the tent and they did not seem to document the damage well as they tried to pin a dent on me, luckily I had video to show that it was already there when I picked it up.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was great and car company was very friendly and responded to all of our questions. Car as well was in order and the experience was great. In addition, the rental was cheaper than many of the other companies we researched. Great experience, would recommend this company to anybody.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 20. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Super road trip realized in the magnificent country that is Iceland. Excellent welcome from the agency at my arrival at the airport and very professional handling of the vehicle. All that is indicated at the time of the reservation is carried out. For the amateurs of road trip and camping, you can choose this option without hesitating. I will make the same choice during my next stay in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The Northbound team were very helpful and easy to deal with. transfers to and from the airport were swift and comfortable. We were given an upgrade as our car had a fault. The car was in great condition and dealt with the "F" roads with ease. Highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Excellent
The car itself was nice, a bit confusing at first that you can’t use the mirror for the back but you get used to it.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Hi, everythink was perfekt! Shuttleservice, the car, the serviceteam und the return. I can recommend this Company 100% Best regard Harry
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
It was a good choice. Everything went well. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Good
Rav4 ran very good. No problem at all. GPS was not very good. We traveled mostly to popular places but POI did not find the names of the locations. We gave up using it. We also rent a wifi, but this did not work at half of the travel. I understand it wouldn't catch the signals in some local areas. Frankly speaking I was disappointed that it did not work downtown Reykjavik. We got lost to the hotel or the restaurant because we relied on Google map. People were very kind to us and gave us directions. Good Iceland people!! We learned we should prepare offline maps and a good GPS. We enjoyed 10 day trip with a lot of frustration.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Jeep Renegade got me through the city, highways, country roads no problem. Never had any issues and the hybrid model saved some gas money along the way!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Wszystko OK. Transfer z lotniska, odbiór samochodu itd. Dodatkowo niespodzianka jako bonus za full ubezpieczenie, gratisowy router Wi-Fi bez limitu danych. Polecam
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 16. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I loved it
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Excellent
The color was not my favorite ;) but the car was perfect! It was comfortable and really fun and easy to drive!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
The car was designated for inspection and had to be rechecked shown trough a green number on the license plate. Also there were some issues which were not speaking well of the rental company.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great value for the cost, car was in good condition, rental process went very smooth. The rooftent was a very good option for two people as well.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 17. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Fantastic. Great car, great gas mileage. Pickup and drop off was easy breezy. What an easy rental process.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 17. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I was given Toyota Land Cruiser instead and it was excellent They informed me before
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Very Good
We named our camper van Big Red, since we can always spot it in the parking lot during our hikes. Big Red served its purpose of getting us from one location to the next safely and provided us shelter from the diverse elements of Iceland. It has the basic of everything that we needed during our 2 weeks rental, except a knife to help with meal prep (did a quick stop at IKEA and that was that). The minor annoyances that we had with Big Red were that the sliding door is difficult to close properly because the curtain will get stuck between the door and car during closing (nothing a hair clip/rubber band couldn’t fix), whereas the front passenger door does close but the sensor kept beeping to tell us that it’s not. Last minor annoyance is Big Red’s love for AHA’s “Take On Me” because it always plays my playlist from letter A whenever I connected my phone to it. That song has become our trip’s theme song for Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 18. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was super easy and convenient! Picked us up from the airport at 5:50am and got us into a rental in now time! Peter (I don’t know how to spell or say his real name) was super friendly and answered all of questions. I ended up returning the vehicle later than expected but there was no issue! The only thing I would change is putting some sort of felt on the ceiling in the back of the van (that was the condensation doesn’t drip on the campers faces in the morning!) I would use this company again in a heartbeat and tell everyone who is going to Iceland and plans to camp to use them! Thank you so much again!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 20. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was awesome. Had a flat tire, but everything was good and MyCar Company gave me all the support I needed. They were also very supportive when I needed to call them to ask for some help. Really recommend the company!👍🏻
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 14. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022