Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 18. Oct 2022
Excellent
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 20. Oct 2022
Excellent
We actually had a Nissan Rogue Sport and it was great. Very smooth ride and was gas efficient. Only had issues when it can to slippery snowy roads. Had some difficulty figuring out where we were to be picked up upon our arrival.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 22. Oct 2022
Very Good
It was fine. I enjoyed the trip a lot. A bit disappointed that the car did not have cruise control even though that was written in the description.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 20. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
A very solid car, well maintained. Good handling, low consumption and clear. Sufficient space for four people, including luggage (2 large suitcases, 2 sports bags, 1 carry-on suitcase and 3 backpacks). Overall very satisfied.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Very Good
Welcome to the agency, smiling and helpful staff. Vehicle conforming to the reservation (model and year) On the other hand, vehicle with a lot of km, creaky gearbox, noisy belt, headlights illuminating the ground in front of the car, impossible to adjust and drive safely at night... for the rest no pbs encountered and very interesting price I do not put 5 on the return because too fast, no information from the control, we leave without really knowing what will happen...
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 18. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
WAS EXPECTING TO BE BIGGER, FUEL CONSUMPTION TOO HIGH.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was okay
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 19. Oct 2022
I hope you are doing well! Thank you for this opportunity to give FB! We enjoyed the car as a good option. Some things that surprised us: - high fuel consumption despite being a hybrid - intransparent procedure of insurance purchase during booking process Unfortunately, Mycar charged us the FULL ISK 350 000 deductible due to a damage to 1 out of the 3 rear bumper panels and signal light. Upon requesting feedback why the charge for the damage was this high, I was told that Iceland is an expensive country and that the final cost will be much higher any way. I mentioned that there was no warning signal from the car when I drove backwards out of a parking lot. I was told this doesn’t matter and that I need to pay regardless. Mind you not that I come from Switzerland, which is not a cheap country. We get a full rear bumper replaced on premium cars such as BMW or Mercedes for 1 000 to 1 500 EUR, not 2 400 EUR for one plastic panel as claimed by Mycar. The outrageous charge and handling by the local agent put a very bad taste and memory to our trip. We will make sure to put this experience online to warn other travelers.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The whole trip went well. some of the petrol terminals were magnetic strip only and took a few tries to understand this. In the UK most cards disable this in an app as it's old technology. A heads-up would have been good.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 21. Oct 2022
Excellent
In general, we are satisfied with the experience of renting the car and with the coverage offered during that period, we did not highlight any problems recorded and everything developed normally.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 15. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Very good treatment. They have the garage on the outskirts of the airport, they come with a van to pick you up and take you to the airport
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car had some damage to the exterior, other than that, it worked perfectly and we had no problems with it. Apart from the car, I would like to improve the service and it would be appreciated if when there is a risk of bad weather (that prevents driving) a warning is sent to the users of the vehicles to be prepared.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 13. Oct 2022
Good
The car was quite old (I knew that) and worn out.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 21. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Was good. Car some parts were worn off. But overall experience was very good and happy with it. Keep it up!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Very Good
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 12. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Hello Ivan, Everything worked out great. We were actually a large group of 20 and we have rented 5 vehicles from your company, and we got icked up at the airport and brought to your rental location in timely manner. What made the experience even better was that when we have arrived there were 5 red Subarus waiting there for us. That was a nice touch and it made it easier for us to follow each other to and from our visiting destinations. Great service even better staff.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
No issue, no hassle with the rental company and the waiting time to pick-up and return to the airport was only a few minutes . The car consumption was excellent (~4-5%) and the heating system worked with no problems all night long. 5* stars from my side, I totally recommend.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Was upgraded to an automatic Toyota RAV4. Which we enjoyed. It did have a few annoying features, although they’re obviously nothing to do with you. I would have liked to have been told two things on pick up. Firstly no-one explained what to do in the event of an accident or breakdown. Secondly how to use the N1 fob. We obviously worked that out for ourselves, but it would have been nice to have it explained prior to leaving. Everything else was excellent. The car was clean. Staff at Lava were friendly and efficient. Would definitely use again.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 23. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
When I arrived the 2017 Dacia Duster was not available, so I got an upgrade and this was excellent - a 2022 Hyundai Tucson Plug in Hybrid. The service was also excellent and I know, where I will book my car next year. Thanks a lot and till next time!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 14. Oct 2022
Fine
We did not get picked up at the airport even after calling 4 times. When we arrived by taxi at Icerental we met another guy who did not get picked up on his way and he had to pay for a taxi himself too. The car itself was okay, but the check engine light was on, because of a missing sensor. So we did drive with the check engine light all on all the time. Not really what you want to see when you enter a rental car. Everything else was okay. The staff works pretty efficient when it's your turn.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 12. Oct 2022
Excellent
The staff at Kuku Campers was mostly friendly and helpful. However, the “roadside assistance” seemed to be misnamed because when we needed to use it we were informed that it is not at all roadside and had to find someone nearby to tow us and help us with our flat tire. I just wish it wasn’t called “roadside” so it didn’t give a false sense of security.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 14. Oct 2022
Good
Durable car that got us through a blue Oxi pass. Great on gas.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 19. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Muy practica y espaciosa, en buenas condiciones para viajar por la Isla, pero la atención de A Car es lo mejor! Saludos!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 20. Oct 2022
Fine
The staff was a bit unfriendly at first and just gave us the keys, documentation and asked us to take photos of the car before leaving. The car was pretty dirty, but apart from that we had an overall good experience with it, but I guess that's more merit to Toyota than the rental company itself. I would try another company on my next visit to iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 15. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
It had everything we needed. Comfortable bed, cooking supplies, table, water jug. The small electric heater kept us warm at night. Easy pick up and return to the airport and good service when picking up and returning the van. Do note: the passenger seat is made for skinny people and as a woman with hips, (185lbs) the seat belt was very uncomfortable and dug into my butt.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
MYCAR was wonderful to work with, they checked in with me before we even left home to confirm all details. We were picked up promptly at the airport at the time we were given. The staff were all very pleasant to work with, they made sure we understood how Iceland weather could change so quickly and provided discount cards for fuel which was really appreciated. During our travel a storm was predicted, and they provided updates during the storm to help keep us safe. This company really cares about their customers, and I will use them again.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 12. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Mycar picked us up on time from the airport, the communication was perfect, they did not offer us the car we had rented, but a slightly superior one, practically new and of high quality.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 09. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Everything as descripted. Friendly staff. Recommended.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 16. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 21. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was perfect, exactly as described and had all the additionals stated on the website.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 13. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
This was the easiest rental experience with competent staff and the best price. The car handled Icelandic weather and F roads so well that I'm considering buying one. The heated seats and heated steering wheel were unexpected and appreciated perks. Jan warned customers via email about gale force winds in the forecast, with no driving conditions all over Iceland on a day I was planning to drive into the worst of it: "I usually recommend spending the day at the swimming pool, but this is one of the biggest storms I have seen in my lifetime! Staying inside some facilities seems to be the best option. Don't forget to park facing the wind and to hold your doors when opening them! Try to find a spot that is announced green on the forecast." It was that bad and I'm grateful I heeded the warning. Thanks Northbound!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 18. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Employees where super nice an helpful especially Mikel, the manager I do believe extremely nice guy an helpful! Everything was painless easy would use again!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 11. Oct 2022
Good
The car did the job, it got us around all week with minimal issues. The service provided by Icerental 4x4 was great, simple and easy to understand with a friendly service, showing us which roads to avoid, reminding us to be observant for parking fees and telling us to take pictures of the vehicle before our rental and after, should any issues occur. The car itself was a good size, it kept us warm and dry with its heated seats and the 4 wheel drive system worked great, however - The body work (although not an issue to us) was poorly repaired with a large rust patch on the front left wheel arch covered over with some rough hand brush painting. A much bigger issue lied with the parking break - the parking brake simply did not work, it was pulled up to its maximum with no resistance from the cable until the last click where it would very slightly bite with no braking effort, the entire holiday we had to leave the car in gear to prevent it rolling into any obstacle that sat near it. Hill starts were particularly challenging, although we managed, this is a safety concern and other drivers may not feel as comfortable with these issues. The gearbox felt terrible \ poorly maintained, Shifting into 5th gear often came with a crunch indicating something has worn inside the gearbox itself. The car was also slow to start, the battery terminals looked very dirty so may need a clean or require a new battery. We understand that northbound does not provide the car but they list companies to hire from. perhaps this review can be forwarded to icerental 4x4 Northbound provided a good service at a very good price, however the unexpected 2500 pounds deposit was not a delightful shock to the start of our holiday, this is something that should be clearer on the website.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 14. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
A very good van, very to ride. The beds are perfectly placed and easy to made. The small kitchen is well equiped and will ensure you good meal for and amazing travel (only if you're a good cooker of course....) Thanks again for your services
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 11. Oct 2022
Fine
Overall satisfied with car that we rented as it did get us around the whole of Iceland. Areas for improvement. - couldn’t complete check in for car online prior to arrival as asked for information that doesn’t exist for UK traveller’s. i.e. social security number. Sent 2 emails and did not receive a response. - waited over an hour to be collected from the airport. Rang office and told shuttle would be there but not given an ETA. - we requested a car with a sat nav. Sat nav console built into car but had issues inputting coordinates. Asked for help and advised we are best off using our mobile phones. - told at check in that although we had paid for the top insurance this didn’t cover tyres and that would be our personal expense. - noticed that the rim for front car door windows appeared damaged. Became apparent when traveling that the seal was gone so had to put up with whistling through the windows during the journey. If window was opened, had to get out of car to push window back into place when closing. - 2 days into trip, the ‘change oil’ warning appeared on the dashboard. We rang the office who transferred us to mechanic. Told to check oil and if levels are ok then fine to continue driving. Oil levels were ok but was unsettling driving the rest of the road trip with a warning light on. - The wifi was hit and miss which is to be expected given the remoteness of some areas but it also dropped on and off where we wouldn’t have expected issues. Was a good job that we had access to internet on mobiles so we could keep an eye on ever changing road conditions. - didn’t use the flask or anything from the kitchen box as we didn’t need to in the end. Did go to use the flask but the cup was cracked.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 10. Oct 2022
Very Good
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 11. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Amazing experience!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 05. Oct 2022
Very Good
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 13. Oct 2022
I don't recommend them at all. The heater works only 3 or 4 hours and is extremely noisy, you can't sleep. When I tried to cancel the contract (on the third day of twelve) they told me that they would not give me anything back
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 13. Oct 2022
Excellent
Hello got a Suzuki Vitara for the same price instead of the Dacia. was fine for me. It would have been a small briefing with the most important functions nice. Unfortunately not getting. Since I get along very well with other cars, it was no problem for me. But not everyone is as interested in cars as I am and then has a hard time with another car.Otherwise I was very satisfied with the car and price. In my opinion, what absolutely needs to be changed is the tyres. One day there was a snowstorm and the Vitara had summer tyres. In my opinion, all rental cars should be purchased by your company with all-weather tires. The tenants drive safer. And there should be no difference in purchasing. Greetings Christian
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 09. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We had a good trip with this Jimny, especially for photo & clip with this beautiful car!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 10. Oct 2022
Very Good
The car was nice! To bad there were no winter tires on it, we needed them!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 09. Oct 2022
Very Good
On arrival in Iceland there was a delay in pick up, we had to ring the office 3 times and there was a delay of 2 hours before we were collected from the airport to pick up the car. This took the shine off the beginning of the trip. Once picked up and at the office things were much better. The car ran smoothly throughout the trip and had all the features we had hoped for.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 10. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was great! We had no troubles. The light went off for one of our tires we filled it up and it never went off again. Gas mileage was awesome
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 13. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Súper easy to book the car, the service was exceptional, any email they answered almost immediately. You're on the good way, keep it up. Pura Vida 🇨🇷 from Costa Rica 🇨🇷
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The customer service experience was excellent, from the airport pick-up, rental pick-up and return. Everyonm was nice the things were explained well. The car was a joy to drive and it worked for every thing we intended to do on this trip. I wound rent from this company again.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 09. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was ideal for the trip. We had plenty of room for our luggage, and the high beam assist, and cruise control made the longer drives from desitinations at night stress free. The team at Lotus was awesome! Super friendly staff when we arrived and they kindly answered all of our questions and made us feel confident when we left with our rental. The WiFi hot spot made our trip so much better-no expensive phone charges from our carriers when we needed directions, or a spot to get some food.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 26. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We had an incredible trip through Iceland, the car rental was part of this. It provided all the comfort and all facilities we needed. The only thing we faced was the fact that the car was equiped with summer tires (driving it around in October). For most of the trip this was absolutely fine, but we faced a (snow) storm as well. Those two days I feel that winter tyres (even the ones without spikes) would have provided us more grip on the snowy surfaces. In addition, an extra compliment for the storm warming that we received 2 days prior to the storm. This timely helped us to stock up on supplies and to park the car in a clever spot regarding the issues that could be caused by the storm. Thanks!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 15. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was great! We didnt get a dacia duster but an Suzuki Vitara(?) which was an upgrade for me since it was an automatic. The only deficit was, that the USB Port was kinda loose. We used it to navigate via Android Auto but it kept disconnecting when driving over just little bumps. That was kinda annoying. Other than that, we had a great Time with the vehicle!
rented a vehicle in September 2022