Reviews for all companies

Si Lei

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The car was in good condition although the tires were very used and were not optimal

Eduardo

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Bad start; the agent was late. After 2 sprays of windshield washer fluid there was no more, so I had to buy some out of my own pocket . The car was'nt in perfect shape but it did the job over all.

Matthew

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

The man from Go Car Rental meeting me at the airport for my car was 1 hour and 15 minutes late past the previously arranged pick up time.
I did not receive any communication regarding an expected delay.
This is unacceptable.

When looking over the vehicle, he pencil whipped the inspection sheet, meaning he quickly filled it in and didn't thoroughly and correctly document all of the vehicle damage I was pointing out.

The rear wiper blade on the car was completely worn out and did not work at all.

The doors, while they did close and latch, did not close tightly. So, when I drove, specifically on any dirt road, the car sounded like it was going to shake the doors off the hinges. This was very loud, annoying, and uncomfortable for a two week rental going around the country.

The windshield washer fluid was not full at the start. It was empty after two days and I had to refill it...

Dion

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Starts when on. No breakdown. This is a prerequisite. On top of that : pretty bumpy car, not quite stable, air con out of order (would have been helpful on 08.02).
Staff very friendly at drop off and lift to appartment appreciated. Conversely, pick up could be improved.

Bruno

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Well the car is excellent for 2 people visiting South Iceland however it wasn't in a condition I expected... Air condition was not working at all and I tried any setting of it. Windshield of this car had 4 stone chips already and had probably hit the sand storm before, because there were thousands of micro chips all over it. It wasn't a problem in rainy day, when I collected a car (also I couldn't notice the AC failure as it wasn't needed then). It was serious problem in sunny day, when you had a sun in front of you. Also using wipers+fluid ended up in need of stopping the car and waiting it dries to see anything, because wipers cant wipe from thousands of small holes... I've taken gravel and sand+ash insurance, which is reasonable for Icelandic weather and roads, so before me either someone had same insurance or paid for the damage, so why it wasn't fixed? I thought that's what ppl or insurance company pay for when windshield is damaged...

Piotr

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Free Cancellation & Amendments

All good good.

Gang

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki Grand Vitara

The Dacia was Ok
Pretty basic to drive and the fuel guage stopped working but it did no t let us down.

Patrick

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

seamlessly. I recommend

Michaela

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 KIA Rio

The car was as described on northbound but if you check Fara's website, they show a very different variant of the Jeep. DO NOT go by those pictures since this is a basic model of the car itself and not the one shown on Fara's website.
The pickup person at the airport was not present at the receiving area and we had to call to find out that someone would be there to pick us up. Luckily we had a working cell phone to contact them when we landed.
Last but not the least, there is a surcharge fee of 2-5% for paying with a credit card. This will not be disclosed to you until you reach their office and start the paperwork. I didn't mind the fee itself but this is something that should be clearly mentioned in the rental voucher or agreement while booking. The agent told me this was a 'standard' practice across Iceland but i find it hard to believe that there is a separate surcharge for using a credit card everywhere in Iceland...

Mithilkumar

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

Our experience with Lagoon Rental was good overall, but our arrival experience was quite stressful. We had arrived after a very long day of travel and two flights and waited quite a long time for their shuttle driver to come. We had to call several times and this was difficult as we did not have roaming for Iceland. They kept saying the person was coming, or had come, but it is a very small arrival area and their meeting place was in our sight the entire time. It is very hard when you have others in your group and you just want to get the car and get to your accommodations. When the shuttle driver did arrive there were several other people waiting and not everyone could fit in their van. They really need to do something about that. We advised them repeatedly that we were four adults with luggage. People in another group stayed behind and their driver was going to come back to get them...

Mark

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2017 KIA Sorento

OK I know that this is a rather cheap option but the first time I saw the car I was speechless. There were two dents, right front door was hard to control when it is opened and a lot of scratches. But when I ended my tour in Iceland I understood the dents, scratches etc. Pretty normal. BUT still I do not deserve to use a dirty car. Imagine this: you arrive your destination after hours of travel then you go to handover your rental and you have more way to drive. Actually if I had time and energy I would reject the car with that funny smell, foot step on the back seat, paper garbage inside the driver's door etc. Desperately, I took over the car. Frankly, car was in good shape, last maintanance was 1000km ago, tires were good and had no problem other than mentioned ones. Check-in and check-out was easy but I recommend Lava to give a document to the customer stating that they took over the car with no problem.

GURKAN

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The jeep compass is a fantastic car for iceland .
The car had many options and was a pleasure to drive
Bagage for 2 big suitcases
Front en rear usb connectors
Front seats and steering wheel where heated this a welcom suprise.
A perfect car for Froads
Fara carrental
The pict us up at the airport after a phone call , the car wasn’t ready yet so we have to wait , but the give us for waiting free wifi in car thats was a nice service
We recommended highly fara rental true northbound

Rob

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

Tomas

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

We spent 2 weeks in Iceland whit the mini van. Everything was good, all the staff was perfect for 2 people, the sleepingbag are warm enought. You brought the car where we was in reykjavik and you leave us at the aeroport, perfect! Just one thing: no coibentation on the bad, so we woke up everyday with a wet top. If you improve just this, everything can be perfect.

Stefania

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Our Dacia Duster was excellent for our Iceland exploring. Return was a bit confusing though. There was not a sign on the building and when we finally located the correct unit, it had a sign informing that they had moved locations. New location was just around the corner but also not easily recognizable. Be aware of this and just be sure to ask directions when you initially pick up the vehicle.
Otherwise, great company, great price and good service.

Timothy

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Easy check in process with friendly employees. The car performed as expected, however, we were no able to use the GPS that I added because it would not charge. I tried both power ports. Also, a map with directions on where to turn the car in at the airport in Keflavik would have been immensely helpful. Yes, I would rent a car from Northbound in the future.

Nancy

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Overall experience with the rental was good! Customer service was helpful and responsive. Vehicle itself overall performed well.

Steve

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The motor home was great. It fit all 6 of us perfectly. It had great gas mileage and was very clean. The rental company is a bit out of the way from the city but not to far from the airport. Nothing is included with your rental and you have the option to pay and add it on. The company does have a drop off service when you return your vehicle which is convenient.

Jasmin

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019

Fast communication, perfect service from the Lava Car Rental Team. The Car was in good condition, so we had no problems on our tour up to the Westfjords and in the south.

Antje

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Dear Nordic Car Rental,

My experience with Suzuki Grand Vitara was more than great!!
The ride was smooth, four wheel drive was awesome.
The staff was friendly and whatever I needed they where avaliable.
I sincerely recommend it...Nordic Car Rental.

Greetings,

Rok

Rok

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki Grand Vitara

The picking up and return of the car is so smooth, no hard sale on the add on insurance.
the car is a little bit wear out although it is a 2018 model. the overall experience is quite good.


Koon fung

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2018 Subaru Forester

It was perfekt

Iben

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Todo muy bien, cómoda bien equipada la calefacción de maravilla. Lo recomiendo.

Macarena

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Renault Trafic Camper

Although some minor episodes occurred in the middle, the tires of the first car were damaged and the Icerental 4x4 opened a new car from Reykjavik to Vic town for replacement. But the service attitude is still very good, the responsibility of the follow-up tires It does not belong to us. It is very convenient to pick up and return the car, and provide airport transfers.

Wei

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Overall good. I would recommend for Fara to provide some tips for driving in Iceland verbally upon arrival.

Andreas

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

We had a very good experience with the Caddy. Everything was well maintained and worked perfectly. It was very nice to drive, even on terrible roads (not F-roads). The reason for the 4.5 rating (and not a 5) was the over-night heater. It worked well, but it couldn't maintain a constant temperature. It was a bit of an up and down between too warm (lowest setting) and too cold to sleep with a blanket (when the heater rested). We were never cold, but that's the only point of improvement that i could think of.

Alexander

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper

Everything was fine, good car, good service, good price

Katrin

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was very nice, the car was clean and everything when great except one thing. The trunk would not stay open s own, we had to retain it from closing but everything was fine. Just one other thing that I would suggest is that you should advertise more your company in the airport because we did not see the guy at first and we went all the way outside where the other rentals are.

Isabelle

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Great company to work with! The campervan itself was a great value and withstood all of our travels throughout the country. Check-In and Checkout were smooth and simple, and the staff was extremely personable and communicated quickly and effectively. Highly recommend!

Chad

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2019 Renault Kangoo Camper