Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
It was very good
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 01. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Great! Very responsive, very good car in execellent condition
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 30. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Consegna e restituzione dell’auto veloci. Ottima assistenza. Con la assicurazione Platinum ci è stato restituita la somma spesa per la riparazione del pneumatico.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Nov 2020
We appreciated the car we rent, but we are very disappointed by the behaviour of Lava Car Rental. We had to change a flat tyre by a new one. We paid for it, we did it with Lava approval. As we subscribed insurances, we sent the invoice to Lava, and we asked to be refunded, but we didn't receive any answer to our 3 mails. Therefore, we will not recommend Lava Car Rent.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 31. Aug 2020
Good
The Box between the front seats only make noise, and it's not good for anything.
The back windows wiper blade doesn't work, it only makes two stripes on the window, the window washer for the back window also doesn't work.
Otherwise the car drove us about 3.600 kms without any surprises and so everything is ok.

Klaus
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 06. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent experience! Best prices, easy booking and handover processes, friendly people. The car was in a very good condition and we did not have any issues during our entire stay. Thank you for everything! Next time we come to Iceland we will surely choose Northbound and Star Car Rental again.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Excellent
All together it was a really good experience getting around the island with the car. The service was really nice and friendly and punctual. The car is very well equipped for being our home for a week. We had some minor issues like the usb outlet of the radio doesn't have enough power to charge our devices it only had enough power to keep them on level, so we needed to buy a cigarette lighter to usb adapter which made the trick. The second minor thing is that we received the mobile wi-fi uncharged, so for the first 1-2 days we couldn't really use it.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 09. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Eine gute, unkomplizierte und zuverlässige Autovermietung. Nur zu empfehlen.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 03. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
It was really amazing! The car was great and the tent on the root was just perfect for the trip we planned! Thank you very much, guys!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Good
With this car you got what you paid for, a smaller but functional sleeping option. Also, the gas worked without problems and so we had no problem making cheap food as well. Theres only two things is: 1. The car is not isolated, and so it gets moist and cold during nighttime 2., Sleeping bags are not included and cost 25€ each.
Overall a perfect van for us, as we only used it for sleeping and transportation:)
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We had a lot of fun and everything went very smoothly, the communication with the rental was easy and friendly and the van was great! Would definitely recommend :)
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 27. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was really great for our journey around Iceland.
The price is affordable and competitive regarding the quality of the car.
The service was excellent and I recommend to rent car with Northbound!

Antoine
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 20. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
The general expirience with Icerental was great. The staff were very friendly and patientlys explained everything to us. The car( Suzuki Vitara) was very goog and i really enjoyed driving with it. One day the oil lamp on our car was on but we were helped very quickly.
I would book my car there again at any time.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 25. Aug 2020
The communication and the retrieval of the van went smooth.
Northbound is highly recommended!
I just wouldn't chose the Dacia Dokker again, because of the interior noise we experienced. Every night our ears and head hurt due of the constant noise.
I suggested to pay a little bit more and chose a more "silent" car.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 30. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Ci siamo trovati molto bene. La macchina, seppur non nuova, era in buone condizioni e con un grande bagagliaio che per noi era necessario essendo in 5.
Una nota particolare per la simpatia dei ragazzi che sono al desk.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 27. Aug 2020
Excellent
Good experience with Geysir cars rental, the car was clean but with little stuff broken.
But it wasn't a problem for us.
We used a key box to pick up and give back the Duster. Easy!
The agency is around 7 min walking from Keflavik airport.
We drive all around the road number 1 and Landmannalaugar.
Everything was perfect.
Thank's
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
It was uncomplicated to Pick Up the car.
The Toyota Land Cruiser is a big Car, very comfortable to drive Into the Highlands.
A great expierience for F-Roads.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Good
Hello.
-we send you an email because our flight had changed and it took a long time befor the mail was answered.
-The motorhome was fine. What we didn't like was the duvet. It would be much more convenient if we got a 2 persons duvet instead of 2 one person duvets

rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 27. Aug 2020
Fine
Car had some technical flaws and was already on 100k kms. Station is around 10mins from KEF airport and we had some waiting time for the transfer
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 29. Aug 2020
All over it was good. But the car had some warninglights on. Engine, inspection, air pressure in the tired. We always checked. The could be in better condition. It is not really able to go on f-roads with it because of the tired. They were down and should be replace. We didn't go to all places we wanted to go.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 26. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Ha funcionado a la perfección y no hemos tenido ningún problema con él y eso que hemos hecho 3500km!
Relación Calidad-Precio no dudéis en escoger este coche siempre y cuando solo uséis la Ring Road o Grave Road ya que por F Roads no se puede ir con este vehículo.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 11. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Everything worked great. The camper was as described. The handover was quick and easy. We were very satisfied and can recommend Star Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 25. Aug 2020
The car was in poor condition. Halfway the journey the battery went dead. Northern lights told us that we probably left the lights on, which is not true. They would look for someone who would be able to give us a jumpstart but we were ofcourse on the other side of the island. There were no starter cables present in the car so after looking for a long time we found someone willing to help who also had starting cables. Since northern lights had not yet reached out again. Later that day the car wouldn’t start again, we bought our own starting cables and found someone willing to help.
I told northern lights and they told us to go to a repairshop in Akureyri. There they could tell us that it was a cable which was connected poorly and got loose and disconnected the battery from the car.
Furthermore the cooling fluid was empty. As in totally empty. We had to refill it with water while traveling. I seriously doubt if northern lights is going to replace this with proper cooling fluid before the upcoming winter. Car is in poor condition and the effort put in by northern lights seems very little.
Besides all of that the plates as part of the kitchen box were dirty. Lighter did not work and the folding table was useless since one side of the legs had broken of.

I would therefore recommend to choose another company.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 28. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
I have got a well maintained Jimny, especially tires, brakes and windshield wipers worked very well, what is essential when driving on F-roads or in hard weather conditions. Thank you for receiving a clean car with clean equipment and roof tent as well. I have to mention the reliable and quick response from the northbound staff, especially Thordis, when having any question. In total, the booking experience and customer support from northbound.is was outstanding! My best experience in Iceland after already 15 visits!! TAKK FYRIR FROM ISLANDSVINUR NICO!!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 17. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Happy with the service, all went well
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 27. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We didn't mind the high mileage, the car was well maintained and served well.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
We have several complaints regarding the camper:
The refrigirator did only work on gas and it was very difficult to start. Every time we should start it we used between 15-30 minuts.
The blind curtains did not work.
The heatet over heated so it smelled ekectrical burned.
The camper door was very difficult to open/close.
The key to the camper was half brooken.
The camper also had a hole in the tavle and the plate to cover the gas was missing.
So in total, I am not happy at all. I did expect something better due to the cost I paid to rent the camper.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Excellent
Car was perfectly fine, service as well. The only concern/feedback I’ve got is about rental company signboards, and actual rental company name. It was different on the website and emails, different od the buildings, different in rental papers when picking up the car. Didn’t saw “Northbound” signboards on the building where I pick the car from which was not big issue at all, but didn’t find in as well when drop the car at the airport which was bigger concern as I wasn’t sure If I drop the car/leave the key in right spot. It was bit confusing especially when being in the rush to make up for the plane. Better visual/company name communication would be a great thing for customers :) other than that it was very good experience in general.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 30. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 01. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Un véhicule confortable, propre et agréable à conduire sur les chemins.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 31. Aug 2020
Good
The car was great. We had no issues with the car.
The only problem was, that there was nothing to hang clothes on.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Excellent
Dacia duster was not available at the moment, and they gave me a toyota rav4, i dont know if is similar or suoerior to my booked car. rav 4 was automatic gear but green fuel, not diesel, so consuming more than my manual gear ordered car. duentu the fact I booked the car in Reykjavik no delivery service was available...but all was in order.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 17. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
It was an excellent choice as a car and as a rental company. Professional service at collection and drop off, including warning for severe weather forecast and heavy wind
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Good
The shuttle service from the airport like as the pick up service was quick and good. The car was not as we expected, more than 200.000 km of life, with scratches and damage in both side of the car. After some days light on the Tires pressure alarm despite the tires was ever in good conditions
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 26. Aug 2020
Fine
a old car ! 144000 km ! Impossible to watch windshield because system out of order !
And there was since the departure at the airport a fissure on the windshield ; the man who saw that during the check-in was not worry about that ! 1st time I see that
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 02. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
The rental service was really good. All of the information was clear. Upon arrival everything was settled already and the returning went really quick as well. Good shuttle service from and to the airport
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 17. Oct 2020
The car was OK. The service was bad. PICKUP from the Airport after 2 calls (we and others had to wait 1 hour). They had only one car running for pickup but 2 persons from the staff and therefore only space for 6 persons. No help with baggage.
We had a wheel damage during our journey. We took the most expensive insurance. After a call with LAVS Cars we had the wheel repaired at our own costs. After 6 weeks we are still waiting to receive our money back. DISAPPOINTING
Up to you if you would like to order a car with LAVA Cars.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 08. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Best car to drive if you are salmon fishing on Iceland
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 22. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
It was a pleasant surprise, I have never tried it before, but it is certainly something I will do again. Easy to get around, easy to set up camp, and easy to get a good night sleep. And the car was doing his thing too. At a certain point I had to cross 21 rivers, no problem at all. I would do this again without a doubt
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 17. Aug 2020
Excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was Fine
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 28. Aug 2020
Fine
The car was as such in good conditions, only the breaks did not function as expected. The parking Brake had virtually no function and the main break did pull the car slightly to the right. That could be dangerous on soft and slippery ground.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 25. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
This car was perfect to discover Iceland.
MyCar rental is highly recommended! Good service and very friendly .
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Excellent
Well, beside of the fact, that you are asking about booking that was changed (both car and time...)
Given the current Covid - madness I had to change my booking 3 times and re-book my flight even 4 times.
However, I was very happy with the flexibility of MyCar services, even with the kind refund for shorter stay.
I intend to book again, if I manage to come again next year.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We had a wonderful week with our Caddy Camper EX!
A great car, top service, super nice guys from AC, and an unbeatable price-performance ratio!
Highly recommended and our first choice on our next trip to Iceland!
Keep it up and thank you!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 09. Sep 2020
Hae Thordis.
I know this is simply a standardized form, and that you already know about the issues we experienced with Fara. We didn't end up with this vehicle (the Hyundai), but they swapped out for a Subaru instead which has been better. In the age of COVID travel and people's plans changing unexpectedly, it would be helpful for the rental agencies to allow early returns and at least partial refunds (if not full) of days left on the contract. I understand the problem this may cause them, but it definitely causes problems for the customer and can also cause future customer loss if someone chooses not the rent from them anymore because of this inflexibility. If they do not want to allow early returns, there should be specific language in the rental terms and conditions stating so to avoid confusion and so that the customer can make a choice about whether to rent from them because of it. For convenience sake when I return to Iceland next year I will not use Fara (and also for the car quality issues), but rather will look for an agency with more flexible date policies in the event of changes and also an agency that is located at the airport for the convenience of not having to be shuttled from farther away. I used Lotus last year and they were better in both regards.

All of that being said, my review of you and Arnar is 5/5. You have gone out of your way to get discounts where possible and make things right. I very much appreciate you! Very excellent customer service. While I will not use Fara, I will definitely use Northbound to help me find another car rental agency.

Terri
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was great: the car was in good conditions, the rental staff was kind and professional, we didn’t have any trouble. We found the best price on northbound for the same kind of car.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was excellent, although not the one we originally reserved (we booked a Hyundai Tucson and got a Kia Sportage). We had to wait a bit at the airport at pick-up, but then we were served quickly. In general we are fully satisfied with the service and price (we recommend buying the platinum insurance, very convenient and valuable for Iceland roads). We were also very satisfied with Northbound support service, who always replied to our emails and phone calls within minutes.
Marco
rented a vehicle in August 2020