Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 20. Apr 2022
Good
D’un point de vue général mais aussi et surtout en relation avec notre expérience, je recommanderais cette agence .
Ils viennent vous chercher a l’aéroport et vous ramène ( pas de temps ou très peu entre les navettes ) .
En revanche en ce qui concerne l’aspect général des chose et les retours que j’ai pu entendre des français dans la file d’attente de l’aéroport pour rentrer en France la plupart d’entre eux ont eu de mauvaises surprises .
Une famille s’est retrouvé avec une facture de +1000€ pour un mini impact sur le pare-brise alors qu’il était déjà présent a leur arrivée .
Deux autres jeunes couples n’avaient pas pris d’assurance pour les gravillons et ont dû payer 200€ supplémentaires . Sans parler du système de parking islandais assez particulier .. il est assez facile d’avoir quelques petites amendes à régler lorsque vous rendez les clés .

Mes conseils :
- faites bien le tour du véhicule quand vous le prenez . Nous sommes arrivées a 2 h du matin sous la pluie, le vent et -3 degrés . Personne n’a fait le tour avec nous . Mais à notre retour ils avaient la lampe torche et testaient tout : direction , boutons etc …
- n’hésitez pas à louer un routeur WIFI . Très utile au moins au début .
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 18. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
The team is great, very friendly and welcoming. They explained everything very well at the car pickup, including which roads not to take and how to be careful with the icelandic weather. The car was very good for the trip we planned, comfortable with a large truck for the luggage. We didn't include any F-road in our itinerary, so we don't know how well it would go on those. The car return was quick and efficient, they were fair while taking into account the video of the car we made during pickup and didn't charge any extras. It all went very smoothly, we definitely recommend this rental place!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 24. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Die Abholung am Flughafen hat super geklappt. Übergabe des Autos ging schnell und ohne Probleme. Die bei der Abholung angebotenen Versicherungen wurden mit Fotos von Autos untermauert, bei denen die Tür durch einen Sturm abgerissen waren oder der Lack durch einen Sandsturm komplett zerstört wurde. Wir haben uns trotzdem dagegen entschieden und hatten zum Glück auch keine Schäden am Auto. Das Auto war ziemlich neu (erst knappe 3000 km drauf) und hat super funktioniert. Rückgabe und Transfer zum Flughafen war auch top! Gerne wieder!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 18. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Sehr gutes und bedienerfreundliches Auto, leicht zu fahren, unter den 4x4 der billigste Geländewagen und auch genügend Bodenfreiheit vorhanden (Wichtig in Iceland) .
Abholung/Rückgabe des Autos sehr freundlich, schnell und offen für Fragen. Mitarbeiter sind auch 24/7 in der Firma vor Ort.
Shuttle Service von und zum Flughafen alle 10-15 Minuten vorhanden, Top!
Alles in allem super und jederzeit wieder :)
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 20. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Awesome experience with Lava Car Rental. They were helpful and everything went well.

We will visit again in 2 years and for sure will rent an electric car. If Lava / Northbound could provide it by then, we will use yout services again.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 11. Apr 2022
Good
To small for our needs, but it was just a car for the day and we did not have to go very far away. Very simple car, with tons of plastics inside but comfortable in its way. Quite dented, scratched and damaged overall, but we really dont' care about it.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 13. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Our trip was perfect, the car was comfortable and had evrythings that we needed.
We chose you also because we only found on your website a car with 9seats avaible for 21yo driver, because on other website we had to be at least 23.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 18. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
A very nice car, it worked perfectly for our trip. Being a hybrid it also saved on gas without sacrificing power.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 13. Apr 2022
Good
We rented the lava camper for 8 days! It was wonderful. It was a great way to see Iceland and complete the ring road! We were able to see so much more while using this camper van! Service was fast and friendly! My only complaint about the lava car would be there was no window curtains, which made changing in the van quite difficult. We ended up having to make a make shift curtain with a blanket but all other similar camper vans we noticed while at campground had a curtain which would have been convenient. Also there was a few times some dash lights came on (on and off) for our 8 day trip but they went off eventually and didn’t affect our driving at all. Overall I would recommend lava car to anyone looking for an affordable way around Iceland’s ring road!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 09. Apr 2022
Good
We liked the price and how everything you needed was included. We had a couple of problems with the van, the passenger window never rolled down. Didn’t know if it was stuck or frozen? Also, found it strange that there was no handle to open the side sliding door from the inside.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 14. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 11. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Truck was ideal for us and in great condition. Staff was friendly and helpful!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 05. Apr 2022
Good
Apart from needing to call for pick up from the airport the collection experience was smooth. The car was basic but perfect for our needs and allowed us to explore at our own pace. Drop off was easy and problem free.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 01. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
The process of getting the car was quick and simple. The car was exactly as described. Customer service was convenient and good. Returning the car was flexible and convenient.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 11. Apr 2022
Excellent
Although the car had about 250.000km and was quite scratched, dented and used, it accomplished our expectations. Enough space for the 4 of us and our luggage, fair consumption, 4x4 traction (maybe we missed tyres in a better condition as a lot of the pikes in the wheels were already gone).
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 08. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
I had a great experience with Camping Cars! The collection from the airport was efficient and I was welcomed to Iceland with a friendly smile :) Handing the keys over was quick and easy too. Travelling solo I was reassured to feel safe with all the information and website links that were provided.

I had a very special trip and hope to return sometime in the future. Thanks again!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 03. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Very good, sonia and Oli were most helpful and kind and did everything to ensure we had a great trip, many thanks to them and Go Campers. We would recommend them highly, Tim
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 28. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
My experience with MyCar and northbound rental company was excellent. From the moment we walked into the location, we were treated with utmost care. Car was brand new and exactly what we asked for. All the documentation was in order and we did not have any problems exploring the island. Customer service was great and the website was easy to book through. I will highly recommend Northbound and MyCar for car rental needs in island. Will return again. Thank you
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 03. Apr 2022
Excellent
La voiture était un peu vielle mais roulait correctement. C'était largement suffisant pour moi.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 04. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Car was perfect. It made our vacation that much better knowing we had reliable transportation. Thank You
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 04. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
The car was new. The pick up and drop off were easy and fast.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 31. Mar 2022
Excellent
Using Lava was fine pick up and drop off from the terminal worked well.

The Duster was OK but well used and gave no issues.

This rental was cheaper than most and perfectly acceptable.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 08. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
I Love the car. Was everything perfect.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 31. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent deal! Everything work as promissed
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 30. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Renting from go car rental was amazing, fast and easy, same goes for returning. No hidden fees, everything included. We would definitely rent again from them
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 31. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Great service
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 28. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 31. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Fantastic experience. Obtaining vehicle was simple, clear instructions provided, good prices, fair policies, easy access to and from airport. Would easily recommend.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 29. Mar 2022
It's a nice car, however with technical problems: 4x4 didn't work quite well, the fuel cap stayed closed, the automatic drive was sometimes disturbed.

The experience with Go Island general was good. The people were frendly en correct. But I don't understand why de deposit is so high!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 25. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect car for touring on Iceland. Simple, sturdy, did the job.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 28. Mar 2022
Good
Our experience was globally OK.
Good point in the opening hours (24/7) and the vehicle was very clean and everything.
Sad point is we had a car with a red engine light when we started, so we immediately got back. They said it was OK. The maintenance light was also ON.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 29. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Very good service
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 29. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Highly recommend. Very helpful team and easy process. Picked up and delivered. The car was excellent for our experience.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 28. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent service and received a new car upgrade!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 25. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
We had a great experience! Communication with the team was very easy, they were waiting for us at the airport to take us to the rental site which is about 5 minutes away. The car was as described, in a very good condition and prices were the best we could find.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 27. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
I was very nervous about renting a 2011 vehicle, but the Suzuki Grand Vitara performed wonderfully for us! We were very happy with our trip and how this vehicle handled on the gravel roads and in the relatively high winds we experienced on a few of our days. I would rent this car again and would rent from Icerental 4x4 again.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 23. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Rezerwacja samochodu była łatwa, odbiór oraz zwrot przebiegał sprawnie . Obsługa bardzo miła i pomocna. Profesjonalne podejście do klienta. Samochód Dacia Duster czysty i świetnie sprawdza się na Islandzkich drogach. Polecam.

Car booking was easy, pickup and return were smooth. Staff very nice and helpful. Professional approach to the client. The car Dacia Duster is clean and performs great on icelandic roads. I recommend.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 29. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Everything is so wonderful,simple and easy,
Thank you so much for the assist,definitely will come back again !
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 27. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
I had a fantastic trip at Iceland with my Jimny.
Brought me everywhere I wanted. Very reliable and made me feel comfortable driving.
I had to contact Go Car Team for something and they had a quick and good response.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 29. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Good platform with lots of choice/prices and perfect customer service
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 28. Mar 2022
Excellent
Everything was perfect except one thing thatwe were waiting at the airport for one hour to take us to the car.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 31. Mar 2022
Good
Everything went quite smoothly, the car was in good general condition (apart from some little aesthetic scratches), the only bad side was that the guys at the rental company kinda forced us to take the super insurance since we didn't have a credit card, which is truly non-sensical since everybody accepts debit cards for the same process, they just do so in order to squeeze a bit more out of you.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 27. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Loved it. Four people each with a backpack and a carryon fit well for the week. We were also surprised by the better than expected fuel economy spending only 2/3 what we had budgeted. Good car - good company.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 22. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Lava Car Rental is a good car rental company. The pickup to/from the airport was excellent.

The car however Dacia was old and was very bulky around the Icelandic roads. Maybe it was the car itself or the roads which are very potholed in some places because of the weather. You need a 4x4 car in Iceland in Winter because of the icy roads.

However the car did what we needed for the time we were there.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 24. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Lotus Car Rental was recommended to us by a friend and it was absolutely a great choice to partner with them when renting a car in Iceland.

The Lotus team provided seamless service, a Wi-Fi device, coupons for gasoline and coffee/food discounts, and plenty of resources for safe travel. We will absolutely book through Lotus next time we're in Iceland!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 23. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Nice people, very good car, reliable service
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 21. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Great experience overall! The car was suited for icy roads and cold nights (middle of March)! It was fully equipped with everything for making and eating food! I would recommend it to everyone who wants a nature trip around Iceland!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 24. Mar 2022
Everything was fine until very strong winds ripped the door from both of my friend’s hands and we were charged $5,000 USD FOR SOMETHING THAT WE HAD NO CONTROL OVER. We did everything that we were told to do and it still happened
. $5,000 for door damage is a COMPLETE SCAM, AS IS THE “INSURANCE” YOU CON PEOPLE INTO BUYING and you should be ashamed of yourselves.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 21. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Car was great, the guys were great and made sure we had a ride to and from the airport, the communication was great, website was clear and intuitive. No complaints. Thanks!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 18. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Very good and easy to work with
rented a vehicle in March 2022