Reviews for all companies

Very good experience and very professional service. Good clean car aswell

Ashley

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Amazing service, we have been delayed with everything due to the storm happen in iceland and Northern Lights has provided us with full support with no extra fee to make sure we got back to the airport safe.

Tsz Chung Raman

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Dealing with Northbound was fantastic, easy to deal with and very good communication. Fantastic service.
Nordic was also quite good to deal with and provided a quality service.

Stephanie

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

Fara is a young, enthusiastic and energetic team that provided a good user experience for our Iceland itinerary, and they were picked up in person whether we arrived in or left Iceland; the cars they provided were great, although the weather in Iceland was unpredictable , But the car provided us with a good safety guarantee. next time we will come to Iceland in summer and definately we will continually choose Fara.

Bowen

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

El proceso de recogida del carro y de entrega fue muy rápido y sencillo. Muy buen servicio, amables. Nos dieron toda la información necesaria para viajar.

Jorge

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Everything was great, would like the deposit of $1654 put back onto my credit card though.

Seth

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Very good customer service, everything was easy and clear. Car worked perfectly and drove like a dream. 10/10 would use agian

Daniel

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Annelise

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Great! Everything was made very easy.

Julian

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Hello Thor, hello guys,
First of all, Iceland and whole trip was amazing. But really f***ing amazing, it beauty of your country and kindness of your people blew me away.

About Suzuki, car is adequate for Iceland roads. It is well equipped, and it has amazing heating system. It is comfortable enough for 4 people. What I didn't like about it is that gas mileage is not great and it could use 6th gear. It's not a greatest SUV but it's ok, we clearly opted for cheaper solution and for what we payed it was quite good. One thing to watch out, guys please change batteries in key fobs, remote lock and unlock did not work in any of our cars.

All in all car was good but experience itself was amazing.

Best regards
Marko Karović


Marko

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Everything was fine with the vehicle. There is just one point we landed at the airport at 10am we went to the arrivals to find your transfer driver who was not there. We asked at the information desk and they said your man collects people every 30min we waited until 10:45 am and then the information desk phone your office and was told that you would pick us up in about 15 minutes your driver did not turn up until 11:30am saying we had not stated a pickup time on our order. Looking at the confirmation i received it has a pickup time of 11am. Other than the above every thing was great.

David

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Excellent service.
Very friendly people.
Iceland was beautiful and the vehicle provided made sure we got around hassle free.
Can not recommend enough!

Dabeer

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Great car, perfect for the heavy snowfall we had when we were there! It was also helpful to have a lift from/to the airport to the car rental office - made it hassle free.

Anya

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Francisco

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Hi there,
Our first Car from Icerental 4x4 was an old car and the heating stopped working when we were on the road, we had to stop in a little village, and call the rental service. In cause of this problem we had to change the car, after 2 hours they brought us a new car, but we lost half a day waiting for it (in our short journey).
After that inconvenience we had a good trip around Reykjavik.
When we brought back the second car to Rental Service the transaction was easy and fast.

Rowena

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

The car we hired from Icerental 4x4 had some serious problems with the headlights. The plastic was not clear and blocked a good amount of light coming out. In the 3rd day, after driving about 200 km at night and trying my best not to go off the road every time I had a car coming from the front, I contacted the company telling them the problem and asking for a replacement car. They asked me to go back to Keflavik and exchange the car, they did't have anybody to send to Reykjavik (or didn't want to do it). As it was already 10 PM, and I had to rest for the next morning's trip that started at 5:00 AM, I was forced to pass the offer and to keep the car. Although it was my decission, I felt like I was't helped as I should have. I paid in advance, with full insurence, so I expected they would come to me, not me to them on my own time and expense. Anyway, I would like to thank Northbound for the TOP service they provided, and Rúnar for his dedication...

Alexandru Cristian

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Very efficient service and friendly staff. The only criticism is that the sat nav I was given didn’t work and they had no replacement. However, they did refund me what it would have cost to hire one. All in all, very happy

Charmian

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Great customer service

Mayen

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

just fantastic, drove beautifully

Daren

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

My experience using Northbound was good, however we were quite disappointed with Fara who you associate with. We were disappointed in the status of our rental vehicle when we received it, with a huge dent in the passenger door which made closing the door a hassle and not having interior surfaces wiped down or windows cleaned. I get that it’s Iceland and we were willing to give it a pass until we returned the vehicle and were charged a dubious wind damage charge of ISK 150,000 for what appears to be slightly bent hinges on the back door. I am looking for a discount on either the overcharged wind damage or a discount on our rental agreement given the condition the car was in when we picked it up. I wanted to give a local company my business but feel we were not treated well, and I will be recommending people go with Hertz if they cannot help me out.

Kyle

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Mercedes Benz Vito Tourer
Supplier response:
Dear Kyle,

We are very sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with our service. As you experienced at the pick up we have a very strict inspection procedure. The vehicle condition form was marked to detail as well as recommending customers to take as many photos as you like to avoid misunderstanding at the drop-off. In addition to this, we took over 30 photos prior to your pick up as well as 6 CCTV live cameras in and outside of our premises. All of these are to be upfront and transparent to our customers at the beginning, to give our customers peace of mind.

If you recall at the pick up our agents also reminded you about wind damage in Iceland, a "How to drive in Iceland" was also provided to you. We appreciate the repair cost in Iceland is much higher than in other countries, especially Mercedes. Please be rest assured that our damage cost matrix is strictly following the average market price here. It has been reviewed and approved by numerous insurance companies in the world.

We thank you again for choosing Fara and your valuable feedback. If you wish to discuss your case further you are more than welcome to contact our Customer Service Manage at [email protected] Our team will continue to try our very best to be more fair and transparent to our customers.

We sincerely hope that all our customers will have a good time at Fara and Iceland.

Kind regards,

JQ

Fara Booking

Edvinas

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Abdo

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2018 Volkswagen Polo

The car was very good and came at good value for money. Only problem was, that Northern Lights tried to sell us an insurance on top that was more than half the rental price. Furthermore, 2,500 € were blocked from the credit card, which we didn't know before. So we had to transfer the money while we were in the agency. Apart from that, everything was great.

All the best,

Felix

Felix

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Overall the experience I had with Northbound was excellent. The car I hired was very nice. Everything worked. We also decided to get the WiFi dongle as an extra, as we thought it would be easier overall, rather than buying a sim, and then hot spotting to each device. We weren't disappointed there either. The internet worked everywhere and it was fast. I'd highly recommend anyone thinking to rent a car, to rent from Northbound/Thrifty. It was a very smooth experience. Thanks!

Morten

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2018 Volvo XC60

Quick pickup from the airport, with a good clean car

Ruben

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

All very straightforward and easy. Excellent communication prior to stay. Very friendly and helpful service.

Andrea

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Customer service was good. My advice to travelers is to check with your insurance company and think ahead about the level of coverage you want in Iceland.

The two vehicles we used were well maintained. We visited in the winter and I recommend you rent a vehicle studded tires during those months.

Johnny

John

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2018 Renault Trafic

Everything was great. No hidden fees, very good advice on what insurance plan to choose.

Ieva

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Nice friendly staff, patient enough to explain everything.
I accidentally booked an old car, didn’t see clearly in the website I could upgrade to a newer one, but the car seems fine.

Aisa

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Todo perfectamente, solamente que nadie nos recibió en el aeropuerto y fue un poco confuso llegar a la oficina pero todo muy bien

GRECIA GUADALUPE

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster