Reviews for all companies

Medium.

Goof things: the contact with northbound.is was the best part. The contact is really fast and very helpful.

Bad things about Northern lights car rental:
- When I booked with Northern Lights Car Rental, the company say that someone will are waiting for me in the airpot and we go directly to the office take the car. However, this didnt happen. We wait for 10min and no one showed, so I had to do an international call to discover what happen. After I found the employee, we had to wait for other flight (no one tell about this. We had an appointment and we arrived late because first no one from the company was waiting for us and after we needed to wait to other flight. We lost more than 30 min with this confusion).
- the car: was ok, but the left door wasn't good.
- problemas with the car: we have de CDW (damage insurance). According this insures, the car rental company is responsible for any accidents or damage that happens in the car...

helena from Brazil
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The car I received was pretty banged up, high mileage vehicle ~100,000km on clock. 4WD only activates during low speed driving, and the tyres were regular tyres for a January trip, no studs on. The lights consistently had to be adjusted, as the switch needed to be in "just the right position". However, it did get us everywhere we wanted to go as I drove mainly on Route 1.

Lava car rental however were good, professional and acknowledged all the faults on the car prior to giving me the keys, whether I could have asked for another.. I didn't try.

Sai Dak Andy from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Global satisfaction with their customer service.
Had some electronic issues with the car.

Patrick from France
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

The Suzuki SX4 is in good condition (of course there are some scratches because of old car) and fit 3 of our family and suitcase, we drive around Iceland with no problem. There are same options for car model, insurance, etc. for you to choose like other companies but the price seemed the best, so we did choose this model with Nordic Car Rental and everything went well.

Prateep from Thailand
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

To be honest, it was a bit unpleasant experience for us because of couple aspects regarding the car rental. First of all, there was nobody waiting for us in the airport and waited around 30 minutes for any potential show up but there was still nobody. Then called the place and received an answer as "She did not see you so left with other customers." So we waited for her to come back to airport for additional 20 minutes. Second of all, We were charged for the mandatory insurance which was not mentioned neither on the website nor the rental confirmation email. It was literally unethical charge which was not pleasant experience for us. In addition, the behaviour of the agent also was not welcoming and the way of his explanation of terms and conditions was like an automated voice so we rather felt as if we are speaking to a robot. We believe that this company should review its customer service quality...

Annika from Estonia
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

We were generally pretty happy with our rental. The car did great for us and got us through our trip as expected. The positives with your company were the price of the rental, friendliness of staff, and quickness of pickup/dropoff to airport

We did not give a 5-star rating for the following reasons:
-The extremely expensive deposit that is needed if you don't buy insurance is not communicated well on your site or during the booking process... that was a huge surprise to us and wish we would have known this before
-We did have some issues with the cars electrical and it forced us to not be able to lock our things that were in the car up at some points.. we had pretty expensive camera gear so this was added stress and did limit how far we were able to hike and travel on some days.

Damien from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Hello Sir,

Very good price, in general very good car condition, except milage 160k bit risky when we go around whole Iceland, so please provide such details in advance to people. You can differentiate even the price range for fresher cars.
Gasoline was 1/4th this is not acceptable and I never seen in Europe such things before. You always give full tank and receive full or charge people extra if it is not full.
Airport transfer, 1h delay because some of your team members didn't want to work that day, not acceptable, so please improve that. Otherwise I have very positive experience for that price.

Andrejs from Switzerland
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Très bon accueil, meilleur rapport qualité prix et très bon avis sur internet, prise en charge a l'aéroport c'est parfait, très bon véhicule, je recommande ce loueur. Grâce à eux nous avons passé de très bonnes vacances.

Sebastien from France
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

I traveled to Iceland and I rent a Suzuki Vitara Diesel. Very capable car with higher & larger tires than ones I saw on road. Very useful on Ice and snow. Consumption was also good 600km with one full tank.
Team very Helpful and friendly. I made a mistake in our reservation and it was solve very quickly.
Only issue was they supply to me an old RAV 4 at my arrival.
After my refusal they found solution to provide me my order, the morning the day after at Reykjavik.

Barillaro from Belgium
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

Great experience with Lava Car!
The guys were extremely professional. The Dacia Duster was the perfect car for my trip.
After my experience i can highly recommend Lava Car rental!

Michele from Austria
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The vehicle was great for the reasonable price they offered! Surely much better than the ones at the airport!

Sean Paul from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai Tucson

Our experience with Nordic Car Rental was very good. We got the exact car we rented and it was in perfect conditions. The people were really nice and the paperwork was fast. Our only critique would be that there was no bluetooth or another way to play music from the cellphones, which was a bit of a disappointment. In addition, the windshield was not working 100%. But apart from that, everything was ok.

Mercedes from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Angel from Mexico
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

I liked the dacia, but it was a little bit old and the wipers are broken and some parts of the car bodywork too, the engine was perfect.

maria francesca from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Duster

I rented a car for nearly a week, the transfer was great and there where no surprises with returning and picking up the car. I Will rent my car here again next time.

Jan from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Good service on time and delivered what was promised. Car was great and suited our needs.

Robin from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Hello Runar, my experience in Iceland was amazing. Your service was very good. I will recommend you’re company to other people. Thank you

Claudine from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2012 Nissan Note

We loved everything! Their service was very punctual, the car looked great (with a few dents but ok). Zero complaints! Highly recommend them

CARLOS RAFAEL from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Nissan X-Trail

No problems at all, very smooth rental process and a car that was in good shape.

Leif-Hagen from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Good experience; efficient pick-up from the airport and quick to get the vehicle on arrival at the office. The vehicle had some damage on it but was perfectly fine to drive; it was up to us to check the vehicle over and mark all damage on a form - it would be better for this to be documented in advance as it should already be known what damage exists. The driver could then check they agree with what is marked. The fuel policy was full to full but the tank was only 90% full; there was no chance we would be able to return it with exactly the same amount of fuel so we had to add more to avoid further charges. Customer service was excellent; left my wallet in the car but this had been found and was returned to me at the airport.

Daniel from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

Suzuki Jimny reviews were good but our car was older than expected. For our next road trip through Iceland we'll definitely go for a better car.
We sent the details of our flight, as requested during the reservation process, but no one was waiting for us at the airport so we had to call and wait for the pick up.

davide gabriele from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Satisfied with a service. Good car, gps, wi-fi included. Free transfer from airport to car and back. Recommend.

Tatjana from Latvia
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

Everything was first class ,from the pick up at the airport to the return home .The car was exactly as promised and there was no problem at all with it . I will recommend you to my friends . Thanks .

jerome from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Excellent experience!! We rented for the week between Christmas and New Years. Our car was great: powerful, clean and easy. Pick-up and Return were equally a breeze. I rented from Avis in Iceland for a similar trip in 2013-14 and the experience at Lotus was easier and faster... I had never heard of them before my trip but will recommend them to anyone!

Jason from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Awesome. Good price.

Bomyung from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

AWESOME!
Lava car rental staff is very nice & convenience to communicate. We arrived 30 minutes than flight schedule but they came on time. Returning the car also as easy as any other major rental companies.

donny from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We were very happy with the car rental. Professional service, well maintained vehicle shuttle service to and from the airport. The staff gave a nice overview of road conditions to watch for as well as the chance of high winds letting us know be aware when opening doors etc. We were upgraded from the Suzuki Jimny to a Honda CRV at no extra charge, which was a nice surprise. GPS and 1GB of free wifi in vehicle worked flawlessly. The only thing our vehicle didn’t have was an ice scraper (we mentioned it to the staff and they apologized, all vehicles normally have one) so it was obviously just a mistake. Being from Canada we just used the tried and tested credit card to scrape the window ... been done a 1000 times at home. Overall an excellent experience with Magic and when we return to Iceland we will definitely rent from Magic again.

Darren from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Perfect car for a 3 people journey, very confortable and easy to drive on every kind of road

Julia from France
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

It was easy to solve my issue with changing the person to pick up the car. My flight was canceled so I was not able to come on time to pick up the car. But it was easy to arrange everything

Nadiia from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

good experience, good car to drive on snow, i will do the same the next time i'll visite Island

philippe from France
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara