Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 10. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
My car were great picked us up from the airport and took us to collect the Toyota hilux. Very clean car did notice a puddle of water in the back of the vehicle which we were told was from it being clean but actually turned out to be a leak from a window seal or tailgate seal. Our camera luggage would get wet if it rained whilst out for the day. Apart from that we had no problems with the vehicle and returning the vehicle was dealt with quickly and promptly. Vehicle had not been accessed but would be once cleaned. 24hrs later not heard anything so would presume all was ok. Thanks again for a great service.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 10. Oct 2022
Excellent
Car was nearly new. Support was very good and replied very fast. Only the tire pressure of the car was not OK and needed to be adjusted by us. Moreover there was a box on the roof of the car that needed to be removed. Therefore we had to take a longer route through Reykjavik which wasn’t in our plan for that day.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 03. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Mycar was friendly and responsive.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 07. Oct 2022
Very Good
We did not make use of the camper as a camper due to the weather. Overall the setup would not have worked for us because of how the van was set up. I would like to write more about this but I don’t want to give wrong impressions.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 06. Oct 2022
Despite renting a relatively recent model, the car had more than 235k km, and it was not in great shape - some warnings kept appearing and disappearing on the dashboard, and I was worried the license plate would fall off whenever I would close the trunk. The staff was incompetent and had scammy behavior all around. Upon return they made me acknowledge some damage that was already there during the pick up process, but I could not prove that I wasn't responsible. They then tried to have me signed a document acknowledging that I was responsible for the damages of the rental of another car with a different license plate than the one I rented. Thankfully I took northbound's insurance and was able to be reimbursed for the alleged damages. Due to their all around scammy behavior and incompetence - plus the poor state of the car they rent you, I would strongly recommend anyone renting with them to have an insurance.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 13. Oct 2022
Good
The Dacia Duster was a great rental car and the price was also excellent but the customer service attitude from Lotus Car Rental was not an experience that made for an enjoyable trip. Despite the fact we that all was well in the end, they really put us on edge about any possible damage to the rental car and did not allow us adequate time to inspect the vehicle at pickup. The first car they gave us got a Service Engine light the second day so we had to switch it out for another vehicle. They handled the switch easily but we weren’t treated very kindly when we called about the problem initially. With so many options we will choose another rental company if we return in the future even if it’s more expensive.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 07. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
During our time in Iceland we did a fair amount of driving. The Nissan Qashqai, a vehicle not available in the US, was a very comfortable and efficient means of transportation. It served us very well.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 07. Oct 2022
Good
Positive points: The car was generally ok and clean. The night shift at the office was very nice and reactive. Well equipped in terms of kitchenware. Negative points: Some equipments were missing : - storage inside, -place to put our phone used as a gps. - no handle on the sliding door to open it from inside. The same sliding door was difficult to close from outside. - The back door was only one that could be open from the inside but was also hard to close since there was no grip on it. - No curtains available and the blanket was actually a 2mm plaid. - No isolation inside so the walls were very cold at night and we had condensation drop from the roof falling down on us. - The heater could not work all night since it seems like the battery was not powerful enough. - The cooler needed to be unplugged and plugged several time a day to keep cold.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 04. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent experience, very well priced, the Jimny ran smoothly and the 4x4 came in handy on some gravel hills. We drove around route 1 in 6 days. Heated seats were lovely after a cold hike. Highly recommend this company.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 11. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Car was great, service was great. Collection and drop off of car was quick and easy. Found the cheapest rate online using northnound.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 06. Oct 2022
Great
I upgraded to a Renault Trafic, as I wanted a larger camper. It was a very nice vehicle.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 12. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was just what we needed. It fit the four adults in our party and all the luggage very comfortably. It was reasonably priced and we were very pleased with it overall! Thank you Lava Rental!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 03. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
All went well, except: We were tight on time so I returned the car without a full tank so we wouldn't be late, assuming we'd just be charged market fuel rates (based on experience with other rental companies). But the attendant explained they don't have fuel onsite, and so that's a big problem for them. We worked it out (I took it away to refill and brought it back), but maybe Lotus can get fuel onsite & have the option to just charge for the refuel like others do? Condition: 3.5 is because the car had no hubcaps. Doesn't really bother me, but was a little surprising.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 04. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
the car was clean, fully tanked and all in all a good companion. Absolutely practical for four people with large suitcases. in terms of consumption it is also very good. the contact to the employees was friendly and competent. all in all five out of five stars
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 01. Oct 2022
Good
Hi - Camper was clean - Ok for a 2007 model - Upkeep was a bit weak. Brakes very soft. Transmission did not work very well and sometimes did not even go into gear. Had to restart engine. Play around with and hope for the best. Eventually it went into gear - forward or reverse gave troubles. A little bit of anxiety but it worked the hole week so that is good. The camper tent had one window screen closure that the zipper was trashed. That stunk. Had to jury rig it closed every night and wind and water was a problem that had to be managed. One soaked towel and some other things happened.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 06. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
GO Car Rental is outstanding!!! D.J. helped me with everything! He took the time to show me different maps for navigation and weather, he took the time to walk me threw the vehicle, explained in full detail what to expect with Icelands weather and driving, cool places to go to and more. When I returned the vehicle he greeted me with a smile, was extremely easy to work with. Go Car Rental was awesome...but DJ is what made the experience extraordinary!!! I have traveled to several different countries and never had such a wonderful rental agent to work with. I will forever be a customer of Go Car Rental because of DJ! Thank you, DJ, for everything... You made a wonderful adventure even more extraordinary! Thank you! Megan USA
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 05. Oct 2022
Good
Everything went well. We rented through Go Iceland. Car was a Kia Kona Hybrid. Nice since gas is super expensive. The pickup and return to the airport went well. Overall a good experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Fine
Not at all. Old vehicle with many problems, non enough alerted in your site. However I appreciated that Icerental refunded me one day of rental
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 04. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
It's an ok car for F roads, not so solid comfortable but ok. Economic car. The driver safe belt has some small issue which you need to pull it really slowly or sometimes need adjust the level because it gets stucked.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
A perfect car for our trip, Perfect handling when taken over and handed over.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 29. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Car was perfect for my iceland trip! No issues the whole rental experience was very smooth. Waited around 10 minutes for the shuttle to show up when I arrived at KEF but overall shuttle was very fast!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Communication was very quick, car was clean, and it was easy to make changes to our booking. I did originally book a car for F roads but the car we received wasn’t allowed on them, which ended up being fine since we didn’t end up going down any! We rented a car seat, which was clean and in good condition. I didn’t realize it was only forward facing when I booked it so we tried to switch it out but there weren’t any for her weight and rear facing available. Made us a little on edge driving with her forward facing for the first time but everything was fine and there was very little traffic where we explored! I’d definitely recommend Northbound and IceRental 4x4 to others traveling to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 10. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 06. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
When arrived booked Dacia was not available so we got a better and almost brand new car (Nissan Qashqai) for free. Perfect service, would recommend with no hesitation.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 01. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Good Car, with good comfort. 6 Gear-shift, don't need so much fuel (Diesel). 4x4 is essential for the Highlands!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 03. Oct 2022
Fantastic!
Wir sind sehr zufrieden mit Lava Car Rental. Das Auto ist super, es gab keine Problem. Dankeschön an Lava Car Team. LG Thai Girls aus Deutschland
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 06. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We hadn't used mycar before and wasn't sure what to expect. On arriving at the airport, we were collected straight away and didn't have to wait around. From leaving the airport to having our car and driving out of their parking lot only took about 30 mins, which was brilliant. The car was what we asked for and in good condition. We did have a puncture whilst using the car which we had to replace the tire as we hadn't got it covered by the insurance. That said the car had everything we needed to put the spare on until we could get it sorted. We also called Mycar Sunday morning to get advice which they were helpful with. Dropping the car off only took five minutes and we were then transferred back to the airport which took about 10 mins. Overall, we were really pleased with our experience and would use them again.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 04. Oct 2022
Fantastic!
The car mileage is a little bit high, about 170k, but the service is good. Very smooth and satisfied experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Excellent
It was a good car, but has been reached the end of his career. ;)
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 27. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was great
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 30. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Loved it, it was the perfect car, reliable and easy to use. The entire process from start to finish was easy and the people who work there are great.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 29. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very, very nice experience. Super clear website, easy to find info about vehicles, rental agency and insurance. Nice payment methods. We also had to modify the reservation a couple of times, including changing the car (because of ours mistakes). Everything was smooth and the customer service very fast and
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 08. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Renting from MyCar was great! Vehicle was exactly as described and worked perfectly for us. Thanks!!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 12. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We can not use enough positive superlatives to thank Go Campers and Northbound for rental use of this very economical , comfortable, flexible , and WONDERFUL way to see your absolutely stunning country . I stopped counting WOW waterfalls at 57 my birth year . We did the Ring Road ( and also Westfjords and Snaellfnese ( sp?? ) Penisula as shoulder to main tourism times tour . There were no huge crowds as we traveled . We absolutely had the most wonderful trip that rates up there higher than New Zealand , Greece or so many others . For those wondering if you should choose this company - a definite yes !! Here are pluses - very comfortable mattress and super warm sleeping bags , pillows , blankets . We are from Minnesota ( go Mn Vikings football! ) SKOL ! and we’re traveling from September to mid October. We slept well ! The kitchen organizer that feeds out the back as a pull out prep/ eat table and a few rainy days we could access from inside as it opens in bed side too . The Diesel got GREAT mileage and because we did not get hotels we 1. Saved tons of money so could stay longer and see more of Iceland ( you know the off the track small roads ) . Langflot ( sp? ) Valley ! Wonderful. ( worm lake story ) . We loved the deep storage areas on dash so items never slid and heaters in the seats ! When the weather was purple wind levels we went into Reykjavik early to protect vehicle and we were given a free day on our rental ! So appreciated! Anyways go with Go Campers!! We are so pleased we did ! I would give it a 6 star if I could !
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 01. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The experience with camping cars was great. Our shuttle driver Mario had very useful advice he shared about out trips plans and was also very helpful with getting us started in our rental car. The rooftop tent was very easy to use and so comfortable we didn't need to use our sleeping pads. I plan to use this company again next time I'm, in Iceland, it was very smooth from start to finish! The car fit our needs exactly and the wifi hotspot was very useful.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Your staff is very friendly and responsible. Great service, but Yaris is lack of power.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 09. Oct 2022
Excellent
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Nov 2022
Good
Hello Ívar, Thanks for inquiring about my trip. First, we LOVED Iceland. It was absolutely fantastic. We enjoyed the raw nature, Reykjavik, the people, the food, the moss, the baths and so much more. The temperature though... there could be some improvements ;) Joke aside, for the rental, I will copy below the email I sent back to Icerental4x4 after their request for comments. You'll find the details explaining why I gave this score. By the way, as you will see below, I did NOT get a Tucson. I you want to discuss more about this, feel free to write me back. Taak! --- Copy of email sent --- (skipping greetings) Now, about the rental… It’s unfortunately a mixed bag. The good things: • The check-out process was fairly quick and easy. • The car color was nice. A joyful red, far better that something plain like gray. • The driving assistance equipment was fine (collision warning, GPS). • The car was reliable with no serious issues (see below). The bad things: • I did not get the car I ordered. I specifically requested a 2019+ Hyundai Tucson Diesel. On arrival, I was told it was not available anymore, the car being broken according to the representative. I was provided with a Suzuki Vitara 2018 Gas. Although the gas and diesel price is about the same in Iceland, the millage done with a diesel tank is significantly greater. Therefore, I estimated that I paid close to twice the money I should have because of the gas powered Vitara. This is not especially fun. • The Vitara was a terrible car. The interior looked and was cheap. At least it was clean. With 240 000 km on the counter, the car was very tired. The suspension was awfully rough. The transmission was also very tired, having a hard time deciding when to change gear. When climbing a hill, it was constantly doing 2 to 3 back and forth between gears before finally going to the lower one. Not especially comfortable. The doors were simply terrible. They were so light they felt hollow. Also, the system to retain them open was evidently not working and we were obligated to hold them all the time when accessing our stuff on the back seats. • Considering we took the car at the end of September (the 21st), I think winter tires should already have been mounted on the car. We faced snow and ice on the road when we were in the northern part (Akureyri and Mývatn). The tires were somewhat worn-out, not to a dangerous level but close to the level I change them in Canada. For the security of your customers, the car should have had its winter tires at mid-September. By the way, I saw other tourist cars from your competitors that were fitted with winter tires. • After about 2000 km, we received an oil change warning. I promptly checked the oil level and appearance to make sure. It was properly filled and the oil was not even black. Therefore, it was simply the reminder that was not reset properly. Unfortunately, I was stuck with this yellow warning like in the dashboard for the rest of our trip. • Three (3) times during the trip, I received an alert in the car about the radar system being deactivated temporarily. The first time was a bit scary as it appears like a major issue since the console indicator turns red. I finally understood it was not critical but, it remains not fun when you’re in remote areas in another country. • The roof tent maintenance left a lot to be desired. First, the pillows were so damp they were unusable. Furthermore, they did not look very clean. Then, the main mattress was also very humid (not damp though). I understand it’s very complicated for you since you keep the cars outside. Meanwhile, the roof tent would benefit from being opened upon check-in and left to dry for some time – or at least, minimally, the mattress. • The check-in process could be improved. Contrary to the check-out where customers usually have plenty of time, upon check-in, we are usually on tight schedules because of the planes strict departure times. Meanwhile, the process is not optimized for this and the staff processes requests based on the arrival order. Even though I planned some extra time, I still had to wait about 25 minutes for a 3 minutes check-in process. I suggest you reserve a specific line for check-ins. And since customers indicated you when they plan to return their car, it’s easy for you to plan and use the staff for check-outs when no check-ins are expected. Magnús, please take these comments constructively. I really enjoyed my trip. I just think the rental experience could have been a notch more pleasant.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
A great overall experience. Our travel companions had a slight change of plans requiring a different pick up location other than the Airport office. My Car took care of it without any problems. I would rate the experience a 5 overall except condition, our car had a broken tail light cover that should have been repaired before the car was delivered - in the grand scheme, no big deal, but not perfect either.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 04. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Todo muy bien. Atentos en todo momento para darte facilidades a la hora de encontrar al señor que te lleva a la empresa de alquiler de coches. En cuanto al coche, perfecto. Nuevo, y con todo lo necesario para tener un viaje tranquilo: navegador de abordo, usb, etc. Además nos facilitaron descuentos en las gasolineras.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 27. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Hi. We had an excellent time in Iceland. Loved the countryside. So happy we picked Northbound for our Duster rental. It was perfect and service was flawless. If we ever come back and I hope we do. I will be sure to use you guys. Thanks so much for such great service Eric
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 04. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
I am very pleased with the rental and service. perfect and fast and at a reasonable price. I appreciate the 2022 Hyundai Tucson Automatic car, especially the full insurance package. I recommend The Northbound and Lava Car Rental and best regards :). Pawel.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The Jeep Renegade became a trustworthy and reliable companion on our Iceland trip, I've always felt safe and comfortable throughout the entire journey and the service from Lotus was flawless, if I really had to point out something was that we had to wait a bit for the pick up at the airport, but I called the company and they answered me right away reassuring me staff was on their way to pick us up.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The van had everything we needed! Was very nice to have a water jug, table, cooking supplies, bedding etc. We could tell a lot of thought was put into the van renovation and were very grateful during our adventure :) We did experience a flat tire which made us alter our plans and almost missed a whole day of the trip, but we managed. Would recommend checking tire tread on vehicles that are regularly doing the ring road. Petr the airport shuttle driver is so friendly and exceptionally knowledgeable about Iceland. He gave amazing recommendations. We very much enjoyed talking with him both when arriving & departing.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Good
This company has many good cars to rent, however, if I had to do it again I would rent at the airport. They only come ever 30 minutes and they are easy to miss. I did not find them helpful in explaining how the car works and even helping with my luggage into their van. I found it to be a hassle. The GPS on the car was very bad.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The Toyota Highlander was great and we had great service !from the staff at Lotus
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent service through each stage. We were met at the airport at the arranged time to be taken to the car. When we dropped the car back the driver arrived at the arranged time to run us to the airport. Most importantly we were very happy with the quality of the toyota that we had rented.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 05. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Always a little hesitant when renting in a foreign country but the vehicle was very clean, staff very knowledgeable, instructions straight forward and we had a blast. Would defiantly rent from you guys again. Thanks for everything.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
Hi, we liked everything a lot! The only thing that would be great is to either tell people where they can buy normal water or to provide a large can in the Car:) it was quite difficult to find bottled water Thank you for the organization we all loved the car and the trip, Magdalena
rented a vehicle in September 2022