Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 18. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Very good and easy to work with
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 21. Mar 2022
Excellent
We did not actually get the Toyota Corolla. It did not fit our 5 bags and 5 people as advertised. However, MyCar upgraded us to a Toyota ProAce city. This car fit us well and was very good. The only suggestion I would make for this car is that any car rented in Iceland in March should have studded tires for driving in the snow. Overall MyCar was very easy to work with.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 25. Mar 2022
Excellent
Great vehicle for the terrain and weather. No problems with driving in March despite snow, ice, rain, and wind! Service was good and was convenient to access from the airport.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 20. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
I'd highly recommend Lava Car Rental. The vehicle was as planned and very clean. The staff was extremely friendly as well.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 20. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
We are very satisfied. The service was excellent, the car in perfect conditions. Thank to the team! Will definitely come back.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 19. Mar 2022
Good
Une découverte pour nous de voyager en van et une expérience super . Tout était bien . Le seule point négatif c'est que nous avions pas pris l'assurance gravillon sur le van nous avons croisé un camion sur la route 1 qui nous as projeté un cailloux sur le pare brise = fissure facturation du pare brise qui fait mal !! Sinon dans l'ensemble super . La personne que j'ai eu par mail tout le long de mon voyage de chez Northbound super répond tout le temps et attentive à nos questions même avec la barrière de la langue rien a redire .
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 17. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
I was upgraded to a 3008 Peugeot. The car was wonderful, was in a clean and good condition, and the staff at the rental agency were extremely helpful, kind, and reachable. At the vehicle return, Renata was extremely helpful and informative, and made renting a vehicle a very positive experience. The Super CDW package is highly recommended, as Iceland has unpredictable weather and road conditions, and I was spared a £3,300 bill because of it.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 18. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Our experience with Lotus Car rental was amazing!!! Highly recommend - 10/10.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 20. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Smooth experience with Lava, booked via Northbound. We were easily able to amend our booking via email when we wanted to upgrade our insurance and add wifi. We were collected at the airport and after a short wait driven to the rental location. Car was fine and we liked having the option to hire a slightly older car to save money. Drop off was OK too, albeit the staff on duty at that time barely even spoke to us except to mutter we could go and we had to ask about getting a lift back to the airport.

Overall we would recommend both Lava and booking via Northbound.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 14. Mar 2022
Good
Super car. Perfect for snowy roads.
Nice pick -up at the AirPort.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 07. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was Fine👍
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 25. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 19. Mar 2022
Fine
Sadly the rental car was not in the best condition. The rooftent was very hard to open and close and one of the engine warning lights was on when we got the car. Also one of the supporting pistons inside the tent was fixed with duck tape. It broke completely during our journey. The service support we got through cheap however was amazingly fast, direct and uncomplicated. All in all the trip was filled with challenges we luckily overcame. Service was great, but it wouldn't be needed if the car was better. In my opinion some tools like a jumper cable should also be in all cars during winter.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 13. Mar 2022
Excellent
Hi, the Suzuki Vitara went very well. However just in terms of the brakes, they need to be reviewed as they don't work very well and when there is snow in the road that makes it dangerous. A part from that, the car works OK.
Best regards,
Laura
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 08. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 08. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Easy service to use, personal service, professional staff. I would use these guys again above others, they made it so easy and affordable to hire a car.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 17. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
The car was not the best one, but survived the whole trip. As a result: returning the car did not give much hassle, even though they could if they wanted.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 14. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
We really loved the car we rentes, we wished we could take it home with us!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 15. Mar 2022
Fine
The car had some issues, only noticed later on when i was already far to go back to change the car.
The reverse gear was jumping off, some gearbox problems were making almost impossible to reverse the car in a slow speed.

The back wipers was so bad that was not cleaning, just making the glass more blurry.

Tire pressure warning on the second day. Solved after putting air and reseting the system by myself.

The reverse camera was not showing a proper image, even after trying to clean it, clearly a camera problem.

The 3rd gear was scretchy, also a gearbox problem.

The car was all beaten up when delivered, clearly the worst look dacia on the road, compared to same car from other rentals.

All in all i was expecting a better car analisys and test before delivering it to the client.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 07. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
I liked it very much. It was smooth on the road and felt safe driving it.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 09. Mar 2022
Excellent
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 08. Mar 2022
Good
Everything went smooth.. Getting to the pick-up spot by shuttle was easy, getting back to the airport on departure: same..

@ the pickup spot people were friendly but a little too persistent to my taste to sell us the insurrance
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 05. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
All communication with MyCar was excellent from start to finish. They picked us up from the airport, no bother. And the car was in great condition and perfect for the tricky Icelandic Roads.

I would absolutely use them again and would highly recommend them to other travellers.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 07. Mar 2022
Hi, the car was very old, with a lot of kilometres and more than 26 damages on the car and windshield. We had some warnings who have been turned on many times, which has scared us. We have been forced to purchase extremely expensive insurance.
I'm very disappointed regarding our experience.
We have wait for 1 hour to have the shuttle to go to the airport.
We are not happy at all regarding our renting, it's unacceptable to paid 700 euros for a week for this kind of car and customer experience !
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 09. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Everything worked very well. The car was instantly available, no problems with the shuttle service, very nice shuttle driver. The car was clean and the tires seemed to be completely new. All in all an excellent experience!
I can recommend northbound to the best of my knowledge and to some extent!

Alles hat super geklappt! Das Auto stand sofort zur Verfügung, das Shuttle vom Flughafen zum Autovermieter war pünktlich, der Fahrer super nett :)
Das Auto selbst (unser Mietwagen, der Hillux) war komplett sauber, in top Zustand. Wir hatten den Eindruck, dass die Reifen komplett neu waren. Im Winter durchaus positiv 😅
Wir können Northbound mit bestem Wissen und gewissen empfehlen, war eine super Erfahrung!
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 04. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
The car performed well considering the harsh environment of Iceland. Only means that they maintained the car well.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 04. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Very happy with the car and the service from Lotus Car Rental.

Pick, drop off quick and easy and shuttle service to and from the airport was great. Customer service was good, with staff providing good instruction and safety advice for driving in Icelands changeable conditions. Thank you Lotus, and thank you Northbound.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 09. Mar 2022
We waited at the airport about two hours for pickup because voucher doesn’t show which rental company we have, anyone doesn’t pickup phone (rental noted in voucher and also northbound). Then we got car with broken doors on the passenger side, it doesn’t open properly sometimes doesn’t open at all. Even if was close, car was beeping and signals on the dash showed open door. If we opened window, it doesn’t close. In the end free gps was useless.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 16. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was good with the car and the service.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 16. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Northbound was a terrific company to use for your car rental. They made everything easy, the car was waiting for us when we arrived and it was easy to drive. The return was even easier. I wish the States could be as efficient with car rentals. Well done Northbound!
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 08. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Instead of the Hyundai Tucson we got a Mitsubishi Outlander. A very nice car that took us from Reykjavik to the north where we stayed for a week.
Winter conditions didn’t seem to bother the car. We felt safe and in control while we, of course, also used the safetravel app.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 07. Mar 2022
Fine
This car was very nice with the 4x4.
Unfortunately the navigation system wasn't working.
In addition to this the car wasn't in good conditions. Many dents, leaking wheels and one part of the headlight was defective.

Best regards
Chris Richter
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 06. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Renting with Northern Lights was a really good experience. The rental was quick but also not rushed and return was easy - they didn't check every possible thing just to see what's broken, it was literally a few minutes total. Everyone at the office was super nice :) We had gravel insurance and of course gravel hit our front window - they didn't have any problem with that. I was thinking maybe they would inquire more how it happened and investigate if we were doing everything according to the rules, but nothing like that. Also they have simply good prices. One thing surprising for me was no snow brush during winter and it was snowing a lot! Not sure if that's standard practice but something to have in mind. Still, would rent from that place again.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 28. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Great car .
The service from MyCar was just excellent.
Easy communication. Great service
Car pre booked before arrival to Iceland .
When we arrived the weather was bad and they happily amended my booking to collect later in our stay..
The office we selected to collect car from near the centre wasn't open at the weekend but the team still made an effort to be around at a pre arranged time to allow us to collect.
Just great customer service..
Would highly recommend
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 05. Mar 2022
Excellent
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 01. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
The car was perfect for our different trip in Iceland and the price was interesting and when we recovered and returned the car the reception was very pleasant !! 😀
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 01. Mar 2022
Excellent
I amended my booking before traveling to include the recommended gravel cover and this was done efficiently. Collection at the airport required a phone call rather than them waiting. Our flight was delayed by an hour so this was ok. However, when we got to the Go Iceland/Ace Car office there was only one guy processing the rentals and there were 4 people ahead of us. Each rental paperwy took nearly 20 minutes and therefore we were delayed again for an hour. Weather conditions were terrible and had the delays been less we would have started our drive in daylight. The car itself was excellent and over the week we covered 1500+km in what can only be described as very challenging conditions. The drop off and transfer back to the airport was good and the car checks done very quickly. Overall a good experience.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 23. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
We were more then pleased and satisfied with the helpfulness of the staff. They were friendly and nice.

Next time I'm on Iceland, I will look to rent a car from you again.

The car was basically brand new so we had no issues with it. It got us to where we wanted, and it had good fuel economy.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 27. Feb 2022
Good
I suggest you make it (more? perhaps I've overlooked it...) clear that your rental office is not at but nearby the airport. And a permanent large company sign at the airport where customers would be picked up would be very helpful.
In our case, coming a bit late through the customs, it took quite a bit over-the-phone coordination to make it clear where we can catch the shuttle to the car pick-up location, not really helping for the best first impression about the company. But after the initial hick-ups with the pick-up at the airport everything else went nice and smooth. Quick paperwork, clear explanation of additional insurance options, fast handover of the car, and also on the return just a quick check of the car and a swift shuttle transfer to the airport.
The car proved a perfect cost-benefit trade off and was in good condition for its age and mileage. And given the harsh winter road conditions 4WD proved essential in more than one occasion.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 27. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
It was right decision that i took a Dacia car..4x4.It is like a tank in war...IPerfect car for your's roads in this time.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 28. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
The car was amazing. I never once felt in danger while driving it regardless of whatever conditions Iceland tried to throw at us. The Duster also gets 65mpg which is totally unheard of in America so I have nothing but great reviews.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 28. Feb 2022
The car had many problems! Lights on the dashboard came on and stayed on, the doors wouldn’t lock, and it switched out of 4 wheel drive and the 2WD light appeared on the dashboard which made driving VERY difficult. Basically, it was the worst rental car I have ever had. Also, the windshield fluid never worked. I believe I should get a refund!!!
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 23. Feb 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 26. Feb 2022
Good
I rented the 4x4 as it was February in Iceland. The wipers were terrible and it was blowing snow/snowing everyday there. Then after 4 days a belt started squealing regularly. Pickup/drop off shuttle at the airport was not too long.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 22. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was great, the car worked well. The only remark that I have is customer support. Yesterday on Monday I called the car rental a couple of times during working hours and nobody picked up.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 23. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect experience with Lava car rental, really good car, efficient staff
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 20. Feb 2022
It was ok but we were left waiting at the airport for over an hour when we arrived with a baby. We had to call to get them to come and collect us, despite them having our flight details. I wouldn’t use them again.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 23. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Very quick to collect us from airport, car was ready to go with no fuss as experienced with other rental companies. Guys were helpful and made the process so easy. I would highly recommend them.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 19. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
The car was perfect for driving around Iceland in the winter conditions.
The shuttle service was great and the price was good value.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 20. Feb 2022
Hello,
When we arrived, our plane was 1 hour late. Not seeing the "My Car" agent arrived, I called him after half an hour. He arrived 25 minutes later. He believed that our flight had been canceled!!!.. Luckily I called him because we wouldn't have had a car. For the departure. We have a reserved shuttle at 4 a.m. Given the weather conditions and the closed roads, we left home earlier. We arrived at 11:30 p.m. in front of the hotel, thinking that given the particular conditions, the agent could take us to the airport earlier. He replied that we had to either take a taxi or wait in the car. because the hotel is closed... It is 1:12 a.m. and my partner, I and our children are in front of the hotel, in the car waiting, in the cold.
So no, this experience is not at all conclusive!!!
rented a vehicle in February 2022