Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

アイスランドのレンタカーのベスト価格

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 19. Sep 2021
Excellent
It was very nice. A easy way to travel around iceland and experience the landscape. What we missed was a oppertunity to cook food. They gave us stuff to do that but the guy who showed us how the gas works forgot to put off the gas so the gas was empty when we wanted to cook food. But thats the only thing to complain about. Otherwise everything was good.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 18. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Very good car hiring experience for our holiday. Staff were friendly and helpful, will definately use again when we next come over
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Wild campers is a rip off car rental agency! I would never ever rent a car in this agency again. In their voucher it was stated that the payment can be done either with credit card or debit card and that the cash is also accepted. When I came to pick up a car they said that I can pay with debit card, but I need a credit card as insurance any way. There were two other costumers at the office at that time with the same problem. Their response was, that possesion of a credit card is stated in their policy which is correct, but the fact that they specificaly write the (bolded) statement that the payment can be done with debit card is extremely missleading. Well, because I wasn t able to rent a car without credit card, they "force" me to buy some useless platinuim insurance which cost 50€ per day. So the car didn t cost me 540€, it cost me 800€. Other costumers had similar bad experience.
The staff is rude and useless. They don t pick up their phones and don t answer their e mails.
Their sleeping kit which cost 40€ per person is a disaster and a complete rip off. It is not consisted out off normal blanket with cover but a very thin cheap (it was free version from qatar airlines) blanket without cover. If we wouldn t have overnight heater we wouldn t be able to spleep in a camper.
The car by it self wasn t so bad, except the roof whick was leaking water during rain.
I advise you, to stop cooperating with wild campers or force them to changer their policy or at least check your supliers before cooperating with them. It was a very bad experience for us and companies like that gives a bitter taste to otherwise beautiful country.

Regards
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Good
Good car bur office hours in Reykyavik very limited
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
The car itself was amazing, practically brand new with all the bells and whistles. Cruise control, speed limiter, 4x4 capability, dual climate control, heaps of space and the you can connect your phone maps/gps straight to the car console and operate google maps from your phone. Guidance was spot on everytime and we never got lost once. Car ride is super comfortable. Team from MyCar picked us up from the airport arrivals area and took us to the depot and we were driving away no hassles within fifteen minutes. Cant recommend the team and car high enough.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 19. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Vera much
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 19. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Great car! Great service! Free shuttle to and from airport. I highly recommend.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 16. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Loved it! It was well-maintained, utilitarian but smooth. Got us from point A to B with no problems.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 12. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
The car was exactly what we needed and it worked really wel for us, we are definitely going to come back to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 17. Sep 2021
Very bad experience. We had to wait an additional day for the camper, they obliged us to be at 5 am the day after to get the camper (they didn't accept to keep it for us until midday) and the camper didn't have a heater system, as it was booked.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
Excellent
Old car with 195000 km, but in good technical condition
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 21. Sep 2021
Excellent
Overall happy but a couple of warning lights came on during my rental. Car seemed to be due for a thorough service.
Blue were good to deal with.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Rental was easy on line, great pricing. Pick up at airport worked well, short distance to get to car. Staff were very efficient, felt they valued our time. Very helpful. I would highly recommend. And use them again.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Thanks, Northbound team for coordinating the car reservation. I ended up even with a slightly larger car (Mazda CX-5).

Anna from the Nourhtnound team has been very supportive and even working with me on my early return of the car and processing the refund from Thrifty.

Cheers and keep up the good work there!
FN
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
The car was amazing and met our expectations.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
The car was a perfect fit for our adventures around Iceland. The 4wd was important on some roads and the car handled beautifully.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Excellent
We had a Honda CRV, and it worked just fine. The dash info center was confusing, but we didn’t use, nor need it since you provided WiFi for our phones. The WiFi did lose battery after being plugged into the console, but once we moved it to the dash, it charged fine. Also, not charging us for bringing it back without a full gas tank was very kind. We had no trouble using our credit cards in Iceland except at the gas stations where you needed a PIN and we didn’t have one as we didn’t bring our bank or debit cards. Most places released the pumps for us to then go inside and pay, but the last stop did not.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Terrible customer service, and they try to get as much money out of me as possible. The van was fine, but for what I paid in the end, I could have rented another from another company. I was forced to pay the full insurance € 700 and a cleaning fee, since they said that I had smoked in the car, of € 300. I feel cheated, and so I will let it be known in all the places that I can publish it.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 12. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
We actually got an Automatic, but that was okay. The car was great and took us everywhere we wanted to go. We really liked the Android Auto integration and we were able to use Spotify and Waze through it. The space in the car was more than enough for 2 people with luggage. The only thing that we missed was cruise control.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 18. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
In general, our experience with Camping Cars company was great! The customer service and kindness of the staff is something that needs to be mentioned, they answered all of our questions clearly and gave us some really good advice :)
The car itself wasn't perfect from the visual point of view but of course, it was something we expected as it was Suzuki from 2014 but from the mechanical side everything was great - we managed to drove 4300 km without any serious problems. Only once we heard a strange noise coming from the rear left wheel while driving on F-roads but it wasn't anything that made any problems for us.
Also, Suzuki Grand Vitara is a perfect car for driving both on normal and F-roads comfortably having really big luggage space. The rooftop tent experience was the adventure of our lifetime :)

Great work both Camping Cars and Northbound - keep it up :)
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went smooth : fast pick-up and drop off from and to the airport. 24hrs breakdown service (we had to use it and got assistance immediately). No hidden costs. Car was in great condition, although the rooftop tent could use a check-up / update. Great value for money in general.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
The service was very good. I enjoyed the talk to the staff. Friendly, helpful and humorous. I did call one time because a lamp in the car strarted to light an did got help directly.
The car and the tent was exactly as described and I had a very good trip.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Car was fine.
Ecerental 4x4 did not show up in the airport until we called them after 40 minuttes waiting. Check in was fine.
At check out, they went immediately to the buttom of the car and said that maybe something was damaged - I don't know what?? We have not hit anything with the car and I am not sure what the outcome is???
This uncertainty is not a good feeling. What about our deposit??
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
This was THE way to see Iceland! Nice little van, easy to manage on crazy roads, city parking, and dodging sheep. Bed was surprisingly comfortable. Table in the back was somewhat helpful but would have been nice if it was split in 1/2 so that I didn't have to open both doors to get to anything under it. Lots of storage on the side. GREAT, SUPER GREAT price. Convenient transportation to/from airport.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 09. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Fantastic experience with MyCar. Car was super comfortable with incredible mileage. Really appreciated the included airport shuttle! Would definitely book with MyCar again.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
We booked a Renault Camper from 2008. We expected a somewhat worn down camper van but is functional as described in the advert. However, after a couple of day travelling it turned out it was a unaceptable car: we got a van with moldy curtains, moldy drivers cabine, the cooking gear was incomplete and the gas stove was not working properly, the heater did not work, the sliding doors were not working properly at any time, the sliding window (drivers side) was not working at all times, ...
When we noticed all these mayor and minor shortcomings, we were too far away to change the car and we offered to keep the car for the whole two week trip. We got 50 % discont in the end and mixed feeling if this was a good deal.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 21. Sep 2021
Good
I tried to rent a AB model but i make a mistake booking and the camper was an A model.
It’s not a bad car but it’s a little unconforttable to sleep inside.
Anyway the didn’t have any mechanical problem.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
It was a Very Nice vehicle Only Regrets was The USB Charger Did not work so we Could not Use the WIFI Device as it was not Charging.
We could not Charge our cellphones so it was Very Difficult to Navigate in a Strange Country. The Staff at Check in was Not Very Polite. Checkout person was Very Polite.
We were Charged for WIFI Device Which did Not Work ....
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Hello,

My experience with MyCar was flawless. The car was perfect, clean and responsive. Both guys at the desk were very clear on their explanations and helpfull.

Thanks
Riccardo
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Cheap Campervans was a professional and accommodating organization to work with. They promptly revised my order when I decided to add extra insurance, and the vehicle was as described, and fully supplied with the listed accessories.

They shuttled me to/from KEF airport free of charge, and were pleasant and gracious throughout the experience. Highly recommended!
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 08. Sep 2021
Good
The staff was very nice, especially the shuttle driver! The car was what we expected, and everything was fine!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
Not all rentals car company are made equal and this one is for sure on the worst side.
The airport pickup was done in a van on really bad condition, that’s the first bad impression of the company. On vehicle Pick up the receptionist were being rude to simple client’s questions and request and on the long wait on the queue I have seen at least 3 costumers leaving with a really bad impression.
At pickup simple things like need of gas for the system were not explained and does not sound correct to rent a motorhome without gas as it cannot function on many of its futures. Motorhomes should be always be rented with gas included, not as extra. Fuel tank was told to be 6/8 when it actually was empty on with reserve light on, and the feeling is that this is a tricky scam as the receptionist had no clue on the actual diesel tank status. Just want a number to complain and charge extra later on delivery or to keep some extra diesel if client didn’t manage to plan / use correct amount of fuel. Fuel policy should be pickup and delivery with fuel tank. Overall the feeling that we had was to go out of that shithole as quick as possible.
The function of the motorhome was explained by an employee with very poor English skills who could not communicate properly the futures. The car had bad smell, smoke smell, bad was broken, water pump was not working and overall it was very dirty. Then the car was replaced with other one which was functioning better but was still full of issues like ventilation system only working on maximum with high noise (4/4), passenger widow not opening, electric mirrors not working, stove cover and storage cabinets with loose closing vibrating a lot when driving, gas hose leaking. Maintenance and cleaning of the car is done very poorly.
I do not blame employees individually because on the time I’ve spent on your office it was clearly a working culture, it is responsibility of the management to ensure employees know what they are doing, are respectful with clients and have a minimum knowledge of how to deliver and communicate a service to client. Right now the company looks rotten where everyone does the minimum and the end result is terrible, it can be seen on all aspects from airport pickup, reception, car delivery, communication, car maintenance, and cleaning of both the office and the car.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 19. Apr 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 07. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
The car was great and exactly what we needed. It was very capable both around town and on rural roads. The team was very responsive, friendly, and helpful.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 09. Sep 2021
Excellent
Northbound was an incredible Value. The car was great and the value of the service was paralleled. The Northbound team was also very responsive. My only suggestion is to have the shuttle from the airport more frequently. I absolutely understand that this is a function of the number of customers, so I hope you grow as you deserve to.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Good
I did no see any Dacia Duster Manual. But i did not needed it also.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 18. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Overall good experience with both Northbound and Lotus Car Rental. The booking through Northbound was clear and smooth. The Dacia Duster was already a bit old and rubbish but I didn’t mind as I knew how Icelandic roads would treat it. It was comfortable, big enough for all our stuff and reliable. I took the platinum coverage because we never know what’s going to happen. The roof tent was a plus as we didn’t have the humidity from the ground, although it leaked a bit when it rained a lot.
I would definitely use northbound and Lotus again.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 10. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Having driven an automatic for the last year it was a really easy car to drive and get back in the swing of driving a manual car. It did us well on our 10 day trip and was such a lovely car to drive.

Cannot fault anything with the car or the service received.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
It was spacious and met our needs.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
A Car Rental was great! They made pick up and drop off at the airport very easy for us. Car was clean and in good condition. Highly recommend.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 18. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
We had a great experience booking our rental Dacia Duster with NorthBound. From the time of booking until we picked up the car, the team was super prompt in replying to all my queries and making few adjustments that we requested. Special thanks to Thordis for being a very good point of contact.

The car itself was decent, it did the job without any problem and considering it's a 2017 model we were not expecting a lot. The roof tent was very comfortable and spacious, highly recommend for budget travel as long as it doesn't rain. Mattress was also good and overall better than the ground tent.

We even managed to survive very well when it rained whole night and it was dry inside, however let me share a trick: when it rains you will be fine, but make sure when you wrap/close the tent try to roll the mattress and keep it in the car (middle seat) instead of inside the tent itself or else it will be wet due to the wet tent and not something you want for your next night.

Overall very good experience with NorthBound :)
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 10. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Great service, great car, just the right size & comfort you,ll need for a short trip !
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
Good
It was a good priced vehicle they only could put some more thought in the lay-out of it. The pots pans and plates that came with it were dirty and the 12v socket in the back of the car didn't work so we only had a cooler if we put it on the front seat while driving. So good priced but definetly not the best minicamper.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
This is the must drive vehicle if your plan is to go off the path for those hidden treasures of Iceland. Highly recommend!
Room for 4 with luggage and some space to spare!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 12. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Check in/out was fast and convenient, model was as promised at booking. Car was very clean and in excellent condition.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Good
Overall experience was good, we did not have a 2018 Hundai Tucson, we had a Honda not sure of the year that had a check engine light on and a definite shake in the transmition at 1500rpm. But it got us where we needed to go.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 16. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was excellent.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
Excellent
Good car, no problems driving around the island. Plenty of space, rooftent was great and the seat heating was a big plus after a cold night. The only downside was that because the car was fueled with diesel, something with the filter was not right and the cruise control didn't work almost the whole journey. But other than that, everything was great. Booking through northbound was very easy and pleasant. Would recommend!
rented a vehicle in August 2021