Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Very experience, the van was confortable, affordable and customer service very efficient.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Fine
Before arrival in Island I was asked to look at a shuttlebus schedule and tell wich departure i would like to be on. I told that i would like to be en the 16.20 departure.

When I arrived at the meeting point there was no sign of the driver. When I call the driver I was told that he would be i the airport shortly, but he had to take another family to the car rental facility before us and we had to wait for another 20 minutes.

This is really bad service and I don't understand why they have a timetable if they do not use it. It is a waste of my time to ask me to look at at timetable, if it is not in use. We had to hurry trough the airport to be at the meetingpoint on time and then being told to wait for 20 minutes.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 29. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We were very happy with the interface of the website, the responsetime of Affordable Campers and the general feeling if booking through Northbound.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Excellent
We were really sattisfied with your offer and service. After our flights have been changed by the airline you were very flexible to ajust our rental period. Pick up from the airport in the middle of the night was on time and a very helpful service. Getting the car we found everything as it was adverticed in the web page, car, tent sleepingbags. Information about additional insurance was clear and precise also in regard of the extra costs.
Dropping the car was also easy and convenient, which I concider as one of the most important points. The transport back to the airport with almost no delay.
We will recomend your company to our friends!
Thanks a lot,
Regards Veronica & Burkhard
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 02. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was very good, well suited for F Roads and the Roof tent was confortable.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 12. Aug 2020
Good
Good service, nice people and easily accessible for questions.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was new and comfortable for 4 persons, and ok to visit the interior of Iceland. The price was reasonable.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Good
Easy to pick up and drop-off (free shuttle bus from airport to rental office or 4 minute walk.
Car was very clean and in very good shape.
2200km without any troubles.
Friendly guys inbthe office, always with a smile :-)

Whats missing for a 5 star rating?
I got the ordered Subaru Forester for driving F-Roads, but tires where not A/T Tires, just normal tires (with good profile!). A/T tires would have been more save (and probably no flat)

rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 10. Aug 2020
Good
The Dacia did a good job though some signals were on since the pick-up at the rental company.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Hello my name is Patrick.
I rent the Vitara for 12 days but our holidays gone about 13 days. So I rent this car 1 day to short :-/
It wasn't a problem for star rental! They gave us the car for one day more without problems :)
The people are very friendly and helpful.
If I go a second time to Iceland, I would rent again at the "star rental" my car :-)
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 27. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
I like the car, which includes the Adaptive Cruise Control & Carplay which i didn't expect at all when booking. These are really good features for long hour driving and I am therefore rate it as 5. However, I was shocked about the time spent on checking while returning the car. I have rented car in many other countries and it's the first time it was checked in such a method. It seems like I was trying to hide some damages, which I don't think most of the customer will do. I felt insulted to be honest. I highly recommend that you shall pay more trust to customers to avoid such feeling. Any extra dents or scratches to the car will not affect your business anyway. You shall really focus on big damage that affect the function and require repairing.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
When we arrived at the airport we waited a bit before the guy from the company showed up, but disappeared very fast, so had no chance to go with him. Ended up calling and had to wait for him coming back, so all in all a wait of 1 hour.
The car we had was very damaged. We understood that it is normal with the roads in Iceland, but this seemed a lot more than other cars we met on the road and that our friends had leased at other companies, and this made us doubt the safety of it. Furthermore the window in the front right side did not work, USB port was destroyed, and generally the car was just old and in a bad shape.
Luckily I took photos of each damage and scratch, cause some damages were questioned when we came back, and I could document that there was no new scratches.
The personal was not very service minded - they were short in their replies, and made you feel a bit more like a problem than a customer.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was very good, the camper was clean and in perfect conditions.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Very good
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Excellent
It's ok. Dacia is a fairly simply car. Nothing of unexpected has gone!
The GPS was not available on the car and has been replaced with an Internet connection device: not so bad.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We had a very good time in iceland with the Dacia Dokker! It is a perfect way to explore iceland! Good to sleep in the car. It is also warm inside, we just used the heather a few minutes before we go the sleep. The Dacia drives good and it has a strong engine.
The service was perfect and friendly!
I can recomend everyone to rent a car by Star Car rental, It was also the cheapest one I could find!

rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Frankly speaking. We had a fantastic trip. The car was working but in fact i want to say that for 6.600 dk it was not god enough. Problems with the car crash protection that went out several times so that it was nessary to stop and close the car and start again. Windows not funtionion and no heating in the passengers seat. And i think that you have to make the insurance policy more transparent. But Island is a very god travelling country . but take care when you chose your car rental compagny
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was very smooth, from transfer to handling the payments, communication.
Best prices and brandnew cars.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 10. Aug 2020
Excellent
Everything was fine, as expected.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Excellent
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Excellent
They forgot to let us know that the shuttle bus was cancelled when we arrived at the airport. That meant we were waiting for a while in the rain at night. We called them and sorted it out and then walked 5 minutes to the office.
Everything from then on was perfect. Nice people, excellent service and great car. Highly recommend.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 02. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was fine. You cannot find the Lotus car rental in the airport terminal, but it is only about 5 minutes walk, not so difficult to find. It was easy to get and return the car. The car is quite new, it is a small car but enough for us to travel around Iceland. Everything went well. According to my experience, Lotus car rental is reliable.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 18. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
PERFECT!
We had to adjust and it was done easily.
The model of the car was upper than expected
The extra driver has been offertes
Some advices shared concerning our trip and tips concerning location around golden circle.
I often used carrental company and the service level is excellent!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 10. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Very friendly and helpful staff. No problems with the car. Definitely recommend Northbound.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Good, flexible and quick service.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 29. Jul 2020
Excellent
simple car in good condition. the inside completely matches the description on the web site. everything basic you need during the travel is there and in a good shape (not old, not broken). extras are also of good quality. everything working very well.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Aug 2020
Fine
Very comfortable car but very old with some problems dire tly impacting the safety of passengers.
The roof case was also in really bad conditions.
This car is not a car to cross small rivers and we have had a big issue with the starter.
I am really disappointed about that. And the fact that the sales man didn’t inform us that the road 249 was forbiden.
The only good point is that this car is good for 6 people
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 22. Jul 2020
Good
The car was fine and we enjoyed a unforgettable week with it in Iceland :-)
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Aug 2020
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 05. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We had to wait a bit before we were picked up at the airport, but everything else went smooth. We got the car we booked (old, but working well), procedures to get the car and hand it back were fast and perfect service regarding drop-off: Icerental offered to drop me off at the doorstep of at a different location where I needed to be. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 26. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We had a very good experience with Fara and our Caddy Maxi life. We were 6 adults in a 7-seats car with enough space for our 7 big bags. The car is 4 wheel driven but is not a real 4x4 car ;-) We did a 13-days tour around Iceland with some some gravel roads, but not into the highlands ;-) We would not do the highlands with this car... The car was very clean. The service was super. We had 2 orange lights the second day and they checked the whole car again: there was no problem, just the reset of the controllights was not set properly... 13 days without any problem - it was summertime though :) We surely do recommend Fara !
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 25. Jul 2020
Excellent
Hi, our experience was fun and fine. The shuttle has taken us at the airport at time and driven us to our car. The car was clean and the the guy at Icerental 4x4 was kind. The lone small trouble was that the aeration of the rook tent was broken and obstructed so when a few water was going inside it was difficult to dry the mattress. When we dropped off the car the saff has been very kind because the shuttle has driven us at our B&B because our flight has been delayed.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 21. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We were very happy with the vehicle and the rental process. We will be back definitely!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 22. Jul 2020
Excellent
It was comfortable, had no issues on our roadtrip-- the car was well equipped and drove smoothly. Good experience overall
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
I can definitely recommend Northbound as a partner for tourism in Iceland. Prices here are great, contact is even better. Car itself was really good, no issues with that - everything was prepared as in itinerary.

Only one comment: that would help a lot if you can make a note somewhere that Rental Car in Iceland is Lava Auto Rental? :) that would make things easier for e.g. while being picked up at the airport :)
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 23. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
All was good, very great car in good condition. Price low compared with other company
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
The staff was very friendly and helpful, we got picked up at the airport on time and we even got dropped off after we returned the car. The car was brand new and spacious. Thank you for the smooth (co-)operation!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
The car was exellent choice, ecpecially in combination with roof tent. The personal at Icerental4x4 was kind and helpful. They have given us 2 sleeping bags for free. Regarding the weathear it was good choice for us to take them .... . The car was in good condition, clean and it offers us comfort sleeping, unfortunately just 4 times ... becouse of very cold, windy and rainy weather in the first week of our holiday, Thanks to 4x4 we could see and visit some most beautiful parts of Iceland.
The only downside is quite high price at least comparable to car rentals around the world.
I would definitely recomend the same combination at same company to every family with two children and just a little adventure spirit. Thank you.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Go to Iceland. But don’t rent your car here.

1) We didn’t get the car that we rented. We got a way smaller car.

2) The car that we got had to be opened with the key in each door.

3) We had to pay 312 € in insurance when we came to Iceland. This was a huge surprise as we we’re not informed about this anywhere. The guy from Nordic Car Rental Campers couldn’t not explain why we had to pay for this insurance. This insurance we apparently had to pay even though we paid a deposit on 2730 €.

4) The gas can to the stove ran out of gas after one meal and two cups of coffee. We asked the guy at Nordic Car if we should buy an extra from Nordic Car so we wouldn’t run out of gas. However the guy insured us that there would be enough gas.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 26. Jul 2020
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Good
Mixed feelings! Pick-up at the airport was great and friendly, but the pick-up at the rental counter was without a word and the car had 2 30 cm long (known) cracks in the windshield, which despite having stickers on grew further during our rental. We had also requested a non-diesel car but got a diesel car and no notice of this before or at pick-up. Drop-off was hassle-free and friendly.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 27. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We booked Toyota Rav4 with Lava Car Rental via Northbound, as they seemed to have the best prices and pretty good automatic transmission car selection. The contact with Northbound prior to pick up was very good. They promptly processed our requests for changes in renal package. We dropped wifi and gps in the end (we decided to go with Tirewire as their offer has unlimited data and is cheaper). The rental was for 16 days in July 2020, we ended up with Kia Sportage instead of Toyota in the end. The car perfomed very well. We were very happy with both Northbound and their partner Lava Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 21. Jul 2020
Good
The Dacia dokker was very comfortable and easy to drive . Maybe it misses some horse power on certain road . There is also a little problem with the condentation at the morning but nothing very serious .
Thank you for the car and have a wonderfull life if we dont meet us again .
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 21. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
The car worked like a charm.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Good
We enjoyed using the services of Fara. The customer service, including pick-up and drop-off at he airport were very good. The car was not new, but price-quality ratio was OK. It was big enough for our family of five and no problem to store all luggage.
Next time, I will use their service again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
My experience was very good, somebody picked us up at the airport and we can leave the car directly at the airport by night. I liked it very much and I can recommand Northbound.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 23. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We are satisfied with reception, hold and bring us from the airport and the car himself.
When we wil come back to Iceland we come back to Lava Car Rental.. It was a good experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2020