Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Fine
Cuando dejé el vehículo se me obligó a pagar una sanción de 35.000 ISK por fumar dentro del vehículo. En ningún momento lo hice, nada más un par de cigarros con la puerta abierta mientras tomaba un café. El precio de la sanción, justa o no, me parece desproporcionado, teniendo en cuenta además que entregué el coche en perfectas condiciones y lo cuidé como si fuera mío. Absolutamente desproporcionado. Fue imposible conseguir una rebaja en la sanción.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very convinient
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Absolutly perfect ! The description is very clear and the equipment is complete and effective. The car is perfect for 2 persons : we spend 8 nights in the car and except the fresh temperature is was very confortable. The check in and check out were very simple and clear with sympathique staff. We recommend this compagny at 100%.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Excellent
What a surprise “do you have a personal insurance?” The cost rise from more than 700 to more than 1000. I never see that in other countries. Please made a “all inclusive mode”
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 05. Oct 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was a great car! Thank you!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
This was a really cool way to get around Iceland and we had a great time. Everything we needed was included in the campervan and we didn't even need the heating at night we were toasties. Recommend wholeheartedly. Thanks Lava.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Good
The car worked, but was lackluster. The electrical seemed strange, the passenger door was drafty, there were cigarette burns in the tent and they did not seem to document the damage well as they tried to pin a dent on me, luckily I had video to show that it was already there when I picked it up.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 04. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Thanks for a great experience in Iceland with the Dacia Duster rented via northbound. We got a good car - a few years older made it cheaper for us, but it worked perfectly. The Dacia Duster was the perfect car to explore the highlands with several of easy and medium river crossings and also slept over in the car (as we both are only 1,75m long). Pick-up and drop-off (including the transfer to the rental company) were really easy. We would definitely choose northbound again. Thanks!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was great and car company was very friendly and responded to all of our questions. Car as well was in order and the experience was great. In addition, the rental was cheaper than many of the other companies we researched. Great experience, would recommend this company to anybody.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 20. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Super road trip realized in the magnificent country that is Iceland. Excellent welcome from the agency at my arrival at the airport and very professional handling of the vehicle. All that is indicated at the time of the reservation is carried out. For the amateurs of road trip and camping, you can choose this option without hesitating. I will make the same choice during my next stay in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Excellent
The car itself was nice, a bit confusing at first that you can’t use the mirror for the back but you get used to it.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The Northbound team were very helpful and easy to deal with. transfers to and from the airport were swift and comfortable. We were given an upgrade as our car had a fault. The car was in great condition and dealt with the "F" roads with ease. Highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Great
My only thoughts are that there are some cars that should be discontinued. This car struggled a lot with incline roads, the breaks are all rusty and they don't work super well, the wheel starts shaking like crazy for some minutes and after that it stabilize itself, the wiper washers don't clean much. This is a comment for the company who owns the car, I know that northbound it's only an intermediate
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Hi, everythink was perfekt! Shuttleservice, the car, the serviceteam und the return. I can recommend this Company 100% Best regard Harry
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
It was a good choice. Everything went well. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 27. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
In general the experience was perfect :) I was very happy with the customer service. Mycar was always available and the car was perfect. I just have 2 points of improvement as the customer, we had to wait around 2 hours for Mycar to show at the airport so they can pick us up. I think the communication was a bit lost because we understood that the person that picks up the customers shows up every hour as they offer on the email, but it was not super clear that you need to schedule a pick up time at the airport, otherwise they will not show up. Also it would be nice if they explain a bit about how the parkings work on Iceland and that there is only one tunnel on Iceland that you should pay on a webpage. They only gave us the key and didn’t explain, so we had 2 extra charges from this. The rest of the communication was really good and I overall I’m really happy with the service. I would totally recommend it :)
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The staff was super kind, price was cheap, the car was in a good condition (except of a couple of damages on the outside), pick up and drop of were absolutely no problem and the care was cleaned right before the hand over 👍🏼 I would highly recommend Lava Car Rental!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 29. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was an excellent choice for us with 4 adults and luggage for a 2 week trip in Iceland. The Hybrid option saved us a lot of fuel. The vehicle performed well as we drove through the Westfjords and areas of North Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Hi Lotus team, We rented cars in 3 different countries with 3 different companies on this trip, i would like to say lotus is the best one. All staffs including shuttle bus drivers, receptions are very efficient and friendly. Hope to see Lotus in different countries in the future! **rated 5 star to google** 🤝
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Jeep Renegade got me through the city, highways, country roads no problem. Never had any issues and the hybrid model saved some gas money along the way!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Good
Rav4 ran very good. No problem at all. GPS was not very good. We traveled mostly to popular places but POI did not find the names of the locations. We gave up using it. We also rent a wifi, but this did not work at half of the travel. I understand it wouldn't catch the signals in some local areas. Frankly speaking I was disappointed that it did not work downtown Reykjavik. We got lost to the hotel or the restaurant because we relied on Google map. People were very kind to us and gave us directions. Good Iceland people!! We learned we should prepare offline maps and a good GPS. We enjoyed 10 day trip with a lot of frustration.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Wszystko OK. Transfer z lotniska, odbiór samochodu itd. Dodatkowo niespodzianka jako bonus za full ubezpieczenie, gratisowy router Wi-Fi bez limitu danych. Polecam
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 16. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I loved it
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Excellent
The color was not my favorite ;) but the car was perfect! It was comfortable and really fun and easy to drive!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 04. Oct 2022
Hello We strongly DO NOT recommend renting a 4X4 from FARA in Iceland. We have only had problems and fraudulent practices from this agency. The wait at the airport to pick us up and bring us to in the garage is long. Only one person to do the registration and the papers for more than half an hour, without seeing the rented car. We had 2 people in front of us. After having done the paperwork by taking the most complete and most expensive Premium insurance and having paid, we are offered a jeep with smooth tires: refusal on our part, then a jeep with a big impact on the windshield: refusal . Finally, we are offered another jeep. We leave, the car does not exceed 60km / hour. Call from the agency asking us to bring her back the next morning. The agency admits the car has a problem. He offers us another jeep, but we have to change the tires and change the oil, hence a wait of more than 2 hours. The papers are redone with the invoicing of the gasoline for the 40 kms done the day before with a car that did not work!!!! During the stay, a tire punctured: no spare wheel!!!! Premium insurance does not cover tires or repairs !!!! Repair by a garage indicated by the agency, which comes without spare wheel or tow truck, impossible to seal the tire. He returns two hours later with a tow truck: cost of the operation 2 repairs!!! The car is taken to a garage indicated by the agency to change the tire. The flat tire was mounted upside down! which could explain that it is punctured. Late in the evening, the garage says that they have to change the 2 tires because the Icelandic legislation requires that the 2 front tires be identical. We ask to change only one tire and that the garage asks the agreement of the agency the next morning for the support of the 2nd tire. The next morning, the 2 tires were changed. Impossible to leave if we do not adjust the 2 tires, but the garage assures us that the agency will reimburse us for the 2nd tire. FARA refuses reimbursement for the 2nd tire. This agency is unreliable, has fraudulent methods and abuses tourists. TO FLEE
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Muy bien todo. No tuvimos ningún problema. Quizás podrían bajar un poco los precios. Gracias.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
The car was designated for inspection and had to be rechecked shown trough a green number on the license plate. Also there were some issues which were not speaking well of the rental company.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great value for the cost, car was in good condition, rental process went very smooth. The rooftent was a very good option for two people as well.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 03. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was very easy to drive… a nice experience…
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 17. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Fantastic. Great car, great gas mileage. Pickup and drop off was easy breezy. What an easy rental process.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 17. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I was given Toyota Land Cruiser instead and it was excellent They informed me before
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Very Good
We named our camper van Big Red, since we can always spot it in the parking lot during our hikes. Big Red served its purpose of getting us from one location to the next safely and provided us shelter from the diverse elements of Iceland. It has the basic of everything that we needed during our 2 weeks rental, except a knife to help with meal prep (did a quick stop at IKEA and that was that). The minor annoyances that we had with Big Red were that the sliding door is difficult to close properly because the curtain will get stuck between the door and car during closing (nothing a hair clip/rubber band couldn’t fix), whereas the front passenger door does close but the sensor kept beeping to tell us that it’s not. Last minor annoyance is Big Red’s love for AHA’s “Take On Me” because it always plays my playlist from letter A whenever I connected my phone to it. That song has become our trip’s theme song for Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 18. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was super easy and convenient! Picked us up from the airport at 5:50am and got us into a rental in now time! Peter (I don’t know how to spell or say his real name) was super friendly and answered all of questions. I ended up returning the vehicle later than expected but there was no issue! The only thing I would change is putting some sort of felt on the ceiling in the back of the van (that was the condensation doesn’t drip on the campers faces in the morning!) I would use this company again in a heartbeat and tell everyone who is going to Iceland and plans to camp to use them! Thank you so much again!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 20. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was awesome. Had a flat tire, but everything was good and MyCar Company gave me all the support I needed. They were also very supportive when I needed to call them to ask for some help. Really recommend the company!👍🏻
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Our experience with Star Car Rental was wonderful. I had been worried as a friend had recently rented from another rental company and they tried to charge her $600 for a windshield chip. My worry was not necessary with Star Car’s rental experience. I would recommend them to everyone as well as use them again on my next visit! Five stars!!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 14. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Good
The car was okay. It’s the cheapest 4x4 you can get. So don’t have to high expectations and the car will do what it has to do. Only thing I didn’t like while driving the car was that it really pulls itself to the right side of the road. The wheels weren’t properly lined out.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was perfect for everything we did. We ended up on dirt road due to an accident detour which required us to go up some steep hills. The SUV handled it perfectly. We did have to consult the ops manual so I made sure I downshifted correctly on a steep decline vs riding the brakes. Also wished lights went on automatically at all times since that is the country law.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 20. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything as advertised! Couldn't ask for anything more.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 16. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Super Service. everything went without problems. We recommend.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 12. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 16. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I don't have the words to describe how amazing our trip was. I can only encourage you to try it.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Good
Car is really old, but all works fine.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I can't recommend Camping Cars enough! Their customer service went above and beyond. They are personable, helpful and professional.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 14. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Car was great, pick up and drop off was easy, customer service was incredibly helpful.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent Jimmy!! It was a great experience and Mario in camping cars was the best!! Very helpful with every enquiry and proactive to bring us information and recommendations
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 18. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
A pleasant first impression with your staff Saevar, who pick us from the airport, friendly and helpful, responsive to our needs and queries. Pleasant experience and will highly recommend to those who seeking for good car rental experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 16. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
(We received a Mazda CX-30 Automatic) We liked it, everything worked good with Go Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022