Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 01. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 01. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
At the beginning of the year I started looking for a rental car for our Iceland trip.

On your website I finally found what I was looking for.

Appealing to me was the price-performance ratio.

We were not disappointed. After landing in Reykiavik, one of your employees picked us up at the airport. The rental car a Dacia Duster from 2017 with four-wheel drive made a very good impression. Thanks to the all-wheel drive, we were able to drive on all slopes and off-road trails.

We were very satisfied with the rented car.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Excellent
We were received at the airport with smiles and greetings by a representative from Lava rentals. Soon we arrived at Lava office were the staff handed over the keys to our camper and on demand (with extras) gave us wifi device for our 7 day trip.

The vehicle was extensively used, yet in good shape and cleaned just before we rented it. Technically we had no issues with the car, person at the desk gave us an overview of the car, sleeping, water tank, cooler and heating system.

Vessels and cutlery was sufficient, though I would have liked a bit more equipment like a can opener and a set of paper rolls to start the trip.

On the whole, I would recommend renting it through Northbound and in particular Lava car rental.

As always, I would like to put forth some constructive remarks. It might be useful to upgrade cars (mileage on this one was inching closer to 100,000 Kms), additionally, since it rains and is mostly windy in Iceland, might be worthwhile to explore an extendable plan on the rear of the car and a retractable roof cover in the back to help cook on a windy and rainy day. To be honest, it would be a luxury to have such a setup, not a must have though.

We managed to cook inside the car on the wooden plank provided, works like a charm.

Just go ahead and rent a small camper through Northbound for the best rates and also Lava car rental for a great experience.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Great car, super performance on the F-roads
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound reserved a rental car for us using Fara Rental Car. The process was efficient to the extreme. We were promptly picked up by Fara when we arrived. The gentlemen at Fara were extremely professional and friendly and provided us the perfect car for our journey (1,200 km across Iceland). The car worked great. Extremely positive customer services all the way around - great work, Fara & Northbound!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Good
It's a quite basic car inside and under the hood, but it was a reasonable price so it was fair value for money. The engine is underpowered but, given the low speed limits in Iceland, it was only tested on hills so we just changed down a gear or two and it was fine. The car was very clean, and had an excellent spare tyre which we had to put to good use so were very grateful for.
There wasn't anyone to meet us at the airport, so we had to call for our ride which was a little frustrating at the time, but the return process and subsequent transport to the airport were very speedy by contrast.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Tutto molto bene!!
Comunicazione con sito e assistenza perfetta.
Possibilità di prendere l auto senza dover lasciare il deposito come abbiamo fatto noi.
Sicuramente lo consiglio per prenotare un auto in Islanda
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Our MyCar Rental experience was perfect; their customer service outstanding. Our rental car was in excellent condition. We couldn’t be more pleased.
The folks at Northbound we’re most helpful and a pleasure with whom to do business. We look forward to visiting Iceland again, and will be in touch soon.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Rented this car for a week when I solo traveled to Iceland. I liked it a lot, the fact that it comes with apple carplay made my trip more fun. I didn’t have any problem with it driving around Iceland. Also, the price is unbelievable. This company is cheaper than other. Definitely recommend it!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 30. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Hello
We had problems picking up the vehicle because we did not know that the company was Lava car and above all because we did not know that Lava Car was outside the airport. I think they should have explained it in an email. Otherwise, all good .A beautiful country !!!
Thanks for everything
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 05. Sep 2021
Good
reliable car, well suited as a 4x4, the gears are very short so that driving in a town is not the best. Very good gas consumption, diesel at 5.5 l / 100 km.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
El coche que nos asignaron (Ford Fiesta) estaba bastante golpeado. La correa de distribución sonaba al arrancar el coche y durante los siguientes minutos. También se encendió una advertencia en el salpicadero acerca del motor que afortunadamente se fue al paso de 24 horas por si sola. Todo esto no habría sido un mayor problema si no hubiéramos pagado casi el doble del precio que suele costar dicho alquiler tal y como comprobamos con otros viajeros.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Very nice car, easy to drive, clean.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 30. Aug 2021
Excellent
Great for traveling around the island.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 25. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience with MyCat. Picked up and dropped off very efficiently. Definitely would rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
We had an amazing experience with our RAV4. The car was brand new and very very comfortable. The people working there were also very friendly. I would recommend MyCar to everyone that wants to live a wonderful on the road experience! :)
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 05. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
excelent 4x4; everything was fine; the personnel of the company very professional; fast and impeccable service
highly recommended
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Excellent
The car was great for our needs! We chose the cheapest four-seater we could find because we didn’t need luxury and this definitely did the job. Service was very friendly once we arrived at the office, but we did wait quite a while (30 min) at the airport for the shuttle (although I’m not sure if that was because we didn’t know what to look for at first). Thanks for a lovely rental experience!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 31. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Almost brandnew car, people off MyCar were very friendly, very good rental conditions.
I would certainly recomend MyCar rental
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 23. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The Car was in good condition. Enjoyed the Ring Road and not faced any problem while driving around for 7 days.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 05. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Very good!!!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 25. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went well, smooth rental process, reliable car and good communication
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 25. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The car was ok, the service so so
The car was ok and we got one a bit bigger than the one booked ( a Hyundai i20 instead ofi10). It worked properly but the seats were quite dirty. The arranged pick up time was 12 but they didn’t come until we called them. So we got it 1/2 h later. And the people at Lava car not specially friendly or kind just doing their work.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 07. Sep 2021
Excellent
Car was a great companion on my 3 week Icelandic summer adventure. It didn’t accelerate as quickly and smoothly as I would have liked but held its own on many types of roads and weather situation so I’m happy.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The 2021 Nissan Qashqai that we rented from Lava Car Rental through Northbound was great. New(ish), clean, and functional.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Tutto perfetto! Auto ok e la stessa scelta on line. Personale gentile, servizio veloce e preciso. I migliori rental car mai trovati! Grazie
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 23. Aug 2021
La macchina era ben tenuta, ad eccezione delle gomme che erano completamente lisce, ed i freni che non funzionavano.
Prezzo onesto
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 30. Aug 2021
Excellent
Our camperized Suzuki Jimny performed very well through many km of rocky uneven f-roads. The car had about 80k km on its back and the tires were near the end of their life, but we managed to do everything we had to. Not a powerful car but can get you everywhere! The assistance, both at northbound that at Icerental 4x4, was ready and nice. I definitely recommend you this company if you want to save a big bunch of money!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
All ok
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 23. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Service was really great!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 09. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Our tours went well. The vans were perfect. We will be running a tour next August and will be needing two vans for approximately 12 days. We look forward to working with you on next years tour as well. We will be in contact for reserving the vehicles in late Nov. Thank you again
sincerely
Colin and Mike Nat Expo Tours
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Excellent
Rental experience overall was fine, due to the extreme shortage of cars available we booked super early and price was still crazy. The car had just been turned in the night before with a softball-sized smash in the windshield that they didn't have time to fix, but they included insurance and a wifi thing to compensate, and the guy was polite and apologetic. It wasn't in great shape overall, a 2017 with 160,000 km and many many strange rattles, but made it across lots of crazy F-road drives. PS a Jimny is smaaaaaaallllllllllll.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 28. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went well. We had a great off-road experience. The Suzuki Jimny is a great little Jeep. Good service at Northbound
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 26. Aug 2021
Excellent
Along with two friends we made a last-minute decision to go around Iceland. For this we needed to rent a car and were immediately shocked by the costs of renting a car for 12 days on all of the sites we could find. The cheapest 4x4 car we could find cost EUR4000. After some intense searching, we finally found Northbound, where the Toyota Land Cruiser GX 4x4 was still available at only EUR2500 - waaaay cheaper than all of the other sites. We booked it quickly and we never looked back, as the car delivered everything we needed.
There was a hiccup two days prior to our departure - we received an e-mail that our booking had been canceled due to the rental car provider (My Cars). Supposedly the vehicle was no longer available. After a couple of minutes of anxiety and mini heart attacks, we received an e-mail from Anna from Northbound's customer support, apologizing for the mess and together we were able to solve the issue - the car became available again, she booked it immediately so that we were not left without it, and she took us through the process of confirming the booking in order to make it official and avoid any problems in the future.
So the customer experience was excellent (problems like the one described above can happen, but I appreciate the way Anna handled it). Would've been better, if that did not happen, but not much I can do about it.
MyCar Rental also organized a pick-up at the airport, which was there, albeit we had to wait for about an hour. We did provide the flight information in advance, so they could've prepared better. Thankfully, I was able to reach them on the phone and their office was a couple of minutes away, so it wasn't a long wait after that. MyCar Rental stickers cannot be found anywhere at the airport (all the other companies are there, however), but the lady at the information desk was able to give us the information we needed.
After arriving at the MyCar Rental office, we got the vehicle quickly, and had a look around the car, took photos of the couple of scratches (which were already reported). We only noticed the 2cm crack in the middle of the windshield later that day and took photo of that, just in case. The crack didn't affect visibility at all.
Other than that, the car was in great condition and never let us down. We also received a pamphlet for N1 gas stations around the country where we could get 6 free coffees, and some discount for gas. What we weren't told, however, was that the only way we could get the discount on gas, would be to go to the cashier, show them a magnetic key attached to the ignition key, and then fill up the tank - we were told that we can use the magnetic key on the pump itself, but all we got was "Unauthorized" error message and no discount. N1 is the most common gas station around Iceland, but they're not always the cheapest, so while the discount is nice, paying attention to the prices on other stations was also something started doing a couple of re-fills down the road.
All in all, I'd say we had a great experience with the Toyota that we rented.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Quick, simple, good.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 31. Aug 2021
The car was not available on arrival. we had to stay one night in a hotel to pick the car up on the next day. Sadly also the next day it was not available. In the afternoon the next day they gave us a replacement vehicle.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 19. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Seamless service with a quality car!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The car was great! Definitely well-used, but perfect for our needs. We did worry at how safely/well the roof rack was attached to the roof, but it seemed to hold steady.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
While the price was good, we were quite disappointed by the customer service we received. Despite booking well ahead of time through Northbound and arriving with all the instructed voucher numbers and documentation printed out, Icerental 4x4 had no record of our reservation. They gave our group a very hard time about fulfilling the reservation, and we arrived prior to Northbound's opening hours so no one was available to confirm our reservation or help. Eventually Icerental 4x4 did honor the reservation, for which we were grateful. When we left the parking lot, our car had a squeaking sound in the wheel that got progressively worse as we drove along the ring road. When we called for a mechanic, Icerental quickly responded with a traveling mechanic which was great. Unfortunately though, Icerental expected US to pay for the mechanic even though the problem existed before picking up the car. Would not rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was great. Somebody was waiting for us at the airport and brought us to the car in about 5 minutes. In another 10 minutes everything was arranged and we could leave with the car. Staff is nice and helpfull. The car was good enough for 2 persons the drive through Iceland.
We could leave the car at the parking of the airport because we had an early flight.
Maybe they could explain more precisely where to park the car. We were doubting and went back to the day before ( we were very close to the airport) to ask. We had to leave the car at the long term parking instead of the car rental parking.
We should definitely book here again!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
It was cheap, made fancy noises when driving faster than 50 km/h, had many scratches. Exactly what we paid for, a reliable cheap car.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 02. Sep 2021
Excellent
This car got us where we needed to go. It was roomy for 4. It didn’t have cruise control. Headlight and tail light went out during our 21 day rental. Bonus was the unlimited hot spot. Check in and check out was easy. I would rent here again.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Excellent
Great experience with Lava car rental, competitive prices, reliable vehicles and competent staff. I don’t rate 5 only for the prolonged wait for the shuttle transport upon arrival at the airport.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 19. Aug 2021
Good
Thank you so much for the service you provide us. Pick up and drop of to airport was in perfect time. The assistance before we start our trip was very clear. About the car (Suzuki Jimny 4x4 manual 2013) we can say that is a good car to travel Iceland (small and smart) but our Jimny was very old (more than 200.000 km) and it was very strong and hard to drive, with a lot of Moisés and some parts damaged. We are a couple that adapts to everything, but surely driving a car that conveyed more safety would have been better.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
It was a great car in good condition. The James baroud tent was great. Also was the kitchen kit. The actual rental company had good service and we had no problems with them.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 12. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
A great rental car. Comfortable, stored all our gear, easy to handle and love that it was a hybrid.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 19. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
This was my second time renting from this company and I will be giving you my business again! Everything always goes so smoothly, and the customer service is great! Thank you :)
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 25. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Greta car for Iceland! Needed a wheel alignment but other than that was perfect for a round the country trip!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 28. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect, like in the description.
rented a vehicle in August 2021