Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 17. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
It was all amazing!! the car is really comfortable and good for drive on the road. The company is incredible good, they are really friendly and happy to help you before and during the rental. I highly recommend!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 17. Nov 2021
Good
It was a nice experience to travel around Iceland with Dacia Dokker Campervan. It wasn't big and confortable, but just enough to enjoy the trip and the country.
Whatever the car isn't ventilated and insulated and we weren't informed. Some nights were very very cold and car was freezed some morning because of condensation and cold.
Maybe you should just informed your clients that cars are fitted out but not ventilated and insulated.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 12. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound Car Rental (aka Go Car Rental) was wonderful! 5 stars for the vehicle, pricing and customer service. We will definitely rent with them again on our next trip to Iceland! Prior to our trip they were very communicative and picked us up at the hotel upon our arrival and dropped us off at the BSI bus terminal to get back to the airport. Easy!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 15. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
The service of ice rental 4x4 was very perfect !
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 09. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
This was the best rental car experience I have had until now in my 20 year plus experiences, Super easy, super clear, very good pricing, very good service. I wish that all rental companies would work like this. Thanks!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 11. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
The car was great and the experience with Lava Rental too.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 01. Dec 2021
The car did as it should have - it got us from point A to point b. However, the seats are not adjustable and were very uncomfortable for us because we are tall. There is zero insulation, not even a headliner, in the back of the van to provide any type of insulation.
I found the best price I could bc we were in Iceland for 25 days, but to be labeled as "cheap vans" on the outside is not necessary. I understand the advertising, but it wasn't appreciated.
Upon pickup, the van was not entirely clean. There was lots of food crumbs and tiny bit of debris that didn't get vacuumed.
The customer service is Terrible. Upon arriving for pick up and returning of the van, I was never greeted by anyone. In fact I was the first to get there but the last to be helped.. I had to wait over hour before ever being helped. The cheap van annex building was where we were told to wait. There was no one there, no sign saying when anyone would show up, ended up going to "happy" building where the other guests were being helped. Only one person working at counter, but several sitting at desks who offered no hello or help to us.
The van had a headlight out, a reverse light out and the check engine light was on up on picking it up. We waited for the mechanic to fix the lights, yet another delay after waiting over an hour to be helped. No keys were with the van, the bedding was not in there, the employee had to go look for these things. the employee did not give us the Wi-Fi which we paid for and also the gps.
I had to go back to the office to pick these items up.
There was no ice scraper with the van,it is winter season in Iceland, why is this important item not included?? I had to use my credit card as a scraper.
The windshield wipers were shit, doing more smearing than clearing.
At drop-off time, we arrived at 1230, only to wait until 1 for someone to show up and help. (Top of the hour is when shuttle departs to go to airport) we had intentions of taking the 1pm. The girl told us we had to wait until 2 for the shuttle and then went back to the "happy" building. This was unacceptable as we were there at 1230. I explained this to her, she took us to airport at 1.
The price was right for the car bc of the length of our trip but I will not rent from this company again because of the terrible customer service. I was never even asked upon returning the car how my trip was. Sad.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 12. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Very good and reliable car to travel through the island during storm, snow fall, strong winds and every other weather condition we encountered.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 18. Nov 2021
Excellent
The Camper Was Overall a great choice. The price was really good and the General Service as well. Besides one or two small issues with the car.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 14. Nov 2021
Excellent
Great experience overall. 3 ISK discount in all N1 stations as well.
The 2017 Duster had definitely seen better days, but was very realisable, especially considering mileage it had. Staff was very friendly and explained everything you need to know.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 08. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
One of the easiest + smoothest car rentals I've ever done. From the shuttle to the location to how quick it was to pick up with car without all the usual rental BS and up selling. Will rent from them again on my next trip!!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 06. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 12. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Really enjoyed our ten days with this car. Never once had a problem, went over snow packed roads, sleety roads and rain slicked roads like a champion. Would recommend this car to anyone visiting Iceland and it’s unusual weather changes.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 10. Nov 2021
Good
Very good
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 07. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Friendly service, no nonsense. The car was well equipped for traveling along the roads of Iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 13. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
We actually ended up with a newer Duster because our first car started acting strangely however we are very grateful to Northern Lights who, after we rang the breakdown number (we hadn’t even broken down) came out with a replacement car within a couple of hours. Both cars were great and appropriate for the conditions- we drove the whole ring road with blizzards in the north no problem.

I also thought the price was good and there was no hard sell on insurance. Finally the airport shuttle could do with a bit better explanation but it was reliable.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 08. Nov 2021
Good
The car bring us to the final destination - we had couple of issues because the car need service
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 03. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
We had the best time in Iceland, and renting from Camping Cars made it even better enjoyed every minute! Can’t wait to return and explore more!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 08. Nov 2021
Disappointed from the overall experience. We had to wait almost an hour in the airport to get picked up (we were seeing constantly people from other car companies picking other travellers way faster than ours).at the end they took only me(the driver),then i had to drive back to pick my friends,they were almost alone at the airport at that point!
Worst part was when in the night of 31th October our battery died. We were calling more than 45minutes at the service telephone and we couldn't find anyone,we were always getting connected with the primary office,the guy there was trying to find the service guys,even in the private telephones and still couldn't find someone.after that we managed to tell our problem (we couldn't get in the car,electrical key wasn't working, probably dead battery).at last a guy showed up at least 2 hours after we first started calling only to bring a manual key,then he had to drive back to bring the cables,he came after one extra hour.considering that for the first 45 minutes we couldn't even share our problem made the experience unpleasant.on top of it we had to pay for him coming although we paid the top premium level of insurance.
Our trip in Iceland was amazing,we are totally visiting again but we will most certainly book a car with another company
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 08. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Easy to rent and everything was clear since minute 0
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 02. Nov 2021
Good
Good overall service. The car was a bit older than I would have expected .
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 09. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Awesome car, everything worked perfectly, guys from Affordable Campers pick us up and drop of at desired destinations in Reykjavik. Car was equipped well and even had winter tires with spikes which helped a lot! Totally recommend! :)
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 04. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Mycar Rental is prompt.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 05. Nov 2021
Excellent
Great rental experience with Icerental 4x4. We had the car for 5 days and there were no issues. We did purchase the premium insurance on advice from friends and online recommendations and it was worth it. There really are a lot of gravel roads and rocks hitting the windshield so get it. The staff were great and the entire rental process was quick and easy.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 03. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect
I asked for a JEEP COMPAS and FARA gave me exactly this one and put new winter tyres on it.
Thanks
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 02. Nov 2021
Good
Great prices, that's why I chose this company, altough the car was probably the worst they own, personally if I knew I'd rent a better car, but it's not their fault obviously. They were nice and professional. Recommended
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 30. Oct 2021
Hi , we had a great time in Iceland, but the Suzuki is out dated now, it was not a nice car to drive , a lot of thing in the car don’t work right, the high beam switch not working right, the door lock not working right, the hand brake was a joke ,the car was also pulling to the right what you was driving it , the car as got a lot of faults but the main one is for the head lights are so dull when driving in the dark , which made it hard to see the road
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 29. Oct 2021
Excellent
Great company very reliable open 24hra wich is amazing and drop you to airport was great.
But i would suggest to make it clear that you pick people up at the airport as we ended up getting the shuttle to Iceland rentals
Instead of waiting for Iceland rentals 4x4 at arrivals.
Apart from that very happy.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 31. Oct 2021
Good
There check in process for procuring the car was smooth . Good pricing compared to other established plans . The reason for 4 start is because the car I rented was a bit run down with around 180k kms on it so was a bit choppy however had no issues navigating through the island . Would recommend this company with a better upgraded cars.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 01. Nov 2021
Fine
An old car.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 08. Nov 2021
Excellent
Rented through Lava car rental. Reliable, low-consumption Duster for your worry free road trip around Iceland's Ring Road. Included free GPS, although we all know that only Google maps are actually useful. The only downside is that the car already had a lot of bumps and bruises.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 03. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Just perfect!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 25. Oct 2021
Good
Car was new and in good condition. The WiFi router made navigation with Google maps really straightforward! It was a little tricky to figure out where to pick the car up from, but a quick email sorted that out! Thanks for a great rental!!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 11. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
It was excellent. You made everything super easy. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 05. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
We couldn't have had a better experience with Lotus Car Rental. Our flight to Keflavik was cancelled last minute and we were not able to pick up our rental on the date we had set. We called Lotus and they assured us that everything was fine and that they would keep our vehicle and have it ready for pick up the following day.

Lotus had the car ready for us right as we pulled into their lot and it was spotless (interior and exterior). The car itself was a dream to drive, even through all the harsh elements of Iceland. Highly recommend this vehicle if you're looking for a comfortable drive.

The return process was also very smooth and quick - it took maybe 5 minutes or less.

Overall, I had such an exceptional experience with Lotus and I highly recommend this company for those looking to rent a vehicle in Iceland. Everyone at Lotus were extremely friendly and informative - just amazing customer service.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 31. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
the car was perfect and performed well. The rental car process itself was awful. It took 2 hours from the time we got to the waiting area to the time I drove back to the airport to pick up my wife, because apparently she couldn't come with me in the shuttle to get the car
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 02. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 02. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Amazing. It was an incredible experience.
The company was very nice with us and it is very recommendable.
I will repeat again, sure
Thank you so much for the facilities and help in every moment
See you soon
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 26. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
We were happy with the car…it had a few bumps and bruises, but nothing that effected the drive. It was a great price, so not pristine…no problem!!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 29. Oct 2021
Good
Would’ve have been great except that the headlights in our car weren’t working properly. Passenger side light was out and headlights would go out completely when switching between headlights and normal driving lights. This made for some really scary moments when we had to drive at night and in bad weather. It also restricted our driving time as we didn’t feel safe driving at night.

Otherwise, everything was very good. Nice, friendly staff, enjoyed talking with our drivers to and from the airport.
Just maybe add a safety check to your vehicles for basic functions like that before renting them out
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 31. Oct 2021
Fine
Partially fine. The car was not the model described and it was with notices in the screen all the travel
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 28. Oct 2021
Good
The van was pretty good, In good condition and also the staff who give initially to us was very helpful and kind, the only thing that we didn’t know is that the free shuttle to the airport works just until 4:30pm, we arrive 4:25 pm and have to pay a cab to take us to the airport
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 01. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Cheap Campervans absolutely delivered everything it promised. Free pick-up and drop-off at a nearby hotel at a time of our choosing (you have to contact them separately; we did not hear back to the request written in our booking). The vehicle we rented was as advertised, zero problems. It was also more fuel-efficient than I expected, nice for the environment and also for the wallet in Iceland!

The vehicle had just one USB port delivering 0.45A (2.25W). Nobody said say there would be more, but since USB charging was advertised, I kinda figured it would be either faster charging or 2+ ports. It ended up being fine, we just charged in hotels, but if you are camping in your camper then you might want to bring a lighter-to-USB charger.

If I had a wish, it would be cruise control in the vehicle. The ring road, even if you're driving less than an hour, does get a little tedious to try and not exceed the speed limit (expensive fines) while also not driving way too slow. I'd be willing to pay extra for that.

We also had the WiFi option booked. I did not think we would need it, but my girlfriend wanted it. It was a great choice, since the unlimited data really makes you not worry about anything (even if we used only a few GB in the end and EU Roam Like At Home would also have been fine, I would probably still book it again). You get a little device that creates a WiFi hotspot and connects to the mobile network. Mobile data coverage on the ring road is excellent, we did not notice any places without fast internet available. Best to bring your own micro-USB cable though, because the included cable was short and very wonky (three left twists kinda made it work, but still not great). The device lasts quite long on full charge, though.

Staff was super friendly!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 31. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Very friendly staff, very good car and amazing service. The only problem was that they gave us the key of the car with the battery almost empty, and so we couldnt lock or unlock the car until we found a new battery in a store.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 30. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Wonderful experience. The car was reliable even with difficult weather conditions. Winter tires worked excellently.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 24. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
It was a very excellent little car, with great safety features and in good condition.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 27. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Had a wonderful experience with my rental! Car was super clean, they provided an ice scraper (it was snowing when we landed!). They explained all the car features and answered all my questions. No wait when I got there to pick up my car, and very quick return. They looked the car over, and we were on our way back to the airport. Also highly recommend the WIFI add on. Would definitely book with Northern Lights again!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 28. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Had a great experience with MyCar rental. I got the exact car I was promised when I made my reservation months earlier, and was very satisfied with it! I'm glad I used MyCar for my rental car needs while in Iceland. My only negative point is that there was no ice scraper in the car. I definitely needed one on my 2nd morning in Iceland and had to turn up the heat/defroster and use a credit card to scrape the windshield. I then went to a gas station and had to buy an ice scraper with my own money. I let the staff know about this when I returned the car and they said every car should have one in it, but acknowledged mine did not. I know it was a slight oversight on their part and it didn't ruin my vacation, but thought I should mention it here because it did happen. Other than that, my experience with MyCar was flawless. I'd definitely recommend them!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 26. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
A great car for cruising around on the island.
We were on Snaefellsness and had one day of snow and heavy winds.
No problem for the 4x4 with its special tyres.
It's a "smart" car and has many features.
Two drivers 10 for days, and both were very happy with it!
I can recommend it to everyone.

Antoine
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 21. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound.is took wonderful care of us and and answered all my questions. Lava car rental was helpful and top notch. I will use Northbound for my future visits to this amazing place.
rented a vehicle in October 2021