Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

12284 Reviews

12284 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 08. Jun 2024
Good
Roy rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 06. Jun 2024
Good
sorry no toyota it whas a kia
Martijn rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 11. Jun 2024
Good
Great experience with Nortbound in booking my Yaris Cross. Pick up from airport on time and vehicle supplied by Mycar was great for the 2 weeks in Iceland.
Ulrich rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 15. Jun 2024
Very Good
Super! I got the same model of car that I booked. Rav4 GX is definitely a good quality car. We toured around the island for 13 days. We travelled different road surfaces including rough, snowy, icy, etc. It gave us high level of security. The trunk is spacious for four 26 inches suitcases which is important for a group of four travellers. MyCar, the car rental company - I am very satisfied with their services. Responsive in answering the calls. I once called them by mistake. They even called me back within 10 minutes which truly impressed me. Easy and quick handover of the car. I already recommended my friend to use MyCar when they are in Iceland in mid August this year.
Chi shan joyce rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 03. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
The staff at the Keflavík office were fantastic! When I arrived, I accidentally booked a manual instead of an automatic. They were able to help me change my booking so I could have a car I could drive. The car was very clean, very easy to use, and made my trip 100% more enjoyable. The staff also gave me tips on where to go on the island and what I should see. They really made the rental process very smooth and enjoyable!
Melissa rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 04. Jun 2024
Excellent
Linda margaret rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 06. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
My family and I had a great experience renting through Northbound.
Keith rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 17. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Our experience with Northbound and Lava Car Rental was excellent. We were upgraded when we picked up the car and it performed great. As a storm came into the country, we received additional communication both from Northbound and the rental car company. Thanks for helping us have an incredible adventure in Iceland!
Amanda rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 11. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Nous avons été entièrement satisfaits! Bon prix et excellent service: simple, facile et efficace! Je le recommande fortement!
Marie-josee rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 02. Jun 2024
Fine
Hi, when i brought back the car, they told me that i had a parking ticket at thingvellir because apparently I didn’t pay the parking fee, and so i paid the ticket at your office. However, I checked my operations history of my credit card and I have paid the parking for Thingvellir, I have a proof. I would like to get a refund for the parking ticket. Thank you
Raffi rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 10. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Everything ok, it was a good car however the Navigationssystem was a bit throublesome.
Bernd albert rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 10. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
The 2023 Volkswagen Crafter Automatic from Happy Campers we rented for our 2 week vacation in Iceland was great! It worked well for our family of 5, with 3 kids needing car seats. It accommodated all of us and our needs without any issues. The beds were more spacious than we had anticipated, cooking was adequate, and there was a lot of storage space for all of our things. Customer service at Happy Campers was excellent. Would definitely recommend and book again in the future!
David rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 05. Jun 2024
Good
We had to change the vehicle after one day: an error message was displayed. We were informed that this error message is a known problem with Suzuki Vitara. We lost a day by exchanging it. The replacement vehicle, a Suzuki Vitara, displayed the same error message after two days. We did not exchange the vehicle again....we would loose anothernday. Both vehicles had around 300,000 km on the clock and were therefore not in a satisfactory condition, both visually and technically. Vehicles with these defects should not be offered for rent.
Harald rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 03. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Good car, good rental company. Star car rental were very professional and responsive. they answered all my questions very promptly even during the rental.
Nizar rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 10. Jun 2024
Excellent
Well at first we had a problem because we do not have credit card, but only debit card. But this was our fault because these information are noted several times on the websites and emails. Finally we had to take full insurance on the car which was a little bit more expensive but not horrible (about 120 euro per person). The staff was tell us some basic information about the car and what is inside and where we can find it. Nobody tell us information about the water tank and also the cooker which we found it afterward in some instructions video which we recieved to the email. But this was a little bit complication during first day because we lost some time for found it. Also we had a punch and nobody tell us where we can find tools for change the tyre. This was also a little bit complication for us but in the car there was service manual so hopefully we found these information in that. During the travelling we tried several times calling to the telephone number +354 519 4141. Nobody was answered to us which i rate as horrible because if a cutomer needs help or have some question it is really hard to phone to company Lava car. In the end I evaluate this company good, because as we had a punch nobody wants any extra charge for that. The company is great and I recomended to customers.
Lukas rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 03. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
It was great. Clean, everything worked properly and did the job with no issues.
Lisa rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 29. May 2024
Fantastic!
Car was in good condition and cleaned. It was perfect size for us as advertised. Once picked up from airport everything was smooth. We had difficulty finding pick up zone from airport. Called back and forth three times for instructions until finally finding pick up zone.
Lymaris rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 31. May 2024
Outstanding!
Rental was very smooth process. No issues at all. I would suggest that staff be very clear with tourists about the presence of speed cameras and traffic cameras. Not for them to look to evade them, but rather that in Iceland the posted rule or speed is the maximum speed without question, not a maximum speed that has a 10-15 mph gray area that you can still drive in. This was not explained. I think the hard limits are great, just wish I knew it on day one, not day four. It would have saved a lot of anxiety. Otherwise a top rate rental experience.
Thomas rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 29. May 2024
Outstanding!
Perfect car for my trip
Seshadri rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 06. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Muhammad umer rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 04. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
Sameera rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 28. May 2024
Outstanding!
Charlie rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 07. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
The vehicle pick up and return processes were very smooth. Staff are helpful and friendly. Shuttle service is very good.
Victor rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 31. May 2024
Fantastic!
Northbound rendered us a professional service. We are satiafied and can highly recommend them
Salomie rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 10. Jun 2024
Very Good
Our experience was good. We had some minor issues but overall, our experience was satisfactory. The camper van came with all amenities listed. We had no issues with the van itself. Even though it was an older model it ran smoothly. I would suggest you check all the supplies before leaving the lot. For example, our electric cooler never worked, so we lost some (expensive) groceries. The plug was registering voltage but the cooler itself never turned on. The zipper of one of our sleeping bags was broken. The stove was also causing some issues in that the flint wouldn't work sometimes, and it would take forever to get the stove to light. Maybe purchasing an emergency lighter would have been useful. Lastly, they have a discount fob you can use at the gas stations, however, upon returning to KEF not a SINGLE gas station would accept the discount fob (we went to three different ones before giving up as we had to catch our return flight). They explained that in order to use the card machine where the fob worked, we needed to have a local bank card/credit card. For some reason they also could not override this from the inside cashiers. They kept saying the cashiers were not connected to the pay stations at the pumps. For some reason there are two pay stations, one for locals and one for foreign payment methods. We did not have this issue when we filled up outside the metro area.
Amanda rented a vehicle in May 2024

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.