Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 21. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Felt sketchy since it rattled when RPM was over 3 but beyond that, it did everything we could ever want. The car was a solid choice for us four.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 22. Oct 2021
Fine
We Made reservations for a Dacia Duster build in the year 2021. We did not get that the car was much older. I did choose a rental company in the Airport but tours was 10 minutes away. When we arrived we had to wait half an hour to get to your office. We didn’t check the car together for scratches and other things wrong with the car but I had to sighn for things the man in the Office had seen wich is not correct. So yes there are things to improve. Good luck with your company.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 18. Oct 2021
Excellent
Everything was fine, good car, quick check-in and check-out, good price, Duster is perfect for 4 persons, driving some gravelroads
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 21. Oct 2021
The car i was given was a great one, the customer service was great, my only complaint is that for some reason every time I rent from a local car rental the battery malfunctions and this time was no exception, when my battery died I called the car rental place and after almost 30 minutes they told me they weren't able to get someone to help me which means if it wasn't for a good Icelandic man whom helped me i would've been stuck for God knows how long, this is unacceptable specially on a place with a weather like Iceland
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 22. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect , everything was ok
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 19. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went smooth, no extra cost charged, perfect customer support
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 17. Oct 2021
Excellent
The Toyota Corolla S/D Hybrid Automatic is an excellent car.
Great comfort and nice to drive.

The only downside is the GPS seemed a bit slow to response to the inputs, but otherwise it worked fine.

The customer service from Mycar was perfect, fast and easy communication an flexibility, I'll definetly recommend this company for hiring a car in Iceland.
I
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 17. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Good vehicle, lots of space for our family of 5 plus huge trunk for bags.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 15. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went well. Smooth. Great service to and from the airport. Car was clean and well-maintained.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 18. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Fantastic vehicle.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 18. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Had a great experience with Fara Ehf.
Competent and helpful staff, a nearly new Car, all was great.
The only thing that was not clear to me was the return policy, since our flight was very early (6 o'clock am), we had to return it one day before.
But the company helped by bringing us and our luggage to our hotel.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 18. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
The car was just right for the two of us, and it held well around Iceland. Yes, it is small but we had no issues with that.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 29. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Everything perfect with Lava Rental Cars and Northbound
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 24. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
We got an alternative car instead: KIA Sorento
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 19. Oct 2021
Excellent
The van was perfect, cozy, quite new, and very clean. It included all the basic things needed for cooking and sleep. Good for two people, but maybe a bit small for three. As well, the fuel consumption was really good. Definitely we will repeat.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 24. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
This was the first time I rented a car. It was quick and easy, we had to change the booking because our flight was changed and it was no problem at all. The drop off and airport transfer was smooth as well.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 22. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
I had a good experience working with MyCar. The car was in good condition and worked perfect for our day trips around Iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 17. Oct 2021
Excellent
MyCar was very solid. I booked the car a day earlier by mistake - switched day and month and they held the car and credited us for the day. I didn't realize this until we got to the counter. we couldn't get on their van till over an hour & a half after waiting for them. The van was full and so we had to wait. But it was my mistake that they resolved the situation.
They come to the airport every hour on the 20 after, so you will likely wait with others looking for various rides. It was not a problem and we'll worth the savings for a car. But you do need to build in time for arriving and departing.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 16. Oct 2021
Good
We left the first day with the 2017 Suzuki Vitara with a lot of damage on the car, this car had some brake problems so we returned the car. They tested the car and there was indeed something wrong with the brakes. We received a replacement car (Suzuki s cross) with only some damages.
We also rent a baby seat, this was a very old seat and it was not feeling 100% safe. Tip to the rental company: for this price in the rental buy new seats!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 21. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went really well and the car performed as it should through all the various weather conditions and F roads The option to have a mobile wifi with the car rental was awesome. As long as there are no surprise charges post turn in I will be very satisfied
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 10. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 16. Oct 2021
Excellent
We liked the car but it had a few areas needing improvement.
The plate underneath wasn’t attached properly so it was very noisy going over gravel roads. We had a headlight out and also found it could have been a little cleaner in the glove compartment. But the car itself did the job and was comfortable.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 08. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Thank you for providing me with the best car for the best price and I have to tell you it was a pleasure to drive it everything was in good shape your process was simple and quick. I will certainly return and spread the word for you.
Thank you until next time.
Daghild Rick
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 12. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
The car was clean and driving it was nice!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 10. Oct 2021
Fine
The experience was going well until I knew the insurance prices and the full deposit policy forced me to fill the deposit because supposedly the deposit was not full, when after going to fill the deposit under penalty of paying one more fee I only managed to get 3 liters of fuel. Overzealous in my opinion
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 14. Oct 2021
I was very disappointed ! The car company was really disorganized and they didn’t have the car we rented! We were given a much smaller car for what we paid!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 11. Oct 2021
Excellent
Good car, excellent service and competitive price but was expecting some wider tires or snow ready tires. At times was slippery..
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 11. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent little campervan at a reasonable price. Had a great time touring round
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 11. Oct 2021
We were charged 900 euros for a little dent on rear right port. Ridiculous! A dent of approx 5 mm, 0,5 cm. We paid the cost of the entire port! Absolutely terrible, a real theft!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 10. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect ! We had a great week with the 4x4. And easy pick up and to give it back ! We recommend
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 12. Oct 2021
Lava Car Rental - the folks that work there were very pleasant. The first vehicle we were given was not good (a Dacia Duster). It had some issues, one of which that stood out was it pulled to the left when you used the brakes. It died on us the very first morning. 17kms into our trip we parked it correctly at the Blue Lagoon, when we came out the vehicle would not start, nor would it jump from the security van assisting us.

We spoke to the rental center during this time, but it was one gentleman working and another on lunch. Thankfully we were able to pop start it and get it back to the rental center. There we exchanged it for another vehicle (they gave us another Duster). This car seemed better at first, but we quickly realized it had its own issues. The shocks on the vehicle must have been very old, as they car bounced like a 70’s Cadillac. The wipers were worn out and on the second day coming back from the North we had to detour to Reykjavik for new wipers. They did kindly reimburse me for those when I turned in the car.

The vehicle itself had an electrical fault somewhere and had a warning light that came on 3 days into our trip. It also had a bad TPMS sensor, so after we figured out that a tire was not actually going low, it was just the sensor, we ignored it.

Otherwise the car worked. Maybe had we received a different car I would give them a better rating, but the vehicle had over 200,000kms on it and seemed like it needed some basic maintenance. I wouldn’t say avoid them as I believe they are a good company, but beware of the vehicle you receive.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 15. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
We loved our rental! It had plenty of room for 4 adults and all our luggage.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 15. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Great! everything was smooth
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 18. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was fine.

Also the Services by phone when we though our car has a puncture.

Great car rental Services.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 11. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience with Kuku Campers. Very convenient and professional service. I would definetly rent their van again.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 12. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Great service, 5*! I was picked up from the airport and then dropped of on my return. I enjoyed my trip and the van.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 11. Oct 2021
Fine
The car was OK. It could have used a good cleaning, a headlight was out when we received it, and the car had some rattling while driving. It drove OK, however. The more concerning thing was that the child safety seat Ice rental 4x4 provided was terrible. NONE of the car seats they had would pass any kind of safety standard in any country - they were all 15+ years old, dirty, in poor shape.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 13. Oct 2021
Good
Hi, the car smelled a lot of gasoline when we picked it up, it took 4 days for the smell to go away. The first two days it was pretty unpleasant.
Otherwise everything was fine.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 09. Oct 2021
Excellent
Great! Everything we needed for a week in Iceland at a very reasonable price.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 08. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Thank you so much for wonderful experience. Our flight arrived 30 minutes earlier and we hardly waited for the driver to take us to the rental office. The instruction you provided were perfect. The staff at the rental office was professional and pleasant . The car was exactly what we needed. We enjoyed visiting many interesting places and we are planning on coming back.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 18. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Easy check out/in. Good information on road conditions.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 09. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 06. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Great overall experience for us. I would use Lava again. The Dacia was exactly what we needed to tour Iceland. We opted for the portable WiFi and we’re able to use it to navigate and stay connected. That combination made our trip so easy. Your staff was friendly and prompt. The airport transfer was easy.
Constructive advice ; the airport shuttle driver needs a larger more visible sign. That was our only point of uncertainty using your service.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 15. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
I absolutely LOVED the Jimny. Only downside is it gets pushed around by the wind like a kite.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 11. Oct 2021
Excellent
The car was in excellent condition. The check-in process was smooth -- the only hiccup was that we didn't know to look for someone in the airport arrivals lobby with a sign that said MyCar. We went outside and followed signs for rental shuttle instead and ended up missing the shuttle that comes only once per hour.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 04. Oct 2021
terrible
the car was 200.000 km old !!!!
i think it we the oder rental car ever seen
the cross lights were not functional
it uses 10l/100km for such a small car
not very good to protect the planet
the driver door didn’t close correctly so i had to fix it manually with tools
when i think that it cost me more than 500€ i prefere to forget
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 04. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect. Very friendly people.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 08. Oct 2021
It's a good car. IceRental4x4 needs to do a better job of maintaining their vehicles. A couple things we found were:
1. tires were too worn out
2. windshield wiper blades were worn out
3. keyless fob were low on batter
4. vehicle was rusted in the front
5. front lights were not clear
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 05. Oct 2021
The rental camper we requested was not available. The company Nordic Rental planned to give us a six person camper, which was quite a bit bigger than what we had asked for. They also told us that, because of high winds, we would be waiving the insurance we paid for if we decided to take the camper van and recommended against us renting it. It would have been very helpful to know the risks associated with winds this time of year before getting to the rental company. Additionally, we had ordered a wifi hotspot that they were out of. The motorhome was generally not in great shape (check oil light turned on when we drove away), and upholstery had rips, etc. We ended up returning the motorhome and asking to switch for a rental car due to the condition of the motorhome, it being larger than what we had reserved, and the high winds. It was a difficult start to our trip. I would not rent again from this agency.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 03. Oct 2021
Good
Hi, it was a good experience whit a good car
rented a vehicle in September 2021