Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 02. Jul 2020
Fine
It was not what I ordered, one of the car was not cleaned and not filled with gas. But besides that it was good.
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 29. Jun 2020
Outstanding!
Perfectly! A new, fully equipped, reliable, economical car. Nice and professional service. Simply check-in and out.
Recommend!
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 06. Jul 2020
Good
The roof tent is super! The car was ok. But I expect newest car.
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 06. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 02. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
About company Star Car Rental
Quick, easy and no problem. Car ok, as described. Pick up and drop off at the airport without a problem.

About company Northbound:
Advantages only:
- flexibility - I changed the date of rental several times and there was no problem with that
- advance payment - you do not have to pay the whole amount right away, which was very beneficial in case of resignation
- quick and trouble-free contact
- competitive prices
- everything cool :)
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 07. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
The camper and equipment was exactly as described.
The mattress was comfortable and it worked well with the extension mattress, taking the mattress length to 200 cm (we are 189 and 183 cm tall and many camper mattresses were only 180 cm)
Pick-up from the airport was on time and Star Car Rental was very flexible on arranging to have the camper picked-up in the city instead of drop-of at the airport (for a small fee).

In two weeks we drove more than 2500 kilometres and had no problems with the camper. It’s very fuel efficient.

Only little thing was that the rented cooler box wasn’t very good at keeping things cool, despite the relatively cool weather.
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 25. Jun 2020
Good
My experience with Lava rental was really good. They were available for all my questions. The car was in good shape
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 29. Jun 2020
Good
The car itself war great and I had a good experience with it. However, I used this type of car already during my last trip to Iceland. It was a pity that it was so old (drove more than 250,000 km already in its life) and the display for the Diesel was broken. I had to fill it up regularly and the display still showed an empty tank.
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 09. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Waiting time for the shuttle was about 30 minutes, so that's okay. We were in the car with 6 other guests, without masks; I would recommend to avoid situations like that in these times of Corona. We drove more than 2500 kilometers with the car without problems, used about 160 liters of petrol. We were happy with the car, with Icerental 4x4 and of course with Nothbound.is!
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 10. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Hi Thordis,
due to a flight delay we had to pick up our car around 3am, but it was no problem for the Northern Lights staff. The car had some minor damages, but they were all marked in the contract form, and we knew that we booked a used car, also no problem. The booked booster seat was there, and the car was large enough for our 4 large suitcases.
The car was reliable and we didn't have any issue. The only thing you have to know about a Vitara is it's automatic stop feature. It was a bit of concerning stopping the car out in Iceland's nowhere and immediately the engine turns off. But after hitting the throttle, the engine always started again. Only the built-in GPS was disappointing, most of the addresses of the guest houses, hotels or activity meeting points were not fond. But a good old paper map and a handheld GPS receiver with open street map worked around this issue.
Due to another flight issue we had to extend the car rental by 2 days, which was again no problem.
As we booked the platinum insurance package, the car return was smooth as expected. The shuttle service was quick and the staff was very friendly. Thanks to all of you.
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 16. Jun 2020
Outstanding!

A pleasant trip by selected car on all roads including light off road, unforgettable views and surrounding nature :-)
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 21. Jun 2020
Outstanding!
Nice car but they Forgot my booking made the Day before and Car didnt turn up. Chasing it was a lot of work including Office closed In hours It claimed to be open
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 08. Jun 2020
Outstanding!
It was perfect for our needs
rented a vehicle in May 2020
Submitted 07. May 2020
Excellent
French cars are so funny...
rented a vehicle in May 2020
Submitted 04. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in May 2020
Submitted 12. Nov 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2020
Submitted 12. May 2020
Good
We didn't get a Suzuki Vitari but a Dacia Duster. We were satisfied about this car and also about the service from Icerental 4x4. Our journey took place in times of Covid. So we had as a result of cancellation to hire our car for three days longer. That wasn't any problem.
Only thing that could have been better was the communication about pick up. We had to call a several times before this was arranged.
rented a vehicle in April 2020
Submitted 21. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
We were met as promised in the arrivals hall and before long were taken the 5 minute drive to the base. Paperwork was completed swiftly and insurance options clearly explained. We opted for the full pack for peace of mind. Vehicle was in great condition and any marks or scratches clearly laid out for us to check. They also suggested we take pictures for our own records for when the vehicle was returned. Our stay was very enjoyable and the Tucson didn't let us down, even in some challenging road conditions. On return to depot the vehicle was checked quickly and signed off as all good. We got a ride back to the airport within 10 minutes. Excellent service, and a company I would use again and recommend to others.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 23. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Great service, picked up from the airport and taken straight to our car. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the car was in good condition, nice and clean and ready for us straight away. Would highly recommend.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 31. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was fine. Stefan took his time to show us a bether Car-option to rent than what we have choosen online. Everyone was friendly
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 01. Apr 2020
Outstanding!
Friendly and informative staff, great customer service and after using many car rental firms on my business and personal travels I must say they were one if not the best service I have had. Thank you :)
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 25. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Great car! And a guy from GO Car Rental was waiting for us upon arrival so we were able to get on the road quickly.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 23. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
The car was excellent.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 20. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Best experience for rental car so far, very nice and friendly people, picked us up on time from airport, checked on us before our flight coming here to make sure we were coming. Quick and clear instructions about their policies at the time of picking up the car. TIP: Advice to get the platinum insurance policy just to ease your mind.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 29. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Swift collection from the airport, quick paperwork completion and all round prompt and courteous service. Car was good, price was good, whole experience was good. Would definitely recommend.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Good
We had a nice trip with a nice car. Because of the bigger wheels we could go olmost everywhere. Comfertable seats and a 6 gear. In the back enough space for two big suitcases.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 23. Mar 2020
Good
Good
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 19. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Everything went smooth, staff gave fair and full info, the car served us well.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Good
Had a good experience with the company! I recomand them. quick and clear.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 29. Mar 2020
Good
We generally had a good experience with our rental car from Northbound/Icerental 4x4. The Suzuki looked a bit weathered, but did his job. However, there are room for improvement with regards to the pickup service. We were at the airport with no hint of the rental company. I had to ring up in order to find out when we were going to be picked up. The person who took care of us was rather gruff and seemed to be rushing through the procedure. It felt a bit like he wanted to get rid of us as fast as possible.
With regards to the Northbound website we find it easy to navigate and provides a good choice with many good value options. The booking is easy and smooth.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
From start to finish the process was brilliant. The booking website is easy and straightforward, they just recommend the basics insurance extras and don’t try to rob you with unnecessary charges.
When we arrived to the airport we were collected straight away and dropped 10 mins down the road to collect the car. We ordered a 4x4 as we knew the weather would was due to be icey/snowy which was perfect. When we dropped the car off before our return flight, they checked the car and dropped us to the airport.
Everything was seamless and no hassle. Thank you, will definitely be recommending ☺️
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 21. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent car! Excellent service!! 10/10
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 17. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 18. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 21. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Efficient collection and return to the airport. Excellent value, we were upgraded to an automatic at no cost. Good standard of English (as with all of Iceland) and clear explanation of what not to do. Cars might be a little older than some are used to (still latest models though and not more than a couple of years I'd guess) but they are absolutely fine. I would recommend getting a 4x4 even if you don't think you will need it. We got caught out in a snow storm and I don't think I would have got back without 4x4. And to be honest with value like these guys you don't need to skimp.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 17. Mar 2020
The car was good.
The Service and the company wasn‘t as they barely could say „Hello,good morning“ or something Else. Really unfriendly - and we were Not alone with this opinion. You dont get a receipt about your deposit and when you bring the Car back you dont get a receipt either. They just say we closed the contract so we cant charge you anymore. Not very trustful. They go around the car and look for every little thing and of you dont made photos or a video before your leaving they will charge you because you have no Proof that the damage has already been on the car. Luckily we Made a Video - another couple Not. The drivers from and to the Airport were totally rude.
Wouldnt Book there again. Would rather Pay More money without any possible surprises at the end. And Even if you have a Package for the extra insurance they exclude the Most of it pzr of the contract. The only nice Person was The one when we arrived in the Office. Sad.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 19. Mar 2020
Excellent
Great customer service and prices are very affordable. We did not get the Dacia Duster but a similar car which was equally reliable. Pick up and drop off process were smooth also.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 23. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
The experience has been really good, no problems with the car and when I call for a little problem I got the answer quickly. The only negative point could be that the car was a bit old and we had paid a platinum insurance package.
All in all the experience has been perfect. Thanks.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 17. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 18. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Hello, Thordis,

Thank you very much for your message. My wife and I arrived home safely yesterday. We enjoyed our first trip to Iceland very much and we were deeply impressed by the country and the friendly people.

We also liked your company, Northbound, where we rented our car. The car was older, but it didn't let us down, was robust in the winter road conditions and very reliable. The support from the Northbound team was above average. The advice regarding various insurance policies was excellent. In addition there was a free shuttle from the rental station to our hotel in Keflavik.

Overall we were very satisfied. We can warmly recommend your team and wish you all continued success in times of the Corona crisis.

Thank you very much.

Helmut van Bentum
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
La voiture était impeccable, propre , sûre . Nous n avons eu aucun pb
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 13. Mar 2020
Good
Our dented car ran well: it suited its purpose if getting us to Reykjavík and then back to the airport. Would be nice if the people in the office knew what a smile was....maybe their fear of covid-19 has them seeming cold and unable to come around from behind the desk.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 17. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Everything ok with Fara touring vehicles,our car good condition and full safety for İceland roads.Thank you "Fara".
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 19. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
very good
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Excellent
excellent
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 24. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
I was very pleased with the Dacia Duster I rented from Northern Lights via the Northbound website. The airport pick up and delivery was speedy and the check in and check out very efficient with the rental company staff offering good advice on driving in Iceland. The car was book via Northbound. The site was easy to use and gave lots of options from various car rental companies. Prices were competitive and I was especially pleased that the price promise was honoured as the cost of my rental car went down after the original booking. I also liked the Iceland 101 online book which was free and provided useful information for our trip. Having read some horror stories about other car rentals with other companies in Iceland I am certain I made the right choice. The experience of Northbound and Northern Lights could not have been better and I can highly recommend both organisations.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 16. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
My experience with northbound and icerental 4x4 was excellent.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 16. Mar 2020
Good
It was a big and solid car; it was a bit heavy steering.
We felt save dispite the stormy and snowing weather.
rented a vehicle in March 2020