Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 11. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was great. The car was there and ready when we arrived. No wait time to check the car out. It was the car we had booked months earlier. The car was in great shape and performed perfectly. Returning the car was simple and quick.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Fine
Pneus usagés, mais pas que (portière qui fermait mal, signal lumineux de mal fonction, capot mal fermé, 260000km au compteur...). Nous avons crevé rapidement et ce cas est évidemment non couvert par l'assurance. Au retour, malgré la preuve de pneus trop usagés, il nous a été dit de faire une réclamation par email, sur lequel bien évidemment il nous a été répondu que la crevaison n'était pas prise en charge. Ne pas louer chez ce loueur si vous envisagez de rouler sur des routes F en Islande, si on vous donne une voiture comme la nôtre, vous êtes quasiment certains de crever. A l'inverse, pour une utilisation sur route uniquement, pourquoi pas, mais la sécurité de la voiture laisse à désirer.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 04. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Hi! I love this car!!!! It is pretty compact but so strong! I've been exploring so many hard roads on it, and it made its job perfectly! The staff was so kind and supportive! Special thanks to Grzegorz Walczyk (Lotus car rental)! You made my first day with your happy and funny mood and warm conversation! Thanks to Elizabeth, she was manage my order from a distance and did it perfectly. Highly recommend!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 04. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Overall experience was very good. Check in, check out process was really easy. Some topics that could be improved: it was difficult to find the right driver when arriving to keflavik airport. We were not aware theg we had to look for the 'ACE' sign. Battery was often low in the morning, even though we didn't have anything connected to it during the night. Internet device had a diffefent name than given to us Thank you, Mr Meszaros and the crew
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 04. Sep 2022
Excellent
The car was very good, the rental process went very smooth.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 10. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
everything perfect. Thank you
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 06. Sep 2022
Good
We were given Nissan instead of Renault in the end. The car was not in the greatest condition, but it was clean and worked well, we had no issues throughout our stay. The car came with sleeping bags, chairs, cooking equipment etc., which was really great. The staff was rather unfriendly and unsupportive, everything seemed to be a problem for them.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 06. Sep 2022
My friend and I picked up the van on the 27th at around 10:30 and left the office at around 12 o'clock. The extra pack of insurance was very well explained which made me and my friend consider it and so we bought it. We requested an upgrade for a Mercedes but unfortunately it was not available. When we got to the van that we were given, we were very disappointed and very worried about our comfort (since we were staying with it for 10 days). The employer who took us to the van had no knowledge of how anything works, not being able to explain anything. As we were eager to start our trip, my friend and I concluded that we would be able to figure it out on our own. The first night, when we checked into our camping place, we noticed that there was no way we could block the windows in order to have some privacy. There was only a piece of fabric that we had to tuck in some place. The box with the basic tools for cooking was not in condition: the pots and pans were not adequate, there were no lids, the pots were too big for the camping sized heater and it would constantly fall off. Later in the evening we found out that the heating system would start as normal, but after an hour or two would simply shut down and not turn on again. I called the office on the 28th where I explained the heating system situation. They told me that where I was located had no mechanics available, only in Hoff. So I said that as soon as we arrived there we would call. We arrived very late, so we knew it would make no sense to call. On the 29th, in the morning, we called the office and after an hour the mechanic, called Svenn, arrived and the first thing he said when he saw the van was that he saw the van a couple of days ago and that it needed replacement. He did say that the problem could be resolved temporarily by keeping the gas tank above the "half tank"full. I also took the opportunity to complain about the side door because it wasn't closing properly and the wind was coming through. After that, we left Hoff. We did as we were told and only turned the heating on with a full tank of gas. It worked but only for half of the night. The next night we tried again and the same thing happened (again with the tank always full). We called the office in the morning from Hgalteyri explaining the situation and that we would like to see a mechanic about the heating system, as the nights were really cold and uncomfortable. We did not get any answer. Nobody contacted us. Like we had explained in the office on the first day, we had limited time in Iceland and wanted to make the most of our time there. During the day everything went fine, but in the evenings it was unpleasant and not enjoyable at all because of the cold. We arrived at the office on the 5th of september where we explained the situation. My friend and I were very disappointed with the service provided and the lack of attention given to the problem. Again I would like to express my discomfort and the lack of quality of the van, given the price paid. In total we paid 1844,80 € for 9 nights, making it 205 € per day. At this price we expected more confort, especially at night. I would like to know, given the fact that it was in your knowledge that this van was not in conditions, and that we were fully insured, why we did not get a substitute car. I request some kind of compensation for the very bad and cold nights we had during our stay. Again I would like to give some attention to the equipment in the van. A broom, cloths to clean the van and proper pots and pans are very important and necessary when renting a van. Working curtains are a must.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 12. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent experience - convenient location, very friendly staff, easy pickup and return.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 08. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 12. Sep 2022
Fine
The motorhome served it's purpose, but it was just "OK". The emergency break on the motorhome did not work at all, which was dangerous when parking in a couple of tourist areas. The grey water drain constantly leaked no matter how we turned/tightened it. We paid for linen for 4 people. We got 4 pillows, 4 blankets, 4 bottom sheets. When we returned it we were told there should have been pillow cases and duvet covers...that would have been nice. None of the latches on the above cupboards worked, and only half of the curtains were there. So like I said, it served it's purpose, got us where we needed, and didn't break down...but the motorhome we had definitely was showing a lot of wear for the money..
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 08. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 08. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
This was super easy- pick-up and drop-off was really quick. All staff courteous. We got our Toyota RAV4 and got great mileage on our 7 day stay and trip on Ring Road, etc.. We ran out of time to do more F Road exploring- but Would definitely rent from here again- and having the Full Platinum/Premium insurance was worth the peace of mind and made for a quick car return!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 06. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 06. Sep 2022
My first experience wasn't that good. the agent at the airport gave me a car that was 250,000 Km old, AC did not work and the car was shaking on highway. Not to mention the Tire pressure light was ON and the agent just asked us to ignore it . i had booked specifically a 2019 car. i had to then drive back half hour after i left the airport to the reykjavik location which was closest in my trip , wait for more than an hour and then get a replacement. i would give you guys 1 start if it wasn't for Jan at the reykjavik location who helped me get a replacement car. I dont trust your agent at the Airport and will advice my friends to be VERY careful dealing with him.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 01. Sep 2022
Worst experience I’ve ever had. Finding your shuttle driver was difficult. She was angry with all passengers. The agent pointed out MANY things that were wrong with the car when he gave it to us - multiple warning lights stayed on, dents, torn seats. We had to work on the driver’s door before we could get it to lock because the lock was falling off. The clutch is failing. I brought it back a day early but was refused a refund. NEVER again!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 30. Aug 2022
Good
Hello, We are satisfied with the service, however we allow ourselves some comments that can help you improve the service. No sign with our name on arrival at the airport while many other providers the bottom. Vehicle with a lot of shocks on the body, fortunately the return went well. On the other hand, HS windshield wipers at the front was the iron in contact with the glass. We found this defect as a big negligence for a country where it rains daily. Warmly
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 05. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The jeep was very comfortable on both 1 and f-roads. Does well on sand and gravel and in fog. Lotus rent a car were very professional, fast and easy to work with.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 30. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The car in general is good. Very comfortable, clean, and easy to drive on paved roads. Some points to take into consideration: - The Mitsubishi Multimedia system has some Android Auto issues and often stops working. It's not a big issue and is not a problem that Fara Car Rental could solve, but it's important to mention. - The car is not so appropriate for some roads, and Fara was very clear about that. If you plan to do more off-road and take some bad roads, consider getting a big 4X4. You can go with the Eclipse, but you are taking more risks. About the staff, pick up and drop process, I'm very impressed with how friendly the staff was with us.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 09. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
This SUV was great to drive all around the island, including on f roads and in the Westfjords. The hybrid also got really good gas mileage.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 03. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was excellent. With only 28000km it was essentially in new condition. The car was clean when we picked it up. The staff were efficient and explained the additional insurance products well. The Subaru XV was perfect for our trip around beautiful Iceland. The only downside was a lack of a backup camera.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 03. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I enjoyed my rental car and the pick up and drop off were very smooth. The one thing to note is that my car had a large crack on the windshield which I feel should have been disclosed at pick up.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 01. Sep 2022
Fine
Waited for almost an hour to be picked up from the airport terminal. Not one person was welcoming or friendly. I was given the keys and told to take photos of the car. That was it. Within 10 minutes of leaving the parking lot, a passing car threw a rock into the windshield, leaving a small chip. It was smaller than a U.S. dime. But when I dropped off the car a few days later, it was immediately seen and I was charged $875 U.S. dollars. Absolutely insane. I’ve repaired many windshields over the years and that will cost no more than $10 and take 1 hour to fix. And just like the first day, everyone was miserable looking and made the whole experience pretty bad. I will never recommend this car rental to anyone visiting Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 05. Sep 2022
Very Good
Car was great, clean and ran well. Review about drop off was due to delays in shuttle to office, lack of space to take our party to office resulting in main driver only going, delays in picking car up due to 10 people waiting at same time and then main driver having to find own way back to airport in the dark to pick up rest of party. Whole thing took 1 hour 30 mins from pick up time booked Rest of experience was very good.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 07. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I liked it very much. I made a trip around the island driving almost 3,5 thousand km. Average speed 90 km/h (due to limits) with a consumption of 6,3 l/100km. All wheel drive system allows for safe crossing of off-road roads. One suggestion - in my opinion that car should get new suspension or at least some maintenance service of suspension.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 31. Aug 2022
Excellent
Pickup from airport was bit tricky. Many more tourists arriving at same time then they can handle. Staff was working very hard and tried their best to process everyone as fast they can. It took more then 60 minutes to get vehicle. Throughout the process staff was very helpful and courteous.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 21. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 20. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great car and very sturdy. Was in great condition and there were no problems with it.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 06. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great rental. Came with almost everything you would need for 2 weeks. Has some electronic issues, but Jon resolved when we returned.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
I didn't get the 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara because of leaking engine problem , remote problem and bad state of wheels. It was an old vehicle of almost 300000km. I didn't take the risk so i was forced to change the vehicle for a Subaru XV. With an unjustified additional cost of 60€.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 04. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was as per arrangement and the car was great. It was an easy pickup once the taxi driver found the right door and easy return to the airport depot.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 11. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was great!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 02. Sep 2022
Excellent
I liked the one guy who drove us and helped us check in. Make pattern baldness, did the check on our car and he recently got a speeding ticket. Cool guy and beyond the prices are likely the reason I recommend this place again
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 04. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
Everything went great!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 03. Sep 2022
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 01. Sep 2022
Excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 13. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was in good condition for our 3 week rental. It handled all the F Roads and unpaved roads well. A spare tire was in the car, with a jack and a safety/medical kit. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. They did not try to claim damages to the vehicle that I did not cause, like some other car rental companies. Thankfully, they did not try to upsell mThe car was in good condition for our 3 week rental. It handled all of the F Roads and other unpaved roads. A spare tire e insurance that I did not want. My only critcism is that they could have done a better job cleaning the windshield (inside and outside) before the rental. Overall, I was very happy with the service and would recommend them.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 07. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was great! Well organized!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 31. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect thaks
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
Good
We lost 1h waiting in the airport. Your email stated that a shuttle will came. A bus came indeed but not for GoIceland customers. After some waiting we called them, and we waited and call them back 3 times until someone came. So if your email was correct the first time with the number to call to get a shuttle, we will have save a lot of time. then with Go Iceland, after the first refill a warning for controlling the injection shows up. The car speed curbs a lot and the car was not nice to drive after that. I contacted them and they told us that it wasn't an issue and don't offer to change the car. Last thing, their location in Maps is wrong so we loose a precious 10 minutes in the area of car rentals trying to figure out where was their premises.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 31. Aug 2022
Fantastic!
Instead of the Ford, i was given a Mazda 2. The car was good and altough ir showed an engine signal (it was normal as said by the staff) the car did very good! It drove me where i wanted to go! Good budget for a good car Also. All The staff were super helpful. Thanks!!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 06. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything went perfect!!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 02. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Hi! We enjoyed our time with the Dacia Duster. The pickup and dropoff with the shuttle was really uncomplicated and the contact persons were absolutely courteous. Thanks a lot! We will recommend Northbaund. Kind regards Margit Neuner
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 31. Aug 2022
Very Good
Waited a while for airport pickup but otherwise good service. The rental completed without any issues.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The camper was amazing and had all me and my family needed for camping in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 07. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Fantastic service, I got the vehicle I needed with tent for F roads. Everything worked as expected. Thanks
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 27. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
I had a great experience with Northbound and would choose them over and over again. They were quick to reply and very helpful through the whole process.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 03. Sep 2022
Great
Everything was nice and relaxed. The only thing to improve on: I would suggest to have a fixed sign post for pickup or a dedicated spot at the Airport. I and also others had to call Lotus one by one in order to get picked Up.
rented a vehicle in August 2022