Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

11910 Reviews

11910 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 11. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The car was perfect to accommodate a group of 6 in harsh Icelandic winter conditions. It drove really well, had ice spikes in tyres (very useful on icy roads). However, it had a dent (size of a human palm) in the rear bumper from a previous crash. I’ve never received a damaged vehicle in a car rental for full price. Fortunately, no impact on security or driving. Service staff on site was really nice, helpful with tips and the driver who took us to and from the airport was very nice as well.
Maros rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 11. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
They did an upgrade for me it was a Ford Kuga. Very quick and the staff were very polite.
Vlad rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 11. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Car hire was simple and easy. We were picked up from the airport and taken to the Ring depot. Paperwork was simple and we were on our journey very quickly. Return at the end was also very simple. I recommend Ring
Ben rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Good
Hello, we hired a 2023 JEEP COMPASS; Automatic from GOICELAND for 5 days. When we arrived, the pick up and drop off was smooth and quick and easy to find at the arrival hall. We arrived at the company office and was served by a woman at the desk didn’t introduce herself so I couldn’t get a name. She was rude, she just took our driving licenses and just briefly explained the speed limits by telling us to read the leaflet, and then after she gave us the keys and told us the car was outside without explaining the car description so we were just handed the keys and left. We then returned the car on the 8th of January, was severed by the same woman, had a parking fine for parking on the wrong direction of the road but none of this was explained on arrival verbally or on any leaflets either. She just said you need to pay even though this should have been mentioned. Her customer service was definitively not approachable or friendly and I wouldn’t recommend her to anyone.
Ramcel rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 06. Jan 2024
Fantastic!
Shawn rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 15. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Will definitly make my car rental thru Ivar again, everything was a breeze. He picked us up at the Airport, the rental facility is just a short drive from the terminal. Car was in excellent condition, dents and scratches were immediately shown and documented without even asking. We drove the whole ring road and not a single problem with the car, it even had spikes without any extra charges. Upon returning Ivar was already waiting and dropped us off at the airport. Never had a better experience with a car rental!
Manfred rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 17. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The rental was perfect. Hlynur was very kind and picked us up at arrivals. He described the vehicle to us and gave us advice on driving in Iceland. Very important: in the van there was an unlimited internet key for nav and internet. Very very cool!!! We paid and left. Completely self-service and quick return directly to the airport. Highly recommended
Danilo rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 07. Jan 2024
Great
Thank you for everything. The car was perfect for us for two people. The staff were helpful. Only one thing we recommend you: 1. Please ove the partition (separator) grid further back to make more space for some things (for example jackets, ski caps, gloves etc.) I think will be enough place for the luggages, but the driver can take off the coat and no need to get out of the car without a jacket in the wind in the rain or snow.
Laszlo rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 08. Jan 2024
Very Good
It was a brand new car, fully equipped andready for the snow and ice conditions. The service was also perfect!
Sven rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
TRES CONTENT DE NOTRE LOCATION JE RECOMMANDE
Charles rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
ok
Ivan rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 08. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Good car. Perfect for what we needed it for. Handled the wintery conditions well. Very quick and easy collection and drop off. Staff polite and friendly.
Caroline rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Very easy company to deal with. People were friendly and efficient. Car was perfect for the wintry conditions
Rebecca rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Using a campervan to travel around Iceland was the best way to see the entire country during our stay. I just wish we had went with a different rental company. To begin, they told us that we could use the camper battery to heat the van at night, while the engine was off and it should last 8 hours but it only lasted about 1 hour before the battery got below half charge, so we were cold the ENTIRE night, every night. Then, we would have to turn the car on to reheat the van in the middle of the night. One night, the battery of the van died while the car was still running (likely indicating there was something deeper wrong with the van). We called the 24 hour number to get assistance from the roadside assistance we PAID to have at our service and we were directed to find someone closer to us with jumper cables because they would have to charge more with it being after hours because it was 2am. So we just paid a local tow company $170 rather than use the 24-hour service to help jump our van. We were never reimbursed for this, when it was clearly an issue with their van and not us leaving the battery on when the engine was still running. To top it all off, a small crack was made in the windshield. We knew that this would need to be replaced but, again, we paid for insurance so no worries, right? WRONG! We were charger $870 to replace the windshield and told that you make the insurance claim later to get your money back. They said we would need to call back and request the final invoice to submit to the insurance and they would not just send it over to us. They had to make an ‘incident report’ about the windshield and this process to an additional 1.5 hours because they were busy and chaotic. Thankfully we allotted for extra time before our flight because this was not extra time that people normally would expect to spend dealing with a rental return. We also found traces of rodents living in the van at some point (hopefully not while we were in it) but the pillows had chew marks in it and there was chewed paper on the floor of the van that appeared to be a nest, along with fecal matter than we had to clean. I would advise you NEVER use this company for your rental needs. Please look into any other option for Campervans to see this beautiful country.
Madison rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 08. Jan 2024
Great
The car was better than average. Three small observations: 1) the rearview camera was easily obscured by water, even after cleaning, making it virtually useless, admittedly a design flaw which a rental agency would be unable to fix; 2) the car had no manual, meaning we had to search online to understand some of its features, such as the different drive modes; 3) the floor mat on the driver's side did not have an eyelet to hook onto the post on the floor, meaning it moved around as our feet moved around. The Go Iceland experience was better than average, with one exception: no one met us at the airport; we had to call and wait for someone to arrive. Had we been told this was the procedure, we would not have been disappointed.
Aaron rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 08. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
We had a great time in Iceland with the Toyota RAV4. We went around the whole island and saw a lot of this beautiful country. If we ever go back we definitely would rent al car again with MYCAR.
Lars rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 06. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Dacia Duster is good car for using in a ice road good balance. Recommend
Dumitru rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 13. Jan 2024
Fine
Positive points: - We rented a Dacia duster and got a jeep. - Customer support 24/7 - Drop-off smooth. Negative points: - The woman which was dealing to us at the pick-up was EXTREMELY unfriendly and scared us on all the ways we could get hurt and destroy the car in Iceland, she also pushed us to buy the platinum insurance. Although she gave some useful information to us, we felt really unhappy and insecure after getting the car. - although we had the platinum insurance, the cars didnt come with tires with spikes, that make it EXTREMELY dangerous to drive in icy roads. We were not informed about that until we found ourselves in a dangerous situation. We thought that it was standard in Iceland in winter, and it seems that for other rental companies it is. This feedback was also given to the rental company direclty. - Although the car that was given to us was hybrid, it was unable to charge by itself while driving. We tried to charge the car but appropriated cables to charge it to a station, were not provided.
Vinicius rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 10. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
it was a ford toug or something but yes very good vehicle in the snow
Scott rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 11. Jan 2024
Good
Passenger door was broken and we ended up having to switch vehicles the next day
Bryan rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The only thing that was a bit tricky was the lever to open the gas tank. It wasn’t really working properly. I had to find something to keep the lever up and go to the tank and try to open the little door. Otherwise, very happy with the service. Also, the WiFi service was great. It would have been so much harder to follow gps directions without it. Was very reassuring to know that I was always within reach, even in more isolated areas. I am overall very happy with the service provided. Will definitely recommend and use again if I ever go back. Thank you!
Paulo rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 08. Jan 2024
General overview fine, But initial service was terrible. We need to spend time and change model car to have a better experience, with the staff trying to avoid any change and saying was everythin ok. We received an old model with no GPS, no heat system working properly, no USBs connection, no digital cockpit, old seats... We picked it up the 31st at 3am but after using it dyring the morning we came back to the office to complain. They said by phone it as all good, byt when we came to the office they finally changed the car for the same Duster model but newer model - so heat system and other accesories working correctly. As summary, we have to say it is bot good for the customer to receive this kind of old model car in Iceland (bad winter weather conditions). You should ensure not to have this old models for families. Another point is we were in total 10pax (3 cars) and logistics to pick uyp and return the cars from the office was not easy. Shutter bust was small and we need to leave people in the airport and only the 3 drivers to go to the office and back to the aiport twice everytime
Jordi rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 05. Jan 2024
Great
Perfect car .. hyper convenient…very good service .. amazing welcome. I wish in vibrer I had some tire chaînes in case of strong ice like we had
Gregory rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 02. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
MYCAR was absolutely perfect. Quick e-mail exchanges, always available to answer questions, shuttle services were quite good. The whole process was very transparent. Their staff is polite and very helpful.
Ingo rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 13. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
It was great to drive. Even the roads in the north. And the childseat was the best we could imagine, we also have it at home.
Mechelina rented a vehicle in December 2023

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.