Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 05. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The car was well cleaned and quite new (2 y.o.) very easy to drive and there is a good amount od space to fit everything you want in there.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 18. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The car was great and the customer support from Northbound was excellent. They went the extra mile to make sure everything was great. Amazing customer service.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 14. Jul 2021
The car and rental process was great. Unfortunately it did leave a bad taste in the end. I returned the car 1 full day early and did not receive a refund for that day.

Evan
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 17. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience with renting the car! Super easy pickup and drop off. We had to change our dates and the reply from northbound was super quick and with no charge.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 27. Jul 2021
Excellent
I was very satisfied with your outfit. The personnel were very knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with. The car however was not exactly what I expected. It looked worn and beat, and frankly I didn’t think it would make it around The Ring Road. But, it did, and so I was satisfied. Unfortunately I had an attack of kidney stones that forced me to cut my visit short and return home ten days early. That resulted of course in returning my rental to you early and the loss of ten days of use of the vehicle. Quite an expense for me. Up to the time of my kidney stone attack I had a great time accompanied by great weather.
Thanks Rick
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 18. Jul 2021
Good
We very much enjoyed our trip and the camper van was a major part of that. It was very easy and comfortable to drive and find parking even in Reykjavik's city center.

Overall it was relatively comfortable for camping. The diesel heater was a life saver, even in mid-July. And it seemed to get decent gas mileage. The camping supplies were a bit of a mixed bag. The sleeping bags were great but the pillows were pretty sad. We ended up buying some inexpensive pillows at a discount store and leaving them with the van. The tea pot didn't have a way to close the spout which made heating water a bit of a challenge with the little camp stove in the weather conditions we were in, but not impossible with a little creativity. The camping table was a tad flimsy, and the camping chairs were a mismatched pair, one of which was not particularly comfy. The electric cooler worked well, but couldn't make it through the night with the engine turned off, and I found it worked best to move it into the cab at night so that it wouldn't get warmed up by the heater in the back.

As for our experience with Lava- Getting picked up at the airport went quite smoothly, and the driver was very friendly. Unfortunately the staff at the rental office were a little less so. They weren't particularly unfriendly just very minimalist when it came to communication. Additionally we ended up sitting there at the office for nearly 2 hours waiting for our van to be cleaned, with another customer, who had arrived nearly an hour after us, getting their vehicle (same make/model) before us seemingly due to their service agent simply being more attentive than ours. Returning the van was a breeze and the woman who checked us out was friendly enough and got us to the airport with plenty of time to spare.

Renting a camper van was the perfect way to experience Iceland as we drove the full Ring Road, followed by the Golden Circle, and a couple nights in Reykjavik. It allowed us a terrific sense of freedom to fully capitalize on the midnight sun not worrying about how late we were out and about as there was always a campground to be found.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 16. Jul 2021
Several confusions:. We got emails before we left from both Lava and Northbound. After a few back and forth emails I confirmed they were both talking about the same car. Added stress to our preparation. We were picked up after maybe 30 minutes of wait at the Iceland airport by a Lava van and taken to a Lava building. We had a low tire pressure warning light come on while in Akureyi. We called and were told not to worry about it. But there was a slow leak so we had to stop several times to top off the tire. Worrying about a flat tire is not a positive vacation experience. Finally, the rental agreement said we would return the car at 12:00. I remember putting in 2:00 for our 5:00 departure when I booked, but we didn't catch the mistake when we signed the paperwork so my bad. The Lava agent said they were scheduled to rent our car to the next person at 12:30. Given we had called about the slow leak I was surprised they were planning to send the car out again in 30 minutes. We arrived at 1:15 and they charged us $175 for an additional day instead of an additional hour rate. Seems excessive. I have rented cars all over the world and have not been penalized in this way for 1 hour and 15 minutes late. So overall a bit of a unsatisfying experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The car was in fantastic condition and performed even better than expected! Everyone at the company was friendly, professional, and very helpful. I would recommend this car and company to anyone! The Suzuki Vitara was especially fantastic on the f-roads and gravel driveways outside of the city.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 15. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
We had good experience with renting our car with Northern Lights. No other car rental agency could beat their deal plus a good customer service make them my favorites in Iceland. From their shuttle pick-up to drop everything was smooth. No issues faced and car was in a good condition. I highly recommend trying Northern Lights car rental while in Iceland. You wont be disappointed.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 12. Jul 2021
Good
The rental process was easy to do online, the price was good, no hassles at rental company when picking up car. My only complaint would be that we were given a different car with worn tires and of course we had a blowout about 23kmh outside of Reykjavik on our way to Vik. Called and they told us to put spare on and come to town to have tire fixed. Opened trunk....no spare, no jack, no lug wrench! They sent a man to us and he had to make three trips back to town to get right tools. He had us follow him to have four new tires put on ( no charge to us, thank goodness). After four hours we were back on the road to Vik!
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 12. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect for our needs! Easy to drive--probably the easiest manual I've driven and the clutch has a hill-holder, so no issues starting out on a hill. The mattresses were surprisingly comfortable. I brought an inflatable just in case and never blew it up. I'm 6'0", so the bed is a little short. However, we figured out that if you sleep with your head in the rear, you can slide the front seats forward and then I had enough room. If you're 6'2" plus, then you might have length issues. We drove the Ring Road with several detours (Seydisfjordur, Dettifoss, Hvitsekur, Stykkisholmur) and spent around $240 USD on diesel fuel, so less than the $300 I was planning on. Stereo has a USB, so you can charge your phone and play music from your phone if you bring a cable. Wish it had cruise control, but that was my only complaint. No A/C, but we didn't really need it. We only needed to roll the windows down on one day and only for a short time (10-15 minutes). Nights didn't drop much, so no need for a heater unless you plan on using in the wintertime. We spent 260 kr a day on ice, so the cooler is not a big deal. I'd happily rent again if I ever return to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 10. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
I had a great experience with Go Campers. Mechanically the van ran great and the check in process was easy to get on the road with minimal hassle. I rented the smallest, manual transmission van, it is pretty bare bones as far as the interior build goes, so keep your expectations in check, however the price was very good so it’s about what I would have realistically expected and it did have the cooking/sleeping necessities. If I had one complaint, it would be that I wish they offered return shuttle service to the airport. Airport Pickup was included upon arrival, but not drop off after returning. They will run you back to the airport for 60 euros, but it felt like a basic service that should be included. But having said all that, I would 1000% book with these guys again.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 19. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Nice, small, easy to park and operate.
But because of the short wheel base and width you need to be careful when driving a highway and on a windy day.
Great little car but next time I might go bigger.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 25. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Car was pretty comfortable to drive all around Iceland including Westfjords however for highlands I'd recommend something with bigger wheels. Star Car rental is a really professional car rental company. Everything was good and on time. I highly recommend them.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 23. Jul 2021
Unfortunately, the vehicle needed maintenance on the radiator leaked. We called Blue Car Rental they wanted us to stay put until they could find a mechanic to look at it. When they could not locate a mechanic, they authorized us to move on with our plans.
We had to refill the radiator regularly during our trip to avoid overheating.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 07. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
2017 Suzuki Vitara Automatic is very reliable. Staff is helpful and accommodating when I had to change the date of my reservation. Shout out to Óđinn for helping me with my reservation. You guys are great! Thank you.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 17. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Excelent
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 10. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Absolutely stellar customer service from Northbound throughout, despite several changes to our booking due to Covid etc. Thordis could not have done more to make sure we were set up for a great trip. The Dacia Duster from Lava did just fine too :)
Thanks again Northbound.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 13. Jul 2021
Excellent
Getting a 4 year old car ended up being a great decision. That car had a few scratches and dents, but they weren’t picky that the car had to be perfect on return. The diesel got great fuel mileage and this is important in a place where fuel is expensive. Saved so much money over getting a guided tour. Highly recommend getting the wifi hotspot and if you have American Express, see if that covers your insurance. They were a bit slow pickups up from airport and took an hour to get car ready. Overall a great experience and excellent value for the money.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Vehicle worked great for highways and mild 4wd roads
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 16. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent customer service from the staff at Hotel Asbru in Keflavik. Very clean and well maintained vehicle as well, would highly recommend renting from them.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 09. Jul 2021
Excellent
Our rental car treated us well.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 20. Jul 2021
Fine
We traveled to Iceland on a family vacation and rented two cars: a Mitsubishi Pajero and a Dacia Duster. We were unsatisfied with both cars.

The interior of our Mitsubishi Pajero was dirty, the windshield was full of scratches and cracks, it had worn shock absorbers .The car was supposed to be model year 2017, but the documentation that was in the car showed it was imported in 2016, made for the Eastern European market. The car looked more than 5 years old as rust was visible everywhere.
We have at home a VW Sharan, 16 years old, and looks better than 4 years old Mitsubishi Pajero.
If the car is really 4 years old, it means that the car has been maintained very poorly.

At pick-up, we pointed out that the Duster 's display indicates: the car needs to be taken to a car repair shop. But it was claimed that everything is fine with the car. While driving, it turned out that the car could not drive uphill at normal speed. We lost a day while we were waiting for bring us a new car. The new car had a flat tire after two days. The tire was not punctured, probably the tire valve was leaking or the tire was too old.
We have been visiting Iceland almost every year since 2009 and I must say that this year was the worst as far as car rental is concerned.
Best regards
Family Dalla Valle
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 17. Jul 2021
Fine
When doing the reservation there was no indication that the car has no aircondition. Had we known this we would not have reserved this car. This is something Northbound should have clarified in their site.
When the need for the AC first arrived and we realized we have none we contacted Lava. We recieved an evading answer and that was the last we heard from them despite a follow up letter we wrote them.

Regrdless of the above, the personnel at the site were very kind, nice and efficient, during both pick up and drop off.

Otherwise the car needs a front weel balance- it pulls to the right (from the first day we had it).
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 25. Jul 2021
Good
The Duster performed fine and Lava communicated well. For a 2017 vehicle, it had a surprising amount of km on it (nearly 200K), cosmetic body damage, and tires that needed patching during the trip. None of this proved a serious problem, but it would have been nice to know when renting, and better tires on the vehicle would certainly have alleviated some problems on the trip.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Quite an old car, but did the job. Had no problem getting us to Landmannalaugar and Askja, crossing several rivers on the way.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 16. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
My husband and I were very satisfied with our car choice. The office for pickup and drop off was very close to the airport. We didn't have any issues when on the road.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 06. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
This car was perfect for our trip and our service was great! The car was comfortable and easy to drive and just the right size. When we returned the car we were cutting it close to catching our flight, but Óðinn from Star Car Rental already knew that and did not hesitate to get us to the airport. Thanks again for a contributing to a great trip.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 05. Jul 2021
The shuttle service was EXTREMELY very bad. No one was at the airport with a sign waiting for us as the reservation confirmation has said there would be. After calling for a shuttle, and being told it would be 15 minutes, it still took another 30 minutes. After returning the car, it took 45 minutes waiting at your location to get a shuttle back to the airport. In neither direction we’re we given any assistance with our bags. I had to load my own bags and open and close doors for my family and other guests.

We reserved a car with GPS. When we got there there was no GPS. When I went back I was handed an EXTREMELY outdated portable GPS unit. It was so outdated that it didn’t even have the roads to get back to your own location!

The car was given to us dirty.

I would not recommend you. You have a lot of room for improvement.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 29. Jul 2021
Good communication and decent service. But the condition of the car was not at all what I would expect from a rental. Bald tires led to having to change a flat, end it was very overdue for service. Felt a bit unsafe driving it around for two weeks.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 16. Jul 2021
Excellent
In general I was very satisfied. The process of receiving the car at the hotel and returning it back at the airport was quick and easy. The car was in excellent condition and we had no problem. There is one subject that was annoying: the car was delivered with nearly an empty gas tank, I've sent an email to Lava company customer service which replied that I should return the car with the same amount of gas. This was a bit annoying. Full to full is the best and easy way to do it.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 07. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
This camper was perfect for my two grown sons and me! We each had a suitcase and we bought groceries for the trip. There is ample storage for carry-on sized luggage, backpacks and food. The cooler is like a mini-fridge and served us well! Get the extra cooler if you want to travel and camp for an extended period of time without making multiple stops for food. The heater worked great for the chilly nights and the cushions were comfortable. The blankets provided are adequate if you use the heater. Otherwise, opt for the sleeping bags or extra blankets. After getting the keys to your camper, check out the food exchange!!! We walked right past it but wish we'd seen it and taken advantage of it! The selection of vehicles here is the best I found and the customer service is excellent. We had an amazing vacation, due in large part to Northbound. I would rent here again in a heartbeat!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 02. Aug 2021
Good
Our camper was clean, well-serviced and fun to drive once we figured out the reverse. Would be nice to have some directions in English! But we loved it and we had a lot of fun.
We would have appreciated being able to contact Ice Rental when we were late. I realize that they were busy,but we were concerned that our rental would be given away.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 08. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
It worked really well for our group of 8.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 09. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Iceland one of the most beautiful country . One of the most enjoyable
Travel.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 06. Jul 2021
Car tires was in bad condition. During the trip I had to visit the service and change all the tires. Before that, one tire had to be replaced. The money was returned, but I lost on the exchange rate. The staff was polite.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 09. Jul 2021
Excellent
I liked the car very much! At first I thought it underpowered (I normally drive a Mercedes E-Class,
which may explain it!), but after a day I realised that if you use the gears a lot and accelerate hard,
it's quite sporty. The seats were comfortable, and we easily had enough space for our luggage (2
people). The tyres on the car we had were not new and one of them got a puncture and we had to
change it far away from any garage, but all went well! The car was clean and well presented at
delivery (apart from the wheels + tyres - which looked scrappy). The service from Northbound was
personal and excellent : I always received a response to my questions and problems within an
hour. My only worry was at the airport : there was no-one there to meet me and ringing the
emergency number only produced a recorded message. EVENTUALLY (after an hour of waiting) I
was collected. Check in and return at the end of the week were both fine.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 04. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The pick up and drop off was pretty easy, the car was in great condition, customer service was very friendly and helpful
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 05. Jul 2021
Excellent
The van was great. Easy to drive, very sturdy. A few things would have made it better. Another row of hooks on the opposite side. A seat that reclines a little or a lumbar pillow. A boot brush. And a line to let wet things dry in the van are just ideas. My only real complaint was that our blankets were absolutely horrible. Thank goodness we brought our own.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 06. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
It was a great car to rent while driving around the island. I also really appreciated the gas mileage and the fact it was diesel.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 09. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
This little car is a BEAST!! It allowed us to travel to the golden circle and the golden ring! The camping tent on top of the car was an experience, but we felt very safe when we used it to camp. The staff was very helpful and kind.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 03. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The car was in excellent shape, clean and fun to drive. The hybrid technology helped with fuel economy and the sport mode was great for passing. I only wished it came with a spare tire, especially with such remote locations.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 04. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
IT was absolutely pleasure to deal with this company as matter of fact they upgraded our car to suv for no extra charge
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 01. Jul 2021
Good
The car given was beat all to hell - but it ran perfectly, and we had zero issues. You get what you pay for in this instance - a car that works just fine, but is not very nice cosmetically. All in all - we were very happy with our experience.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 02. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 13. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
We had reserved a Toyota RAV4 but ended up with a Hyundai Tuscon which was fine. Rental experience was smooth and eash and price was reasonable. Mobile wifi was super helpful since we were traveling internationally without reliable cell service.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
No problem with vehicle except the low tire pressure light was on even though the tires were OK. They told us to ignore the light. Be sure to read the insurance options so you know what you are paying. The rate is much better than most rental cars. I got about 11 km per liter of bensín 95. It handles well on gravel roads but not a lot of power on uphill highways.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 02. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was great! We loved the 2021 Toyota RAV4 GX Hybrid Automatic from MyCar Rental. It took us all over Iceland and it was the best vehicle for our rugged travels! Thank you for your excellent service and for the high quality vehicle which made our trip so awesome!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 12. Jul 2021
Good
Car match exception, i enjoyed the tent on the car roof
No issues during rental
service was good
rented a vehicle in June 2021