Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 17. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
La voiture était impeccable, propre , sûre . Nous n avons eu aucun pb
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 13. Mar 2020
Good
Our dented car ran well: it suited its purpose if getting us to Reykjavík and then back to the airport. Would be nice if the people in the office knew what a smile was....maybe their fear of covid-19 has them seeming cold and unable to come around from behind the desk.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 17. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Everything ok with Fara touring vehicles,our car good condition and full safety for İceland roads.Thank you "Fara".
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 19. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
very good
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Excellent
excellent
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 24. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
I was very pleased with the Dacia Duster I rented from Northern Lights via the Northbound website. The airport pick up and delivery was speedy and the check in and check out very efficient with the rental company staff offering good advice on driving in Iceland. The car was book via Northbound. The site was easy to use and gave lots of options from various car rental companies. Prices were competitive and I was especially pleased that the price promise was honoured as the cost of my rental car went down after the original booking. I also liked the Iceland 101 online book which was free and provided useful information for our trip. Having read some horror stories about other car rentals with other companies in Iceland I am certain I made the right choice. The experience of Northbound and Northern Lights could not have been better and I can highly recommend both organisations.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 16. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
My experience with northbound and icerental 4x4 was excellent.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 16. Mar 2020
Good
It was a big and solid car; it was a bit heavy steering.
We felt save dispite the stormy and snowing weather.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 02. Apr 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 15. Mar 2020
My experience with Icerental 4x4 was frustrating. Upon arriving, I was told there would not be room for my party to travel together in their shuttle to the rental facility (15-minutes away) and that they would need to wait at the airport. My party was my wife, two babies, & I. Following a long international flight, being left in a foreign airport with no means of communication with two young children was not a good start.

When we arrived I asked the representative if chains, a tow strap or shovel was available. He was very short tempered and seemed offended that I asked, despite the fact that it was snowing and that all main roads in the south on road.is were blue, orange, white or closed. Visibly upset, he told me that I "have no business driving anywhere that I would need them and all F roads are closed". As a first-time Iceland tourist, I naively took this to mean we wouldn't need them. I was wrong. We stayed in Selfoss and only drove the golden circle on route 35 and route one to Jokulsarlon however, over our 7 days, route one was closed twice trapping us at various locations over night. I kept a snow shovel from our Air BnB in our trunk and on four separate occasions was able to dig vehicles out who had gone off the road or high centered on drifts in the road. I would've been able to assist more if I had a tow strap. With a young family it was very frustrating not to have the right equipment for the weather and risk the possibility of becoming stranded for long durations of time.

Our vehicle pulled hard to the right despite the tires being at equal pressure and smelled heavily of gasoline in the interior. Several others customers we spoke to at vehicle turn in spoke of the same scent issues and an array of other problems. Some of them attempted to trade in their vehicles for others of the same make/model and were flatly refused.


I would not recommend Iceland 4x4 due to their customer service and their fleets apparent lack of repair.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 18. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 16. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Car rental in Iceland is expensive but this site was by far the cheapest and used an actual Icelandic company. Great service from the pick up to return. The car was excellent. I would recommend this company and will use them again in the future!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 12. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Fantastic service. Really pleased with the whole experience. Booking through Northbound was super easy and well priced, the car was brilliant and exactly as described. The car was functionally sound. Everything worked great.
The pickup was on time and very helpful and friendly explaining everything to us, giving safety tips and suggestions.
Would definitely use again and will recommend them to anyone.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 15. Mar 2020
Excellent
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 17. Mar 2020
Good
The car rental worked all fine. Pick-up at the airport and drop-off at the airport was good and on time. Good communication before rental period. Just make sure you check the already present dents and scratches and take pictures when picking up the car (as you would do for all rental companies). Insurances are clear and not pushed to take an insurance. The car itself was good enough, a bit an older car with some mileage, but I choose for it on forehand. Overall satisfied, price vs quality. I would rent with them again.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 13. Mar 2020
Fine
It was a good experience with Lava Car Rental. The service was fine.
The car drives good, but the exterior had a lot of paint damage. It looked like the car was older than 2017, which we ordered. Fortunately no more damage. we like to come again.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 15. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
The employees gave us very good information about iceland and how to get around in the car.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 14. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
If you are going to rent a car in Iceland in March, rent a 4 wd. The Dacia Duster was reasonably priced and reasonably able for the road conditions we encountered, which included about everything. Good little car and a great trip.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 14. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
We were very pleased with both the the service provided by Northern Lights Car Rental as well as the vehicle itself. One small improvement would be to try to minimize time waiting for shuttle service from the terminal to the rental office me but once we arrived we were quickly looked after and on the road. Northbound.is made the process of searching and comparing very easy and the honest review were much appreciated.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 11. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Very nice people and easy to deal with. No massive red tape when renting through them. Very laid back approach.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 15. Mar 2020
Excellent
We had a very good time in Iceland and part of that was thanks to the sturdy car that took us across the island. The pick-up service was a bit unclear, but we were very happy with the service on location, both before and after the journey. The GPS system was a bit outdated and inaccurate, but luckily at all times there was at least one phone with good connection and access to Google Maps.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 15. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Good car. Gold price. Gold service.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
I absolutely loved driving this SUV! It was a manual and I forgot how much fun it is to drive them. A guy from the company came and picked us up early and took us right to the business in which he continued filling out our paperwork. It was very painless and quick. He explained to me all of the rules of the road for Iceland and made sure that we were set. Definitely a great company to rent from and look forward to renting from them again when back in Iceland
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 04. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
The experience with renting from this company was absolutely flawless! They picked us up earlier than what we expected to come in at. The driver was absolutely fabulous and he was also the person that did all of our paperwork for the vehicles. He showed us where everything was and explain the rules of the road for Iceland. Great price for great cars and will definitely look at renting from them again when back in Iceland
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 11. Mar 2020
Excellent
Very happy with the car received and their service. Car wasn't in mint condition but they've been honest about it right from the start, technically speaking it performed perfectly and this is what I've wanted the most.
Waiting time for the returnal of the vehicle can be improved, they've offered a fair warning on the timescales but I think that they can a better job with just a little effort. PS. Go for Silver insurance, was totally worth it for me as I've managed to chip the windshield and since I was insured they've been totally cool with it.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 11. Mar 2020
Good
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 17. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
We were picked up promptly at airport at time requested. Inspection at turning in the vehicle was prompt and appropriate, no surprises. Most impressively they were very accommodating when our flight was delayed several hours which made for a much less stressful morning. The vehicle was well used for it's age (2017) and had a lot of scrapes and dings (listed on the form appropriately), wipers however did not work well at all, which made it difficult to see at times. I wish we had checked that feature when we picked up the car.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 15. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Best car at best price
You need shuttle to go from airport to car rental but the service is god
Drive very safely!!!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 12. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
All went well with the rental vehicle.
The car rental company were friendly and helpful and we experienced no problems
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 12. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
We had an excellent experience even thought the duster we initially rented started to get some issues with the 4wd system. After a quick call and mail they decided it would be fit to replace the car with an even more rugged kia sportsage which proved to be a seriously good car. I would recommend anyone to maybe leave the duster for what it is and go with something a bit more capable (like the sportage)
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 14. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
We rented the cheapest camper possible and it got us around the ring road no problem during snowy windy march. The guy was helpful and we were sent an email with lots of helpful links as soon as we took the camper.

No issues when handing the car back. Included pick up and drop off at the airport. Hand overs were quick and effortless.

Everything mentioned was included.

Definitely recommend.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 12. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
No stress at all. It was easy to get the car and drive away. Nice friendly staff very helpful. It twas also very simple to return it at the end of our vacation. The car was good and fun to drive. We were really glad to have the Dacia Duster especially one evening when we pulled into our Airbnb long private street (over 200 mt) in the country, south-east of Reykjavik, and found that it was not plowed, and there were about 20cm of snow!! But with the Duster it was a breeze!!! That much snow was nothing for this car. with a different type of car we would have been stuck for sure. I would highly recommend this type of car. 
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 09. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Fantastic experience! Friendly pickup from the airport who took us to the car.

Vitara was excellent in the snow and rough road conditions. Good condition and great on fuel.

100% recommend this company
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 13. Mar 2020
Excellent
Nice car.
Nice place.
We will come back in summer time.
Philippe
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 14. Mar 2020
Good
The welcoming was rather harsh and stressed but the car was nice and the drop off also was very easy and kind.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Excellent
Rented an SUV with this company and only had two minor issues, which weren't terrible. The horn wasn't working, which could be dangerous depending on a situation and the window would not close all the way sometimes, which was a problem - we had to remember not to touch it to prevent it from happening. Overall, customer service was good, airport pick up was good, and the employees were friendly. Would rent from here again!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 30. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
We had great experience with CampingCars and Northbound. The tent on the roof is something unusual. I think everyone should try it.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 11. Mar 2020
Good
Suzuki Grand Vitara is good choice for winter time in Iceland. Just not forget to check tires because we asked about studded tires but received car was with usual winter tires.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 09. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
The perfect car for the streets in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 04. Mar 2020
Excellent
Was a great rental, a little light for the worst snow conditions, a full SUV would have had better road control but still fine if you take the worst mountain roads slowly. I would also recommend a diesel if you can get your hands on one because gas prices are very high. Otherwise a cute 4x4, affordable rental price and insurance.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 10. Mar 2020
Is always short of staff. There was one particular staff that could not handle working along and had to wait for a long time to get my vehicle.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 10. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
we ended up getting a subaru forester - which is all the better since it was more familiar to me.

It did everything we needed it to do flawlessly.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 15. Jun 2020
Outstanding!
Northbound were great from the moment we booked. We got several emails with all the information we needed. Ice rental 4x4 picked us up at the airport, picking up the car was quick and easy and then we were given a lift on our departure day. We’re already planning our trip for next year and will be booking with Ice rental through northbound yet again.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 11. Mar 2020
Good
Generally a nice experience, with everything advertised done to a certain degree. We did at one point have some problems with our car and Northern Lights were unreachable to help us. They apologised when we called later and again when we brought the car back but it still did not feel great. Staff generally nice and the car in order and a fine drive.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 08. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Our rental experience was great using Grand Iceland. The Landrover was clean, fully functional, good tires, and just what we were looking for to compliment our winter trip in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 03. Mar 2020
Excellent
I took platinum care for peace of mind and I was happy driving. the only thing which surprised me AFTER payment was a list of exclusions fr total package, for example insurance excluded assistance and rollover and doors blown by wind. this was not mentioned. anyways the car was fine but had few dents before rental and bumpers were not in perfect state and driver door had some issue closing. I believe that this was because I took the full insurance so company did not want to give their best car. for 140eur per 2 days I would expect a bit more. regards northbound all was fine.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 13. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was fine.
rented a vehicle in February 2020