🌋 For the latest information on Iceland's volcanic activity click here

Recensioni per
Car Rentals in Iceland

11769 Recensioni

11769 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 05. Feb 2024
Excellent
The cons: The car has a very high fuel consumption rate of about 7.8 liters per 100km and even being a very careful driver, I think it's too much for this kind of vehicle. The positioning of the window display of the velocity and speed limits can in fact be regulated, but unfortunately for a tall person like me, even putting the display in the minimum level I still could not see it completely. The GPS display is too bright for night use, it uses a white backgound that is very uncomfortable when driving, so we used our smartphones instead. I didn't try to change the settings, so, maybe it is configurable I really don't know, I just would suggest that if it's indeed configurable, you could put it in night mode by default. The tires are missing some of the snow spikes, but still they are good and secure, we didn't have any issue and never felt that we were driving an insecure car. The pros: Everything else other than the cons
Nuno rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 09. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
We were given an alternative car instead (Mazda CX-5) which was clean, well equipped (studded winter tyres were really good in the snow & ice) and was exactly what we needed. Pick-up and drop-off were hassle free (shuttle bus to/from the airport). The company were in touch regarding the recent volcanic eruptions which was appreciated. Would definitely book with Northbound again.
Tom rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 16. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
We loved the Jeep Compass that we rented from Northbound. It had all the bells and whistles, keeping us safe. We named it Chandler, because he would Bing warnings at us. It got us through snow, ice and slush with no problems. Great car makes a great trip.
Tami rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 06. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Everything was great! Especially when we returned the vehicle, the guy drove us right away at the airport since shuttle just left. Maybe just give costumers a tip on how to open fuel tank, it took us a while to understand how to manage it since we had to refuel during a freezing snow storm and at first it seemed not working. Apart from that, 5 stars!!! Keep staying "humble" and have direct connection to costumers!!! Really appreciated!!! Sure we'll be back to Iceland!!! Best Sam
Samuele rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 10. Feb 2024
Good
We did not understand that the pick up was from outside and that no-one would come into the building to meet us.
Roy rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 06. Feb 2024
Fine
Had a bad experience with Northern Lights Car Rental in the check in process: - different information in the invoices received (total ammount of 32.384 ISK or 32.051,42 ISK) - the 5.033 ISK ammount already paid was at first not being considered by the rental car firm as they wanted to charge the full ammount. Only after hard conversation I paid the new ammount asked (28.051 ISK) just to avoid more trouble even though it was above the ammount due - they tried very agressively to sell an upgrated insurance - the car was in very bad shape and lacked performance - the radio was not functioning
Tiago rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 15. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The car was very comfortable. It did so well in very challenging conditions. Plenty of space for us, our little son and luggage. We were picked up from the airport on time and dropped off without any problems. Staff was very helpful and provided us with all the details we needed. Would happily rent with them again.
Bozena rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 08. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The service and the car were both perfect
Roel rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 05. Feb 2024
Excellent
we wanted to rent car on diesel but unfortunately we got on petrol... However everything was good.
Filip rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 06. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The car was great, and very helpful with the big storm we had during our rental - thank goodness for 4x4! George at your offices was particularly brilliant as there was an issue with the boot door upon pickup. It wasn't opening fully (just the window section was working) and he spotted this from the office upstairs and came straight down to help us. It just turned out to be frozen closed as George had cleared the ice on the car for us and was working again by that afternoon. He even helped by calling a cab for us when we dropped the car back off. One item I wanted to suggest was some winter gear i.e. a brush and maybe a scraper to clear the ice / snow on the vehicle during the hire period. We managed without it but it would so helpful for tourists if this kind of equipment was in the vehicle as standard. If it's stolen, you can always charge back the hirer for the costs but personally, we would really have appreciated having this type of equipment in the vehicle, especially during the winter with the weather being so unpredictable :-)
Kerryn rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 01. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The car was given to us in absolutely mint condition, along with a set of winter tyres and snow brush and ice scraper. Honestly for the four of us it was the best deal for winter driving in Iceland. Despite the icy roads, heavy snowfall and strong winds, the grip of the car was outstanding and we felt very safe while travelling. The platinum insurance provided us with peace of mind, as the weather was quite rough. The full-to-full fuel tank policy means we could just take a car and go exploring on the first day without an extra stop for fuel. It was a pleasure renting from Northbound and I would definitely seek a car from them again in the future.
Anton rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 03. Feb 2024
Fantastic!
We had a substitute for a Toyota RAV4 - a Suzuki 4x4 hybrid- the car was great! All the nice extras- leather seats, heated steering wheel and seats, we loved the EV , very comfortable to drive - customer service at pick up and drop off terrific.
Robert rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 05. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Jeremy rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 08. Feb 2024
Took 90 mins to get my car, nearly an hour to drop off. Waiting at airport, ride to site, waiting in line, my car wasn't available, they "upgraded" me to a manual, I reserved automatic, had to switch again, third car, finally leave the lot 90 mins later, car needed alignment, had error on dash, gas tank wouldn't open, mirror broke in parking lot, they held me for 45 mins at drop off to fill out paperwork, nearly missed my flight, literally held the gate for me, last person on board. Worth paying extra to go with a reputable company at the airport.
Joe rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 25. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Dorotea rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 30. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The customer service was excellent with MYCAR. They were very responsive to emails, the shuttle picked us up from the airport right on time, vehicle pick up and drop off were super easy, the people working there were knowledgeable and friendly, and and the return shuttle was just as smooth. I can't say enough good things about our experience with this company and we will 100% rent from them the next time we're in Iceland. Thank you for a great experience.
Kristen rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 05. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Thomas rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
I really wanted To try out the car for the future. And I loved the driving. The only downside was the Not so bright headlights.
Oliver rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 29. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Car easy to drive and with good performance on snowy roads, we didn't have any problems
Daniela rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 28. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The car was perfect and literally saved our lives. We slipped on the icy road but managed to balance ourselves not to hardly. Hybrid car is amazing, saved a bit on fuel. Lava car insurance covered the damages and customer service is perfect!
Jiajun rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 28. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Thank you. The car was in good condition. The rental team at Icerental 4*4 was friendly and cooperative. The rental procedure passed smoothly. We especially admired the pick up and drop off at the airport. As a point for improvement we’d suggest having a faster email support and fixing the form on the website. But these two are minors really.
Yuliia rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 26. Jan 2024
Good
I'll share with you my thoughts about the car. Headlights were really poor and one of The bulps Was switching off. As A client I should be informed much earlier about The demages . Suspension was broken and the brakes was also not in a proper shape. All of this should be perfect especially in Iceland
Miloslaw rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 29. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Very nice. We washed the car before returning it. The employee said we don't need to do that as they would do in any case. So maybe this point could be clearer upfront. :)
Fan rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 24. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Everything was fantastic from start to finish. We love the car. It was comfortable and handled well and your service was fantastic we highly recommend you.
Gina rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 22. Jan 2024
Excellent
Mark rented a vehicle in January 2024

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

Prezzi come mostrati, nessun costo nascosto!

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Cancellazione Gratuita

Cancelleremo la vostra prenotazione su richiesta, senza domande, a condizione che ci siano più di 48 ore prima della data di ritiro.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.