🌋 For the latest information on Iceland's volcanic activity click here

Recensioni per
Car Rentals in Iceland

11769 Recensioni

11769 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 20. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Amazing car .perfect for anyone exploring iceland .those studed tyres are amazing
Andrew rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Feb 2024
Good
Hi Ivar, Jeep was fine. Only issue was windscreen wiper fluid was frozen on pick-up. We bought a new container but it wasn’t needed. Plane was late. Meet person very matter of fact, His meet board showed the car company amongst a few others so was not very visible on first look, not helped by me looking for a northbound guy! Return guys were more jovial. All in all a good experience.
Paul rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 22. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect
Glenn rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 25. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
My rental car process was very smooth. Before including insurance coverages, I found the most affordable cars from northbound. I really enjoyed the vehicle as it got me across the south coast of Iceland and back, but my favorite part was meeting the employees. They were all so kind and welcoming- going above and beyond for me that I never would have expected. Next time I'm in Iceland, I would repeat this process over again!
Alayna rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 20. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Great car and experience!
Stephanie rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 19. Jan 2024
Fantastic!
Simple to pick and to drop off. Friendly staff and car as agreed.
Adrian rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 20. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Great rental from this company. Clean car, with good condition snow tires. Can’t beat having a Toyota hybrid. Only negative is not being able to use American Express.
Connor e rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 22. Jan 2024
Good
Daniel rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 16. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
From start to finish, my experience with Star Rental was flawless. Their staff was very friendly and helpful. They answered all of my questions about driving to the south side of Iceland. The Suzuki Jimny was very cool mini truck to rent.
John rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 17. Jan 2024
Good
No one ever explained the insurance options to us, so when a rock caused a chip in the windshield we had to pay out of pocket for the repair as your company did not accept my personal auto insurance papers. We would have bought the insurance in the beginning if explained. This was very dissapointing and the reason I would not consider renting from your company in future trips or recommend to others I know traveling there. The car was fine and staff were very nice
Paul rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 18. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Our week in Iceland was fantastic, thanks to our 2022 Mazda rental! Navigating the country was a breeze, and the prices were unbeatable during our search for rentals. The complimentary airport shuttle was a convenient perk, prompting us to extend our rental by an extra day for just an additional 20 pounds! Without a doubt, we would choose to rent from here again!
Stefonie rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 11. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
They did an upgrade for me it was a Ford Kuga. Very quick and the staff were very polite.
Vlad rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 11. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The car was perfect to accommodate a group of 6 in harsh Icelandic winter conditions. It drove really well, had ice spikes in tyres (very useful on icy roads). However, it had a dent (size of a human palm) in the rear bumper from a previous crash. I’ve never received a damaged vehicle in a car rental for full price. Fortunately, no impact on security or driving. Service staff on site was really nice, helpful with tips and the driver who took us to and from the airport was very nice as well.
Maros rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 11. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Car hire was simple and easy. We were picked up from the airport and taken to the Ring depot. Paperwork was simple and we were on our journey very quickly. Return at the end was also very simple. I recommend Ring
Ben rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Good
Hello, we hired a 2023 JEEP COMPASS; Automatic from GOICELAND for 5 days. When we arrived, the pick up and drop off was smooth and quick and easy to find at the arrival hall. We arrived at the company office and was served by a woman at the desk didn’t introduce herself so I couldn’t get a name. She was rude, she just took our driving licenses and just briefly explained the speed limits by telling us to read the leaflet, and then after she gave us the keys and told us the car was outside without explaining the car description so we were just handed the keys and left. We then returned the car on the 8th of January, was severed by the same woman, had a parking fine for parking on the wrong direction of the road but none of this was explained on arrival verbally or on any leaflets either. She just said you need to pay even though this should have been mentioned. Her customer service was definitively not approachable or friendly and I wouldn’t recommend her to anyone.
Ramcel rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 06. Jan 2024
Fantastic!
Shawn rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 15. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Will definitly make my car rental thru Ivar again, everything was a breeze. He picked us up at the Airport, the rental facility is just a short drive from the terminal. Car was in excellent condition, dents and scratches were immediately shown and documented without even asking. We drove the whole ring road and not a single problem with the car, it even had spikes without any extra charges. Upon returning Ivar was already waiting and dropped us off at the airport. Never had a better experience with a car rental!
Manfred rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 07. Jan 2024
Great
Thank you for everything. The car was perfect for us for two people. The staff were helpful. Only one thing we recommend you: 1. Please ove the partition (separator) grid further back to make more space for some things (for example jackets, ski caps, gloves etc.) I think will be enough place for the luggages, but the driver can take off the coat and no need to get out of the car without a jacket in the wind in the rain or snow.
Laszlo rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 17. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The rental was perfect. Hlynur was very kind and picked us up at arrivals. He described the vehicle to us and gave us advice on driving in Iceland. Very important: in the van there was an unlimited internet key for nav and internet. Very very cool!!! We paid and left. Completely self-service and quick return directly to the airport. Highly recommended
Danilo rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 08. Jan 2024
Very Good
It was a brand new car, fully equipped andready for the snow and ice conditions. The service was also perfect!
Sven rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
TRES CONTENT DE NOTRE LOCATION JE RECOMMANDE
Charles rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
ok
Ivan rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 08. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Good car. Perfect for what we needed it for. Handled the wintery conditions well. Very quick and easy collection and drop off. Staff polite and friendly.
Caroline rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Very easy company to deal with. People were friendly and efficient. Car was perfect for the wintry conditions
Rebecca rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Using a campervan to travel around Iceland was the best way to see the entire country during our stay. I just wish we had went with a different rental company. To begin, they told us that we could use the camper battery to heat the van at night, while the engine was off and it should last 8 hours but it only lasted about 1 hour before the battery got below half charge, so we were cold the ENTIRE night, every night. Then, we would have to turn the car on to reheat the van in the middle of the night. One night, the battery of the van died while the car was still running (likely indicating there was something deeper wrong with the van). We called the 24 hour number to get assistance from the roadside assistance we PAID to have at our service and we were directed to find someone closer to us with jumper cables because they would have to charge more with it being after hours because it was 2am. So we just paid a local tow company $170 rather than use the 24-hour service to help jump our van. We were never reimbursed for this, when it was clearly an issue with their van and not us leaving the battery on when the engine was still running. To top it all off, a small crack was made in the windshield. We knew that this would need to be replaced but, again, we paid for insurance so no worries, right? WRONG! We were charger $870 to replace the windshield and told that you make the insurance claim later to get your money back. They said we would need to call back and request the final invoice to submit to the insurance and they would not just send it over to us. They had to make an ‘incident report’ about the windshield and this process to an additional 1.5 hours because they were busy and chaotic. Thankfully we allotted for extra time before our flight because this was not extra time that people normally would expect to spend dealing with a rental return. We also found traces of rodents living in the van at some point (hopefully not while we were in it) but the pillows had chew marks in it and there was chewed paper on the floor of the van that appeared to be a nest, along with fecal matter than we had to clean. I would advise you NEVER use this company for your rental needs. Please look into any other option for Campervans to see this beautiful country.
Madison rented a vehicle in January 2024

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

Prezzi come mostrati, nessun costo nascosto!

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Cancellazione Gratuita

Cancelleremo la vostra prenotazione su richiesta, senza domande, a condizione che ci siano più di 48 ore prima della data di ritiro.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.