🌋 For the latest information on Iceland's volcanic activity click here

Recensioni per
Car Rentals in Iceland

11616 Recensioni

11616 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 11. Oct 2023
Good
Car is ok
Marco rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 10. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
It was a great car for driving around Iceland. Comfy on the roads and very capable on the gravel roads too.
Neil rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 13. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was great! Customer service and our car were amazing! I could not have completed my amazing Iceland trip without this company. Thanks for helping make my first experience in Iceland as great as it was!
Gary rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 09. Nov 2023
Outstanding!
Thanks northbound for both such a high quality car that let me enjoy an incredible trip around Iceland and the customer service I received when I picked the car up. Everything was made exceptionally easy and the prices for what I got were well priced and competitively I loved exploring Iceland and mean to go back and will certainly be looking to hire from you again. The only reason pick up / drop off wasn’t perfect scores is I had a small confusion getting the number to call on arrival (I think as I booked third party) and was slightly nervous choosing the correct drop box at the end to return keys to as I was out of office hours return.
Jack rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 09. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
Booked a car through Northbound and picked it up from My car depot, Reykjavik office, which is 3 miles out of the downtown city area, but, easy to find (number 12 bus from the city centre and a short walk), the staff there were very friendly, professional and efficient. No question was too much for them. The car was in great condition and easy to drive . Dropped the car back at the Keflavik airport depot on a Sunday at 6pm - amazed to see they had staff still working at this time, so it was really convenient. They also shuttled us to the airport hotel as part of the service ( as the drop off is a 15 minute drive from the airport). Again, they were very friendly and helpful. Overall,, great service. Would definitely use them again ( although, as we inadvertently did some driving on the gravel roads of mid-west Iceland, I'd book a slightly larger vehicle!)
Timothy rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 10. Oct 2023
Good
Everything was good, thank you.
Ieva rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 17. Oct 2023
Good
The car itself was great… But, it didnt have a full tank of gas and there were dents and scratches all over the vehicle that were not noted when we picked up the vehicle. Luckily my gf suggested we videotape and take pics b4 we took off. However the dings and scratches were extensive enough that we thought it best to let the individuals in the office know.. which I’m glade we did but all this took an additional 30+ min in not nice weather. Additionally, 3/4 through the trip there was a weather advisory for high winds (over 50min) which eventually wreaked havoc with the forward collision sensor causing a warning to continuously go off in the center message area.. The individuals in the office were nice and responsive as possible about everything but it would have been nice if the vehicle was truly ready and fueled when we got.. not to mention we arrived 12hrs later than planned bc of aircraft issues.. so it wasn’t like they didn’t have time. Additionally I kept them updated with our changing eta. Again the people did the best they could, but clearly there is/was a gap w the intake/sign off of this vehicle. Additionally they said we only needed to bring the vehicle bk with 1/2 a tank.. which is great for us, but I hope this vehicle got topped off b4 the next person got into it.
Bradford rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 12. Oct 2023
Excellent
The rental was perfect. An engine oil service light came up during the rental but I was assured by the staff it’s not a concern and the car indeed ran fine for the entirety of my trip. Overall a quite pleasant experience nonetheless.
Martin rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 08. Nov 2023
Outstanding!
The car was perfect for our trip, and Camping Cars did an amazing job at Introducing and show how to use the car along with the roof top tent. The service and simplicity of the rental prosess made it effortless and joyful. I would definitely choose this company again.
Jan martin rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 11. Oct 2023
Fine
Good value for money. The problem was that when we arrived at the airport there was only one seat available on the shuttle so they told me to leave my wife waiting for me at the airport and come back later to get her or call a taxi for her. I didn’t like to leave her alone like that waiting for me to come back with the car, this is not good planning. A member of the staff was pretty rude.
Fabio rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 15. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
Stellina rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 11. Oct 2023
Great
The cruise control was vital to help maintain the speeds and avoid traffic tickets.
James rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 14. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
The car was in prime condition and it was an excellent choice for driving around the country. Every staff member, from shuttles to the reservations desk, was extremely helpful, corteous and professional. I highly recommend using Northbound and MYCAR again.
Cesar rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 14. Oct 2023
Great
Everything went smooth and easy. The instruction to reach the rental office were clear and the personnel nice. The car was perfect, with very good self-driving capabilities. Just a note: on the back trip from the rental office to the airport, you could have to wait more than expected due to the limited number of seats on the shuttle. This can be a problem if time is tight before the flight.
Alex rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 11. Oct 2023
Very Good
Insgesamt komfortables, einwandfreies Auto mit vielen Funktionen und Extras Auto war nur zu ca 70% getankt und gar nicht aufgeladen (Hybrid); es gab keine Einweisung in die Funktionsweise des Autos durch den Mitarbeiter; bei der Abholung vom Flughafen war uns nicht bewusst, dass die Autovermietung "GO Car" hieß und wir beim Meeting Point nach dem Schild suchen mussten
Lena marlies rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 10. Oct 2023
The pick up was great however lotus were not a good company to deal with - the staff always appeared rushed and were unaware on how to process the booking - the vehicle itself was dirty with the inside being wet where a hose pipe was used to clean it out - the windows were so dirty in film from smoking it made driving at night impossible and dangerous- the wheels were out of balance and so bad I had to drive two and half hours to return to them so they could fix it - whilst it was better it was still very bad and unsafe - Lotus refused to change the car and said they were fully booked - overall a bad taste was left and we were given an unsafe car which was probably against the law p
Lee rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 13. Oct 2023
Fine
The car itself was very good. The camper, however, was not to our satisfaction: There were two sites where it was leaking when raining resulting in wet mattress’ corners on the “upper deck”. The front left corner of the camper had already been fixed with Duct tape previously. The heating system stinks so heavily of Diesel when used, that we stopped probably after 5 minutes of using it. The provided gas stove had a problem with the gaz bottle. Initially, we thought the problem was due to the almost empty bottle, so we bought a new one, which solved the problem for maybe 3 minutes and then the flame would go back to minimal activity again making cooking very tedious. The fresh water tank had a big hole in it, so we couldn’t keep a reasonable supply of water in it. The entrance door to the camper is not to be closed by key we were told (so you’re supposed to leave it unlocked), nevertheless, it locked up on us twice, one time we had a really hard time to get it open again (the lock must have engaged spontaneously somehow), which is really great when you’re out in nowhere and can’t get back into your camper. Yes, we could probably have contacted Rent.is and arrange for a repair/exchange or whatever, but with a camper like this you’re off the beaten path and don’t want to drive hundreds of kilometres and waste precious time. The unit should be fully functional on takeover. Overall, we found the unit to be poorly maintained and for that reason we would not recommend Rent.is to our friends. The lady who checked us in at the start and the shuttle driver at the end of the trip were polite and motivated, all the others, well, not so much…
Igor rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 17. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
I originally went through northbound as a third party supplier for campeasy as they let you put down a deposit and pay the rest at a later date. I could not be happier with this company and will 100% chose them again. CampEasy was also an excellent company to work with, the van was comfortable, cozy and was perfect for our 2 weeks in Iceland. Customer service from northbound I cannot fault, they literally replied to any email or request within minutes.
Molly-jane rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 16. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
Good customer support
Jerrold rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 15. Oct 2023
Fantastic!
Josianne rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 06. Oct 2023
Good
Everything went well. Zippy car The only problem on our end was getting a full tank of gas at the end. We put 5000 idk to top it off. We couldn’t figure out the way to just let the tank fill. All else is good Mark
Mark rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 11. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
Piotr rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 09. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
Fantastic. For a week it has been like a friend and companion. Reliable and dependable.
Adriaan rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 15. Oct 2023
Good
Our car was great and reliable. We had no trouble navigating the difficult road conditions some of Iceland has to offer. We didn't take any F-roads but the road was still sometimes difficult to manage. The windscreen wipers for our car desperately needed reply, event before we picked it up and on a few occasions the front passenger side window was not working correctly and required manual support if the window had been rolled down. We were always able to bring it back up though after a few tries. Other than these 2 minor issues, we had a great experience with Go Car Rental and would use their services again.
India rented a vehicle in October 2023
Submitted 23. Oct 2023
Great
Macchina meccanicamente in ottime condizioni anche se con 250000 km. Unica pecca, gli pneumatici, senplicemente estivi stradali, mi sarei aspettato degli pneumatigi almeno M+S (mug and snow), se non degli off road, come avevano tutte le altre Duster viste in giro. A causa di questo abbiamo avuto qualche difficoltá nel fango e nella neve.
Massimo rented a vehicle in October 2023

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

Prezzi come mostrati, nessun costo nascosto!

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Cancellazione Gratuita

Cancelleremo la vostra prenotazione su richiesta, senza domande, a condizione che ci siano più di 48 ore prima della data di ritiro.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.