Reviews for Arctic Car Rental

We had a Ford Kuga
Was alright, enought space and easy to drive.

Rahel Sarah

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Gervais

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Good service. Quick. No issue at return.

Amelie

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

View all cars from this company

Click here

Actually was a dacia duster. No snow tires.

Carlos Andrés

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Nissan Qashqai

Our experience was very good. The procedure to take the car was quick and easy. The car was ok and we had a very good trip with our Nissan Qashqai. The only problem we faced is the fact that we could not find Arctic Car Rental offices (despite the fact that the name appeared on the shuttle bus that took us from the airport) and we were told that is now GEYSIR. We advise you to inform customers about this change. Moreover I want to say that your price was very competitive.

FEDERICO

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2016 Nissan Qashqai

We were not informed, that our booked car was not available due to an accident they day before. We got ‘slightly’ smaller car for 40€ less. But the smaller car was too small for our intentions so we asked for a swap. We were offered a bigger car in Reykjavik Downtown. So we had to re-arrange all our plans to get the car. The new car was a Ford Kugar in a very bad shape!!! Front tires extremely worn down to a minimum (which I told on return, but the assistant only asked if it was flat, if not, there wasn’t a problem). Seems like there is no rain, no wet roads, no aquaplaning on Iceland? The whole car was squeaking form inside. The fuel usage was enormously, 11l/100km while normal driving at 90km/h maximum! Half a fuel tank lastet for about 150-200km. Rear brakes where squeaking and making scratching metal noises also a lot. We choose intentionally a local rental company to support local rental companies...

Frank

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Ford Escape

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The car was very good. The right choice for the highlands.

Jens

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2019 Toyota Land Cruiser

Jiri

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was ok. One problem was that a building taking care of arctic rental did not have "Arctic" sign at all. So, it was a bit confusind to find right building. Car was a bit weared, it had engine Light on and something was maybe loose in front suspension. But, car was a budget car, I guess, so kind of ok for me as I am very experienced person with cars. Someone else could complain...

Tomi

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

I was overall happy with the customer service provided and I ordered an I20 or equivalent but I received a Fiat Panda which in my mind is not an equivalent car to an I20. Much smaller. I raised this with the person who served me to be only told it was an upgrade! Service and communication was good though so my only negative comments was the car I received which in my mind was not an equivalent.

Kevin

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

Hi, we were satisfied with the car, and the service.

Jacqueline

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Toyota Yaris

Great customer support and service on my recent rental from Attic Car Rental. The car was exactly what we requested, clean and full of gas. Everyone was super friendly and and the pick up and drop off process was quick and efficient. I'll be renting from them again on my next trip to Iceland.

Jordan

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Efficient and good value. Nice car in good condition.

Kenneth

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Excellent! Pick up to and from the airport was quick and easy. Staff were quick and friendly . We would definitely use them again

Nicola

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Overal it was a pleasant experience and we are very satisfied with the car and friedlyness of the staff, the hand over of the car and the return of the car was quick and easy. A few points to improve: At the airport you cannot see artic signage on the noticebaord where all the rental car company are listed nor had the shuttle bus driver any idea where your company was located only after we enquired with several people. By that time the bus was full and we where left out in the cold and had to wait another 20 minutes for the next bus. Another annoyance was the orange wrench which showed up when you turned on the car together with another sign. I asked your staff and they mentioned it need some service to change oil at 31.000 km and the car had only about 23.900 km. Later when we checked the information booklet it said it was the tire pressure which we could not reset nor do it at the gas station...

Agnes

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

We had an upgrade to a Jeep Renegade instead - it had everything we needed (including a heated steering wheel!)

Claire

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Renting through Northbound was not only less expensive than any of the other rental companies I found in Iceland, the vehicle was great, the staff was professional, and the entire process was convenient. I would absolutely recommend renting through them and will 100% be renting through them on my next trip to Iceland. Thanks Northbound!

Patrick

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Northbound and Arctic Car Rental were both great. I’d read hundreds of reviews from people having had horror stories with car rental companies around Keflavik airport and I honestly can’t see how that could have happened. Our experience was seamless. Arctic were professional and great value. Northbound provided a great rental comparison service and I will recommend this method to everyone. Only minor comment is that the Arctic Car Rental logo doesn’t show up on the many signs around the airport, only on the shuttle bus itself. However, they share an office with (or are possibly a subsidiary of) Geysir so just follow those signs instead!

Adam

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Hello Runar Thor ,
I am very pleased that I was given the opportunity to express my opinion on the subject of car rental from a company ARCTIC.
First of all, I thank the company that allowed us for the same amount paid to take the car earlier in 3 hours.
I was supposed to take the car to the central bus station, but the landlady where I rented an apartment helped us call the company and it turned out that we would get the car elsewhere in another company called GEYSIR.
On my first reservation I asked for a vehicle from the last two years and got a car with a mileage of 132,000 kilometers in my estimation a slightly older car.
When I received the car I asked 2 first requests that someone would come and explain to me about the car even though I had an active license for the past 48 years and second thing I asked for an address where to return the car at the airport.
When I left the city in the direction of our trip, I noticed an orange light on the central display, and since I was not a mechanic, I was a bit frightened, but since the bulb was orange and not red, I continued the trip until the evening we arrived at the town Hella...

Eli

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Ford Escape

Not Good:
- The checking of the car must be improved before leaving it to customers. It is not normal to get a car with a tyre completely out of order. In our case, a tyre exploded 1 day after getting the car. It happens as we were at low speed, but it could have been much more dangerous at 90 km/h. We saw with the garage manager that the tyre was was really very worn.

Good :
- web site for booking the car
- organization to get and return the car
- agreement with garage in case of issue.

Herve

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We rented two Dacia Dusters for a week. Both were good cars andere Ideal for Iceland.
We rented at Arctic. Good to know the pick-up is at the building from Geysir.

Sander

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was fine, just what we needed.

Joanne

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Elrick

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Actually i didn't get the Suzuki Grand Vitara, instead we did get a Toyota RAV4. But it was a great car, we were able to go anywhere we wanted without any problems.

Joris

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

View all cars from this company

Click here

We were a bit disappointed when the consultant at your check in desk tried to get us to hire a GPS as an extra, when there was an inbuilt satnav fitted to the vehicle. Also the passenger side windscreen wiper was torn, making it unsuitable for clearing the constant rain from the window and the headlights were badly misaligned. These faults were quite an oversight from your maintenance technicians.

Leigh

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The reviews were really impressive but I wasn't blown away or anything. I thought it would be more smooth with the entire rental process from start to finish. Not that it wasn't smooth but I thought it'd be super amazing because of all the reviews. Also, our USB conked out in the middle of the week and so we couldn't play music anymore. Also, we didn't have a Toyota Yaris, it was "upgraded" to a Toyota Auris.

Stefany

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2017 Toyota Yaris

Our flight was nearly an hour late but the shuttle transport driver was waiting for us. Great first impression. He was polite, friendly and courteous. Rare qualities. On arrival at the pick-up office it turned out he was a member of the staff behind the counter, not just a driver looking for a tip. Everything was explained in perfect English and off we went. Driving to Geysir I noticed a warning light on the dashboard that indicated a tyre problem. I rang the office and was directed to a nearby garage. The mechanic checked the Duster, took it for a test drive and stated "There's nothing wrong, these cars do that!". Seven uneventful (car wise) days later I was waiting outside the office at 4.30am to drop the car off at 5am and a member of staff was arriving for work. I explained I had an early flight and asked if I could get my paperwork done first. "I can do that now" she said...

Robert

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We got an upgrade to a Grand Vitara. That was a great luck as we drove more than 3000 km and the Vitara was very comfortable. Great service, no problems at all, fast handover at the airport. 100% recommendation ;-)

Ralf

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017

There were no issues, everything went smoothly from airport pick-up to return.

David

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

Evewrything as expected, very nice handover of car at the airport. Will certainly recommend to others.

Ketil

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara