Reviews for
Icerental 4x4 in Iceland

1847 Reviews
8.44

About

IceRental 4x4, a reputable car rental service in Iceland, is recognized for its superior vehicles and exceptional customer service. Their diverse fleet ensures a comfortable and reliable journey across Iceland's unique terrains. Northbound customers have lauded their efficient pick-up process, well-maintained vehicles, and the value for money they offer.

By choosing IceRental 4x4 through Northbound, you're opting for a seamless, reliable, and enjoyable Icelandic adventure.

Reviews

8.44
1847 total reviews
Good
5-Star
67%
4-Star
23%
3-Star
6%
2-Star
3%
1-Star
1%
Staff
8.4
Value
8.1
Cleanliness
9
Pickup
7.9
Dropoff
9.1
Condition
8

1733 reviews for Icerental 4x4

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from Icerental 4x4

Submitted 01. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Thanks for the great service!
Aik rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 01. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
nice people and fast services, the car was in good condition and driving was fun.
Carsten rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 27. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
We had a great experience! The employees were all very nice. We didn’t have GPS in our vehicle, so they let us use a mifi free of charge to compensate. Our two year old was also traveling with us, so they offered an extra sleeping bag for her. We tried to clean the car before we returned due to the snow and rain, but couldn’t find one to take a card. This was a nonissue, which was not what we saw from previous reviews, and they washed the car quickly in order to do the inspection. They were very prompt at getting us checked out and on our way to the airport.
Hillary rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 03. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Our experience with Icerental was great! Getting picked up/dropped off at the airport was seamless and made picking up the car very easy at an odd hour. The tent was great and sturdy, even in very windy (and sometimes wet) weather. One very important note is that the sleeping bags provided are *very* lightweight summer bags - if the temperature is getting below 10C at night, I would recommend bringing your own bag. Other than that, I would rent with Icerental again in a heartbeat!
Hannah rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 30. Sep 2018
Good
We were greeted on time at the airport and driven to Ice Rental 4x4's office. The driver was very nice. The vehicle we requested was not available and we were given a larger and older vehicle. While we appreciated the Jeep Cherokee on the gravel roads, it definitely used a lot more gas and struggled a lot going up hills. As well, a tail light was out, which we didn't realize until after we left and had to go back to tell them. We were told it was a fuse issue and would be fine. On our trip we also came to learn that only one lighter plug was working, which is an issue when you are relying on a gps and cell phones to guide you and the gps wouldn't work unless it was plugged in. And we couldn't charge our phones or keep our food cold in the electric cooler we rented. The rear windshield wiper and defrost also did not work. There were good and bad things about our experience. I would consider renting again through Ice rental 4x4 - if the price is right, but I do think they need to make sure all the vehicles they are renting out are in complete working order.
Jennifer rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 20. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent experience with Icerental/Northbound. Very reasonably priced. We were picked up from the airport and driven 10mins away to the rental space to collect the car. Car was newer than we were expecting and was perfect for our short trip. Took us a little time to find the rental space upon returning car (we had arrived in the dark so didn't recognise the area too well), but once we found it, the car was checked over and we were driven back to the airport. Would definitely use again and recommend service to others.
Kirk rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 30. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Little late for the pickup at the airport but nothing really bad, like 15 minutes maybe. Then the shuttle brought us to the office where we learned that since our 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara was not available, we would get a brand new 2018 Suzuki Vitara. The car was perfect and returning it was very easy. Will absolutely consider them again for our next trip.
Yannick rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 15. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with Icerental. Very personable and helpful workers; prompt and thorough service without pressure to buy extras we didn't need. Would rent again.
Karen rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 27. Sep 2018
Good
The vehicle performed well. We were happy with the choice. The only issue for us was the windshield wipers. They were damaged and by the time I noticed them, we had already departed for our tour around the island.
Andrew rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 21. Sep 2018
Good
Really nice welcoming at northbound and the roof tent is a wonderful invention
Martin rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 17. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Our experience renting with Icerental4x4 through Northbound was perfect. We had rented a Suzuki Jimny from 2011 but they gave us one brand new from 2018 instead for the same price. The car was in perfect conditions and the service from Icerental4x4 was great. We had a GPS included in our rental, they didn't have one available but they provided us with portable WiFi, that was indeed a better option. We would totally recommend renting with them.
Magdalena rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 15. Sep 2018
Good
Good! Worked out smoothly. The kitchen box was pretty well stocked, and my only real complaint is that the sleeping bags weren’t warm enough. We didn’t come to Iceland with camping gear because we knew he car came with everything, so we were unprepared for the chilly nights. But other than that it was just fine
Elizabeth rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 01. Oct 2018
Good
Lee chen rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 16. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
We had a great experience. Our flight got delayed & I emailed & they were there to pick us up at the new time with no issues!
Amanda rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 24. Sep 2018
Good
Renting from Northbound was a very easy process and the car and roof-tent we rented were perfect for our Iceland adventure! The only problem we encountered was that we were given a car with a broken gas gauge so we ran out of diesel and had to hitchhike to the nearest gas station. When we explained the situation to the Northbound employees upon the return of the rental they were very understanding and gave us a discount.
Carolyn rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 17. Sep 2018
Excellent
Overall most stuff went pretty well, although we had a few small issues (gaz stove not working, one of the sleeping bag was relatively bad and we were an hour late to be able to get our car). However, we found the staff really accomodating of our situation (eg we were picked up at the guesthouse we were sleeping in Keflavik rather than at the airport, and not trying to unfairly charge us for damage). Also the prices were very reasonable.
Kevin rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 19. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
The car we got was in good condition, just as the tent. Everything was clean and complete. Good service (they picked us up at our hotel) and open 24/7 so you can plan the most optimal trip for you. I would recommend!
Tim rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 17. Sep 2018
Good
Good price. Its very confusing at airport pick up with many rental companies with very similar names. A larger sign would help, plus driver should check our agreement carefully to make sure picking up right passengers; we got taken to wrong company. More care should be taken on safety features. Neither rear seat belts worked (one broken and one missing). Wiper blades needed replacing.
Charles rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 22. Sep 2018
Excellent
Easy, fast and a lot cheaper than with the rental companies.
Fernando rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 01. Oct 2018
Good
The car was ready when we arrived, and we got a fairly quick checkout. We rented the older 2009 Subaru Forester since we were already familiar with them and know them to be reliable, even when quite old. However this vehicle had a couple of things that did not work, which really should have. The front passenger side window did not roll down, the back windshield wiper did not function, and the driver's side window was barely functional, with a lot of grinding noise, so that we were afraid it would fail. So we wondered about the mechanical care and maintenance done on the vehicle. However, we accepted it and it did not have any problems other than those noted. (For perspective we have had and still drive a 1999 Forester in addition to our newer 2015 one and have maintained it in perfect working order. So we did hope for a better, fully functioning vehicle) When we mentioned these concerns to Icerental 4x4 personal they more or less shrugged it off, saying only that Iceland driving conditions are rough. Well so are those in both Alaska and Idaho where we have lived, and all the more reason to perform upkeep and maintenance on your vehicle. Fortunately we had no problems due to these issues, but we did worry a bit about the possibility.
Ronald rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 16. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Very good friendly delivered what we ordered
Isidoro rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 14. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Very happy with the Jimny. Loved to ground clearance which is very important due to the road conditions. Very friendly, professional and prompt service. Extremely helpful staff who gave great advice on driving conditions and what potential problems you could encounter when driving in Iceland.
William rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 24. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
The service was excellent. The booking, cancellation and payment process (credit card) was quick and easy. The car provided was as described and would highly recommend getting all the extra road coverage insurance.
Carl rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 14. Sep 2018
Excellent
Our experience was fine. The windshield wiper blades on the car were old and on a bit of a problem in the rain but other than that, the car met you expectations. The staff were encountered were professional and helpful.
James rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 17. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
We loved it. It had all we needed
Ramon rented a vehicle in September 2018

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.