Reviews for
MYCAR in Iceland

999 Reviews
9.41

About

MyCar Rental, conveniently located near the Keflavik airport in Reykjavik, is a trusted choice for travelers seeking a reliable and comfortable vehicle for their Icelandic adventure. Their commitment to customer satisfaction is evident in the positive reviews they've received on Northbound. Customers have praised the quality and condition of the vehicles, the smooth and efficient rental process, and the friendly and helpful staff.

One reviewer highlighted the spaciousness and comfort of their vehicle, which comfortably accommodated their family and luggage. Another customer appreciated the cleanliness and reliability of their rental, which contributed to a memorable driving experience in Iceland.

When you choose to rent a MyCar vehicle through Northbound, you're choosing a stress-free and enjoyable car rental experience. The high level of customer satisfaction and the positive reviews are a testament to MyCar's dedication to providing excellent service. Experience the beauty of Iceland with the peace of mind that comes from renting with a trusted and reliable car rental company.

Reviews

9.41
999 total reviews
Fantastic!
5-Star
88%
4-Star
10%
3-Star
1%
2-Star
0%
1-Star
1%
Staff
9.4
Value
9
Cleanliness
9.7
Pickup
9.3
Dropoff
9.4
Condition
9.6

956 reviews for MYCAR

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from MYCAR

Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Very nice car, easy to drive, clean.
Roland rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 25. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience with MyCat. Picked up and dropped off very efficiently. Definitely would rent from them again.
Kerstin rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
We had an amazing experience with our RAV4. The car was brand new and very very comfortable. The people working there were also very friendly. I would recommend MyCar to everyone that wants to live a wonderful on the road experience! :)
Vasiliki rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 31. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Almost brandnew car, people off MyCar were very friendly, very good rental conditions. I would certainly recomend MyCar rental
John rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 05. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Very good!!!
Blanca rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 09. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Our tours went well. The vans were perfect. We will be running a tour next August and will be needing two vans for approximately 12 days. We look forward to working with you on next years tour as well. We will be in contact for reserving the vehicles in late Nov. Thank you again sincerely Colin and Mike Nat Expo Tours
Michael rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 26. Aug 2021
Excellent
Along with two friends we made a last-minute decision to go around Iceland. For this we needed to rent a car and were immediately shocked by the costs of renting a car for 12 days on all of the sites we could find. The cheapest 4x4 car we could find cost EUR4000. After some intense searching, we finally found Northbound, where the Toyota Land Cruiser GX 4x4 was still available at only EUR2500 - waaaay cheaper than all of the other sites. We booked it quickly and we never looked back, as the car delivered everything we needed. There was a hiccup two days prior to our departure - we received an e-mail that our booking had been canceled due to the rental car provider (My Cars). Supposedly the vehicle was no longer available. After a couple of minutes of anxiety and mini heart attacks, we received an e-mail from Anna from Northbound's customer support, apologizing for the mess and together we were able to solve the issue - the car became available again, she booked it immediately so that we were not left without it, and she took us through the process of confirming the booking in order to make it official and avoid any problems in the future. So the customer experience was excellent (problems like the one described above can happen, but I appreciate the way Anna handled it). Would've been better, if that did not happen, but not much I can do about it. MyCar Rental also organized a pick-up at the airport, which was there, albeit we had to wait for about an hour. We did provide the flight information in advance, so they could've prepared better. Thankfully, I was able to reach them on the phone and their office was a couple of minutes away, so it wasn't a long wait after that. MyCar Rental stickers cannot be found anywhere at the airport (all the other companies are there, however), but the lady at the information desk was able to give us the information we needed. After arriving at the MyCar Rental office, we got the vehicle quickly, and had a look around the car, took photos of the couple of scratches (which were already reported). We only noticed the 2cm crack in the middle of the windshield later that day and took photo of that, just in case. The crack didn't affect visibility at all. Other than that, the car was in great condition and never let us down. We also received a pamphlet for N1 gas stations around the country where we could get 6 free coffees, and some discount for gas. What we weren't told, however, was that the only way we could get the discount on gas, would be to go to the cashier, show them a magnetic key attached to the ignition key, and then fill up the tank - we were told that we can use the magnetic key on the pump itself, but all we got was "Unauthorized" error message and no discount. N1 is the most common gas station around Iceland, but they're not always the cheapest, so while the discount is nice, paying attention to the prices on other stations was also something started doing a couple of re-fills down the road. All in all, I'd say we had a great experience with the Toyota that we rented.
Klemen rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 12. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
A great rental car. Comfortable, stored all our gear, easy to handle and love that it was a hybrid.
Nancy harlan rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 22. Aug 2021
Excellent
Everything went well actually, the car was good, the service was good
Patrick rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Thank you Northbound and My Car. We had a great car rental experience from start to finish. The vehicle was clean and exactly as described when booked. Well done!
Ronald rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Lidwine rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect car for a family camping road trip! The car has a lot of room in the trunk and is very sturdy. The car was like new (6000km), and very clean. Nice your staff that work at MyCar. Highly recommended!
Nils rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Good
Process was easy.
Melanie rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Very good car (large enough to accommodante 5 pax). Very good services with quick check in and check out procedures
Eric rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 12. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
This car was great for our week driving around Iceland. Loved that it was a hybrid and more fuel efficient. The trunk was bigger than I expected it to be and actually fit a very large suitcase and another bag.
Ashley rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The car is like new. MyCar were friendly and efficient.
Claudio rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 14. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The 2020 Land Cruiser GX was Awesome and performed well including on a few moderate F-road adventures. It was in great shape with less than 10,000 km when we started and ran well for us. With the Rocketbox we had room for 5 adults for 12 days around the Ring Road. Northbound was great to work with!!
Gary rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 05. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
I read a lot of reviews of car rental companies in Iceland before selecting Northbound and MyCar. The online experience of renting the car, a 2021 RAV4, was very smooth, and the folks at MyCar responded quickly to my emails. When we arrived in Iceland, a MyCar van picked us up at the airport and took us to the nearby MyCar office. The process of finalizing the rental and receiving the car was quick, the MyCar staff were very friendly, and we were soon on our way. We had the car for nine days and drove completely around Iceland on the Ring Road, with many side trips. The car performed great and the GPS system got us to all of the places we wanted to visit. Turn-in of the car at the end of the trip was also very smooth and we were soon transported to the airport for our early morning departure. All in all, it was a great experience.
Arnold rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 30. Jul 2021
Good
The car was great, perfect for a family. My only complaint is that upon returning the car was the person taking the keys said he was going to have to charge me for a tank of gas. I had literally filled it up just on the outside of Keflavik prior to returning it. I told him this, and he said the gas line had to be above the last line. So instead of being charged an entire tank of gas, I went back out with my kids, and proceeded to place another $2 of gas. Seriously. What is that, 250 ISK. Seriously?
Amy rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 26. Jul 2021
Good
Negatives: - We were initially not informed that MyCar Reykjavik office is not open on Weekends - WiFi didn't work. - Coming from the US, none of our credit cards has pins. MyCar didn't know that we need to buy prepaid cards at pumps. We were informed of this at a pump, but only after we run into problems for not having credit cards with pins. Positives: - The car served us well. - On one occasion we run into a problem with starting the car. MyCar immediately answered our call, and helped.
Zoran rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 27. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The initial pickup at the airport wasn't fully easy, and I needed to call, which wasn't explained in the email. The rest of the process was quick and easy. The vehicle was clean and in good condition. No issues at all. Thank you!
Alexander rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 02. Aug 2021
Excellent
The Car was as described and MyCar was very easy to deal with. Good customer support, efficient pickup and drop off and timely shuttles to and from the airport. I'd rent fro MyCar again.
Bryan rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 15. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
My car rental experience with My Car was very good. It was very easy to rent and employees were very helpful even though I had to make changes to my reservation several times. I got a 2021 Toyota Corolla Hybrid and it’s a great car to have In Iceland, very fuel efficient.
Yulia rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 23. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
I would highly recommend this rental company! Booking was easy and the car was affordable. I rented a 2021 Toyota Yaris Hybrid, and the car was quite new and very clean. The company picked me up from the airport with no issues, and within 20 minutes I was on the road. There were absolutely no problems with the vehicle during the 10 days I had it. Overall one of the best experiences I’ve had renting a car.
Joseph rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 15. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience working with MyCar. No issues with the car and was picked up and dropped off to the airport right away.
Kaitlin rented a vehicle in July 2021

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.