Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 11. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
I found it to be an excellent experience, the car was great, being met at the airport was awesome and the prices were extremely reasonable.
rented a vehicle in November 2016
Submitted 14. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
Awesome! Everything was smooth and easy and the camper worked out perfectly and better than I expected.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 14. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
These guys were great, very accommodating to my changing plans. The price i got for a 4x4 was the best I could find. And they guys were fun to talk to on the way to and from the airport
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 28. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
Excellent. Great service from start to finish !
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 17. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
There was a bit of a miscommunication when we arrived but it was fixed promptly - we had changed the date of pick up a couple months prior to our travels, and apparently Icerental 4x4 hadn't been notified of this. However, after waiting a while for our car to be dropped off we called Northbound to check on the status and they quickly remedied the situation. Other than this small hiccup, we couldn't have been happier. Northbound's customer service was great - I had communicated with them via email a few times prior to traveling and they always got back to me within the hour. The people I spoke with were very pleasant. Overall, we were pleased with the Jimny (especially the price, which was MUCH cheaper than other rental companies!). I would definitely go through Northbound again.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 08. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
The car was ready when we got there and really was great. I would say that it is difficult to understand the relationship between Northbound and Thrifty and I am not sure I was receiving the same coverage that I thought I was. It is very unusual not to receive any type of documentation after you returned the car. I think the representatives could mention the walking option to/from the rental car site to the airport. There were a lot of people waiting for a shuttle and we discussed should we walk for a while. We ended up walking and via the parking lot it was a much better option then waiting. You should let customers know it is an option. Overall great experience and we really enjoyed our trip to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 04. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
Very good experience with lagoon car rental. Very nice staff. Very good choice about car. Thank you for all.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 09. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
We had a very early morning arrival. Traveling tired is never fun and often stressful. The experience with both Northbound (super simple booking and great communication) and Icerental4x4 (on time and super efficient getting us on the road without delay) was awesome. Thanks to both of you for making renting a car for a long trip, just great !!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 08. Nov 2016
Excellent
The Jeep is very comfy and perfect size for us. Equipped with everything we need. Two tiny things we don't like are that it produces a lot of smoke and that sometimes the heater on the back has weird smell.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 06. Nov 2016
Good
Nice rental. Very good contact with Icerental 4X4. Not the most recent Suzuki Gran Vitara but it was still pretty good. We couldn't make real high mountains roads but it helped several times during harsh weather conditions, on other minor roads with some holes and several times also when we used F-roads, even if it was not for long distances...
Company chosen because it seemed really reliable.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 04. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
Quite positive. Good prices, good vehicle, helpful people (I showed up early and they were still able to work with me) .
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 12. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
Great service. Really friendly and informative. Would definitely use northbound for future trips. Highly recommended!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 04. Nov 2016
Good
Had a great holiday and the car was fine. I haven't got too much experience in 4x4 driving, it would be nice if you provided a short demo on how best to manage the car through tough terrain but other than that we found it comfortable
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 22. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
My experience with Northbound went as smoothly as it could get. The customer service was spot on and the car was perfect!! Ill be back again to visit Iceland and will definitely book with them again!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 30. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
i booking landcriuser but his ford vehicle . first day it not start drive . i change vehicle at rekjavik city and the lost time
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 31. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
We had an excellent experience driving a camper in Iceland in general, and renting from Star in particular. At the ungodly hour we arrived our host at Star took the time to welcome us with good coffee and cover the essentials foreign drivers must know. The camper was exactly what we expected and handled really well. The bed was very comfy and two people with modest luggage will find enough storage room. The curtains made a  pleasant difference! Suggestions: If you rent a camper bring a duffel bag instead of a suitcase (it won't fit in the space under the bed) and, be smart, get the gravel insurance... There is a LOT of gravel all over! Daniela M. US
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 31. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our jeep was the perfect vehicle for our Iceland adventure. Would rent again from this company on our next trip back.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 28. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
The service with northbound was very good. All you rent is inside. Very good and helpful is the GPS-System. The car has some stone strikes outside but it doesn't matter.
Otherwise was everything ok.
Best regards, Angela
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 04. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
Very good :)
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 01. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
Abbiamo affittato un Suzuki Gran Vitara per 8 giorni, prezzi molto buoni per gli standard islandesi. Si tratta di un rent a car locale, con un buon parco macchine. Quando sono arrivato mi hanno fatto scegliere il colore e mi hanno proposto un modello più recente allo stesso prezzo. Per quanto riguarda l'auto non era proprio nuovissima ma ha fatto molto bene il suo dovere. Lo staff è stato gentile e disponibile nel darmi tutte le istruzioni del caso, in un ottimo inglese. Al momento della consegna dell'auto vi lasciano anche un numero da chiamare 24h su 24h per i casi emergenza. Fortunatamente non ne abbiamo avuto bisogno.
In definitiva è stata un'esperienza molto positiva, consigliatissimo!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 26. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
An excellent service, a real pleasure to get so fast answer ... don't hesitate to work with Northbound !!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 24. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Everything was great. Service was excellent..staff very friendly..the car was almost new.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 21. Oct 2016
Excellent
I recently rented a 4x4 from from Northbound. They picked us up from the airport and drove us a short distance to their office to sign the papers. They upgraded us with no charge. In minutes we were ready to go. All went went. The explorer was not new but in great condition. It rained solid for three days and we could have used some new windshield wipers, but all else was fine. Our flight home left at 6am which was before their office was open. They made special arrangements for us to leave the car at the airport. So cooperative and good service. Its great to support small companies. I would definitely rent from them for our next visit.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 25. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
My experience was amazing with these guys. I made a mistake when booking and had arranged to pick the car up in Reykjavik when really we needed picked up at the Keflavik airport. I called them and within 10 minutes they were at the airport and drove us to get our car free of charge. They also thought the vehicle we booked was too small for the group (which they were very right) and gave us a free upgrade to a larger vehicle. Would definitely rent again!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 17. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 25. Oct 2016
Excellent
The 4 wheel drive was great for the local roads. Although we didn’t go on any “F” roads… some of the local ones were scary enough! (plus, they tell you NOT to go on "F" roads... for good reason, trust me!) The GPS is an antique... we got a local SIM Data chip and used that in a smart phone for GPS, which I would recommend. They met us at the Airport and made the transfer really easy...and you just drop it off on the way out in long term parking, also easy. There is a gas station at the right side of the terminal to fill the vehicle up... 4W drives suck gas...but we knew that coming in, and I would say this Santa Fe gets better mileage than my Toyota 4WD. The vehicle is a 2006, but in great mechanical shape and we had no problems... plus, we didn't look like tourists. The drivers in Iceland are super polite and the roads are curvy and narrow enough that you really do not want to speed. Hey, you're there to see the this incredible country anyway... slow down and soak it in. All in all, a great experience and I would highly recommend these guys. KK from Florida
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 19. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
The car rental was excellent--the staff was friendly and helpful, they provided us will all the information we needed, and they were easy to reach when we had questions. We ended up wanting to extend our reservation, and they were very accommodating. I recommend them highly, and will rent from them again if I return to Iceland (which I very much hope to do someday).
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 17. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
I liked it a lot. A powerful car! Was great on and off road.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 15. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Excellent service. Really appreciated the delivery to our hotel and that we could drop the car off at any hotel / guest house in Keflavik (and Reykjavik & Akureyri!). Good communication throughout and excellent price. Will use again when next in Iceland and have no hesitation in recommending them.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 09. Nov 2016
Excellent
great and helpful staff
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 15. Oct 2016
Good
THE BAD: Due to a communication breakdown, information regarding my booking had not been received by the car rental company, Lagoon Car Rental. After waiting 30 mins past the pick up time, I finally asked the owners of the hotel to phone the number I'd been given, only to find they knew nothing about my booking. Someone did eventually come and collect me but, as a result of the confusion, my departure from Reykjavic was delayed by over 2 1/2 hours.
THE GOOD: Because of the mix-up, Lagoon Car Rental upgraded me to a Subaru Forester, with GPS. The car proved to be a great vehicle to drive and my overall experience, renting a car in Iceland, was a good one.
(My rating reflects the inconvenience and stress caused by the initial problems with the booking.)
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 18. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
I had a great experience overall with Grand Iceland. Gunnie (sp??) explained everything very clearly as we picked up the campervan, and provided a lot of additional information that was really helpful for our trip. The van itself was extremely comfortable. Its very well insulated so I was not cold at night at all. It got us through the entire ring road with no issues. Would definitely recommend!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 27. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
The service was EXCELLENT! We really enjoyed our time in Iceland and the camper van was perfect for our needs. On our next trip to Iceland, we will rent again with them without hesitation. We definitely recommend Grand Iceland!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 14. Oct 2016
Excellent
Very nice car in Iceland. The staffs are quite straightforward and provide support for questions
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 24. Oct 2016
Good
The representative from Go Car Rental arrived at the airport on time to take us to pick our vehicle. After a quick familarisation of the car, a check for any external damage and being told where to drop the key when we returned the car we were on our way for 6 days exploring the southern part of Iceland. We hadn't gone very far when we noticed that the interior of the car hadn't been cleaned prior to our pickup but more importantly the warning light indicating that the left front tyre was low on pressure. When we stopped to check the tyres, the pressure in that tyre was correct but the rear right-hand tyre had low pressure. After inflating the tyre the warning light still showed the left front tyre pressure was low. We decide to continue our journey and to frequently check the tyres. This worked well until the morning of our third day when we found the rear right-hand tyre was flat. Staff at the hotel in which were staying were able to direct me to where I could get the tyre repaired at which time I was informed that there was a stone in the tyre causing a leak. Once the tyre was repaired we had no further problems other than the tyre warning light still being illuminated.
I emailed Go Car Rentals explaining the situation and they informed me that they were changing the people they had contracted to clean their cars and that they would reimburse me the cost of the tyre repair which they did in a few days.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Good
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 19. Oct 2016
Good
The car we rented from Northbound was great. Our only complaint was that it was locked in 4WD mode, as it was explained to us that previous clients had caused accidents by forgetting to use it appropriately. However, we found that driving the car whilst locked in 4WD mode in the city, proved quite frustrating, as the car was difficult to drive, especially when reversing.
We found the central Reykjavik office difficult to locate, but the staff were very helpful & had been trying to contact us while we were looking for them, but we didn't hear the phone.
Great car rental prices & good customer service. I would recommend Northbound to other travellers for car rental in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 18. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Hi Runar-
I was so impressed with how well thought out the camper van was! I had such a good time in Iceland, and was so happy to have the camper for remote viewing of the Northern Lights. What a treat! Thanks again-
Susan
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
This was a great hassle free car rental! It took a little time checking in and getting the car but this is usual when renting cars! The car was perfect for what we needed and the people at Lagoon Car Rental were nice.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 29. Oct 2016
Major issues.
- it took ages to get our car once we arrived at their shed
- the car already had major damage to doors which was marked down but the passenger door was always difficult to close. It seems that they charge for each new damage to repair the door but they are not doing this.
- I had an unfortunate incident with the wind catching the passenger door and damaging it. I confirm that this was my fault and
- They are also claiming damage to the front bumper where paint has come off but there are no dents or indentations. We had no other incidents with the car. We claim that the paint on this exposed edge was taken off in the severe sand/ash storms we experienced for which we had taken out insurance.
- Ice Rental 4x4 will not reply to my multiple emails to resolve the issue nor provide me with the required documentation for me to make a claim against my travel insurance in Australia.
BEWARE
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 10. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
It was perfect and made my trip to Iceland hassle-free. The rental car was as described and Gummi was a great driver and an excellent tour guide whenever needed. He not only accommodated all our requests, he also brought us to amazing places which we didn't think of visiting due to limited local information and knowledge. I would always and I am already recommending Northbound and Grand Iceland for those who are planning a visit to Iceland. Thank you very much for making my trip to Iceland with my mom and her friends so perfect and memorable!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Our first trip to Iceland was great! After arriving at the airport our first stop was to pick up our rental. Icerental 4x4 picked us up at the airport and drove us a short distance to pickup our vehicle. The Hyundai Tucson as an older vehicle but it got us around and had good gas-milage. We did a lot of driving around Reykjavik and the Golden Circle. The GPS provided came in handy but I highly recommend everyone to download the app 'maps.me' as it will NOT use your data. Neither will the provided GPS but we found the app easier to use etc. All in all, Icerental 4x4 was great. The staff were friendly and were able to answer all of our questions.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 11. Jul 2017
Outstanding!

An excellent experience.
Great professionalism. Our flight arrived in Iceland 3 hours late, and there they were, waiting for us.
The vehicle was in perfect condition and gave us all the directions we needed.
This year I travel again and I'm looking for a vehicle with them.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 03. Oct 2016
Worst ever car renting company, someone should met me at the terminal, after half an hour waiting made a phonecall just to find out we have to catch the bus to the office. No one said where the bus stop is or where to go off the bus. Thankfully car collection went smooth in a rainy day ( thats what i thought anyway) which was a mistake as i found out on return when they charged me 450 euros for very small stone chip which i couldnt even see on wet windscreen. After returning home got email from them telling me that they found some paperwork and it was old damage and they refund money i paid.
Just wonder how many ppl already paid for same damage?
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Very quick and easy. Thorough check of the vehicle before and after the rental. The car itself was very nice. Spaceous and comfortable. Overall a very pleasant experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 04. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Go Car Rental service is nice and the staff is very friendly. The car Audi A3 we rented is very new, we had good memory with the car during the trip in Iceland. Highly recommend! :)
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 03. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Good customer service. I was able to change my booked days easily.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 03. Oct 2016
Excellent
The agent that was supposed to pick up my group was late by 45 minutes. Other than that everything went smoothly. We got our vehicle without further complication, no mechanical break downs during the week, and drop went quickly and effectively. After the first day the staff was able to answer my questions
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 01. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
We were happy with the service and car. We got the Ford edge (although we booked 2014 Volvo XC60 AWD). The car was in the good condition. Our experience with Thrifty Car Rental was fine.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Had the Best experience, really Nice staff and professional
rented a vehicle in September 2016