ūüĆč For the latest information on Iceland's volcanic activity click here

Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

11769 Reviews

11769 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 05. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
La voiture était très bien particulièrement lors des fortes chutes de neige. Les personnes de Icerental 4X4 ont été sympa, efficaces
Claire rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 04. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
No problems, good service, good car.
Jeroen rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 04. Jan 2020
Excellent
It was a good decent car. We are satisfied with it.
Sander rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Perfect car to drive through Iceland in december. I trully recomended Dacia Duster and Lava Car Rental.
Isa rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Hired a 4x4 Duster from Camping Cars for 10 days in the middle of winter - wanted something that would be good for getting around the ring road no matter the ice and snow. Then realised maybe I shouldn't have hired a rooftop tent in the middle of winter...! Turned out very well though, the sleeping bags from Camping Cars were nice and warm, and the canvas on the roof tent happily keeps the weather out. The car itself coped perfectly with the snow and ice, and I think the jeep-style is more fuel efficient than a camper-van shape. Spent most of the time listening to audiobooks on the stereo via bluetooth - had the wifi router from Camping Cars and don't think I ran into a signal deadzone along the ring road. Kitchen box is well enough equipped for basic cooking, but most campsites had an electric hob to use anyway. Would definitely recommend Camping Cars.
Matt rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 05. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Efficient service both collecting and returning the car. Shuttle bus to and from terminal was straightforward too.
Alexander rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 09. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Fast and correct handling, the car was good.
Jens rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 30. Dec 2019
Good
Jan rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 02. Jan 2020
Excellent
The car was great, the cup holder fir the driver was uncomfortable, but that is a tiny detail and bound to the design of the car.
Janka rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Everything went smoothly, we got what we booked with no surprises
Alessandro rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Good
Generally satisfied with Dacia Duster. It was ok as we expected. Not happy about Polish shuttle bus driver's behaviour on Monday morning the 6th of January. He did not help passengers with their luggage which they were loading in the boot with difficulty. Did not even say hello. It is in a big contrast with a guy we met at our arrival - the service was perfect and very kind.
Anna rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 01. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Everything went smooth. Good price, great service.
Ruben rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Han xiang rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Camping cars was brillant. the staff were waiting for us to pick up at the airport on the 25th at 23:45 ! we are very thanksfull for that. The car was fine. comfy, no issues with it The staff show us all tips to use the roof tent and how to drive in security in Iceland. Best rental company I've seen in my all travels
Damien rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 28. Dec 2019
Outstanding!
Everything was good. Friendly personal, explain all what you need. Also conditions of rent are better than in other rental services.
Bohdan rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 02. Jan 2020
Excellent
Car was really great. In a very good condition, very clean and perfectly working in mechanically. Maybe the only thing it was the kilometres that it got because it was not a new car.
Julio rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 02. Jan 2020
Good
The car was great, easy to drive since it is an automatic car. It would be excellent if someone explains a little about the car such as when to use "M" gear, where one can set up the side mirrrors or which one is to press to keep car mirrors from frogging & freezing etc. The premium insurance is really expensive. It costs nearly as much as the car rental (42,000 ISK for 7 days). However, the road was easy to drive and it wasn't complicated to drive in Iceland at all since there aren't so many cars, especially from Bolganes to Dalvik and to Djupivogur. Of course, you have to be careful and slow down since road can be really slippery in Winter. The car rental company should explain which time to be given when you would like to cross the tunnel. I was informed that I would have 3 hours to cross the tunnel, so the time 10 a.m. was given. However, actually, you would have time from 3 a.m. to ~3-4 a.m. to 10 a.m. to cross the tunnel. Luckily, I didn't have to pay 3,500 ISK, but only 1,500 ISK. I was really nice that we were brought to the hotel (Hotel Berg). Everything was great, except the car insurance was really expensive. However, I felt relieved that nothing happened to the car. P.s. you shouldn't definitely drive off-road. It's better to book a tour to ice caves. Don't try to get there by yourself since it could be very dangerous. I saw some people driving off-road, e.g. to Jökursalon because he drove pass the entrance. Well, you could just drive further and there will be many opportunities where you could turn and drive back to the entrance.
Sopida rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
No problems with the car, all went well. Check out/Check in was excellent
Andrew rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 03. Jan 2020
Excellent
Vechile was too old needed maintenance
Delroy rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 09. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
We loved th e car we used. It was a susuki s cross I believe. It was great. The people at the rental place were very nice. It was a good experience.
Amy rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 04. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Your customer service was excellent when I asked them to change the timings. But the only problem I had is, I got manual transmission van instead of Automatic. The third party did not charge any money to cancel the booking. But northbound did not return my money.
Anil kumar rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 03. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
very well. nice company. genital staff. excellent condition car.
Xiping rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 30. Dec 2019
Good
Good car a bit short on power. Pity that the cruise control was in Russian an Cyrillic.
Aloysius rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 13. Jan 2020
Good
It was good but needs to improve the insurance things to be included in all the information in the website because we felt we needed to upgradevto the silver insurance it wasnt clear in the website when i booked it. It was the cheapeast but not ao much after the insurance
Karen mae rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 30. Dec 2019
Outstanding!
It was good. Car was clean and functioning as it should be. Service staff from Lotus Car Rental was friendly. Would be better if the staff could have given us a run-down of the buttons/functions of the car (signals, headlight, fuel tank button etc.) as I had to request for it. But not to worry, it wasn't a big issue.
Poh rented a vehicle in December 2019

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.