🌋 For the latest information on Iceland's volcanic activity click here

Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

11769 Reviews

11769 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Excellent
Our general experience with the company was good - customer service was fine, the car itself great. We also had a wifi, which worked very good, and a GPS with was the only minus of the rental - apart from addresses in the capital city, we had problems to find other addresses (e.g. of guesthouses) in other parts of the country. So we had to use google maps anyway. But in general, I recommend MyCar Rental.
Aleksandra rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Good
The car was not as new as expected and with a few minor bumps and scratches, but everything was fine. We felt secure in the Icelandic crazy weather. The staff were friendly.
David rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent service, we were dealt with promptly and professionally. Shuttled to and from the airport with no problems. I would definitely recommend Northern Lights Car Rentals and use them again!
Denise rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
That car was a beast! It was exactly what we needed for our time in Iceland.
Josephine rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 04. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Great experience with friendly staff at the desk. Quick hire and hand back of car. Car had studded tyres and was very safe, it even had heated seats and that was an added bonus. No qualms at all
Saleem rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
I was looking for a car to use during my one week in Iceland. Since it was winter time I really wanted a 4×4 vehicle. On most of the rental websites the prices for this dat segment was a lot higher then via Northbound. That and all good reviews I read made me choose this company to rent a car. I have no regrets afterwards. The car was great, it worked like it should be and everything from picking up to giving back the car went really smooth. It's hard to find a good company these days but I can assure you this one is. Would recommend it to everyone!
Stefan rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 05. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Great stafff very efficient service. Would definitely recommend
Paul rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 21. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Thanks for the perfect service. The car was really good and reliable. We had a great experience with Lotus Car Rental.
Ronny rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Very positive, they were friendly, efficient and accommodating.
Said rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 05. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
The whole experience was a breeze, right from booking online to being picked up and handed the vehicle and finally being dropped off to the airport at the end of it. The vehicle itself was in excellent condition and the latest model. Highly recommend the Lava Rental company and Northbound.
Caslino rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Good
I was never able to really try this vehicle since the front light was burnt out. However, the staff was very helpful in finding a solution and giving me an upgrade to a Volvo as well as the refund for the bulbs that I bought to try to replace.
Shawn rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Really easy and great experience! I changed my dates a few time and nothing was too much trouble - brill customer service
Hayley rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Loved it - it was an incredibly easy booking process, including making changes along the way via email, and the pick up and drop off was smooth and personal. The car was excellent also.
Gabriel rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 13. Jan 2020
Excellent
Fantastic service from collection to drop off, information given and openness, extremely helpful. Quick turnaround when dropping off at jeep rental. Everything was explained very well. Great quality Hyundai Tucson.
Denise rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
We were given a land cruiser and were happy with that.
Doug rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 04. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Northern lights Car Rental employees are very service minded. The car was good.
Kenneth rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Good
Driving the car was fine, except of the issues with heating, wipers quality and car pilot not working properly. I also found it very surprising that some cars are not equipped with USB charger and phone holder for the navigation purpose which affects the driving safety.
Piotr rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 13. Jan 2020
Excellent
Car was great (besides small electronics issues that jeep is known for) and whole process to get and return it as well. The price was also good, however there was no mention in northbound that there's fee (3%) for paying with non-icelandic debit/credit card the rest of a price and also no possibility to pay up front 100% in northbound.
Piotr rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Fine
Mirco rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Excellent
Picking up the car and taking it back was very easy and customer-friendly, the information service by email was very satisfying. The information about the weather, which would get worse, was very kind and helpful. I can recommend the Lotus Car rental at any time.
Peter rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Excellent
Extremely nice and helpful staff. Fast service and absolutely no hustle. Clean car as described. I highly recommend Lotus Car Rental. It was a great experience. However, for driving in winter conditions in Iceland I would rent a car of a higher class next time. While the duster was great driving on both, gravel and paved roads it had some flaws: When it was -15 degrees, I could not prevent the windows from freezing inside and for driving in intense snow (storm) situations snow/fog lights are missing, it could have a bit more power too. However, this has nothing to to with Lotus but only with my choice of car before the trip.
Johannes rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 09. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was fine with what you gave in the offer.
MiklÓs rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
The Suzuki Jimny we had booked wasn't available so we were upgraded to a Dacia Duster which was great - heat seats are a definite perk in the middle of winter! We had no problems with the car and everyone at the Rental Company was really friendly and helpful. We would definitely rent from the same place again when we return to Iceland.
Jeni rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 03. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Good company, currently one of the cheapest. Located 300 meters from the terminal.
Yanick rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Instead of KIA Sorento, we got Nissan X Trail, because of some unexpected circumstances. For us even better. The car was fantastic.
Grzegorz rented a vehicle in December 2019

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.