Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

12104 Reviews

12104 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 16. Apr 2017
Excellent
Oliver rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 18. Apr 2017
Excellent
Excellent, great. Recieved a small upgrade (Dacia - Duster to Nissan - Qashqai) under the same conditions. Car was delivered on the airport and a full explantion (speed limits, off-road driving, ...) was given. Car was in an excellent state, we really enjoyed it.
Walther rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 18. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
very good
Holger rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 02. May 2017
Outstanding!
courteous service, reliable, fair and excellent rental! we reviewed and researched and rented from lava for our six-day adventure with our nine-year old. lava did not disappoint! they picked us up from the airport and had a straightforward contract, and didn't mince words. we had a pretty cool sub-suv with studded snow tires. highly, highly recommend lava for your tour of iceland.
Heseon rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 16. Apr 2017
Good
ICerental 4x4 delyed to meet us at the appointed time which is 11:00 a.m. for 45 minutes (we landed since 10 a.m.and picked up baggages and waited around the arrival hall since 10:30 a.m.) Once the time is 11:20, we called them and they had us wait another 10 minutes which screwed up our traveling plan. We feel rather disappointed for not being on time and they excused something else that the flight was delayed and just arrived at 11:00 a.m. However, if so, they should have picked up no later than 11:15 a.m. Other than that, everything seems to be fine e.g. Type of car exactly the same as we choose (but the car size is pretty small to put all 3 big luggages (2 suitcases and1 big backpack in the rear trunk. We recommend to choose bigger car for more spacious trunk. GPS (free with the car) for us does not work well, we cannot find most places from spelling. It looks it is not up to date for the route. we'd rather use google map for better navigation. Returning car is very easy, just drop the key at the hotel reception and we called the rental office to pick it up.
Lertvit rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 20. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
It was great. The car was a 9 seater with good capacity for luggage & it was very comfortable with only 6 of us but we had full luggage space because of winter we had to carry lots of thick clothing. We rented this car from 7th of April for 10 days & could drive to almost all of the destinations even though the roads were covered with snow. The car had a very good grip & it was really fun to drive. We had a great experience altogether.
Narin rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 16. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Icerental was the cheapest option I found for an SUV for Iceland and they were so easy to deal with. They were communicative when I had questions about the rental and the vehicle itself, responding within 24 hours and sometimes even within the hour. We had a great experience - from when they picked us up from the airport, to our vehicle pick up process all the way to returning the vehicle. We had absolutely no issues and I would go with Icerental 4x4 again if I were to go back to Iceland.
Johnathan rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 11. Apr 2017
Fine
The agency Arctic Car was very friendly and there was no problem with them. Northbound service was great as well. However, the car was i) a fairly used and old model (177'000 km), the state of care was not good. The car was not cleaned on the insdide, the windshield wipers were not functioning ( I bought new ones which will get refunded by Arctic car), and the electronics were not functioning properly with low gasoline levels in the tank.
Philipp rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 18. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
good
Kritsuwat rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 23. May 2017
Outstanding!
The car was excellent and the customer service was even better! We had the car for 11 days and we slept in it half the time. super comfortable and reliable Thank you :)
Melissa rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 13. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
I would recommend this service to everyone, nice brand new car, low price, rental is conveniently nearby Jerks ok and there also are a few shops in the vicinity. But the manager was a bit pushing too much for additional insurance, but that's how rental works I suppose. This was the first ever I used and it was great experience.
Kirill rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 18. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was just great : good car, good people, great service and an astonihing country discovered.
Louchart rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 12. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
We rented a Dacia Duster from Icerental 4x4. The pick up and drop off were easy and went smoothly and the car was quite adequate for our week long trip through the South West of Iceland.
Terahn rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 12. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Overall, the experience was great! People were friendly and efficient. Car was fun to drive since I drive a mini-van at home.
Annette rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 16. Apr 2017
Excellent
Ended up renting a Suburu Forester. Good experience overall. Pickup and Drop-off from/to airport service was definitely a plus. Staff was able to clearly explain everything. Had a small chip on the windshield and still paid €98 for that given the gravel/sand&ash insurances which aren't exactly cheap. The other issue with that is when picking-up the vehicle there were already some known damages (chips) on the windshield. Perhaps the solution to that is to lower the amount (or even eliminate) the out-of-pocket €98 if renting for a long period of duration (because gravel insurance is paid daily). Chipping on the window is a common problem in Iceland.
Tianying rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 12. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Our rental was fantastic . The experience was awesome and much better than I expected. Thanks for making our first experience in Iceland a great one.
Maria rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 13. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
We had a new Toyota RAV4 and it was absolutely brilliant, really nice to drive and very economical. There were 4 of us travelling and we each had a large suitcase and a rucksack, this vehicle easily fitted all of our luggage in and had room to spare. We did half of the island from south west to south east, drove on non tarmac roads and also drove up a mountain track - the RAV4 handled really well and we all felt safe. The chap at Icerental was very helpful and even pointed out some slight damage to the wheel trim before we set off and advised us to take photos all around the car. I would definitely use Icerental again, they met us at the airport and dropped us back there too, all super convenient.
Donna rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 15. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
The staffs were helpful and help us to swap the car when we had an issue.
Siti fariha binti rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 10. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
The whole car rental experience went very smoothly. The customer service was friendly and efficient, and the Dacia Duster 4x4 car coped well with five passengers on both good and bad road surfaces and in a variety of weather conditions. There were no problems throughout the five day hire period.
Raymond rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 11. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
The camper from Star Car Rental was exactly as advertised. The staff were polite and friendly. They were able and glad to answer any questions I had about the camper and about driving in Iceland in general. Pickup and drop off of the camper was punctual and easy. I would certainly rent from them again.
Evan rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 10. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
It was a great experience and a very welcoming company. The car was also well equipped and perfect for our travels.
Leandra rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 10. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
We were very pleased with Lava Auto. We had read stories online that made renting a car in Iceland stressful. Then we found the Northbound site and booked through Lava. Everything was great - a fair price that included insurance and GPS, easy pick up and drop off and the car was almost brand new. We were very happy!
Efren rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 11. Jul 2017
Excellent
My experience was great. The price is not to beat and of course the cars are not brand new. I booked the cheapest class and got an old Nissan. It had seen its share of the Icelandinc weather which meant less stress for me that I would make any optic damage. The seats could be made to flat surface so that two people could sleep in the car if necessary. This car did everything without complaining once and the roads in Iceland are really not the most carfriendly. I need to reduce a few points from my rating because I never recieved a final concluding message of Rent a Wreck that everything is ok with the returned car and the 3 times I went to the office to ask something, nobody was there. But overall my experience was really good
Lars rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 16. Apr 2017
Good
I had a fairly pleasant experience. Only issue I ran into was they had no record of my vehicle rental when I arrived. When they were able to find it, they had given away my 2016 Subaru Forester because of a time conflict. They offered me a Mitsubishi Outlander instead (or I had the option to wait for a returned Subaru to be cleaned). Besides that, I had an easy experience with the company. Thanks!
John rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 19. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Staff were efficient and our rental car did not let us down. It had only done a few thousand km and it was clean inside and outside when we received it. Returning the car was a smooth process also.
Racheal rented a vehicle in April 2017

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.