Reviews for Star Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Star Car Rental
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Good
It was my first experience with a Camper car and I really enjoyed my travel with this Dacia. Everything worked and you have really space to put your luggage.
The only unconfortable thing was a fey water the roofcar and sometimes it was a little bit wet.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was good for the trip. No problem to ride around the Island on 4*4 roads. Clean. Team was nice and easygoing
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We had two great weeks with the car. Northbound was very friendly and very helpful. We were allowed to return the car in Reykjavik and only had to pay a small extra charge. The car was very new and in very good condition. We would always book with Northbound again.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Excellent
It was very good. It was quick and efficient with the renting and we were happy about the shuttle to and from the airport.
Only minor things to comment, like there being no lid for the pot and some of the plates and glasses had chips in them, but this did not affect our experience in a negative way.
The car was good to drive and spacious to sleep in, but the condensation was an issue as water would start to drip on us if we slept too late. I would maybe choose a different car next time.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 05. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Great service, the car was delivered to me at my hotel at the designated time. I got a tour of how everything works and all my questions where politely answered. The car was also good and clean and drove perfectly.

I would definitely recommend Northbound and Star Car over any of the big companies because of the more personalised service that they provide.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Good
From the organisatory point of view, we were very happy with Star Car Rental, we experienced an amazing client support with a very fast response rate. Especially because we had several changes in our arrival date due to the Corona-virus. The pick-up as well as the return of the rental car went also pretty smooth. The only minor drawback were two points with the car that we noticed during our trip. Both the breaks as well as the tires were too outworn and should both have been replaced much earlier. Everything else with the car worked out perfectly.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We were very impressed with the service provided. The Free pickup in the airport and the Quick service to get our vacation started could not have been better. We would highly recommend this company and will be using it again if we visit Iceland again in the future :)
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Tout était parfait. Voiture propre et en très bon état. Loueur disponible ponctuel et disponible pour la prise en charge et le retour du véhicule (Nissan 200)
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 11. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Great experience with Northbound for our road trip around Iceland.
We could pick up the car at our first guesthouse then drop it at the second one before leaving. We could even change our plans without any problem, Thordis was always kind and reactive. A good car too, perfectly clean and well-equiped. To be recommanded
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We rented a Dacia Dokker from Star Car Rental. And everything worked out great.
We where picked up at the airport, 30 min later we had filled out the papers, got a quick tour of the car and we where on our way. We had the car in 6 days and no problem at all.
Before hand we wanted to extend the car rental with one day. No problem at all Northbound support helped us out.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Excellent
Good, new car working perfectly - even if I would probably have liked to be recommended a 4 x 4 with some higher clearance even for the usual F roads in the highlands. A tad expensive maybe but service was good - so nothing to complain about.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Very good
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 31. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent. We always like a landcruiser as it’s so good on all terrain.
Some car hire companies don’t let you soecify the vehicle, only the type,which is annoying when you specifically want a particular car.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Good
Dear sir, The car was nice to drive and eco friendly except that there was no cruise control!
Please change this on your site because this not in the car!
I've driven 4000km and this was really tuff! Especially on the road ( 1) for speeding tickets!
Other request is above the bed I missed some space for clothes!
I saw this in a dacia. If you need more info let me know
Kind regards
Johan

rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 12. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Superb experience!The crew of this young company was available day and night(always with a smile)!The administrative side (pick up and return)was very laid back and relaxed.
A high Icelandic-coolness factor!Thx again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Very experience, the van was confortable, affordable and customer service very efficient.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Hello my name is Patrick.
I rent the Vitara for 12 days but our holidays gone about 13 days. So I rent this car 1 day to short :-/
It wasn't a problem for star rental! They gave us the car for one day more without problems :)
The people are very friendly and helpful.
If I go a second time to Iceland, I would rent again at the "star rental" my car :-)
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was very good, the camper was clean and in perfect conditions.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We had a very good time in iceland with the Dacia Dokker! It is a perfect way to explore iceland! Good to sleep in the car. It is also warm inside, we just used the heather a few minutes before we go the sleep. The Dacia drives good and it has a strong engine.
The service was perfect and friendly!
I can recomend everyone to rent a car by Star Car rental, It was also the cheapest one I could find!

rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 22. Jul 2020
Excellent
It was comfortable, had no issues on our roadtrip-- the car was well equipped and drove smoothly. Good experience overall
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 21. Jul 2020
Good
The Dacia dokker was very comfortable and easy to drive . Maybe it misses some horse power on certain road . There is also a little problem with the condentation at the morning but nothing very serious .
Thank you for the car and have a wonderfull life if we dont meet us again .
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
My experience was very good, somebody picked us up at the airport and we can leave the car directly at the airport by night. I liked it very much and I can recommand Northbound.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 17. Jul 2020
Excellent
Very comfortable van, perfect to explore the island with 2 people. Pick up and drop off without any problems. Tip: provide a cooking plate for 2 pots, that would have been more comfortable to cook.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 21. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 16. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 13. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Me and my girlfriend went on a trip around the Ring Road and had no problems at all with the car nor the service from Northbound and Star Car Rental.

When we arrived in the airport in Keflavik at 00.30 AM Star Car Rental were ready to bring us to our car, and provided us with good information according to the different rules about driving in Iceland as well as where to camp around the Ring Road.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 23. Jul 2020
Excellent
Everything was super nice, from the car itself to the customer service. Only minor complaint was the sleeping bags (which were otherwise great quality), they had a strong unpleasant smell of detergent the first couple of days.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 09. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We enjoyed very much our experience with the Dacia Duster. Comfortable for two, versatile, a good drive overall.
As a little tip: nights can be rather cold without an overnight heated cabin: 2 sleeping bags + 1 blanket is required
Northbound was of great help even when we changed our reservation 4 hours before arriving.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 31. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Awesome! Nice & clean - perfect for Iceland. And comfortable on long journeys - Thor and all at Star were super helpful & communication was quick & concise. Will definitely use them again!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 02. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
About company Star Car Rental
Quick, easy and no problem. Car ok, as described. Pick up and drop off at the airport without a problem.

About company Northbound:
Advantages only:
- flexibility - I changed the date of rental several times and there was no problem with that
- advance payment - you do not have to pay the whole amount right away, which was very beneficial in case of resignation
- quick and trouble-free contact
- competitive prices
- everything cool :)
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 07. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
The camper and equipment was exactly as described.
The mattress was comfortable and it worked well with the extension mattress, taking the mattress length to 200 cm (we are 189 and 183 cm tall and many camper mattresses were only 180 cm)
Pick-up from the airport was on time and Star Car Rental was very flexible on arranging to have the camper picked-up in the city instead of drop-of at the airport (for a small fee).

In two weeks we drove more than 2500 kilometres and had no problems with the camper. It’s very fuel efficient.

Only little thing was that the rented cooler box wasn’t very good at keeping things cool, despite the relatively cool weather.
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 04. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in May 2020
Submitted 12. Nov 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2020
Submitted 31. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Everything was great. Thank you so much!
The customer service is amazing. They answer right away and give you informations you need.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 27. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Star Car was extremely easy to rent from, had the exact vehicle we were looking for, had full coverage insurance for less than its competitors, and was conveniently located near KEF. Will definitely rent from them on my next trip to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 19. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
We spent 2 weeks in Iceland whit the mini van. Everything was good, all the staff was perfect for 2 people, the sleepingbag are warm enought. You brought the car where we was in reykjavik and you leave us at the aeroport, perfect! Just one thing: no coibentation on the bad, so we woke up everyday with a wet top. If you improve just this, everything can be perfect.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 16. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Great company to work with! The campervan itself was a great value and withstood all of our travels throughout the country. Check-In and Checkout were smooth and simple, and the staff was extremely personable and communicated quickly and effectively. Highly recommend!
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 03. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
After reading through some reviews I found that this rental procedure and company was the best option to choose from. I was not disappointed with anything. Everything worked seamlessly and I was completely satisfied with the entire experience. Will definitely recommended to others who plan on renting! Thank you!
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 03. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Was perfect fit our purposes. And we knew it from 2018.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 30. Sep 2019
Excellent
It was great. Only complaint that I have is there are exposed nails under the platform. I found them because my suitcase got caught and was ripped.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 26. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
The experience was great, from the back and forth beforehand to find the right van and insurance to pick up and drop off at the airport. The van was exactly what we needed (get the one with the in van propane heater, for real) and kept us comfortable, mobile, and warm for our trip. Everyone at Star Car and at Northbound.is was super helpful and friendly.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 09. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Easy to drive and reliable car, perfect little car to explore everywhere in Iceland!
Pick up on time with the car selected, perfect!
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 26. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
Our experience with Star/Ace Car rental was excellent. They were waiting at the airport with our name on a card......easy to find him and helpful with the luggage and made sure I knew where everything was in the car.. Quick check in and no surprises. Paid what we agreed to by email. Check out was easy and a quick drop off at the airport. Location only 5 minutes away. Highly recommend the Wi-Fi box over the GPS in Car. With the box, they connected our phones so we were connected the whole trip . We took the box(size of a phone) with us on hikes and touring Reykjavik. We always knew where we where while hiking and walking. Great local car rental, thank you.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 20. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
The Dokker was just the right size for me to get around with, find a parking spot where ever I needed one and provided enough space inside to feel comfy and store away my stuff. I would not have traded in the overnight heating system for the world - best way to stay cosy when it's cold, windy and raining outside in the nights. Highly recommend that.
It was clean, everything worked - an overall good experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 15. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
Great customer service, clean and reliable vehicle.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 15. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
We had a problem with our vehicle the second day. We had a quick response and the staff moved to exchange the vehicle.
fast service, competent and cordial staff.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 02. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 09. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
It was our first experience with Star Car Rental and everything was perfect. It was for a good price with full insurance, no hidden fees. There was an easy reservation and we paid just a small advance payment when making the reservation and the rest when we arrived. The communication was perfect and they always sent answers to our emails in a few minutes. They are very reliable, they met us at agreed time in the hotel by the airport what was much appreciated. They took us to the office, explained everything and gave us the car which we ordered. When we returned the car, they took us to the airport. I can highly recommend this company and would for sure use them next time too.
rented a vehicle in August 2019