Reviews for
GO Car Rental in Iceland

422 Reviews
8.85

About

Go Car Rental Iceland, a locally-owned enterprise, offers travelers a unique way to discover Iceland's awe-inspiring landscapes. Their commitment to customer satisfaction is evident in the numerous positive reviews. Renters appreciate the company's comprehensive insurance, round-the-clock emergency assistance, and the convenience of hassle-free cancellations. The company's diverse fleet of vehicles caters to every need, ensuring a comfortable and memorable journey.

When you book your Go Car Rental through Northbound, you're choosing a provider that values quality service and customer satisfaction, making your Icelandic adventure a truly unforgettable experience.

Reviews

8.85
422 total reviews
Great
5-Star
80%
4-Star
17%
3-Star
3%
2-Star
0%
1-Star
0%
Staff
8.7
Value
8.6
Cleanliness
9.6
Pickup
8.1
Dropoff
9.1
Condition
9.1

407 reviews for GO Car Rental

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from GO Car Rental

Submitted 08. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Everything worked out very well, drop off was easy and the station is right beside the airport.
Anja rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 10. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Mi sono trovato molto bene con Northbound (di fatto un intermediario) e con Go Car Rental, la società che ci ha effettivamente affittato l'auto. Entrambi i soggetti sono stati molto disponibili nel fornire info su quale auto scegliere e sulle strade che potevamo fare fra le "F" (le piste interne all'isola), su come affrontare guadi evitando di metterci nei guai non avendo noi alcuna esperienza di fuoristrada. Raccomando vivamente!
Enrico rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 01. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
All good. As I arrived on Sunday, I did not meet the staff member straight away. Had to wait a little bit. He said that he did not receive a flight number. But otherwise - it was all great. Will definitely use northbound in the future and till recommend to others.
Audrius rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 02. Aug 2017
Excellent
There are somehow some confusion with GO Car Rental and another rental company with almost the same name and color Logo as we were directed by the information center to take a shutter to the wrong place(wrong company) for pick up. Actually our flight arrived earlier and the lady from GO meeting us came but we were already at the other GO rental company. A small hiccup though. The lady handling the rental car handover was efficient and friendly. There must be a way to distinct the 2 companies so as to avoid future confusions for other users.
Keng chai rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 06. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
We spent 17 days in Iceland and had a very nice experience. This country is absolutly magical. The car was perfect: we drove over 4400 km, using many F roads, many rivers crossings, without any difficulty. We only had a problem with a punctured tire whose origin probably dates before our rental, according to the repairman. But it is difficult to detect this type of problem, especially since the tires were visually in very good condition. I recommend without hesitating Northbound. Thank you.
Antoine rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 29. Jul 2017
Good
It was all good. The only issue was that Frida told us that a) if we filled up in Reykavik and drove to the airport that would leave us with 3/4 petrol which is how much we received the tank at, which was not true at all b) Frida did a pretty hard sell trying to get us to take the extra insurance telling us far fetched stories about sheep, grit, ash .. pretty much anything was going to make us harm the car
Jason rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 28. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
My experience was smooth and easy. The guy from the rental texted me and waited I get my luggage. He waited in the arrivals hall. I Got upgraded cause my car wasn't in stock. When I returned the car, they gave me a lift to my hotel. Great car! Great service!
Oded rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 28. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Had a really good experience with Go car rental, the staff was really friendly and flexible. Best prices I found for that kind of car ! I recommend it clearly !
Nicolas rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 19. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
good
Stan rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 16. Jul 2017
Excellent
Pick up & drop off of the car was easy, clear & hassle free. Instead of a Polo I got a Clio, but a very clean & new one. I'm happy I opted for the full insurance package. Although I did not end up in sand or ash storms, July was the month of quite some maintenance and road repairs. I did end up with some chips on the hood, but luckily at no extra costs.
Inge rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 24. Jul 2017
Good
There was all the time a jellow light indicsating that the tire pressure needs to be checked. I tried to fix it and phoned to your office, where i was told not to care. Neverheless worrying. No psper in the care, giving instructions, what exactly this warning meant.
Reinhard rented a vehicle in July 2017
The Supplier Response:
Hi Reinhard, We're sorry to hear about that. There is a button on the screen in the VW Polo, where you can reset the tire pressure and than the light will go away, we did that to the car once you returned it and all is good! Was the light on when you got that car? That's very strange, but if it came on after you got the car, it might have been a good idea to check the tire pressure.
Submitted 09. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
I travel the world extensively and rent cars almost everywhere I go. My rental vehicle was provided clean and in great condition. The service employees were very helpful and gave great customer service. I recommend them and would rent from them again.
Nelson rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 11. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Very good expérience.
Amaury rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 02. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Great job by all the team of GO Car Rental: everything went seamless and even beyond our expectations. First of all, it is a great idea to settle the base outside usual busy locations like airport or city center, and offer a pick-up and drop-off service (which I guess gives you a cost advantage that you are able to transform into lower prices for customers) - well done! But most importantly, all the GO Car Rental employees whom we dealt with were extremely friendly, efficient and truely customer-oriented. We have got exactly the car that we had booked, the Subaru XV was almost brand new and it ran smoothly both on main roads several hours long leaps as well as on some pretty steep tracks and even through rivers in Landmannalaugar. When we decided to extend our car rental by another day, GO car easly found a solution for us: first by offering us another car for that extra day with the airport drop option (which we we not aware about initially), and finally finding a way to let us stay with our dear Subaru till the end of our trip. We have had zero incidents or any kind of bad surprises through our 1 week trip, except for one little episode when we realised that we have lost the front license plate (most likely while crossing one of the rivers). That story has been settled in 2 minutes upon our return with a reasonable fee that we paid for the plate. Two small tips for future improvement: 1) Please mention the airport drop opion on your booking page - this may be very helpful for planning the rental itinerary. 2) Please ask the car dealership to use more solid plastic frames for fixing the license plates: we have learnt from one of your guys that only during that same week 3 plates have been lost because the frames broke, exactly like ours. We really appreciated the way the GO Car team works - keep it this way! Dimitri
Dimitri rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 04. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience. Everything was as expected.
Sandra rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 03. Jul 2017
Good
Overall great rental experience. Go Car Rental representative was at the airport arrival hall upon my arrival with my name on his sign. It was a quick 2 min drive in their vehicle to rental car parking lot where I picked up my Jimny. Signed some papers, was provided with some important info, given our discount fuel card and away I went. The Jimny was a great choose for our party of 2 as it is a very small vehicle. Unbelievably noisy on gravel roads/f-roads but got us where we needed to go! We ended up getting gravel protection last minute, and definitely added piece of mind during the trip. The only minor negative detail is that we booked/paid for a 2017 model and the owners manual Indicated a 2015 model with over 100km. When we questioned the rental company regarding this, they stated it was 2016 model and that there was no difference between the year of models. We never pressed further as the Jimny did us well all week! Easy & smooth online booking with Northbound through their website. Both Northbound & Go Car Rental responded quickly to emails as well. Would recommend both companies.
Kimberly lynne rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 01. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
We had good experience with both Northbound and GO Car Rental. We sent Northbound information on vehicles we were considering and they provided feedback on which ones would allow us to waive CDW insurance and instead use the insurance provided by our credit card company. GO representative met us at airport when we arrived, was friendly, and provided all the information we needed. We added second driver with no extra charge. The vehicle was exactly as expected and we had no issues. Drop-off was quick and easy.
Andrew rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 01. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Awesome experience. We found our rental thanks to Northbound Comparator Portal (the price was lower than directly with the car company !) . The renting company was GO Car Rental (in the suburds of Reykjavik) . The car was the one booked (Dacia Duster), few kilometers and very clean. The staff at offices were very helpful and friendly (they can pick you up at your hotel). That helped us achieving a wonderful journey in Iceland Philippe (France)
Philippe rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 25. Jun 2017
Excellent
The car was just right for our needs and the price was excellent. Picking up the car at the airport took a bit longer than we had hoped, but otherwise, everything worked great.
Kelly rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 27. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
The car rental and service were absolutely perfect... we had a 15 hour flight delay and there was no problem at all collecting the car in the middle of night. Thank you! Driving the ring road and F1 roads has been a dream come true!
Erich rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 20. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend Go Car Rental!
Samuel rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 26. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Federico rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 19. Jun 2017
Good
We were given a good car and had only one issue with the brakes during the trip due to dust accumulation. However, due to proximity to the mechanics during our trip Northbound managed to arrange for this issue to be fixed in a quick manner. We also hired chairs and a table, however one of the bracings on the table was previously snapped which wasn't great. In hindsight we should have checked this once we received it but it would be helpful if the additional items are checked for soundness prior to handover to the customers.
Sina rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 13. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience with GO Car Rental was very good. our Skoda Octavia was in fine condition and drove very well. The pickup of the car was very easy and drop off went well too. When we return to Iceland, we will definitely use GO Car Rental again.
John rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 22. May 2017
Outstanding!
great, brand new car, great mileage.They met me at the airport as promised; some confusion I was looking for GO not Northbound or GOcar but we found them. I didn't realize the horn was on the turn arm stick end, car says after awhile low air but checked at gas station twice air was fine. I would reccomand them without hesitation, nice people.
Glenn rented a vehicle in May 2017

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.