Reviews for GO Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for GO Car Rental
Submitted 25. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
They were really friendly and accommodating, the car was great for traveling around. Northbound were fantastic for helping me find a car I could hire.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 16. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
The car was very capable on the roads of varying difficulty. Thumbs up for the customer service of both, GO Car Rental and Northbound, everything went well and we could always rely on their good service. If I'm ever coming back to Iceland (I will), I know where to get the car.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 12. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
Car was brand new as promised. Service from Go Car Rental was excellent, as they waited 4 hours in the airport due to our cancelled flight. Drop off on departure day was easy and close to departure hall.
Will definetely choose Go Car Rental again, and high recommend to others.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 13. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
Great company
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 23. May 2019
Outstanding!
Great car, comfortable, easy to drive, plenty of power and very economical.
rented a vehicle in May 2019
Submitted 06. May 2019
Good
A fine little ride that was absolutely able to conquer the world. Or at least Iceland. It took us to places we would never have reached without this little 4X4.
The people from GO we’re friendly and helpfull. Picked us up at the airport and gave us short but clear instructions about the car. Drop-off was easy with the keys in the glove compartment.
Downside? Well....maybe the one radiospeaker that didn’t work, the noise the car produced or the fact that it acted like a windsurfboard with a little wind. But isn’t that all part of the adventure?
rented a vehicle in April 2019
Submitted 24. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
My daughter and me were very happy to visit your very beautiful country.
The car was very perfect for the first trip part but too light for driving in the snow and the freezing pavement the last day ( friday 22 march). We have start at 08h30 from Hofn and joint the airport at 16H00. Regards. j-f DACIER
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 26. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
very good car and very good service for a nice trip.
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 29. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
We rented our car from GO Car Rental using the service provided by Northbound. We just want to say everything was perfect. We had an unfortunate moment with the car, we just called them and they took care of the situation immediately, they brought a new upgraded car to where we were. Service was reliable and everything was excellent. If we visit one day Iceland again, we will definitely use their service again. As a brief, we definitely recommend them. Thank you Go Car Rental and Northbound for everything.
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 10. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
Everything went smoothly with our rental. We rented a four wheel drive with tire studs and was glad to have it in a brief snow storm. I would use this service again.
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 12. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
we had some difficulties with the 4x4 function on the first jimmy we got and called with the northbound. They replaced the old the jimmy for a new one wich was perfect. Really liked the car.
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 15. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
Upgraded to 2017 Nissan Qashqai. 120,000 or so on the clock. Built in SatNav. Few minor dents at pick up but otherwise in good nick. Excellent service from Go Car Rental. No comebacks. Strongly recommend.
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 04. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
We had an excellent experience with GO car rental. They were professional, easy to use and we love that we got the car we ordered on the site, (and not something similar, as it said that it could possibly be). Thank you!
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 27. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
We loved everything! Their service was very punctual, the car looked great (with a few dents but ok). Zero complaints! Highly recommend them
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 21. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Our Journey to Iceland was really great! The Car Rental at Northbound was easy! An Agent collect us at the Airport and after 2 Minutes Paper writing we was on the Road. Car was clean and everything works as good as well. I would rent my next Car there again!
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 22. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Very good experience, car mode was exactly the one I booked
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 22. Dec 2018
Outstanding!
Very good experience, the not so good news first, we had to wait around 10 minutes for the rep to sort out some other clients but he explained what was happening so that was OK. Other than that everything was fine. Ordered an older car and got a 2015 Jimny 4x4 Automatic that had seen some action but nobody wants a pristine car in winter in Iceland potentially going off road. It was great value and got us around and goes everywhere the 4 x 4 Mercedes with the big wheels can.
Don’t be put off by the negativity around a do it yourself drive get a 4x4 from these guys!
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 18. Dec 2018
Good
Good with our 5 days trip. Just nice for two of us. Can fit in 3 luggages.
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 27. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
The van we reserved met our needs - we had 7 people plus luggage and there was plenty of room. The driver that picked us up was very nice and helpful. I would use this company again.
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 27. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
We booked a car the past november for 15. When we met at the airport, the guy was very friendly and clear. The car was clean and very comfortable. When we left the car at the airport again, there is a shuttle bus service, good idea.
From the very start till the end, everything was perfect!
Thank you very much
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 14. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
We had a very positive experience. Go car were more then accommidating. The fCia Logan was a nice and fuel efficient.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 15. Oct 2018
Excellent
GO Car Rental is great! The car was in fantastic condition and was exactly what we needed. Pickup/dropoff at KEF was very easy. I would absolutely rent from GO again. I would recommend sand/gravel protection as some roads kick up rocks. One minor complaint we had is that the WiFi device we rented for the car was temperamental and did not always work well. Other than that was a great experience!
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 27. Oct 2018
Excellent
Booking via northbound portal was easy quick. Support by liam was excellent, all queries were responded by the team. One feedback while handing over the car , I had ask for feature overview. This should be done by default, as many customer would appreciate to know key features. They may not be driving the same car. Rest everything was perfect.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 01. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
It surpassed my expectations.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 31. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
The car is in the good condition and didn’t give us any trouble during the 10 days trip we drove some F road and the car works great. It is a little bit crowded for three people . The price is unbeatable..
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 23. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
I experienced no problems. Neither with the ca itself nor with the service.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 19. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 23. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
The whole rental experience was very satisfactory. Although it was a last minute rental, Northbound's site was very easy to use and enabled me to make compare prices and car models from different car rentals. The prices are also very reasonable. They immediately sent me confirmation and instructions on how to proceed after I've settled the online payment, I was also immediately contacted by Go Car rental as well. As soon as I got to Keflavík Airport, an employee from Go Car rental messaged me that he is already at the arrivals waiting for me. He explained the insurance policy very quickly but really went into specifics. We got the exact model that we had initially rented and I am very pleased with the Subaru XV. We Didi the ring road and the Subaru XV was easy to handle. We did not encounter any problems and the Subaru that we rented was able to maneuver well even in difficult roads and terrains of Iceland. There were days when the wind gust was terrible but the Subaru was still very controllable. I would definitely use Northbound and Go Car Rental again if I had the chance to go back to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 21. Sep 2018
Good
We were very happy with our GO car experience. The pick up and drop off was easy, and the car was perfect for our needs. Our GPS rental unit however would not charge. we called GO car, but they were unable to help us with the problem over the phone. Now that I am home, I emailed them and they very promptly replied and said that they would be crediting my account for amount of the rental. I am happy with the result.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 07. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Experience was great, we were really happy with the rental and the interactions we had with Go Car Rental. No problems with the car or on the road. Northbound was really helpful too to be able to compare companies. I will definitely recommend you to the people I know if they plan a trip to Iceland!
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 13. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
The Subaru was a great car for us to drive around. It was in good shape and the GO Car rep did a good job of documenting existing dings, etc. before we drove away. Such an easy process: he was waiting for us when we walked out of baggage claim, had the paperwork ready to complete, subbed wifi for the GPS I had ordered, and gave good information on returning the vehicle.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 19. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Very good. Easy pickup and drop off. We were late getting to the rental agent after landing, and he was still there waiting as promised.
The drop off could not be easier. Just leave the car and walk away.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 14. Sep 2018
Good
The Skoda Octavia diesel was excellent- very comfortable, powerful and with adequate room for five with luggage for two week journey around the ring road. The GPS unit that I rented was an old Garmin unit that ceased working on day one of our journey. I suspect that it might have been a blown fuse in the power cord or a blown fuse in the cigarette lighter; in any case I refused to pay for it and was refunded the expense after some back and forth emails with Go Car Rental . I had to purchase an Icelandic SIM Card for 38 Euros and used this with Google Maps instead. Recommend that you replace old Garmin GPSs with built in GPS in your rental cars. Also the mobile WiFi unit was a disappointment- it was unreliable and did not work for most of the journey. I also refused to pay for this and was refunded for the expense. I was impressed by a member of your staff- Teitur- he picked us up on time at our Air B&B in Reykjavik and he was very polite and responsive to my concerns with regard to the unserviceable GPS and mobile wifi units.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 11. Sep 2018
Good
Very good experience. Got picked up at the airport by GO Car Rental to my actual car. Everything was convenient, form pickup to drop off. Everything went the way it was suppose to.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 28. Aug 2018
Good
We were very satisfied with the car.Good service.We recommend that the representative of the company meets the clients at the exit,where all passengers come out, with the name of the client, written on a sign.It would be nice that this person has some kind of recognition sign on his clothes,like an emblem for example.We had a little problem when we returned the car.There was not place to park it .May be the company can do something about it in the future.We still mean, that we can recommend your company to other people.Good car,good service and acceptable prices.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 24. Aug 2018
Good
We had a reasonable experience with Go Car Rental and Northbound, the only issue we ran into happened because we arrived later at the airport than we thought: it was quite complicated to get in touch with the rental agency and coordinate a pickup at the terminal. Go Car Rental's phone system was difficult to get through, and we had to call twice in order to get them to send a rep to pick us up (for this, I've deducted half a star). The other half star I am deducting because the extra insurance packages offered were quite expensive considering the base cost of the rental was already quite pricey.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 27. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Very good overall experience
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 08. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
The vehicle was newer than expected, that was plus. The wifi add-on was great for our planning, navigation and other needs. The team responded to emails, contacted us by phone at the airport when we got a little turned around and gave explicit directions when I got confused about the drop off. Very happy with the whole experience. I think for the money and what I needed it was cheaper than companies right at the terminal. Also, the insurance package information was more clear.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 13. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Loved working with Go Car rental. Someone from their team picked us up early from the airport and gave us some much needed advice since it was our first time in Iceland and was extremely helpful. Would highly recommend renting from them!
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 28. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Ce véhicule nous a parfaitement convenu pour faire le tour du pays avec nos deux enfants. Le coffre est très grand pour un véhicule de cette catégorie. La consommation très raisonnable. Rapport qualité-prix donc très bon. Nous sommes très satisfaits.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 17. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Very good experience. We appreciated the good welcome at the airport. The car met our expectations.
Great idea to rent camping equipment at the same time as the car.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 07. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Very good!
But I concern about request nothing has any problem without check after return your car.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 16. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent service, great car. A representative waited for us at the airport and guided us to our car which was a brand new Skoda Octavia. It had lots of space we brought for a family of four. Everything went really smooth. Highly recommended!
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 08. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Loved it!
There was someone waiting for us at the airport.
Quick and painless paperwork and drop off.
And the car was perfect for Icelandic roads!
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 24. Jul 2018
Good
It was a little bit chaotic to get the car since the agent was a bit overwhelmed by having two different customers to accommodate at the same time. She almost gave us the wrong car, and did not instruct us how and where to return the car before we asked. The car was fine, cute and quite comfortable. Once we understood the system, we had no problem returning the car. Overall, our experience was positive.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 30. Jul 2018
Good
construction or repair in Iceland. Go Car told us it was the only Jimny in their fleet with new tires. The windshield wipers were worn, but we were lucky to have only two half-days of rain. Go Car should recognize that tourists require good wipers to appreciate the scenery. The Go Car representative was late in greeting us at the airport, a minor comment. I encountered a couple of service stations that would not accept my credit card, so I used N1 service stations and cards. At the end and as expected, I gave away an unused 5,000 ISK N1 card which I had been holding as a contingency. Perhaps your firm can help solve the problem of unused N1 cards. In conclusion, the Jimny performed admirably over twelve days of driving around the island, including the Westfjords and Westland. It was a bit cramped for driving, but I wanted to economize. Thank you for a good job.We carried two suitcases, a wheelchair for my wife, and assorted small bags. Liam Davies helped us size the vehicle with precise measurements to the cm. so that everything fit. Liam also got us a vehicle with new tough tires, very necessary for some of the roads under
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 13. Aug 2018
Excellent
It was great that driver was wainting us on arrival.
But we were disapointed that we were not informed that I will need to have a debit card with 2500€ limit. (I didn't had such so I had to pay more expensive insurence)
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 26. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Good. Staff was very responsive to an issue encountered on the road. Very pleased.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 25. Jul 2018
Excellent
Very good first time experience with Go car rental. We were met at the airport and went through the paperwork & all the checks with the representative, it was much quicker & more efficient than our experience with alternative car rental companies in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 23. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Very uncomplicated and familiar. I would recommand northbound to my friends if they go to iceland.
rented a vehicle in July 2018