Reviews for GO Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for GO Car Rental
Submitted 30. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
We rented a Subaru Forester 4x4 but were given a Mitsubishi Outlander 4x4 instead. Nonetheless the performance of the car was in good condition. Collection of car and returning of car was a breeze. The staff who attended to us was thorough and answered to all our queries. Great experience!
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 28. Oct 2017
Good
Very good, nice and friendly staff. We were picked up at the hotel and everything was managed well.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 28. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
My experience with GO Car Rental was excellent. The Subaru Forester 4x4 was exactly what I had reserved through Northbound and it was clean and performed very well as we toured the Ring Road during eight days. The GO Car Rental representative was professional and friendly. I highly recommend Northbound/GO Car Rental. Also, the information booklet which Northbound allowed me to download contained lots of great information for tourists.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 24. Sep 2017
Excellent
Very good. It would be convenient to have a reception in the airport. Everyrhing else was parfect, the car was in exelent conditions and the service was great.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 17. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
This was the perfect vehicle for our trip! We were looking for value but also wanted a newer vehicle since we knew things like power steering and GPS would be important. We were a group of 6 girls and didn't have any problems at all loading the vehicle or driving throughout Iceland! We made several modifications to our booking before our arrival, and the staff at Northbound were extremely helpful and accommodating. The people from GO Car were very helpful as well. If I hear of anyone planning a trip to Iceland I'm recommending Northbound for sure!
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 11. Sep 2017
Good
Not bad, just a few minor things: the car could have been a bit cleaner; it needed maintenance as was shown on the instruments; there were scuffs and dents on the car and the windscreen that weren't mentioned in the rental agreement and could not be seen in the dark when I picked the car up. I hope I will not be made responsible for the existing damages afterwards. Other than this, it was a pretty straight forward experience without any major problems. The rental agent was a little late, but texted me shortly afterwards to let me know he was on the way, which was good to know.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 18. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Pickup and drop off was smooth
The car was new and in good condition.
Since I changed my pick up time due to flight delay, the response of go car rental was quick and supportive
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 12. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Great experience with Northbound and GO Car Rental. A representative was waiting for us on arrival at KEF, and drove us to the nearby lot. We picked up the car, checked it over and went over insurances, then drove off. To return the car, we left it on the same lot (at 5am!) and took a shuttle back to the airport. All went well!

Tips: There is little traffic in Reykjavik / Iceland - Makes a nice change from LA! There is a gas station on Rt 41, 6km from rental drop-off, where you can fill up - although my US credit card wasn't accepted, so using my debit card was necessary. It was a little strange dropping off the car with no attendant present, but worked OK.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 16. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Great! JImny is very capable, you can take it on most FS roads and it did us well in beg of September.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 10. Sep 2017
Excellent
Very nice! Good contact, good and very new car in perfect shape (got a damage in the back from the people who rented it directly before us, but this didn't make any problems, other than "looking bad" ;) ).
Easy pick up and return at the airport, 24h emergency number (which we didn't need) --> nearly everything perfect. Only the navigation device, which we booked and payed on top, was a very old model, which didn't work well at all, so we used our mobile phones instead.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 04. Sep 2017
Good
We rented a 9 person Renault Trafic. We checked out at least 20 other websites, and Northbound.is has the best price, even cheaper than GO website directly. GO was great. There was a person who met us right outside of the exit after we landed, and took us to their car park where the car was. Please note, GO currently doesn't seem to have an office at the car park where their cars are. When dropping off the car after the week, there was nobody at the car park. I happened to run into another customer returning, who told use they were told just to leave the car, with keys in the glove compartment. I was a bit nervous about this...maybe car theft doesn't happen in Iceland. But I left the car, took a shuttle back to the airport, and it all seemed to work out.

The actual car was a little older than I would have liked, it has 70,000 km logged on it. But it ran well the entire trip. The back sliding passenger door sometimes got stuck in the open position.

Be careful, there is another GO car rental, with no arrow in the G. Their reviews are bad.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 28. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
My experience was great. The car was exactly what I expected--it was clean, large and ran well. Picking it up was very easy and I would rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 05. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent!! We had initially booked a Suzuki Jimmy and were upgraded to Hyundai Tucson. The car was really good, Teitur was before time and picked up at the airport. He provided clear instructions about the rental and driving conditions. I am really happy with the service. When I started booking, I was comparing at least 4 to 5 rental companies, and GO Car rental had the best price to offer
Best price plus best service = GO Car rental
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 31. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 22. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Everything worked out perfectly. The GO team was great and the service was great. The car we booked on line was not quite as advertised since it said it could hold 7 people and 5 bags. It could not do both at once though, so I had to upsize. However that was fine with us and I chalk that up to my issue, not yours or the GO team. It could have been a bit more clear on the booking site and I offer that to you constructively, not as a criticism. We enjoyed the vehicle
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 29. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience was very good. Both pick-up and drop-off of the car were easily arranged, and the instructions were clear. We didn't have any problem with the car and were satisfied with it.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 02. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
GO Car rental was awesome, super convenient with a pickup at the airport and a no-hassle drop off. Prices for GO were the best by about 10%, the Jimny was virtually brand new with 19k km, clean, and the car was bulletproof with no issues at all on the road and a very capable force on the F-roads. Would use GO Car again! We had 2 people for 2 weeks and a lot of gear, and the Jimny was more than enough room with the back seat flipped down. Would not recommend the car for more than 2 people, but it works great for 2 looking for the best value to get into the highlands.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 11. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Good experience, easy car rental with no surprises.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 13. Aug 2017
Good
Very positive.
Only one thing worried me. When returning the car there was no inspection of the condition of the car from their side.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 18. Aug 2017
Good
In general; good. I miss a receipt stating that the car is in an acceptable return state and that no extra costs will be added on my credit card. Also I miss returning the car directly to a person that checks the car for damages together with my self.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 15. Aug 2017
Excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 13. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
I liked that there was a person at the airport waiting for us when we arrived. She brought us to the car and filled the tank with gas. Everything was really nice. The car was perfect, the only thing that i missed was cruise control. Other than that, great service :)
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 13. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent ! Thanks u for the upgrade with the Subaru XV. Excellent car !
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 17. Aug 2017
Good
The car was completely new, but unfortunately we got automatic transmission instead of manual we ordered. There was no chance of changing it.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 15. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
They were very responsive when I had questions and everything worked out as described. Everyone was friendly and helpful!
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 11. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
The car was in good condition and delivered to us on time. We had a tire pressure issue during our tour of Iceland and unfortunately, it occurred on a Sunday. We changed to our spare tire and drove to the next town. But, since the following day was a national holiday as well, we had to be quite cautious while driving but managed to finish our tour without even the slightest incident and all this was possible only because of best support and assurance/guidance from GO Car Rental. It was a wonderful experience.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 07. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Northbound found us a great rental price with GO Car Rental. GO Car was prompt in picking us up at our accommodations in Reykjavik to take us to our rental car. The car was in excellent condition. The return was easy with GO Car taking us back to our accommodations. They were very courteous and made the process very easy.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 08. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
excellent service, very new car, good documentation, easy to interact, pick-up from the airport and convenient drop-off after the rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 08. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Everything worked out very well, drop off was easy and the station is right beside the airport.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 10. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Mi sono trovato molto bene con Northbound (di fatto un intermediario) e con Go Car Rental, la società che ci ha effettivamente affittato l'auto. Entrambi i soggetti sono stati molto disponibili nel fornire info su quale auto scegliere e sulle strade che potevamo fare fra le "F" (le piste interne all'isola), su come affrontare guadi evitando di metterci nei guai non avendo noi alcuna esperienza di fuoristrada. Raccomando vivamente!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 01. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
All good. As I arrived on Sunday, I did not meet the staff member straight away. Had to wait a little bit. He said that he did not receive a flight number. But otherwise - it was all great. Will definitely use northbound in the future and till recommend to others.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 02. Aug 2017
Excellent
There are somehow some confusion with GO Car Rental and another rental company with almost the same name and color Logo as we were directed by the information center to take a shutter to the wrong place(wrong company) for pick up. Actually our flight arrived earlier and the lady from GO meeting us came but we were already at the other GO rental company. A small hiccup though. The lady handling the rental car handover was efficient and friendly. There must be a way to distinct the 2 companies so as to avoid future confusions for other users.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 06. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
We spent 17 days in Iceland and had a very nice experience. This country is absolutly magical.
The car was perfect: we drove over 4400 km, using many F roads, many rivers crossings, without any difficulty. We only had a problem with a punctured tire whose origin probably dates before our rental, according to the repairman. But it is difficult to detect this type of problem, especially since the tires were visually in very good condition. I recommend without hesitating Northbound. Thank you.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 29. Jul 2017
Good
It was all good. The only issue was that Frida told us that
a) if we filled up in Reykavik and drove to the airport that would leave us with 3/4 petrol which is how much we received the tank at, which was not true at all
b) Frida did a pretty hard sell trying to get us to take the extra insurance telling us far fetched stories about sheep, grit, ash .. pretty much anything was going to make us harm the car
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 28. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
My experience was smooth and easy. The guy from the rental texted me and waited I get my luggage. He waited in the arrivals hall. I Got upgraded cause my car wasn't in stock.
When I returned the car, they gave me a lift to my hotel. Great car! Great service!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 28. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Had a really good experience with Go car rental, the staff was really friendly and flexible. Best prices I found for that kind of car ! I recommend it clearly !
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 19. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
good
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 16. Jul 2017
Excellent
Pick up & drop off of the car was easy, clear & hassle free.

Instead of a Polo I got a Clio, but a very clean & new one.

I'm happy I opted for the full insurance package. Although I did not end up in sand or ash storms, July was the month of quite some maintenance and road repairs. I did end up with some chips on the hood, but luckily at no extra costs.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 24. Jul 2017
Good
There was all the time a jellow light indicsating that the tire pressure needs to be checked. I tried to fix it and phoned to your office, where i was told not to care. Neverheless worrying. No psper in the care, giving instructions, what exactly this warning meant.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 09. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
I travel the world extensively and rent cars almost everywhere I go. My rental vehicle was provided clean and in great condition. The service employees were very helpful and gave great customer service. I recommend them and would rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 11. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Very good expérience.
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 02. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Great job by all the team of GO Car Rental: everything went seamless and even beyond our expectations.
First of all, it is a great idea to settle the base outside usual busy locations like airport or city center, and offer a pick-up and drop-off service (which I guess gives you a cost advantage that you are able to transform into lower prices for customers) - well done!
But most importantly, all the GO Car Rental employees whom we dealt with were extremely friendly, efficient and truely customer-oriented.
We have got exactly the car that we had booked, the Subaru XV was almost brand new and it ran smoothly both on main roads several hours long leaps as well as on some pretty steep tracks and even through rivers in Landmannalaugar. When we decided to extend our car rental by another day, GO car easly found a solution for us: first by offering us another car for that extra day with the airport drop option (which we we not aware about initially), and finally finding a way to let us stay with our dear Subaru till the end of our trip. We have had zero incidents or any kind of bad surprises through our 1 week trip, except for one little episode when we realised that we have lost the front license plate (most likely while crossing one of the rivers). That story has been settled in 2 minutes upon our return with a reasonable fee that we paid for the plate.

Two small tips for future improvement:
1) Please mention the airport drop opion on your booking page - this may be very helpful for planning the rental itinerary.
2) Please ask the car dealership to use more solid plastic frames for fixing the license plates: we have learnt from one of your guys that only during that same week 3 plates have been lost because the frames broke, exactly like ours.

We really appreciated the way the GO Car team works - keep it this way!

Dimitri
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 04. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience. Everything was as expected.
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 03. Jul 2017
Good
Overall great rental experience. Go Car Rental representative was at the airport arrival hall upon my arrival with my name on his sign. It was a quick 2 min drive in their vehicle to rental car parking lot where I picked up my Jimny. Signed some papers, was provided with some important info, given our discount fuel card and away I went. The Jimny was a great choose for our party of 2 as it is a very small vehicle. Unbelievably noisy on gravel roads/f-roads but got us where we needed to go! We ended up getting gravel protection last minute, and definitely added piece of mind during the trip. The only minor negative detail is that we booked/paid for a 2017 model and the owners manual Indicated a 2015 model with over 100km. When we questioned the rental company regarding this, they stated it was 2016 model and that there was no difference between the year of models. We never pressed further as the Jimny did us well all week! Easy & smooth online booking with Northbound through their website. Both Northbound & Go Car Rental responded quickly to emails as well. Would recommend both companies.
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 01. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
We had good experience with both Northbound and GO Car Rental. We sent Northbound information on vehicles we were considering and they provided feedback on which ones would allow us to waive CDW insurance and instead use the insurance provided by our credit card company. GO representative met us at airport when we arrived, was friendly, and provided all the information we needed. We added second driver with no extra charge. The vehicle was exactly as expected and we had no issues. Drop-off was quick and easy.
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 01. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Awesome experience. We found our rental thanks to Northbound Comparator Portal (the price was lower than directly with the car company !) . The renting company was GO Car Rental (in the suburds of Reykjavik) . The car was the one booked (Dacia Duster), few kilometers and very clean. The staff at offices were very helpful and friendly (they can pick you up at your hotel). That helped us achieving a wonderful journey in Iceland

Philippe (France)
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 25. Jun 2017
Excellent
The car was just right for our needs and the price was excellent. Picking up the car at the airport took a bit longer than we had hoped, but otherwise, everything worked great.
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 27. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
The car rental and service were absolutely perfect... we had a 15 hour flight delay and there was no problem at all collecting the car in the middle of night. Thank you! Driving the ring road and F1 roads has been a dream come true!
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 20. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend Go Car Rental!
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 26. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2017