Reviews for
GO Car Rental in Iceland

417 Reviews
8.88

About

Go Car Rental Iceland, a locally-owned enterprise, offers travelers a unique way to discover Iceland's awe-inspiring landscapes. Their commitment to customer satisfaction is evident in the numerous positive reviews. Renters appreciate the company's comprehensive insurance, round-the-clock emergency assistance, and the convenience of hassle-free cancellations. The company's diverse fleet of vehicles caters to every need, ensuring a comfortable and memorable journey.

When you book your Go Car Rental through Northbound, you're choosing a provider that values quality service and customer satisfaction, making your Icelandic adventure a truly unforgettable experience.

Reviews

8.88
417 total reviews
Great
5-Star
80%
4-Star
17%
3-Star
3%
2-Star
0%
1-Star
0%
Staff
8.7
Value
8.7
Cleanliness
9.5
Pickup
8.3
Dropoff
9
Condition
9

405 reviews for GO Car Rental

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from GO Car Rental

Submitted 17. Apr 2023
We initially booked a car through Northbound 4 months prior to our Island visit (Key Car Rental), but 4 days before arrival the booking was changed to another car at another company (Go Rental). Arriving at Go Rental, the car (Subaru Forester) had damaged windshield wipers. As it was raining it would not be safe to drive with, but the lady at the office could not change them to new ones. Instead we were offered a Mitsubishi Eclipse "Which is a higher class car at not extra cost". I was quite disappointed when I found out, that it is in fact it is a lower class car. I told this to the lady at the office and they then tried to change the windshield wipers anyway. One hour later we could finally drive on. Returning the car 5 days later with no additional damage, I would love to have had a receipt stating this. I was told it would come by email, but after 3 days it still hasn't arrived and I hate these kind of surprises.
Rasmus rented a vehicle in April 2023
Submitted 17. Apr 2023
Outstanding!
Car was in great condition and the pick up and drop off went very smoothly. Overall great experience with northbound and GO Car rental!
Wu chuan rented a vehicle in April 2023
Submitted 03. May 2023
Very Good
It was a good car for the trip we were taking.
Kathy rented a vehicle in April 2023
Submitted 27. Apr 2023
Outstanding!
Car wasn't available but was given a Subaru Forrester instead. Forrester had good features and drove really well, however fuel economy probably wasn't the greatest. Overall was very happy with the car.
Tuan kiet rented a vehicle in April 2023
Submitted 16. Apr 2023
Great
Hello Ivar, thanks for your query. Everything was fine. We had booked a Suzuki Jimney and received a Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross. That was a very comfortable and reliable car. Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to discover your impressive homeland by that car. We treated it with care and returned it on 14 April. We absolutely must come to Iceland again, and will be very happy to rent a car from you again. Some remarks by our side. We had rent additionally a navigation system (Garmin) and a paper map. The card was not available in your office, but included in the calculation. The Garmin was not usable when using GPS coordinates as a target. On two days we had snow and ice on our car windows in the morning. Luckily we were able to borrow an ice scraper from another driver. Can you generally lay in an ice scraper into the car? Please check our comments to see if you can reduce the corresponding charges for Garmin and map? But now, thank you again. We wish you and your team a good start into spring and a successful season. Warmly, Claudia and Volker
Volker rented a vehicle in April 2023
Submitted 08. Apr 2023
Outstanding!
The rental was fantastic. Staff was friendly and helpful. Could've used a bit more signage in the terminal for location...but info desk was very helpful.
Teresa rented a vehicle in April 2023
Submitted 07. Apr 2023
Fine
We booked a 2022 model but I would say the car was definately older. It had 80,000km on the clock and had very basic equipment.
Richard rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 01. Apr 2023
Outstanding!
We've received a corresponding Mitsubishi Eclipse. She was a lovely car, great for those roads and harsh weather conditions. Staff was nice, service also - we've received notifications and weather warnings along the way. Drop off easy. One thing I'd like to point out - it was a hybrid car and we had no idea how to charge the other motor. No problem with that, petrol was enough. I just wanted to let you know. Thank you 😊
Tatjana rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 26. Mar 2023
Fine
Very nice
Andrea rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 21. Mar 2023
Outstanding!
It actually turned out to be a Mitsubishi eclipse cross, but still really liked the car
Zachary rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 22. Mar 2023
Outstanding!
Very smooth. I got the car in less than 5 minutes! Also, the car company is a 5 minute walk from the airport main terminal so you do not have to wait for the bus. Last, it took me less than 5 minutes to return the car!
Jean-paul rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 11. Mar 2023
Outstanding!
The car was amazing, served a couple exploring the island just perfectly. Although it looks tiny, it is strong, handling well different kind of purposes. I would always pick this car again.
Beata rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 14. Mar 2023
Excellent
The staff were very supportive when my flight was delayed due to mechanical issues with the plane and my rental was held until I arrived. The pickup at Reykjavik airport was straight forward with very friendly staff. The return at the Reykjavik location was simple and I was conveniently transported to my hotel. The service was attentive and very pleasant. I would most certainly recommend booking a vehicle via Northbound and Go Rental when traveling to Iceland.
Marc rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 10. Mar 2023
Very Good
Everything went very smooth. Only it was difficult to reach the office by phone, when we had a question on the road.
Karin rented a vehicle in February 2023
Submitted 09. Mar 2023
Outstanding!
Perfect. It was the type of car we need, easy to drive and very safe on the roads we drove. Very happy with the vehicle
Ramon rented a vehicle in February 2023
Submitted 19. Feb 2023
Outstanding!
Not only the car was great, but from the moment we got to the GO Car Rental office we experienced great customer service. The drop off was equally a great experience. Would definitely recommend and rent a vehicle from this company again.
Napoleon rented a vehicle in February 2023
Submitted 19. Feb 2023
Fantastic!
Janneck rented a vehicle in February 2023
Submitted 11. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
The member of staff at GO Car Rental in Keflavik was excellent. He explained the various additional insurance options but without being pushy. The information provided in the days leading up to pick up was the best experience I've had from any car hire company. Lots of useful information about driving in Iceland, particularly road.is and vedur.is as well as things to be wary of. Depsite encountering tricky road conditions on one trip, the car and particularly the studded winter tyres coped admirably.
Steve rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 07. Jan 2023
I got a mitsubishi eclipse, not a Subaru XV as I pre-booked - indeed I knew that the road conditions could be very poor in Island in this period of the year - which would be a Real AWD. There was a double charge on my credit card by the rental for the rental fee which was refounded upon my request to go car rental.
Alessandro rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 31. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
Renting a car through Northbound was really simple. No problem whatsoever, very convenient website, I highly recommend :)
Aurelien rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 01. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
very good experience with go car renthal, compliant car just wipes additional hs. key box system for efficient departure and return.
Cyrille rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 09. Jan 2023
Excellent
Our vehicle was perfect for our trip and handled being in the snow no problem. Staff were friendly and were helpful in giving some tips on driving in the wintery conditions....and didn't even try and hard sell the additional insurance. During the winter we didn't expect the car to be clean on the outside, but inside was spotless. Our only "complaint" is there were no clear instructions to head over to the GO Car Rental office as we were expecting to be met. It was an interesting 10 minute walk across the snowy car park and roads to get there, but will know for future as we plan to head back in September to visit the areas we couldn't get to because of the weather conditions.
James rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 28. Dec 2022
Fantastic!
The car was ok. For a 2022 car I was expecting an onboard gps, but the car did it's main job perfectly, drive ne around. No complaints there.
Arpad rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 23. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
It was a good car for traveling around the country.
Eric rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 16. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Our experience with northbound was great, no issues at all. A little confusing on the whole pickup situation but otherwise all good. Thank you.
Valbona rented a vehicle in November 2022

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.