Reviews for Lava Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lava Car Rental
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Hi

A very good experience, the paperwork was quick and efficient, they collected me from the airport, and delivered me back, and even made me a coffee. The car was a Duster which I drive at home, fitted with studs and performed excellently in the bad weather which made the holiday more interesting and the scenery superb, great holiday helped by Lava, prices I felt were good, I opted for the premium insurance policy, and on reflection because of the bad weather was glad I did, it added to the cost but gave me peace of mind. I will be returning to Iceland and will be using Lava.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 09. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
I booked through Northbound for my four-day trip in Iceland and I'm really glad I ended up with Lava, because they have exceptional service and amazing hospitality! Hands down best car rental experience I've ever had, all the employees are very personable and the owner was extremely helpful in orienting me with the country, especially since I was travelling solo. The car was well-maintained and I even got upgraded to an SUV, which was a lot better for driving through the tough weather conditions. I will definitely be renting from you guys again! Thank you so much!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
A happy customer here for Lava Auto in Iceland! It took me absolutely so. very. long. to sort through all the reviews from the plethora of car rentals available at Keflavik airport (thanks northbound.is for reviews as well as trip advisor) and obtain a semblance of satisfaction for making the right choice. But, my gut feel proved right and we couldn't be more pleased with our experience with Lava!! We arrived back home just a few days ago. The staff were friendly, communicative, very informative, and genuinely wanted for us to have a great trip. I feel like we had a more intimate experience due to the company being small and unique. The Dacia Duster we rented was almost brand new and we formed a special bond together, haha. I should say to take note of their hours of operation. Although I said we were arriving at 5am, didn't arrive until six which wasn't specifically communicated to us. I read somewhere that they open at 6am and the driver was at the airport with a sign promptly at 6am, which worked out perfectly for us after spending eons in the Duty Free store, but i wanted to give the heads up for those who may be wondering where the driver is at 5:30am or so. Overall, I would definitely rent from this company again, but ask for clarification for when the pick up would be. The drop of at the airport was swift with great conversation! Also, booking the rental through northbound.is was easy and seamless. We actually found a better rate there than the actual Lava website. Win!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 14. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Our car rental with Lava car rental through Northbound was absolutely excellent!! We were met at the airport and taken to the office where our suv was waiting all warmed up. The process was simple and smooth. The representative who met us was wonderful and helpful! I have never been so impressed with a car rental agency in my travel life (and I travel a lot) Excellent, excellent !
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 03. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
incredible experience. so easy to deal with, extremely friendly and extremely helpful. spent a week in iceland with my partner and the car was great. had winter tyres on which was brilliant as it was heavy snow while we were there. got picked up and dropped back of at the airport, lovely and personal and didnt have to sit on horrible buses and coaches for transfers. will definitely use these guys again. they were also the cheapest i found for the best vehicle. highly recommend the darcia duster.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Great experience with Lava Auto! Our car was new and very clean. By the time we collected our luggage, we had someone waiting for us to take us to Lava, which was less than a 5 minute drive. Very friendly. We added on the Wifi once we got there with no problem. We returned the car and again, completely professional and friendly service taking us back to the airport. Highly recommend this company!!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 05. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent. Great service, car as booked, new clean vehicle. No delay at collection or return and none of the nonsense some of big rental companies go on with.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 03. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
The staff were very helpful and friendly and made check in a pleasure. It helps that we all support the same football team! The car was just what we needed for our trip. I had read some scary stories about renting in Iceland but Lava were great. I would certainly recommend them when traveling to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
The service was pretty goods and the car was exactly what we where looking for. Can't complaint about anything
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 04. Mar 2017
Excellent
It was great - amazed that you guys stayed open until 1am when our flight landed, that was really useful!

The car did make a weird noise when in full left hand lock, we wondered whether the suspension was shot, but ypu said it was to do wih the winter tyres? Just felt a bit strange while driving.

Overall really good though.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 27. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
I would like to highlight the excellent experience that was to choose Lava car to rent the vehicle for our four day stay in the beautiful country of Iceland. First the simple but very friendly attention, agile, attentive. I consider that the reception and delivery times were minimal and the representative of the company very kind and attentive to our doubts. Secondly the Dacia 4x4 that did not know it, resulted an excellent vehicle, diesel, spacious and very economical for its efficiency in fuel consumption. With all the credit for the experience gained, I highly recommend this car rental company for all of the above, and I hope to have the opportunity to return to Iceland and to return to Lava auto
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 03. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience with Northbound was excellent. The car was in a very good condition, pick-up and drop-off went smoothly and we did not have any problem with the car during our stay. The main reason why we chose Northbound was the fact that there is special category of 4x4 cars listed and offered by Northbound on their website which we could choose from and then also the price was good. I really recommend this car rental company.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 02. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Experience was great! My expectations were far exceeded. I would recommend Northbound and Lava Auto to anyone. By far the best auto rental agency I've ever rented from.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 27. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Having just got back from our trip to Iceland i can say without a doubt that lava auto car rental have been the best car hire service we have ever used! From being picked up at the airport when we arrived, to being dropped back off at the airport for our return flight. We booked online, after searching for 4x4 rentals in Iceland. Received quick responses to our queries and we were allowed to make changes to our initial booking without charge or issues. We hired a Dacia Duster 4x4 which was a January 2017 model, which was brilliant and did not have a single fault, we drove it all over the Island and we were extremely surprised by its excellent fuel economy. The team a Lava auto were professional and very helpful - all paperwork done without any wait and return was faster then expected (no hassle). Without a doubt i can thoroughly recommend lava auto for quality service with a smile and good value!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 26. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Lava auto were brilliant, very professional, friendly and courteous. No waiting in line at a busy rental desk, Lava employee ready waiting at the airport with our rental car. Car was great value for money, we were also given a discount card to use in certain fuel stations. We were then dropped back off at the airport at the end of our holiday. Great service!!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 24. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
It was great, everything function easy and reliable. All enployees are very friendly.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 25. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
We absolutely loved the Duster that we rented for our ring road journey from Lava Auto. It drove very nice and had the perfect amount of room for us, without being too small or too large, all while getting really great fuel mileage! The guys at the rental location were great to work with and very friendly. We will be sure to use them again for our next trip. We highly recommend this company to rent your car from.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 22. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Great Experience...Runar picked up at the Airport at 4:30 in the morning and had us on our way shortly there-after. Vehicles are new, service was great and I will certainly be using Northbound for my next rental. The two things that set them apart from the competition was when we got our dates wrong and it was a none issue. Secondly, we inadvertently parked in a taxi zone and the worked with the local police to a) advise us via email that we had parked in a no parking zone and b) to avoid us being towed. Good Job & Thank you!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 22. Feb 2017
Excellent
Vehicle condition overall is good though a little bit dirty (external). I got the model as I booked. The staffs' service extended is acceptable. Nice gentleman who sent us to airport after returning the vehicle. Will recommend to others.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 20. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Quick and easy option to start exploring the Icelandic country, and beats all the major airport rentals.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Yes, Brand new car, 4 x 4, studded tyres, Perfect.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 23. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Had one of the best car rental experiences ever with Lava Auto. We were picked up at the airport and the rental process was smooth and stress free! If you're looking for a place to rent a car from in Iceland, we would 100% recommend Lava Auto!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 18. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
The experience I had with this rental was excellent. I researched online prior to choosing Northbound/Lava rentals and they were by far the best priced option. They arrange to meet you in arrivals then it's a short trip to the branch located just off the airport grounds, on the main road to Reykjavik. The handover was very quick and they are a very laid back company and put a lot of trust you and even asked me to call back in the morning if I did not agree with their assessment on the state of the car as we had arrived in the dark. I was also pleasantly surprised to see that I was upgraded from a duster to a Rav 4. The car was new and in excellent condition.

Returning the car was very easy and the agreement is full to full on the tank which in my view is the best option. Once again there was no quibble on returning the car, simply asked if the car tank was full and if we had a good time. You return the car at the branch and within a few minutes you are dropped off at the airport departures lounge.

I have travelled a lot and hired cars in many countries, And believe me what should always be an easy part of your trip can turn out to be very frustrating, however on this occasion Northbound are exactly what you need in a car rental company, they just made everything very easy for us. I would highly recommend them.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Very good experience, car (Duster Dacia) was almost new, well equiped (GPS), comfortable and safe. Pick-up and deposit worked well. Good value for money.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Friendly staff. Pick up and drop off to the airport promptly.
During my rental period, I have instance at blue lagoon car park when other rental car opened their door, hit my car due to heavy wind, lavaauto handled trouble free to me. Highly recommend. I'll use Lavaauto again next time I visit Iceland.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Feb 2017
Excellent
Our experience with northbound was over all very positive. A brand new car (10km on the clock) and a member of staff waiting to greet us off the plane! Everything went very smoothly until it was time to return the car and we couldn't find the office due to lack of signage an the main road. Other than that I would happily recommend this firm.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
No problems, everything ran smoothly and they were really easy to make changes with. Plus they were the most affordable option.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 10. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
so far it is the best. :)
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 11. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience with Lava Auto was first rate. Friendly and helpful member of staff was waiting for us at the airport and took us straight to the car. Car was immaculate, drove very well with no problems whatsoever. Drop off was easy and we were driven straight back to the airport by another friendly, helpful staff member. Had a great experience and felt comfortable with car and whole service that Lava Auto provided. Would definitely recommend to anybody and use again.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 10. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Good
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 12. Feb 2017
Excellent
We rent a Toyota Yaris 2016 from Lava Auto. When we drove the car, it was new and great!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 22. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
this was our first experience in winter in Island and this was more than great because in this winter season , you really need a vehicle to rely on.
The Duster's were great, like brand new ones, with the GPS included , which is by the way very interesting to chase after the hot springs in the country side.
Pick-up upon arrival at the airport by the technicians from LAVA was on time and "gentle" and the drop-off at P1 when returning just close to the departure building is very convenient especially because our flight was very early
Thanks and BR
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 10. Feb 2017
Excellent
It was a very positive experience. Managing the rental was easy and clear and the van was great even in winter conditions, except for the ceiling insulations panels, which started to unglue because of air condensation during cold nights.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 06. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
The best rental car experience I've ever had.

It felt like we were dealing with real people rather than a company trying to screw us over!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 12. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Great service got picked up from the airport straight away even though we landed early. The dacia duster was great not many miles on the clock. The only problem we found was finding the office to return the car. On a dark Icelandic night we drove past 3 times even though the sat nav took us to the right area. The chap inthe office directed us the last 25m over the phone. Maybe a big sign on the road would help?
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 26. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Awesome!! Brand new car!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 31. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent service throughout. The service was quick and effecient. We were collected from the airport and taken back to get to our flight.The car was good quality and perfectly equipped for the weather which was a bit of everything! i would highly recommend Lava Auto. Thanks
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 27. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
good idea for studded tires in winter!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 27. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Very helpful and friendly English speaking staff. The arrival time in Iceland was delayed but we were still met at the gate and taken to the rental car office for a swift onward journey. We were a little apprehensive about driving in winter conditions in Iceland but the car with winter studded tyres made it very easy. I would not hesitate to recommend Lava Auto.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 23. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect. They picked me up from the airport and in 15 minutes i was leaving the office with the car.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 24. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
It was very nice. Fast, quick in solving problems.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 23. Jan 2017
Good
Because of reading countless horror stories about car rentals in Iceland, I did a lot of research on where to get the most reliable car, service, and insurance with also the best price. It was tricky to find, but found Lava Auto to be the best option. The website is also very user friendly and easy to compare cars and reserve online. The 2017 Dacia Duster was a great deal and a great car to have for our four days in Iceland. The guy (I wish I remembered his name) who picked us up at the airport was very friendly and gave us some invaluable local's advice. He patiently and kindly explained some highlights on a map and even wrote down some secret gems for us. Everything with the car was great, except for a little bit of stress with dropping it off. We were told to drop off the car at 5:45 in the morning before our early morning flight and that someone would be there. When we arrived that morning there was nobody there. We had to find an open establishment nearby to borrow a phone to call someone and was then told to leave the car at the airport. We had to use our credit card to enter the parking lot and were worried about how many hours we would be charged. Luckily, there was no charge - just a bit of stress due to miscommunication. Other than this, it was a fantastic experience that I would recommend.

Tips for American drivers...

- Our manual car required to lift up on the ring below the shift knob and then shift toward 1st gear to reverse. Took us quite a while to figure that one out.
- You need the car key to open the gas tank. If it won't unlock, it's probably frozen shut.
- Fuel is more than twice the cost as we are used to (same with everything in Iceland), so be prepared to spend at least $100 per tank.
- Definitely get ALL the insurances. Do it.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 16. Jan 2017
Good
Good, a bit cumbersome to deliver the car at the office.
Also, I had to purchase the windshield wipers, as the installed ones were very bad. Since the office was closed, I didn't get the outlay reimbursed. Also, writing to the email address does not help: I don't get the response.
Otherwise, good service and great condition of the car
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 15. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent. The guys were very responsive to all of my enquiries over email and on the phone.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 08. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Car was excellent, too bad we had to fill up the washer fluid and there was no scraper to de-ice the windshield so we bought one of those.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 03. Dec 2016
Outstanding!
In a word, the rental experience was outstanding. Arriving early AM, we were notified by a friendly caller that he would be waiting for us. Bjorki greeted us warmly, drove us to pick up our car, and gave us great recommendations. While the car we rented was a tad small, it did the job.

On our way back to the airport at 0530, we managed to get lost. Sleep deprived, and In total frustration , we called Lava. It was Bjorki to the rescue; he cheerfully drove to us and led us to the agency. From there he drove us to airport and all was well, or so we thought. Shortly thereafter my phone rang--Bjorky had found a pair of glasses in the rental car. "I'll drive back to airport to return them," he offered.

Long story short, we highly recommend Lava. We couldn't ask for better service than we got.
rented a vehicle in November 2016
Submitted 02. Dec 2016
Outstanding!
The service and car are both great!
rented a vehicle in November 2016
Submitted 05. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Excellent. Good car. Good price. Good service.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 30. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Lava Auto is a smaller family operated business, and that was apparent from their fantastic service! They took great care of me and were very accommodating when I had a scheduling conflict with my arrival. The car I received was new, clean, and in great operating condition. The staff were very friendly upon my return, and were happy to take me to the airport. I'll definitely return to Iceland in the future, and I'll be sure to book my rental car with Lava if possible. Great experience all-round!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 19. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
It was a great car for traveling around Iceland. We mainly stayed on the main road, but took advantage of the vehicle to get off the beaten path side roads. We had 5 adults and luggage.
rented a vehicle in August 2016