Reviews for Lava Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lava Car Rental
Submitted 05. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
The best car rental experience I've ever had. No joke! I was nervous when booking a car rental out of the country but Lava made it so easy! They came to the airport to pick us up in the vehicle, were incredibly friendly and informative and then took us back to the airport when it was time for us to depart again. There were no hidden fees (my first time not having hidden fees on a car rental) and they made sure we were very comfortable with everything before sending us on our way. I would highly recommend Lava Auto Car Rental!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 17. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Absolutely satisfied with the car, with the Service, good Price. It was one of the best travels in my life.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 01. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent! Lava's man was waiting for me at exit door, in perfect time. He was very kind, clear and useful. The car worked very week, also wifi and GPS goes perfectly.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 14. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Awesome. Representative met us at airport with our name on a sign (we waited 10 minutes or so). Had a small incident with the rep driving us back to the office to sign paperwork, but honestly just added a fun memory to the trip. Car ran great and was perfect for our road trip. Zero issues with the car. Really appreciated the rep looking for us in the road when we were trying to return the car. That helped us a lot and greatly appreciated it. Will recommend to friends and would rent from there again without hesitation.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 18. Apr 2017
Good
Apart from a little late delivery at the airport, we had a pleasant experience with Lava Auto Car Rendal. Nice people and easy handeling at the office. We would not hesitate to use this Car Rendal again, and Iceland is definitely a place to revisit.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 04. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience renting a Dacia Duster off Lava Autos. The car was excellent, very economical and great to drive. We initially booked a different car then decided to change, Northbound made this very easy to do and we were grateful that we had changed to the Duster. Auto Lava provided an excellent service, customer care was good and the service was very efficient. We were very happy.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 03. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Vidar was fantastic and very accommodating.
I would definitely use Lava Auto Car Rental again and will recommend their services to anybody who is travelling to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 10. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
great!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 03. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Lava was one of the less expensive car rental companies. The service was outstanding, the employees were very friendly, and the car was awesome. Will definitely rent from them again the next time we visit Iceland.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 30. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Simply perfect. Our car was clean, in perfect shape, and the service from lava auto was excellent. Also some changes to our order, was easily handled by Runar from Northbound.is which we chose to book through. We will not hesitate to use Northbound and lava auto again.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 28. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Couldn't fault them. They were waiting for us at arrivals took us on a 5 minute journey to the office to pick up the car. Friendly staff. Easy drop off couldn't have been easier. Thank you :)
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 03. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Very happy with company and rental car. We were picked up from the airport, taken to the office to complete paperwork with minimal fuss and then we were on our way. No pressure to take out additional insurances. Fantastic car, glad we found this company online.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 28. Mar 2017
Excellent
we had the company waiting for us at the airport. They were prompt with their time which makes it very convenient. Once we were picked up from the airport, it was a 5 minute ride to their office and another 5 minute paper work. It was fast and simple. Car was clean and perfect for the next 5 days!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 30. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
My experience with Northbound and Lava Car Rental was very positive. Great customer service. The car was exactly as we wanted and in good condition. Also best price we could find for our dates. Would highly recommend.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 28. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
The company was extremely helpful right from the beginning. The vehicle was clean and ready when we requested it. The vehicle was delivered to our Guesthouse. The vehicle was properly equipped and we had not complaints in any way. I was especially happy with the GPS as it makes getting around the island so very simple. Best Price for best vehicle, along with good reviews from Trip Adviser. When I had an issue that required me to stay longer than intended the customer support went from a "customer" to a friend, everyone I dealt with showed real genuine concern for my situation and helped me throughout the entire process. Such customer service defines the the business. It was clear to me that I wasn't just a number but viewed as a friend. Coming from a small town in Canada it was reassuring that such qulaities exist still in this world.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 29. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Great. Only issue was they were a little late picking us up at the airport. I almost called them when the person showed up. But everyone we encountered there was very nice and helpful
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 30. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
A great experience, the car was perfect, Lava was easy to work with and very nice! Would definitely rent with them again!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 30. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
The car was very good, nearly new. It took a short time to take the car at the airport late night, and it was uncomplicated to give it back on Sunday early morning
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 30. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
These guys are reliable - met us at the airport, drove us to the rental office, we were on our way within a few sort minutes. Return was even easier - a quick inspection of the car, and we were driven back to KEF - seamless, courteous service - would definitely work with them again!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 22. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
I purely recommend Lava Auto and Northbound as during our short journey to Iceland we have not faced any issue with car and the company. Service is great, car condition was perfect so You do not have to worry about any hidden costs!

Lava Auto and Northbound, see you next time on Iceland!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 22. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience of Lava Auto was very pleasant. We were warmly greeted at the airport, had a short transfer to the rental office, and were on our way within 15 minutes.

The car and the service were both fantastic, and we would definitely use Lava Auto again should we return to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 25. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
The rental ran smoothly. Received a brand new 2017 Hyundai 4 X 4 on arrival which was above expectation. Handover process was quick. No problems experienced during rental period.
Would recommend company
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 22. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
It was great
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
The car was almost new (~1400km), I enjoyed the driving through the country, especially on gravel roads. Fuel consumption was low, as the speed regulations do not permit high speed! :)The staff at Lava Auto was were helpful and friendly. They gave us a discount card on fuel also. I was happy to support a local growing company. I recommend Northbound an Lava Auto for everyone.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 20. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Great experience!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 21. Mar 2017
Excellent
I liked the Dacia Duster. A couple of unique features, like the horn not integrated into the steering column, made it challenging; overall a nice 4-wheel drive, diesel vehicle. Pickup at the airport was later than expected; there was initially nobody there to meet us and when they arrived needed to take other customers out to the rental agency first, then they come back for us. We waited about a half hour. Not terrible, but a little frustrating when we were so anxious to get our Iceland adventure started.

Once we were picked up, they were very nice and efficient. I would definitely use them again.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 26. Mar 2017
Excellent
Great experience with lava auto, the car was clean and perfect and we make 2800km in a week without problems. The lava's team are listening for us and kindly drive us at hotel when we restitute the car.Not perfect note because of the full insurance we took think is expensive.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Lava Auto is great, rent fron them
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 19. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Exiting and i unforgetable trip!! All was perfect with northbound. Would rent again with you if I can come back one summer in the future!! Thanks
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 19. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
The whole transaction process was very smooth. A representative was waiting for us upon our early arrival. No hassles with trying to sell us extras.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Excellent
The car was great and worked well for what we needed to do. I'm taking .5 off the rating because the guy who picked us up from the airport/dropped us off could have given us more advice about our itinerary and what to do in Iceland; but overall, it was a satisfactory experience.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 18. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Really great experience with these guys. No fuss, easy to get to. Great airport pick up / drop off service. The car had everything we needed and was a really great deal in the end. For drivers who haven't been to Iceland before and we're not familiar with its winter conditions, I felt safe and assured with this company.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 25. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Best car rental in Iceland, professional pick up from the Airport, good car (gps included) I only can recommend this Company for hire a car.
Perfect.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 21. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Fantastic - couldn't ask for a better service
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 18. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
bonjour nous n'avons pas eu la toyota mais un duster car il y avait eu des grosses chutes de neige et franchement tant mieux car très confortable et nous a permis de prendre des routes que l'on aurait surement pas pris avec la toyota
vraiment très satisfait
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 16. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
My experience was very very good. people are very nice. car was perfect. I reccommend highly LAVA auto
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Excellent
The Dacia Duster was a good choice for our trip in March. Everything went very smooth.
For our next trip to iceland we will definatly choose again northbound and in special Lava Auto.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 22. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Great Service! Were having an issue closing the roof top carrier(new to it nothing wrong with the equipment) and they were ready to be with us in few minutes but we figured out on our own.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 16. Mar 2017
Good
It was good overall, but unfortunately when I arrived the Toyota Rav4 I reserved was not available so I was given an SUV in the same class with comparable features. The Hyundai SUV I was given was still reliable but the RAV4 (at its price) was a big reason I actually chose Lava Auto.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
I had a great experience with Lava Auto! The process of getting the car was extremely easy (we were picked up at the airport exactly when we had arranged to be picked up), the car we rented (a 2017 Dacia Duster) was in great condition and did well driving in all types of weather and road conditions on our trip around the Ring Road, and we were not given any unexpected charges when we came to return the car at the end of our trip. I would recommend this company to others. Thanks Lava Auto!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent, quick and efficient. The car Jeep was exactly what we needed for our snowy stay in Iceland
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Loved the Dacia Duster, it handled perfectly on the icy, snowy roads. The heated seats and GPS were an added bonus.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Great! Comfortable car. We never had any problem. And we drove it during the winter.

I was looking for the "perfect" car and also with the rental office located very close to the airport. I did not like the companies that were AT the airport. Northbound was 5mns away. We even got to leave the car at the airport on the way back which made it very convenient as we had to be at the airport by 500 am! Will definitively pick Northbound on our next trip. Also the price was very comparable if not a little bit cheaper.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience with Lava Auto was incredible. The Dacia Duster was met our expectations and was as expected in the ad. We love our stay in Iceland and will recommand Lava Auto.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was great! The shuttle to and from the airport was convenient. Staff were friendly and helpful. The car was in great condition.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Perfect. Simple efficient and issue solving.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 12. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
We recently rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto and had a fantastic experience!! From being picked up from the airport on time, to being guided through how the car worked, we felt that we were truly cared about. We would 100% recommend renting through them. Furthermore, the car was brand new and fully equipped to navigate the Icelandic terrain. Thanks for such a great experience!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
My car rental experience with Lava was perfect. From pickup at the airport to drop off, I had zero issues.

At first I was a little concerned because I'm used to booking with one of the bigger companies like Budget or Thifty but Lava proved to be no different when it comes to the entire process, which is a good thing because the price was great! No pressure during the initial paperwork and the Dacia Duster I rented from them was a great car. I'd definitely rent with Lava again.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 11. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Very good!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
I can recommend Lava Auto without any doubts. Representative greeted us in airport and gave short ride to the office. Rental process went smoothly, no unneeded questions. We got relatively new SUV with very good winter tires. Also we got discount card for fuel.
rented a vehicle in February 2017