Reviews for Lava Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lava Car Rental
Submitted 26. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
We had a great experience from start to finish. The pick up and drop off service was nice. The car fit 5 people, 1 large suitcase, 2 large duffles, and 2 small suitcases. We felt it had good gas mileage. The cruise control function was not obvious because the switch was in the center and not on the steering wheel. You might point that out when the car is picked up. Our group also really liked the espresso machine at the office after arriving on an early flight.

The GPS did not recognize the office address when we needed to return the car. We managed to find the office again but maybe directions on the paperwork or an added map of location of office would help.

I would change your questionnaire template to allow for multiple choices on why your company was selected - I read good reviews, you had the best prices and good selection of vehicles.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 08. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
It's a superb car and your service was outstanding from the beginning, starting with our delay because of missing luggage, the handover and the absolutely stunning procedure of returning the car - it was no doubt the best experience I've ever made with rental cars!!!
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 28. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Thank you! Every thing was ok.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 22. Jun 2018
Good
The people seemed confused about what the different policies entailed and some of the writing was unclear. The car we rented was wonderful and it was reasonably painless to get in and out of the building.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 18. Jun 2018
Our experience with Lava Auto was not ideal. We were stranded at the airport upon arrival for 35 min sitting there waiting for pick-up. When we got the car, there were rust spots all along the base of the car, the windshield wipers didn’t work consistently (we only realized that an hour into our 5-day journey with rain every day), the GPS was outdated and/or faulty and didn’t register any address we entered. Whatever registers that any of the doors were closed did not work, so after you shut a door firmly, the signal would still yell at you that it wasn’t shut. Overall, our experience with Lava with below our expectations. When we returned the car and told them all the issues, he said “Ok,” which made us feel sorry for the next person that rents that car. I will not be giving LAVA a good review.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 20. Jun 2018
Fine
PROBLEM at the start of the trip in that the knob came off the gear shift, then the casing around the stick so you couldn't reverse etc. After that no problem with the car- just kept putting it together.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 07. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent choix, le service est parfait : accueil et dépôt à l'aéroport, véhicule propre et en parfait état correspondant à ce que nous avions demandé, ouverture à 5 heures du matin, idéal quand on reprend l'avion tôt.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 18. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Good experience with Lava. They picked us up quickly from the airport and we were on the road with our rental very quickly. We rented a 4x4 duster and the car was in great shape and we were happy with the vehicle. Definitely recommend renting from Lava.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 14. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 19. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Booking a rental car from Lava Auto Car Rental proved to be a wonderful experience. We were met at the airport by a friendly enthusiastic young man who drove us to the actual rental location. The SUV was just what we reserved and everything went very smoothly. Returning the car was just as easy. Drove to their location and were shuttled back to the airport. No worries at all. I would rent again from Lava in a heartbeat. Wonderful service.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 21. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
It was very good, people were really nice. The car was in good shape, it was just what we needed. We are really happy with everything. As a suggestion, a “how to pump gas in Iceland” for dummies manual would be appreciated, I know is not your thing but it would come in handy for most tourist, specially with the full tank thing explained.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 05. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Lava Auto Car Rental was great! They were responsive to email prior to our arrival. When we were late for the pick up time they responded quickly to my email (we had no phone) and came within 10 minutes. Customer service was excellent - when our in-car GPS couldn't find our first destination they gave us an internet device to use at no extra charge. Also, I was able to use my Visa auto insurance coverage and waive the CDW coverage. Our Dacia Duster 4x4 was perfect for driving around the Snaefellnes peninsula. I highly recommend Lava and would rent a car from them again.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 11. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent and friendly service, right from the airport pickup, to organising a place for us to get a new tire for our completely shredded tire, to car drop off and airport run. All for the best price we found. Queues at airport hire car pickup were extremely long, so picking up the car just a few minutes from the airport was probably quicker. No wait time for transfer to their office or back to the airport at the end of our holiday.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 10. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
We were collected from the airport with no problems , communication was good , car was good, we did about 3,300 km's. My only slight issue was that it was difficult to check the car for existing damage in the pouring rain when we collected it.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 04. Jun 2018
Good
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 10. Jun 2018
Good
Lava arranges to meet your plane arrival and transfer you to their rental facility. Our plane was late and apparently they do not monitor updated arrival times since I had to call them to tell them we had arrived. Once there the rental process went smoothly and we were on their way. The car was the right size, fittling all of our luggage in the cargo area. Performed well and seemed to be reasonable on fuel. Being a diesel was an added advantage since diesel costs less in Iceland. Return did not go as smoothly as I waited at the counter for 10-15 minutes for someone to come and help. Shuttle driver showed up with arriving clients and proceeded to serve them first. Took us about 30 minutes to return car. Good thing I had extra time to arrive at the airport. Shuttle operation to and from once we got going went smoothly and airport is only 5 minutes from place of business.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 11. May 2018
Outstanding!
The car was fantastic and service great! I would highly recommend Lava Auto Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 10. May 2018
Outstanding!
Great service, great 4WD SUV, and a great price.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 13. May 2018
Good
I had really good time with the car there was no issue at all. How ever my experience was not what I expected and brings down the good feelings because of the dissatisfying email responses. I had a strange experience as I arrived half an hour earlier to the airport than scheduled time. I found the guy from Lava auto holding a placard with somebody's name and asked If there will be someone coming to pick me up to which he said yes. Finally I had to go along with him to the office and realized he was the only one working there and he was not sure about my arrival. This was strange but then he went along with the procedure and gave me the car which I booked for. Overall it was a mixed experience. I will definitely give another try when I visit back to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 21. May 2018
Excellent
The car was great and the price couldn't be beat! The same car with many other rental companies was more than twice the price.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 03. May 2018
Excellent
Great experience! The driver met us at the airport within about 5 minutes after exiting customs and it was a quick drive about 5 minutes from the airport to get the car (quicker experience than I previously had when I rented from an off-airport location and had to take the shuttle). The car was as expected from the booking and in great shape! Only issue we had was that the in-car GPS did not work but they gave us a Garmin to replace it. Drop-off was easy as well!
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 07. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
It was pleasing to drive in all conditions
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 07. May 2018
Outstanding!
Привет Runar!
Спасибо, всё прошло удачно, мы намотали на машине 3 тысячи км и она нас не подвела. В аэропорту нас встретили, оформили быстро документы. Поэтому всё ок. В следующий раз воспользуемся ещё раз.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 02. May 2018
Outstanding!
Awesome!
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 01. May 2018
Outstanding!
We had a very good experience overall. The staff was friendly and helpful. The vehicle we we provided was fairly new and reliable. We would use Lava again in the future.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 26. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Very nice
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 24. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Perfect! Best rental service ever!
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 25. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
I so recommend this car rental. Very friendly staff and excellent service. They had the best deal when I booked a 4WD. Would hire again from them when I come back next year. Cheers!
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 23. Apr 2018
Excellent
Lava car rental staff were very efficient and friendly. Overall, the Dacia Duster performed very well. Our driver side windshield wiper split when far from Reykjavik. It was not easy to find a replacement, but, after 1 gas station and two autoparts stores we were directed to a repair shop that replaced the part and billed Lava directly. Would still rent from Lava again especially through Northbound which was very easy to use and offered best pricing
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 26. Apr 2018
Excellent
Our experience with LAVA was almost perfect. They were waiting to pick us up at the airport when we arrived and quickly took us to the airport for the departure after we dropped the car off. The only issue we had was that we bought the in-car WiFi but after we started our journey we realized it wasn’t available. However, LAVA was nice enough to provide a refund for that portion. Overall it was a good experience though.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 17. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Satisfied, good info before we arrived, friendly Gary was picking us up, the car was ok, and the delivering and transport to the airport effective.
(You can`t use my name if you public to other customers)
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 19. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Lava Auto Car Rental is the best! I will definitely be using them again next time I adventure in Iceland!!
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 16. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Lava car rental made renting a car so easy! They even picked me us up from the airport at 1am! Picking up the car was super easy and returning the car was even easier! I was super worried because I read about horrible car rental experiences and how picky they were when returning the car but I had an amazing experience with Lava Auto Car Rental! I would definitely recommend them and I would use them again in a heartbeat!
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 17. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Hi, wanted to thank you for the excellent service we had last week when we were in Iceland on a vacation.
We were 5 people using Dacia Duster for one full week. We had 5 hand luggages and 1 one big bag - which all fitted perfectly in the car trunk. The car operational performance was also very good.
Thank you for providing us with the car that allowed us to enjoy our trip without any worries and we could spend all of the time looking at the mountains and waterfalls :)

Thanks and the best of luck!

Darta
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 15. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Lava auto rental was amazing. Not only did I get a fabulous rate at only a 1/3 of the cost of Hertz for a 2018 Dacia Duster 4x4, but the rate also included insurance, gps and studded snow tires. I was a little concerned because I had heard such horror stories from renters in Iceland, but I had no issues what so ever. They were not there to greet me, but when I called they arrived within 5 minutes. Their staff was very friendly and helpful. When I returned the car, I was a little worried because I was behind schedule, but they had me checked out and back to the airport within minutes. I would definitely recommend Lava, and as a travel agent will be using them for all of my clients in the future!!!
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 16. Apr 2018
Excellent
Our experience renting from Lava Auto was great. The staff there was nice and helpful. Car was clean and in great shape. We had no issues with the vehicle what so ever. I reached out to them once via email to extend our return time by a couple hours and they got back to me quickly. The only issue we encountered was with the airport pickup, there had been some sort of mix-up and no one was there. That being said, they sent someone right away once we called them and they fixed everything once we got to the office. Overall was pretty hassle free and got a great price.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 11. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
It was great... except.. and it is funny. I got picked up by the wrong guy. Apparently there were two John Fawcetts. So I got picked up by the guy who drove me to the blue lagoon instead of Lava Auto. It all got sorted relatively easily and all it did was cost me an hour. But the OTHER John Fawcett was not a happy camper!
Oh and there should have note saying that the car should be returned to the airport not to Lava auto
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 16. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Great overall experience with both, Northbound and Lava Auto Car Rental. Everything was explained clearly, and they were extremely flexible with our requests.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 09. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
We had the best ever experience with Lava Auto, incredibly good service, best coffee we've ever tasted (and this was not because it was complimentary). Car was clean and reliable. Staff went above and beyond any rental company we've ever used. If we could give them more stars we would. Can't recommend this company enough. Flawless .
Thank you so much for your service. We look forward to using you again and have already and will continue to recommend you to all.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 20. Apr 2018
Excellent
Everything fine; good car; appreciate it
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 13. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
everything was perfect, pick up and drop off from and to the airport without delay, friendly people, very reliable and new car Dacia Duster, price was the best what we found on the market, highly recommended, Martin - Czech Republic
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 17. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 11. Apr 2018
Excellent
Hello Thor,

Myself and the small group of 5 others had a really wonderful time in Iceland. Thank you for the rental car services, it was really amazing to be able to get out on the roads of your beautiful country and explore! My wife and I definitely plan to return in the summer months in the future to see how green the landscape will become.

until then, we will dream of the northern lights and wonderful hikes, waterfalls, glaciers, beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers of the north.

Again, thank you very much. I will be referring Northbound/ Lava Car Rental to friends and family.

Sincerely,
Ryan
rented a vehicle in March 2018
Submitted 08. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Everything PERFECT!
rented a vehicle in March 2018
Submitted 18. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2018
Submitted 10. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
The experience was very positive. Good car, kind personnel working at the rental, punctual pick-up and drop to the airport
rented a vehicle in March 2018
Submitted 06. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Very good service. People were very friendly and efficient.
rented a vehicle in March 2018
Submitted 02. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
It was very good
rented a vehicle in March 2018
Submitted 07. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Very simple, straight forward and clear.
rented a vehicle in March 2018
Submitted 04. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Overall, our group of 5 was extremely pleased with the staff, service, and car. They provided everything as promised in a timely manner and gave us discounts at Quiznos, 2 gas stations and free coffee at Olis which were all needed. Since our flight landed in KEF earlier than expected they worked relentlessly to pick us up earlier than expected at no cost. In conclusion, we had a great experience and Jerry the guy that helped us was extremely nice!
rented a vehicle in March 2018