Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 30. May 2019
The museum is great. It has full size replicas of the whales, you feel so small stood next to them. My son who is 5 loved it. Big open space to run around, very informative and educational. Would definitely recommend it.
Ayesha khaliq rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Life size models of whales, family friendly. Audio guide is a must to fully experience this museum. A bit pricey for the short time you will be there.
Stephanie vranizan rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Quick and pleasant. Definitely if you got kids. Friendly and helpful staff. If you do the hop on hop off it's one if the stops.
Jason murphy rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
What a wonderful tour!!! We highly recommend this amazing experience! Our knowledgeable and kind Captain and crew were so attentive and pleasant! We saw puffins, caught some Cod and then watched our Captain cook a scrumptious feast for us. Thank you again for these wonderful memories! Stéphanie
Stephanie doyle rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
A great trip. Fishing and Puffins.
Family crew very knowledgeable.
Professional and friendly from the outset.
Loads of fish caught. And heaps released given we caught enough of a few different types to enjoy an amazing lunch.
Would throughly recommend.
Brendan maher rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Your guide and captain were lovely. Binoculars provided were very helpful. We had the poor luck of being the last Puffin tour of the season which means we hardly really saw any puffins. Most of them were gone. As a result we sailed to the two islands, checked out the area and pointed to the few puffins still hanging around and came back. Definitely would not recommend you do this in the last half of August.
Suzie townsend rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Sympathetic Captain and crew Anna. Friendly atmosphere on board, a small group of guests. Beginners got a lot of help, so that really everyone caught some big fish: Cod, haddock, sea wolf... Every two minutes someone caught something. Afterwords delicious barbecue on board!
Abo voyage rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Such a great day! We had so much fun and caught enough fish for everyone to take some home even after lunch. Got to see some puffins nesting on the way out. Both crew are very friendly and always helping so you can drop your line straight back in. 10/10!
Chris shoben rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Within minutes of setting out we saw a humpback whale. It kept coming up and we had many views. So lucky. Saw masses of puffins sadly you need a long lens to photograph them.
Jacqueline james rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had an amazing trip with North Sailing in March and were lucky enough to see a pod of Orcas! Fantastic company would highly recommend! Can’t wait to come back :)
Laura hooper rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Excellent! We saw four different species, including a humpback feeding near the surface! The hot chocolate was a bit optimistic given the conditions though.
Sebb hathaway rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Very friendly and well organized. Lovely sailboat, all around good atmosphere. We saw multiple whales.
Gondolf 20int rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great experience and super organisation. The staff is nice and prepared, during the excursion we have seen whales even if it is not the best month.
Claudio belleri rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
The guys on the Boat (Sven and Mar) are awesome. Even on a rough sea they find the whales. We had such a good day and a lot of luck to see as well a Minke-Whale right in front of the harbour.
Go in guys, you do an awesome job on a unique boat.
Dirk benz rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Lovely boat and crew. It's a shame that we didn't see any whales but there was still a lot to see on our trip
Adam peake rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Es un yate muy grande.La tripulación es encantadora.Tienen bar y dos baños,y como es grande si pasas frío fuera puedes estar dentro sentado.Yo no pude ver ballenas(nadie te lo puede asegurar) pero sólo con la vista de la costa desde lejos y los pájaros estuvo genial,y más cuando ves al capitán con todo su entusiasmo buscar y buscar.Te recuerdan a cada momento que si no las ves vuelvas sin pagar de nuevo.No lo dudes, éste es tu sitio
Laura de la rosa rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Wir haben heute einen wundervollen Nachmittag auf diesem tollen Schiff verbracht. Auf unserer knapp dreistündigen Tour haben wir Reykjavik vom Wasser aus gesehen und konnten eine Gruppe Delfine beobachten, die unser Schiff eine ganze Zeit lang begleiteten. Ein absolutes Highlight. Der Trip war sehr entspannend, auch deshalb weil hier im Gegensatz zu allen anderen Anbietern von Wal- und Delfinbeobachtungen nicht auf Massentourismus gesetzt wird, sondern das Erlebnis im Vordergrund steht. Gehen Sie ruhig die paar Meter weiter, vorbei an den Massenanbietern. Es lohnt sich bestimmt. Die Crew ist nett und auch einem netten Gespräch nicht abgeneigt, wobei man nochmal ein paar zusätzliche Informationen und Tipps für seinen Aufenthalt erhält. Alles in allem ein toller Nachmittag. Vielen Dank. Unbedingt empfehlenswert.
Christian richter rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Már ívar henrysson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
What a great way to see the power of mother earth, fascinating structures created by the lava. Ice stalatites and stalagmites were an unexpected surprise and the sparkling bacteria on the roof of the cave. Also never experienced darkness like it. Well worth a visit.
Lynsey gathercole rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had so much fun on this tour through the tunnel! Our guide was very knowledgeable. I consider this my favorite part of my trip! Would recommend to anyone!
Tracy hallo rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
The standard tour was a very enjoyable experience, and easy to walk. We also got to experience total darkness. The guide was good. My guess is the 'extreme' tour might be a little long and you get to see much of the same as with the standard tour. It's also a dead end so it's the same way back.
Vebjørn ohr rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great guide through the tunnel and an experience i will remember forever. Loved it a lot - if you go there, please remember to respect the tunnel and what is contained it in
Kyle brooker rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Standard venue is short - maybe 500m of tunnel. The lava tunnel is very interesting including the guide man. His speach is full of facts said in interesting and funny way.
Rudolf pazdernaty rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had such a wonderful on our Thorsmork and Golden Circle tours! We were looking to go on small group tours and are so glad we went with Activity Iceland. On our Thorsmork tour their were 9 people total, including the guide, and on our Golden Circle tour it was just us and the guide. We are grateful they didn’t cancel, because we experienced that with other tour companies when no one else was booked. We saw the coolest sites and everyone we talked to was so nice! If we ever go back to Iceland we will definitely book with them again!
Darden grubb rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I booked the Þórsmörk tour from Activity Iceland and had an incredible time. Gisli, whom was my guide, was friendly and highly knowledgable about the area. Being in the Super Jeep and going through some of the glacier run-off rivers in Þórsmörk to some less accessible areas was a highlight of my trip. Definitely ask for Gisli when booking your tour.
Michael jenks rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We are on the plane back to the US as I write this but I wanted to take the time to say thank you to Activity Iceland for a wonderful trip on Monday, September 10, 2018, when we took the Silver Circle Super Jeep Tour. Magnus was our guide, and I would recommend you request him. Magnus is a native Icelander who has been in the guiding business his entire life, and it shows. He is the real deal and although the vehicle and scenery were impressive having a guide like Magnus is what really made the trip. If you are contemplating another company just stop! Activity Iceland is the way to go, professional and they truly care about your experience you are not just another number.
Vanessa rice rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Norbert zohó rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
David olson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had a great morning doing wet & dry suit snorkelling with Adventure Vikings. Luis & Ivan were very knowledgeable and helpful. Excellent equipment. A must do adventure for those not afraid of the cold!
Kate armstrong rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had such a good experience. We did snorkeling and the golden circle tour. Long day but worth every hour. Iceland is amazing and our guide was such a nice guy. Snorkeling was a once in a lifetime experience and I would recommend it to everyone. Please be aware that you do need to feel comfortable in the water cause it's not like a warm swimming pool ;) The dry suits are tight but they really keep you perfectly dry. Thank you so much for this awesome trip!!
Jitske kingma rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I had rented some surfboards and wetsuits last time I was in Iceland. Adventure vikings couldn't have been more helpful. Between the office coordinating pick ups at there wearhouse for added convenience, the friendliness of everyone I dealt with, and the determination to customer satisfaction. They couldn't have been better.
After renting from them I left a pair of personal wetsuit gloves at there shop outside downtown Reykjavik. I had returned my car at this point. The owner personally drove them into town and made big efforts to personally give me back my gear. It was above and beyond. I would say you are well taken care of when dealing with adventure vikings and will certainly be using there gear or taking a tour with them in the future.

Thanks again guys.
Kfoley rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Adam and Luis were great guides, my wife and myself highly recommend booking with Adventure Vikings if you wish to snorkel at Silfra.
Nic butler rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Excellent customer service. One of our friends backed out last minute, and Adventure Vikings was very understanding and gave us a refund for her ticket. The rest of us went ahead with the excursion, and we had a blast! Adam and Brindis were awesome tour guides and made sure we were properly fitted with our equipment. Towards the end of our tour I struggled with my snorkel not clearing properly, and not a second later Adam was there to help out! Definitely recommend this company for future excursions. Great service and fun crew!
Nica liamzon rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Excellent campground that is in a great location in North Iceland. Easily accessible, but private in a beautiful spot along river. Facilities were clean and geothermal hot tub was a huge plus. Sign in the foyer of guesthouse that a large company wants to dam their rafting river and flood part of the valley the campground is located in to create hydroelectric power facility. Support this great campground and business, hope the natural beauty of this area isn't ruined!
Matthew johnson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Amazing campsite, very private, quiet and really clean facilities. Plus the heated tubs and pool was nice!
Girlintree샤 rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Can not begin to say enough good things about the river rafting. It was fantastic. We took the “family tour” and it was perfect. Enough adventure and slow pace.

What made it over the top was when we pulled over for hot chocolate. Our guide got the water from a hot spring out of the mountain. It was unbelievable.

The guides were kind and gave us feedback and asked about us.

If you are in the area, go. It is very much worth it.
Christopher bloor rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Amazing rafting trip. Even with 2 novice rafters who were quite nervous. The instructor and guides took their time to make sure everyone understood all directions and safety procedures. 10/10 would reccomend and do again. Not only were the rapids fun to tackle, the scenic views inside the canyon were incredible. A nice bonus was some hot soup at the end and a dip in the hot tubs at the guest house.
Greg st. germain rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Campground is not open before summer, even in mid May. The lodge portion is open, but for some reason not the campground. The website doesn't mention closure of the campground which makes it more frustrating. Call before driving out here.
Caleb killer rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
This is byfar the best tour I have been on in my life
Jón hilmar kristjánsson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We really enjoyed this experience. This is definitely a rustic tour but we were able to really be free on the ATV. The course was definitely challenging but this was what made it awesome. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking to get away from commercial tours and experience Iceland on ATV. You will get to see some wonderful views of Reykjavik and you will definitely have an adrenaline rush!
Monika blacha rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Very proff ATV compagny, small groups with excellent guide. Pickup from Reykjavik and low price. I have ride though other compagnies in Iceland, but this was the best 5 ***** Kim Copenhagen Denmark.
Verner christiansen rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Ewa pienkowska rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had a blast with Christian. I definitely recommend taking a tour with him.
Dan c rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Absolutely worth it! A wonderful way to experience the stunning beauty and joy that iceland has to offer. So much more than than just any excursion. These guys have a passion and wonderful way of sharing that with others. Thank you to our guide for making the time spent here an inspiration! Anything you're thinking of doing in iceland, do it here, and if you can, do it all!
Emmy santana rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
This is an amazing northern lights tour in the Lake Myvatn area. Our guide knew exactly where to go. We went to several beautiful locations. He was incredibly informative not only regarding the lights but also told us about the culture and was friendly. We got lucky and had an almost perfectly clear night with a lot of aurora activity. It was breathtaking.
Vicki churchwell rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We took both the 3 Waterfalls Tour and Northern Lights Tour. Our guide was amazing. GeoTravel is not your regular Tour Operator. They are way much more. Not only did we see the sites, but during the drive we learned about the history, land, culture, and the people of Iceland. At each site, our guide helped us with photography tips and helped us take much better pictures. We can't wait to go back and explore more of Iceland with GeoTravel
Jim samuelson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Well worth braving the cold walk to pool
Margaret bell rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Hands down best travel company in Iceland! Intimate tours with extremely knowledgeable staff. Highly recommend.
Natalie st. john rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We highly recommend Gateway to Iceland.
We have done a promotional video for them and the tours are amazing.
Very knowledgeable guides and very well organized.
5 stars!
Rogue & roman visuals rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Wonderful Golden Circle & Secret Lagoon tour! Great communication and pick up. Our host Gunnar was very knowledgeable about everything Iceland and a real character! Really added so much to the day. An absolute gent! We had a superb time and the Secret Lagoon was the perfect note to end on! Thank you so much!
Chris payne rented a vehicle