Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 22. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Our autorental experience was fantastic! A representative from Northbound was waiting for us when we arrived at the airport. They were friendly and after filling out paperwork we were on our way! The whole process was fast and easy! The car was perfect it was exactly what we needed. What a wonderful trip.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 22. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
We got a Ford Kuga, which was a small upgrade according to them since they did not have the Mazda available. We were very satisfied! The service to pick up the car was cordial and efficient; in fact the only bad part was waiting for the shuttle to arrive to take us from the airport (which had nothing to do with Thrifty). The car itself was a dream, honestly. I loved driving it and had no trouble, even when it came to "off-road" conditions. It came with studded winter tires, an ice pick and brush (which came in handy when we woke up to snow one day), and was very spacious for the three of us with our large suitcases and backpacks. Beware that gas in Iceland is incredibly expensive! Our car ran on diesel and took around $70 to fill up. Anyway, overall we really enjoyed our rental and it was a great deal for the price.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 16. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
It was great! The man picking us up was very friendly and on time! The rest of the people at the location were also very kind! We also got a ride back to the airport at whatever time we wanted which was a great plus as well.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 20. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
CampEasy is a brilliant company. The car was nice and the staff was friendly. The only issue was that we found it quite hard to find the company when we just arrived at KEF airport. We communicated with different staff at the airport and BSI, and those flybus staff had to make a few phone calls before we know how and where we should get the car. Better instructions and communications with the airport staff is needed to guide us through since arrival at Iceland.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 21. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Awesome! We caught the shuttle from the airport; you have to walk outside and down the bus stop to catch the bus. Super quick check in, we rented insurance the recommended once we got there but had no issues adding that in. Check out was quick and easy, and we walked to the airport afterwards. We rented the WiFi and I highly recommend it. It was strong WiFi, and we could take it with us anywhere we went - even in the hotel room at night. Thanks again!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 20. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
I would have no hesitating in recommending Northbound rental to anyone. I was on my Honeymoon in Iceland so I really didn't want any hassle along the way, and I am happy to say my experience with Northbound couldn't have gone any smoother. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the vehicle was immaculate 10/10 ( we rented a 2016 Toyota Land Cruiser - can highly recommend ). In a nut shell this a local company providing a excellent service what more could you ask for :)
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 25. Jan 2017
Excellent
Nice service, nice people and nice car (was clean and comfortable). A bit pricey, but I guess its the prices in Iceland
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 13. Jan 2017
Good
Once we got the car it was fine. Apparently the previous renter brought the car back just an hour or so before we were due to pick it up. Your guy had a hard time finding where it was parked. That part delayed us an hour or more. He was super nice and apologized. The car was fine once we got rolling. We only did a one day stop over in Iceland so it cut into our time a little. Communication before the rental was good. I appreciated that.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 16. Jan 2017
Good
Good, a bit cumbersome to deliver the car at the office.
Also, I had to purchase the windshield wipers, as the installed ones were very bad. Since the office was closed, I didn't get the outlay reimbursed. Also, writing to the email address does not help: I don't get the response.
Otherwise, good service and great condition of the car
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 16. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Ice Rental Cars was great! Our car was very competitively priced, brand new, and worked like a charm. The premium insurance cover was also the best value for money we could find. The office near Keflavik airport was a bit hard to find but the airport shuttle as great!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 15. Jan 2017
Excellent
Our experience with Icerental was really good. We were met at arrivals by a very relaxed man, who took us to our car. We were given an automatic, which I had never driven before, ( I had requested a manual) & the only negative thing I would say is that he didn't show me how to drive it - he left that to my husband, who had driven an automatic in the past. I'm glad I took out gravel insurance, as I had peace of mind with all the cars kicking it up around us. The cars aren't pristine, but that suited us - they're more used & 'comfortable'. Overall a very positive experience.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 19. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
The pickup was easy and car was great. We rented a 4x4 Hyundai during the winter and it was perfect for the snowy roads.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 16. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Pickup and drop off from airport was very helpful and much appreciated. Great car and excellent service. Thank you Runar!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 22. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Great service! So grateful they advise me to take the premium insurance package due to accident prone in winter. When I had a car accident, they took care of everything smoothly.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 15. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent. The guys were very responsive to all of my enquiries over email and on the phone.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 20. Jan 2017
Excellent
No major issues. The last day the Webasto heater stopped working temporarily.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 13. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
car with 4x4 was very useful, as the street conditions can change very quickly in iceland. seat heating system for both front seats was a big plus!! usb-plug for smart phone charging was very useful. 4x4 can be taken out if not needed, so you can safe petrol. we got a discount card for petrol purchase provided by the company. excellent service, friendly personal.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 13. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
The car was just as expected! The service was great, and our guide Grettir even better. He was not only helpful by receiving us in the airport, but also had great advice and other useful information to tell us about Iceland!
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 13. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Our Jimny from Icerental 4x4 was great. We recommend that rental car company!
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 17. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Good service and advice
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 08. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Car was excellent, too bad we had to fill up the washer fluid and there was no scraper to de-ice the windshield so we bought one of those.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 06. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
The Car was Good
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 09. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Great customer support / service. Friendly people and well worth the money. Even got an upgrade. Highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 12. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Très gentils et serviables malgré notre retard d'avion et la période de noel tout était parfait. Nous recommandons vivement !
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 07. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
We came in Iceland in December and we had rent a little 4X4 Jimny, perfect for two person! A person came in the airport for welcome us and after we let the car in the airport for the departure. If we will come back for the summer we will rent the same 4x4 at Northbound!
Thank you for everything!
Mélanie & Guilhem (French people)
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 06. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience.
Short story:
- Arrival gate greeting/airport pick up
- Short (5 minute) drive to office/hire car
- Friendly staff
- No fuss
- Affordable
- Information: useful driving/weather/safety/tourist tips provided
- Drop off: we could leave the car at the airport due to our early departure

Longer story:
- We were met at the airport arrival gates (at 1am!) and taken to the office where the car was located (5 minute drive) where we were advised on the best weather and road condition sources to use while travelling Iceland and on how to drive in snowy conditions (my first time).
- We were provided with studded snow tyres
- Our bags were loaded into the hire car for us
- Everything was quick and easy - we spent about 15 minutes at the office
- No issues with the car during our trip - the 2017 model Dacia Duster we had was fine going over 20cm deep snow and icy roads
- We needed to be at the airport at 6 am so were able to leave the car at the long term parking lot (P3)

On Northbound:
Great customer service - all my many questions about car requirements and driving conditions in Iceland during winter were answered honestly and quickly. Also the prices are competitive.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 06. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 10. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was as expected. We were delayed due to the weather so we had to return a bit late but Thrifty was nice enough to give us a slight extension. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 07. Jan 2017
Had a good experience organising the car rental through Northbound and communication was good, but did not have a good experience with Icerental 4x4.

There were issues from the very start - tank was not full despite being told it was (it was closer to being half full, estimated distance left at start was only 300km), passenger side view mirror was cracked but the damage was not marked on our rental form, and we found out when we got to our accommodation that the remote battery was flat and couldn't lock our car (key didn't work manually either on the door, car was pretty old).

Tried using the alleged 24 hour emergency number but no one answered. Had to wait to next morning and eventually managed to get through to one of the offices who told us to go get the remote battery replaced and they would reimburse us. Have still not been reimbursed yet.

A few days later got a flat tyre in the early morning on the ring road between towns. Could not change the tyre because car was missing the wrench to remove the lug nuts on the wheel. When calling the rental number again the person refused to believe that the wrench wasn't in the car and we had force him to call a service person to come change the tyre and who confirmed that the wrench was missing.

No communication from Icerental 4x4 after we returned the car and no reimbursement. Icerental 4x4 probably had the cheapest prices but in future would pay more to rent from a different company.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 02. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Great and easy!!
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 04. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
I am very satisfied with my experience with Ice Rental Cars. Honda HR-V FWD was mistakenly listed as 4WD on their website. But they immediately made up for that by giving us a Honda CR-V 4WD Executive with studded winter tires. They pick you up from the airport with a placard saying your name promptly. The moment I informed them of my arrival at the airport which was 2-3 hours before the scheduled pick up time, they were immediately there to pick me up in their shuttle. Their customer service was amazing. Very helpful people. The car had no issues at all. It had an ice scraper, in-built GPS and heated seats. We returned the car 5 minutes before the scheduled time and they dropped me at the airport and my friends at their hotel on the way. They are the best in my experience yet renting cars.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 06. Jan 2017
1. The plastic cap screw of the toggle in the back seat for putting down the seat is gone, I was scratched and leaved scars on my wrist by the iron part of it.
2. The 4x4 mode can not turn on! I can switch to the "4x4 mode " Evan the 4WD-L mode but the front wheels didn't rotate therefore the front didn't do anything when I was stuck in the snow for more than 3 hours... On Dec 24th...
3. The 24 hours road resceure is not reliable, when I stuck in the snow, I do call the icerental 4x4, the guy who answered the phone want me to send him where I was by text message... I can't reach him since then.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 04. Jan 2017
Good
I am very pleased with the 4WD that I rented from Rent A Wreck. Additionally, I would like to commend on their services as their staff would come pick us up a the airport to take you to the rental store to collect the vehicle. The staff was also very kind and detailed in explaining to us about things to look our for while driving in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 02. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent! From the airport pickup to the dropoff, we couldn't be more pleased. The Honda CR-V with studded snow tires was absolutely the best.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 30. Dec 2016
Outstanding!
Everything about the experience with Northbound and Rent A Wreck was great. Northbound were easy to deal with, by far the cheapest company for hire in Iceland by well over £100. Having dealt with broker companies before in other countries I was hesitant about the service we might get from Rent A Wreck but they were equally impressive. They picked us up from the airport at gone midnight which was good service, gave us the car and satnav as ordered. The Suzuki Jimny, although old as expected, was in good health and served us perfectly. We had no issues with the car and all round were very happy, especially considering the price was so good!
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 27. Dec 2016
Outstanding!
Fantastic, no issues.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 04. Jan 2017
Good
The general experience was very good. Your employees are generally very friendly. The only issue I would like to raise is that the entrance of your warehouse is not very clearly labelled. On the day we dropped the car off there was heavy snow and it took us way too long to find your car rental place. Other than that no complaints in terms of the car.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 06. Jan 2017
Excellent
It was a great company with great service. The car was good, windshield wipers and headlights didnt work too well, but when the car broke down, we had an agent pick us immediately and the new car we recieved was in excellent condition. Overall, our experience was great.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 09. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
They were very good, the only problem was of my own doing - the door blew open in strong wind, something I should have known from experience could happen. The door was damaged, and this type of damage is not covered by insurance (something I was aware of beforehand), and it was quite expensive to fix but not as bad as I feared and the owner and staff were very sympathetic. But we warned! This type of damage is extremely common - an old trick that I'd forgotten, but is very simple to follow: In strong winds, always try to park facing the wind direction!
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 29. Dec 2016
Good
The car was great, but it wasn't the car that we wanted to rent originally. I had reserved the Mazda CX-3 AWD, but when we arrived we were given a Ford SUV instead. The vehicle was fine anyway and was good to drive. The prices of the cars in Iceland are pretty expensive. I rent often in the US with rates that are far lower. When we returned the car early in the morning the staff was nice and invited us to wait for the bus to the terminal inside. Only problem is that you have to be outside to catch the bus and the bus drove right by without picking us up, so we had to walk to the terminal.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 23. Dec 2016
Outstanding!
I was a little wary that the company was not at the airport and may be a little troublesome to meet up with the representive and go to the company to collect the car. However, it was a smooth transition and very soon, we are onto a great adventure in Iceland. The car is great, the GPS is helpful and generally made our trip more awesome than it already was. Returning the car was a breeze as well, especially when we were returning the car at odd hours. Cheers to rent-a-wreck for delivering as promised.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 04. Jan 2017
Excellent
Northbound was great! They picked us up from our hotel, were extremely helpful at the agency, and then we easily dropped the car off at the airport. Truly a hassle free experience. My only complaint was that the windshield wipers were a bit run down and the defroster worked sporadically--next time I would check those things before leaving.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 21. Dec 2016
Good
It was a really great experience, although I think that car was a bit more expensive than expexcted. The jeep was too tiny for that price. However, the staff treated us very kindly and gathered us at the airport, what was very well, as our flight had delayed.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 19. Dec 2016
Outstanding!
Everything was great and we recommend the Orange car rental.
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 16. Dec 2016
Outstanding!
Very good, no problems, friendly service going back next year
rented a vehicle in December 2016
Submitted 16. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
We hired a Suzuki Vitara for 5 days when visiting in early December. We found the car to be is great condition, in fact we were presented with a model better than we expected. And the service provided by Northbound couldn't have been better. All round easy and enjoyable experience.
rented a vehicle in November 2016
Submitted 11. Dec 2016
Outstanding!
We had great time in Iceland. Wheatger wasn't really nice but we did a good choice by using your 4x4 car. It was snowing all day our first day in Iceland but that wasn't problem for our trip. You have a very good service and we will come again on Iceland and chose your car.
rented a vehicle in November 2016
Submitted 26. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
The two guys that helped us at Icerental were prompt in meeting us (even at 5am at the airport), super friendly, and all around great to work with. Our car was very nice considering it was 9 years old. Window had some trouble rolling down, but otherwise no issues. Highly recommended!
rented a vehicle in November 2016
Submitted 24. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
In november we rent your 4x4 to travel to the south of Iceland. We planed to travel by our own and enjoy the beautiful country. We also traveled "off-road" - for German condition :) - the hole trip we felt comfortable and save in your car!

Thanks for everything!
We also want to visit Iceland in the summer - and we know where we get the rental car!
rented a vehicle in November 2016
Submitted 16. Dec 2016
Outstanding!
Our experience with Northbound was great! Although we had some difficulties finding the agent when we first arrived at the airport as there were so many agents from different rental companies there, it wasn't a huge issue. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and provided us with useful information for our trip as well. The car was a bit old but was surprisingly really smooth. It served us really well throughout the trip. Would definitely recommend it to others.
rented a vehicle in November 2016