Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 06. May 2017
Good
Overall our experience was positive. The car we rented was in good general conditions, very very clean and suitable for driving in Iceland in April under all weather conditions. The Staff was punctual in giving us the car at the airport. The only weaknesses of the service deal with the communication process: first, the car we received was not the Dacia Duster we reserved online, but was replaced with a Suzuki Grand Vitara. Albeit the car we received was equivalent, if not better, than the one we reserved, we would have appreciated being informed about it quite in advance. Second, initially we were instructed that we would have dropped the car at Rent A Wreck offices in Keflavik and we would have been picked up there and brought to the hotel in Keflavik; however, when we were given the car, we were instructed to leave the car at the hotel. Actually, the next morning the car was still in the hotel parking without receiving any communication from them. Again, although the process was ok, we would have been happy to receive a more precise communication about it.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 04. May 2017
Good
Hello, We had a great time and the campervan was pretty good. Only problems: the insulation of the vehicle (but the heating was powerful enough to heat well anyway). So we had to get a bottle of gas but it was almost empty. We stayed for 7 nights and for one of them the cabin heater did not work. A priori, the battery had not relented yet we had rolled 3h. Unfortunately our English was so bad that to phone the agency it was complicated so we communicated by email, which was more complicated to solve the problem. In short, we never understood but after that night in the cold, for the last night the heating has to re-operate. So cool :) Otherwise for the highlights it is very pleasant vehicle to do many km, the layout of the aft cabin is well despite the limited space available. We were comfortable. The ice cream was not available but the agency gave us a free WIFI box for the whole week in exchange so it was very good. In the end the temperatures were better to have lewifi than the cooler :). In addition there are many connections in the vehicle which allows to reload our devices easily (by rolling but also when we were at the stop). On the other hand, when the vehicle was returned to the agency, we were surprised that no verification of the van was made. We were just asked for the keys, and we headed straight to the airport, without signing anything, without taking stock. We were too bad in English to ask for more details but it is true that we were surprised by this !
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 02. May 2017
Excellent
Our overall experience was very pleasant and comfortable. The only thing I wish to add - more information when renting the vehicle about the towns / cites where help is available around Iceland in case of breakdown would be helpful
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 26. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
This company was great. My flight was changed at the last minute and they were able to reaccommodate me on very short notice. The shuttle was waiting for me when I arrived, and there were zero issues with the vehicle. All in all an easy, smooth experience. Thanks!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 04. May 2017
Outstanding!
Camp easy were brilliant. Very good service from corresponds, arranging collections, providing travel information and good equipment. Looking at other rental companies vans while we where there, I think camp easy provide the best and they were cheaper.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 03. May 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 01. May 2017
Good
good
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 01. May 2017
Outstanding!
good service, vehicle was fine but winter tires had practically no studs left,however we had a good experience.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 10. May 2017
Outstanding!
The overall experience starting from checking in to check out and the vehicle, was truly exceptional. The staff were very knowledgeable and also helped us with understanding how to handle the driving conditions in Iceland. Overall a great company!!!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 01. May 2017
Outstanding!
The service was really good! They picked us up at the airport and explained us the car and everything and when we returned the car they drove us to our hotel. Super friendly staff!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 06. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
I had a really great experience with Icerental 4x4. They were very accommodating and easy to work with. I had 24 hour help if I needed it. I found them to be very friendly, trustworthy, and had my interest in mind. I would absolutely go with them again for my next trip.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 03. May 2017
Good
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 27. Jun 2017
Good
The vehicle was good. We didn't have any trouble with it, it performed well for what we needed it. We didn't really do anything radical with it, kept mostly to made roads. We had some snow and slush on the roads and the tyres performed quite well. The interior could have been a little cleaner when we picked it up, but it was warm inside at least.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 24. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Smooth experience - I originally hired the mazda CX-3 but they brought round a Ford KUGA which was awesome. I highlighted all existing scratches and dents on the car and they had them all noted down when i came to return the car. As such, there were no disagreements and we left very satisfied and happy with the service.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 24. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Amazing experience, the camper van was very comfortable and easy to pick up/drop off!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 28. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
We had a smooth and trouble-free experience renting from Arctic. We were met after clearing customs after a long delay waiting for baggage, taken to our car, and given some helpful advice re: driving in Iceland. The car was clean, damage-free, and ran well. No mechanical or maintenance issues in driving about 2000 km. Drop off was easy. Nice to rent from a local company rather than one of the multi-nationals.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 28. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Could not have been happier with Northbound. We were called shortly after landing by Jan who told us he'd be waiting just outside baggage claim for us. He had a clear sign to see making it easy to find him. After driving us to our car he showed us around, answered some questions about local driving and we took off. Shortly after we left, we noticed the drivers side wiper not working very well. We called him and he said to go back and take our pick from the cars that were left. We found the same car in a different color and left from there. When we landed back in North America, I immediately realized that I left not only a pair of headphones in the center console of the car, but MY CAR KEYS as well! I called Jan (at midnight his time) and he picked up right away and informed me he'd be back at the airport in the morning and he'd look for them. Later that day, he texted me that he had found what I left and shipped them back to me. This is what customer service is about. I can't say enough great things about Northbound or Jan!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 25. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
I could not have imagined a greater rental experience for myself. From pickup at the airport to the dropoff, they were an absolute pleasure to deal with. Not only was our vehicle fantastic, but we also received tips on where to go at night and where to eat. Friendly staff. Excellent service. HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR ANYONE WANTING TO TRAVEL ICELAND BY VEHICLE. Troy
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 24. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Very fast car delivery no problem at all
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 25. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Hi Runar! We had such and amazing time in Iceland. It was one for the books! Picking car up may have been an unconventional rental but it's one of the finest services I've received from a rental car. We were able to get and return the car with ease. The representatives were kind enough to let us know about the existing damage to the back panel and light (aesthetics) but it had no bearing on the van's performance. Van was clean and in great shape. It was such an affordable rate for the 9-passenger van. We will surely rent with Northbound/Go Car Rental again and I hope your company success!!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 27. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
The pickup and drop off were easy, and the vehicle was fantastic in snow and very comfortable. Couldn't have asked for a better experience!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 27. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Lava Auto Car Rental was great. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, which is just a couple minutes from their building. The car was really nice and perfect for Iceland roads and weather.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 25. Apr 2017
Excellent
Pleasant helpful people and overall pleased with car, but a few things to mention, the sat nav didn't work and the car wasn't in excellent condition, but was fine for what we used it for which was exploring.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 28. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
I rented a Volvo XC60 D4 AWD from Thrifty through Northbound. I found the whole process really clear and easy. The prices from Northbound were the best I could find from a car rental company based at the airport. The booking process was very easy and collection was too. There were lots of Thrifty staff at the rental desk at the time of collection so there was no need to wait, I also got a refund for a GPS system I added on when I found that the car I rented had GPS built in as standard. All additional insurances were explained to us at the time of collection with no pressure to buy. We chose not to add on any additional insurances at the time of booking. The car was brand new with 5000km on the clock when I collected it, it was very clean and came with a high spec. (GPS, Lane assist, Radar guided cruise control etc.) I did around 1200km in 6 days in the car and it was great, really great to drive, comfortable and stable through a few storms while driving. I would definitely use Thrifty and Northbound again when in Iceland. As I said, being able to pick the car up directly from the airport was great as many other Icelandic rental services are outside of the airport, the prices from Northbound were the best I could find and the car was excellent. Highly recommended!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 25. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
I had a great experience renting with Star car rental. We were picked up at the airport shortly after arrival and received our camper van in clean and good condition. The heater in the camper van works great at night especially during cold weather. Gas mileage was good. Very spacious in the sleeping area. All the cooking utensils were in the box. One thing to note is the wifi device stopped working after the first day. My iPhone said I was connected but I couldn't browse the Internet.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 22. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
The experience was amazing. Very easy pickup and drop off and the car exceeded our expectations.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 25. Apr 2017
Excellent
Very good experience! The car was nice, working properly. The service was great, especially the possibility to leave the car at the airport during the night since the office was closed when we came back home. Even the pick up at the airport at 00:30 AM at the arrival was really comfortable. Thank you.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 20. Apr 2017
Good
In general our experience was good. I would make a couple suggestions. First, offer maps to customers who rent from the Reykjavik office and return at the airport to facilitate returning the car. Second, make it clear during the reservation process that a deposit (and quite a large one) will be required when the car is picked up. We were not expecting this and it was only by chance we could afford the deposit. Also, I am still waiting for the deposit to be refunded. I returned the car on time and undamaged.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 19. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
The service was impeccable. I will definitely use your services in the future.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 25. Apr 2017
Excellent
It was pretty good! I believe that I got what I paid for - because it was pretty cheap compared to some of the other cars that I was looking at. I guess what I am trying to say is that the guy who picked us up was a little late, the car was on empty when he handed over the keys, the exterior was a little beat up, including the fact that the driver door didn't shut all the way, the GPS was broken and the rental company didnt have a backup (but we were going to use a map anyway) - But we are a bunch of poor recent college grads and for what we paid for, it was great! The car ran well - though the car said it was 4x4 the actual instructions said not to take it on the f roads - which was a little disappointing. So I am not sure I would advertise it as four-wheel drive. Also I would check with rent a wreck on the insurance. It was a little complicated when we got there, so I would make sure what you are advertising is what they offer. At the end of the day, the car was exactly what we needed. It worked, it was big enough, and we felt pretty safe. We took care of the car and didn't do anything stupid (no off-roading, driving through rivers, or speeding through the ice). I hope that we don't see any charges for anything post trip - like I said, the car was pretty beat up when we got it but they had documented every scratch on the car. So I guess we will see. The last thing I would mention is that when advertising the car, make sure there are instructions to bring a credit card. Thanks for everything! Yall were super prompt in all of your responses and very helpful!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 20. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
The whole service from the beginning to the end was straight forward and simple. Everything went on as offered (1st time I got the same car I booked on line :-) Car itself - perfect for couple - easy in driving, a bit slow on highways but strong - we went through off-roads and Jimmy make it.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 24. Apr 2017
Excellent
Our experience with Go Campers was efficient and worthwhile. However, after driving around in such randomly inclement weather we learned that utilizing (or renting) a 4x4 vehicle would have made our trip easer to conquer the various roads. Other than those learned lessons our trip was awesome!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 25. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Although they were short staffed for the holiday, they were still able to make us feel unrushed and gave us great tips for our short adventure. Our Kia Sorrento fit 6 adults easily (we didn't have a lot of luggage) and was so comfortable. We really enjoyed driving around in it and had a very quick and easy check in for the way back. I would totally rent through you again. Thank you!!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 21. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Delighted. Excellent service, excellent car.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 25. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
We had an great experience with Icerental 4x4. Any questions I had were answered promptly by both phone and email. The car was ready and as advertised. Additionally, I've heard horror stories about car rental in Iceland. We had no issue and no hassle returning the car. I felt like I totally understood the rental process and what insurances were available to me. As an added bonus, the agent on duty when we returned the car made sure we had a speedy return back to the terminal. I highly recommend this company. If you are nervous about the company not being entirely on site at the airport, don't be. They are very prompt and easy to contact should you have an issue.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 21. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
We were very happy with our Ford Galaxy 7 seat Minivan. It was new, clean and very easy to drive. The gps worked well. It was very tight driving to our airbnb and then back to the airport because we had to put the third seat down in order to accommodate our six pieces of luggage. However, once the luggage was out, it was very comfortable. Thrifty was nice to deal with and the pickup and return went quickly and smoothly. I would use Thrifty again!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 20. Apr 2017
Excellent
The general experience has been good with Northbound. Always available on the phone and we didn't have any problem with the shuttle to/from the airport.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 26. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
All was great. If I come back to Iceland I will use northbound again without any doubt.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 10. May 2017
Outstanding!
The experience was very good. The company exceeded our expectations, because they provided not only the service promised, but also a GPS for free. Besides, the contact person was very kind with us, and the range of the opening hours is very wide, very convenient taking into account the arrival time of the flights.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 22. Apr 2017
Good
Was a good vehicle for our adventures but needs some minor repairs such as breaks and wind noise on drivers side door. On pick up we were told to return vehicle to pick up location but when we got there no was there but a sign stating to drop off at airport. It would have nice to have been notified of this change prior to leaving day. Suggestion is to have rental address input into GPS as it was difficult to get the GPS to locate it.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 26. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Booking through Northbound was easy and information of the cars very clear. In addition the prices were very competitive. Everything in the car rental was as agreed. I can definitely recommend Northbound and will use them also next time. Thanks.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 23. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Superb; flexible and efficient; best value for money Friendly people at Northbound and rent a wreck Our wreck was a Suzuki Vitara with 230,000 km on the teller; great engine condition; no worries about the body work as it was already bruised and dented here and there ;) Hein
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 18. Apr 2017
Good
Loved the car and value for it. The drop off at the airport location was very convenient. However the pick up office in the Harpa concert hall was a bit difficult to find on our own.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 20. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Great car! Got me through the mountains, over the highlands, and back to the city in gale force winds. Hello Iceland! No muss, no fuss at the rental counter. Also, instead of waiting for the yellow bus to take you to the car rental place, you can walk across the parking lot in about 5 minutes to the car rental places that are not inside the terminal, they're all in a row.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 18. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
We had the BEST experience with Northbound. For starters, the staff at the car pickup were friendly, helpful, and honest. They were there to pick us up at the airport when we arrived and drive us to the car rental facility (quick drive) which was so appreciated after our long flight. It is such a pain when you have to call the company and wait for them to arrive, so it was great that they were already there when we landed. The check-in process was easy too. Additionally, the car came with a GPS, which was included in the already low price so that was awesome as well. We rented an SUV and had no problems with it at all, even in cases of high wind and a little snow/sleet. The car handled smoothly and we felt safe for the entire week. I would choose Northbound over any other car rental company one million times over, and I will definitely be recommending it to all of my friends and family that plan to visit Iceland in the future.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 21. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Car rental with rent a wreck was awesomely easy. We got picked up at the airport got our car really fast had no issues. Also I contacted northbound and rent a wreck before our trip regarding different questions and they answered really fast and nice. Really good support from both companies. I chose northbound for my car rental because there were not only the best value car rentals available (and I compared a lot) but also they offered the most honest information and trustworthy support and web page and had really good reviews. I would totally recommend booking via Northbound.is Also I love their free ebook 'Iceland 101' which gives a lot of information summed up in a nice smartphone friendly format. Thank you Northbound for making my trip to Iceland even more awesome.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 08. May 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 21. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
A small great company! Personal and with good service. Smart solutions regarding the interior of the car, we got everything we needed. No "extra costs" like most other companies had (wifi, bed linnens, kitchenware etc...), everything was included. God information about travelling in Iceland!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 18. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
We were due to be picked up from the airport at 10 am by a Icerental agent, 10 came and went and no one from Icerental showed up, 11 am came and went still no show. Finally an agent from Icerental turned up at the airport, when I spoke to him I found out that he was not here to pick us up but a different family and he did not have room in his van for both parties and would have to come back for us. At 11-30 am a different icerental agent turned up to take use to pickup our car. An hour and a half after our due pickup time. The Suzuki was not the best looking car I have rented and had a number of battle scars from the Iceland roads already. However we accepted the car as it was, The staff at Icerental were very friendly and we set of on our Iceland adventure. After the first day we had only been travelling along Route 1 and a small sections of the plastic trim from the bottom of the wing had fallen of the car. We also discovered that the hand brake was not very good and the car had to be parked in gear to stop it rolling away. This is not the end of the sorry tail, on the Friday we drove to the Snaefellsjokull Nation park to see the Lava cave. On our return the clutch on the car totally failed just outside Arnarstapi and we were stranded for 3 hours on the side of the road until Icerental could bring us a replacement car. I appreciate the 3 hours is the time it takes to drive from Reykjayvik to our location, The guy who brought the new car a Hyundai 4x4 Automatic was again a very friendly chap and we were once more on our way. The Hyundai was a much nicer car than the Suzuki we drove back to our apartment in Reykjayvik no problems. Parked the car outside our apartment when I opened the drivers door to get out of the Hyundai a large section of trim fell of the door, we all just looked in disbelief and the end of a perfect day. In conclusion I found the staff at Icerental to be very friendly, but I feel that the quality of their cars let them down badly, I don't think I will be using them again.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 17. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Great ! Everything was fine. Thanks a lot
rented a vehicle in April 2017