Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

12042 Reviews

12042 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 31. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Awesome! Nice & clean - perfect for Iceland. And comfortable on long journeys - Thor and all at Star were super helpful & communication was quick & concise. Will definitely use them again!
Mike rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Excellent
General experience was very good. Booking via the website was straightforward and easy; prices were very good. There was some mix-up when picking up the car (in the confirmation it said we had to pick it up at Harpa, but it turned out that we were meant to pick it up elsewhere), but that was all sorted very well and quickly. Also the initial car had a problem with starting, but that can be understood after the covid-19 period where it may not have been used (much). That too was sorted very well. Contact on the road was also immediate and helpful. Pick-up at the end went smoothly.
Carien rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 17. Jul 2020
Good
Instead of the Toyota, we got an Honda CRV 4WD and automatic transmission, the car itself was ok. When starting our journey, we got a warning, low tire pressure. We returned immediately. Icerental was aware of it and told me, it is a false warning and simply reset it, the warning will come on again after a while. Indeed next day same warning after a drive of more then 200km, but by precaution I checked the tire pressure and found one tire at 20psi i.s.o. 33psi. Contacted the company and they proposed to get it repaired. Since than, no more warnings. Icerental just repaid the invoice and offered me a return trip downtown Keflavik. They could have been a little more proactive, a lot of people would end up with a broken tire and got an hard time to repair it.
Jan rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 10. Jul 2020
Good
Smaller than expected, but finally big enough for my trip.
Stephan rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 15. Jul 2020
Good
Positive : My land cruiser is new and very confortable, is a good choice. Transfers airport are ok Price is ok Negative : We wait more than 1h for prepare the car. I send SMS because 1 tyre is broken on the way, never answer.
Thierry rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 12. Nov 2020
Outstanding!
Everything from start to finish was excellent. It was an unusual time (in COVID June 2020) but also a great time to drive the wilderness and meet Icelanders. The car and roof-tent were in good condition and everything was explained clearly by friendly staff. I managed to cross the Koljur route with Midnight Sun and 4 days of sunny weather (rare in Iceland!) and swam in many hot-pots too. The midge screens on the tent worked very well at keeping out the wee beasties and the Suzuki Jimny coped very well with gravel roads. Takk fyrir allt !
Graham rented a vehicle in June 2020
The Supplier Response:
Dear Graham, Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear that you had a great time in Iceland and that you our service at Icerental4x4. Best regards Team Icerental4x4
Submitted 09. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We enjoyed our trip with this Suzuki Jimmy and slept well in the rooftent on top of it!
L. rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 22. Jul 2020
Good
Suzuki Vitara it's a perfect car for road trip on normal roads (paved) and not too bumpy mountain roads. The car is not very high to face real mountain roads The car was recent and well equipped as an option. the checkin and checkout were easy. I recommend and would try to use the same company again on a future trip
Samir rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 26. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We had a Great Time, the car was very good and the service from icerental was super. I would always recommend northbound and icelandtravel
Heide rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 07. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
very good car. very good service
Christophe rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 03. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Northern Lights Rentals was wonderful. We were picked up at the airport and shuttled to our car pick-up. The car was a bit older, but was great for what we needed. The windshield wipers were not functioning, so we purchased new ones, had a lovely interaction at the gas station with a very helpful attendant, who changed them out for us. Northern Lights reimbursed us for the cost of them, so it all worked out well. I always received prompt emails when I had a question or I had to alter my reservation. I would use them again.
Beate rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Both Northbound and Lava Car Rental provided excellent service. Initially I had booked with another (Solstice) through Northbound, but Solstice cancelled last minute and was not responsive at all. Northbound immediately took action, was very kind and really helped in finding a good alternative which was Lava Car Rental. Lava Car Rental was also very good, they were very responsive, always picked up the phone and were very helpful. So both Northbound and Lava Car Rental I would definitely recommend. We loved the Nissan NV200. You can sit comfortable inside, the bed was good. You could charge your phone, there was a working fridge and you could cook. Also sleeping bags, chairs and table were provided and the car drove well. I would definitely recommend booking through Northbound and with Lava Car Rental.
Maria rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 13. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
The Jimny can do more than you think, but it is loud, not a fasty and drinks a lot. The sleeping mat was a bit hard and the rooftop tent was too short for my length (1.93m). However the tent is really fast set up and easy to break down. Icerental does have some extra costs when you would make a speeding ticket, flat tire or other problems which are in your own hands for causing them. By a flat tire it is better to fix it yourself they said. We happily didn't got one, while we drove quite a bit offroad. Although the F249 to Porsmork is not allowed to drive on. The personal was really friendly, the pickup was fast and drop off too. Quite a reasonable rental company i would say, recommended!
Johannes rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 06. Jul 2020
Good
Good experience - got a bit unsecure at arrival as none from your company was prensent and nobody picked up the telephone. However af another 10 min. the driver showed up, and everything went smooth from there.
Allan rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 06. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
It was a great car well organized
Roland rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 14. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Perfect car for 2 small for 4 .Pass everywhere. No problem in 50 cm stream. Conso around 7 or 8 l per cent kilomèter. Autonomi around 500km. No problem on check in and check out
Stephane rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 08. Jul 2020
Excellent
So Great. Everything went smoothly. Even when we pointed out one of the tires were worn out, they quickly apoligized and fitted new once. Great service! Not sure if you wrote on your website.. But please inform customers that they May already have the self risk covered by they own incurance. There have been alot of focus on This in Denmark, and people usually tend to pas on rentalcompanies, that Dont remind them
Niels rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 01. Jul 2020
Fine
Employees and drivers were very nice. office is not so far from the airport and on the way to Reykjavik. When arriving, I waited some time due to some issues with the computer. They deliver you a car with limited explanation (i realized later that they did not show me the replacing tire ...). Car is not new ... but clean ... fuel was full (8/8) but after 10 kilometers it was already lower (7/8)... Car was very noisy with a lot of vibrations ...
Damien rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 05. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Great cost-benefit. Car was in shape and saved me through some tough roads.
Pedro rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 10. Jul 2020
Good
The pickup and drop off from the airport were great and went snoothly. The quality of the car was good and no issues came up during the rental. The rooftent also was as expected or maybe better. The quality of the added camping chairs and table were below expectations. The chairs were heavily used and one of them was unuseable. This would be a point of improvement. The service was great before arival when qusrions emerged, aswell for the pickup and return moment.
Sander rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 29. Jun 2020
Outstanding!
Perfectly! A new, fully equipped, reliable, economical car. Nice and professional service. Simply check-in and out. Recommend!
Tomasz rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 02. Jul 2020
Fine
It was not what I ordered, one of the car was not cleaned and not filled with gas. But besides that it was good.
Kristín margrét rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 06. Jul 2020
Good
The roof tent is super! The car was ok. But I expect newest car.
Pavel rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 06. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Engelbert rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 02. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
About company Star Car Rental Quick, easy and no problem. Car ok, as described. Pick up and drop off at the airport without a problem. About company Northbound: Advantages only: - flexibility - I changed the date of rental several times and there was no problem with that - advance payment - you do not have to pay the whole amount right away, which was very beneficial in case of resignation - quick and trouble-free contact - competitive prices - everything cool :)
Paweł rented a vehicle in June 2020

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.