Reviews for
Thrifty Car Rental in Iceland

373 Reviews
9.46

About

Thrifty Car Rental in Iceland is a popular choice for travelers seeking a reliable and affordable vehicle for their journey. Known for their wide range of vehicles, flexible rental options, and excellent support, Thrifty ensures a smooth and enjoyable travel experience. Their convenient locations throughout Iceland make pick-up and drop-off a breeze.

Renting through Northbound allows you to take advantage of Thrifty's offerings with the added assurance of our Best Price Guarantee and Free Cancellation policy. The reviews from Northbound customers highlight Thrifty's commitment to quality and customer satisfaction. Many customers have praised the condition and performance of the vehicles, the ease of the rental process, and the value for money.

One reviewer appreciated the upgrade to a Mazda CX-5, while another highlighted the convenience of extending their rental period. The sense of security provided by Thrifty's vehicles, especially when navigating Iceland's challenging terrains, is a recurring theme in the reviews. Choose Thrifty Car Rental through Northbound for a worry-free and memorable Icelandic adventure.

Reviews

9.46
373 total reviews
Fantastic!
5-Star
82%
4-Star
15%
3-Star
2%
2-Star
1%
1-Star
0%
Staff
9.7
Value
9.1
Cleanliness
9.8
Pickup
9.3
Dropoff
9.3
Condition
9.5

353 reviews for Thrifty Car Rental

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from Thrifty Car Rental

Submitted 30. Sep 2023
Outstanding!
Chintan rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 02. Oct 2023
Outstanding!
Silvia rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 29. Sep 2023
Outstanding!
Danielle rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 17. Sep 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was great. Thank you very much. Staff was very helpful to us, as well as the other tourists who were renting a vehicle. We had no issues.
Charles rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 30. Sep 2023
Excellent
Hi, All worked very fine. Quick car pick on Thrift. I was lucky to get Mazda Cx-5 instead. The only issue was to find the pick up point ( near bakery inside the airport). We had full insurance, hence no car inspection required (very comfortable). Return of the car quick , no issues.
Michal rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 08. Sep 2023
Very Good
Hi, actually we rent a Mazda CX-30 Manual but we got a Ford Kuga automatic. For us the Ford Kuga automatic was ok and it was good to drive and we were satisfied with the car. Still I would recommend, if sometmone rents a manual car, that we gets a manual car and if an automatic car is rent, then ghe person should get a automatic car.
Jessica rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 10. Sep 2023
Good
Marta rented a vehicle in September 2023
Submitted 28. Aug 2023
Outstanding!
Dear all, It was unbelievable time, nice and comfortable car…without any problems we have driven around the Iceland and doesn’t matter which route we had… You need just Tank the car and enjoy the journey.. Thank you! Fully recommend Thrifty Car Rental.
Maksym rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 24. Aug 2023
Great
Sunshine and a Blue Mazda.
James rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 21. Aug 2023
Outstanding!
Very well .. Thank you !
Elodie rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 28. Aug 2023
Outstanding!
Achim josef rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 22. Aug 2023
Great
Car was perfect BUT rear Tyres were a bit too warn.
Silvia rented a vehicle in August 2023
Submitted 26. Jul 2023
Very Good
Please eliminate the paragraph that begins “The shuttle will wait for you just outside the airport.” It was very confusing and conflicts with the correct information in the message from the supplier.
Constance rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 13. Jul 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was ok
Haya rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 14. Jul 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was great, would rent again!
Raimonds rented a vehicle in July 2023
Submitted 14. Jun 2023
Outstanding!
Khang rented a vehicle in May 2023
Submitted 29. May 2023
Fine
Yes, the car was great. Unfortunately, the customer service at Thrifty was not great. The staff did not seem to want to be there and help customers. When we returned the car for an early morning flight there was no shuttle to take us to the airport.
Zan rented a vehicle in May 2023
Submitted 28. Apr 2023
Outstanding!
They gave us a Ford Kuga instead. It was a great car and we enjoyed driving it. We also rented a mobile wifi. They also let us pick up the car earlier since our cruise ship arrived earlier. It was a great experience, can highly recommend
Annechien rented a vehicle in April 2023
Submitted 16. Apr 2023
Fantastic!
The car got upgraded to a Mazda CX-5 automatic free of additional charge. We were very satisfied with the car, it was clean and in a good condition. The pickup was very smooth, the employees very friendly and customer-oriented. The dropoff did not work as expected. Although I had booked a return at "Keflavik Intl. Airport" at 22:00, we had to organize and pay for a taxi from the Thrifty office to the Aiport, as it was after office hours. The cost for the taxi (20€) was not a big issue, considering the rental duration of 10 days. Nevertheless, I had expected different. Overall, I was pretty satisfied with the rental experience.
Simon rented a vehicle in April 2023
Submitted 17. Apr 2023
Outstanding!
We liked it very much, it was comfortable and it had lot of space to hold our bags.
Andrea rented a vehicle in April 2023
Submitted 31. Mar 2023
Outstanding!
It was very good. Nice staff, good car and no problem. Thank you Thrifty😊
Omer rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 29. Mar 2023
Outstanding!
The car was great and fit the bil for an excursion around Iceland. Everything worked great and it was easy to extend the trip by a couple of days.
Shawn rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 14. Mar 2023
Outstanding!
We loved the car and the service; everyone was very helpful. Highly recommend this company to rent from.
Adnan rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 07. Mar 2023
Outstanding!
Hey, We had a really good time in iceland and with smooth service from Northbound car rental it makes more memorable. They are have good cars and service. I would definitely recommend.
Rahul rented a vehicle in March 2023
Submitted 04. Feb 2023
Outstanding!
Sophie rented a vehicle in January 2023

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.