Reviews for Thrifty Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Thrifty Car Rental
Submitted 12. Jul 2017
Good
The pickup and return service was very good, easy and fast.
The only recommedation which I have is to get the car with a full tank and return it also with a full tank. This will make the life of your company and customer alot easier as they do not have to play during refueling the tank e.g. to 5/8 or so.
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 15. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 15. Jul 2017
Good
The vehicle offerred lots of space and was very comfortable. We did lots of driving as there was so much to see!! .Your employees were very helpful.
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 10. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was good - had heard many scary reviews of Iceland but had no problem with Thrifty or Northbound who answered my questions quickly and to my satisfaction.
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 06. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with our rental! We had no problems, and were able to purchase all the insurances, so we had no hassle. Easy pick up and easy return. Highly recommend Northbound for your rental needs.
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 12. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Good experience, well staffed for an early morning arrival. Easy to get going right away and very easy return. Car worked great the entire time.
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 18. Jun 2017
Good
There's a good 5 reasons why i chose Northbound for my car rental , i just picked one out of the list because i could not select more ! A big thank you to Runar for his attention to my needs !
I chose a car from Thrifty , the staff were a friendly bunch , of note their flexibility in helping me find the best car for the job , i also appreciated the agency's choice of insurance options which in my opinion is the best on the Icelandic car rental market . I can forgive the staff for the extra time i spent at check-in , a crowd gathered in the office , a busy day i reckon ! My wife and i had a great time on the road thanks to their low mileage Ford Fiesta 2017 , the only glitch is the tire pressure lamp stayed on in the dashboard all the time... i followed the clerk's instructions not to bother with it and just check the tires as i would normally do with my own car ...fortunately did not have to inflate a tire in the whole trip . If the price is right i will certainly rent through the excellent Northbound a Thrifty car next time Iceland calls us , i have this feeling that our next Icelandic journey is not that far away ! All the best ,
Carol Dorion
Canada
rented a vehicle in June 2017
Submitted 09. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Northbound made it easy to review different car options – Thrifty's ended up being the cheapest, once I added the insurance I wanted (would recommend, as many main highways in Iceland had some gravel). The experience with Thrifty was smooth, and I had no issues.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 11. Jun 2017
Good
Thrifty car rental was alright. Nothing fabulous or too bad. They didn't force us to add extra insurance but they didn't offer advice either. They have free coffee and free discount card for OB and olis. Make sure you grab them before leaving Thrifty.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 05. Jun 2017
Good
Using Northbound.is was definetively helpful as I could compare easily different rental companies. Also they were kind and supportive when I had to change the booking twice. Would repeat again. I booked a small car from Thrifty, everything was fine and the experience overall was good. The 4/5 rating is because the car I was given was not particularly good or comfortable, and it was lacking the boot tray.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 06. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
It was good. We got a Mazda Cx-5. There was a problem about cigar lighter. We drove to Thrifty office in town (not the one we pickup the car), they changed a new car to us right away.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 31. May 2017
Outstanding!
We had a good experience with Thrifty (via Northbound). We took a quick shuttle from KEF to Thrifty and within minutes we were on our way. Clean, capable car. No issues. I would use your services again!
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 09. Jun 2017
Excellent
Really enjoyable car to drive across Iceland.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 14. Jun 2017
Good
the car was good in condition and great, i satisfied with the service of northbound and thrify car rental.

but if mountain tie could be used instead of the highway one may be better for my usage, as some road condition and raining weather.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 29. May 2017
Outstanding!
Loved the car. Nice and spacious for all of our needs. Northbound was great to work with -- best prices and extremely good customer service. Answered emails quickly and upgraded the Wi-Fi to our car easily and with no hassle. Thrifty was good to work with, although was disappointed I paid extra for the better insurance only to find that when their tire blew on me, I was responsible for paying out of pocket for a new tire. $300. A bit of a rip off but apparently no one covers flat tires since they happen so often in Iceland. Overall, I would use Northbound again to book my car and Thrifty if it was the best price as it was this time.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 23. May 2017
Outstanding!
It was a smooth and great experience. The car was clean and ready for us when we arrived.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 23. May 2017
Good
The rentals was both very good. We rented two Volvo XC90s. Although we only got one. We was also given a Ford Expedition which was a little thirsty compared to the diesel Volvos but overall the service was very good.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 24. May 2017
Outstanding!
Fast and reliable. Please better clarify in welcome instructions for future customers where to rental car shuttle at the KEV airport picks people up, or at least a map would help.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 26. May 2017
Outstanding!
Overall a very easy and smooth process with the car and the companies (Thrifty & Northbound). We enjoyed the freedom of having our own car for traveling around Iceland (with very good fuel consumption). No hassle at all with anything when picking up the car and dropping it off. The staff were friendly and helpful with our questions.

Would definitely recommend to family and friends!
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 14. May 2017
Outstanding!
I emailed Thrifty to specifically request a Volvo XC90 for our journey, and I got the exact model. Our car was brand-new, having accumulated only 120 km before we rented. Everything works perfectly well. Fuel economy was good conpared to its size. Thrifty Iceland agents were effective enough.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 16. May 2017
Outstanding!
We enjoyed using the Berlingo. It performed well and held the luggage of four adults. Drove about 1100 KM in a week. We will certainly recommend you to friends.
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 19. May 2017
Outstanding!
Pick up and drop off of car was quick and easy. Thought price through Northbound was good value (for Iceland)
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 11. May 2017
Outstanding!
Ford Focus was a great car and good for driving on the main route( golden circle)
rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 11. May 2017
Good
Over all very good
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 09. May 2017
Outstanding!
I had a good experience. The car was exactly as expected and served well for my Ring Road journey, with lots of side trips that required the help of the 4x4.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 07. May 2017
Good
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 03. May 2017
Outstanding!
Great
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 01. May 2017
Outstanding!
good service, vehicle was fine but winter tires had practically no studs left,however we had a good experience.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 24. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Smooth experience - I originally hired the mazda CX-3 but they brought round a Ford KUGA which was awesome. I highlighted all existing scratches and dents on the car and they had them all noted down when i came to return the car. As such, there were no disagreements and we left very satisfied and happy with the service.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 24. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Very fast car delivery no problem at all
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 28. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
I rented a Volvo XC60 D4 AWD from Thrifty through Northbound. I found the whole process really clear and easy. The prices from Northbound were the best I could find from a car rental company based at the airport. The booking process was very easy and collection was too. There were lots of Thrifty staff at the rental desk at the time of collection so there was no need to wait, I also got a refund for a GPS system I added on when I found that the car I rented had GPS built in as standard. All additional insurances were explained to us at the time of collection with no pressure to buy. We chose not to add on any additional insurances at the time of booking.

The car was brand new with 5000km on the clock when I collected it, it was very clean and came with a high spec. (GPS, Lane assist, Radar guided cruise control etc.) I did around 1200km in 6 days in the car and it was great, really great to drive, comfortable and stable through a few storms while driving.

I would definitely use Thrifty and Northbound again when in Iceland. As I said, being able to pick the car up directly from the airport was great as many other Icelandic rental services are outside of the airport, the prices from Northbound were the best I could find and the car was excellent. Highly recommended!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 21. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
We were very happy with our Ford Galaxy 7 seat Minivan. It was new, clean and very easy to drive. The gps worked well. It was very tight driving to our airbnb and then back to the airport because we had to put the third seat down in order to accommodate our six pieces of luggage. However, once the luggage was out, it was very comfortable. Thrifty was nice to deal with and the pickup and return went quickly and smoothly. I would use Thrifty again!
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 20. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Great car! Got me through the mountains, over the highlands, and back to the city in gale force winds. Hello Iceland! No muss, no fuss at the rental counter. Also, instead of waiting for the yellow bus to take you to the car rental place, you can walk across the parking lot in about 5 minutes to the car rental places that are not inside the terminal, they're all in a row.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 22. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Very smooth, good company to do business with.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 24. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Had a nice upgrade on the car, nothing to report, all went well. Quick checkin and checkout (quick checkout at 5AM). Thank you
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 24. Apr 2017
Excellent
The car and service was very good. However, the initial reception was very unfriendly and the person who processed our papers at the beginning was not helpful at all.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 12. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Overall, the experience was great! People were friendly and efficient. Car was fun to drive since I drive a mini-van at home.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 15. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
The staffs were helpful and help us to swap the car when we had an issue.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 19. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Staff were efficient and our rental car did not let us down. It had only done a few thousand km and it was clean inside and outside when we received it. Returning the car was a smooth process also.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 11. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Everything went well with the car. We did not have any issues with the car. The studded tires made the car awesome on the roads. Good experience rent a car through northbound. Would rent again.
rented a vehicle in April 2017
Submitted 06. Apr 2017
Excellent
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 28. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 05. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Perfect
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 24. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 22. Mar 2017
Car was nice and booking process was easy. We had issues with the pickup and return of the car, therefore the low rating. They came late to pick up, couldn't accommodate all of us (despite previous alignment via eMail) and there drop-off instructions were not complete (closing time not mentioned).
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 04. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Northbound did an excellent job with providing our group 2 cars for our Icelandic adventure. We had 2 Ford Galaxies which realistically with luggage can hold 5-6 people comfortably. Picking the car up was very easy and there was staff there at 430 in the AM!! You can take a yellow bus which is out in the main parking lot (there are glass canopies to follow out or you can do a 3 min walk) NOTE, even though my debit card is also a credit card they will not accept it if it says "debit" on the actual card. Also, one thing you might want to consider is getting the windshield insurance, especially if you are driving for any great distance. We ended up driving over 1000km and I know our windshield took some pretty heavy hits. Also note that Icelandic roads are excellent but, with that being said, weather conditions can vary wildly (we experienced rain, sleet, snow, white out conditions, wind so hard it blew over a truck, and black ice) and there is often little to no shoulder on the side of the road. Please have your most experienced drives do the driving! Iceland is an amazing country. The people are welcoming and helpful. Utilize the local supermarkets as food prices in restaurants can be a bit spendy. Also note that the best deal on booze is at the duty free shop in the airport. Its where all the flight crews buy their alcohol. Prices outside the airport can be 70% MORE!!! Enjoy your trip!!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 23. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with Northbound company, nice, new and safe car, great and friendly service, easy to book and free transport-pick up from and to Downtown is a great plus! We'll use this company again! Thanks!
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 18. Mar 2017
Good
We wound up receiving a Ford Expedition instead of the Volvo. It was a great, safe truck but I would've liked another choice or at least a little heads up considering the fuel efficiency of the Expedition is a lot different than a Volvo. However, the car was easy to book. Shuttle service to bring us to the car rental facility was on time and efficient. Once we got to the facility the service was quick and the staff very helpful. I had a few wuariotns for he staff prior to booking and they responded quickly via email in English. They made it very easy letting us leave the car at the hotel once we were done (for additional price), but I never received confirmation that they came to pick up the car, in fact, it was still there the next day and I still haven't received confirmation even after emailing the staff. But overall good experience and I would recommend Northbound/Thrifty Car service again.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 30. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
The car was clean, in perfect condition, and was great on fuel. The customer service we received from Thrifty Car Rental when picking up the car was vey accommodating. They even had a shuttle come and pick us up from our hotel and take us to Thrifty Car Rental so we didn't have to worry about a taxi. We ended up getting the GPS service and the MiFi to have internet access in the car. We ended up not using the GPS and just used the Maps feature on our cell phones connected to the MiFi. Overall, they were great and we would recommend them.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 28. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
They are very professional and the car was comfortable and reliable. We had no issues or problems during our journey.
rented a vehicle in March 2017