Reviews for Thrifty Car Rental

Car was great, everything ok, besides that company who rented us the car had a windshield crack and they did not write it in the protocol at the beginning. When we were returning the car they wanted us to pay for the damage. Luckily we had a video on our phone right after we left the company where they could see that the crack was already there. Finally, they agreed but we had to argue a bit with them. Tomas

Tomas

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2017 and rented a 2018 Volvo XC90

Great staff, friendly and flexible.
The check in , check out process could have been faster though

Charlotta

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2017 and rented a 2018 Volvo XC60

Excellent. Smooth checkin and able to use lockbox for after-hours drop off.

Charles

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Focus

View all cars from this company

Click here

The car itself was fine and the process of collecting was easy. The drop off, on the other hand, was a shambles. We were told on the day of collection that the last shuttle would leave at 16:30, but we had rented the car until 18:00. The collection point is a long way out of town. We were told that we'd have to get a bus or taxi back. Given this hadn't been told to us earlier, we couldn't change our plans. No clear instructions were given about how and where to get a bus. When we dropped off the car at 17:30, the office was closed, so we could have realistically dropped the car off the next morning... We tried to get a bus, but they only accept cash, which we didn't have, nor did the cash point in the nearby petrol station work. So we had he option of walking for an hour and a half in -7 degrees or getting a taxi that cost us over £30 back to the centre, pretty much defeating the point of renting a car in the first place...

Edward

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Kuga

Amazing everything was good from day one until i returned the car.

Mirhashmat

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2018 Volvo XC90

Great service car was perfect for the conditions as we arrived in deep snow so the awd and studded tyres were perfect office staff were very helpful indeed

Frederick

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2018 Volvo XC60

Free Cancellation & Amendments

HI ,

The car was really awesome and good service ,when we exchanged the car for another one, you where very responsive, coming to the trip in iceland, great country with naturnal beauty and nature at its best with beautiful snowy mountains and lakes and beaches and thermal waters,valcanos, i am sure would like to do another trip in summer too , to see the sunny part of it .

Sai kumar

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2018 Volvo XC90

Great service, booking through Northbound was easy and cheap. Thrifty service was very good too

MONICA

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2018 Mazda CX-3

The car was very good and the service was excellent and the CX-3 came up to expectations. We had no trouble with the vehicle although I would say the road noise caused by the studded winter tyres was pretty loud and the windscreen wipers were not very effective, especially the rear wiper, as they only smeared the considerable dirt from driving around the Route 1 ring road which did have unavoidable sections of gravel surprisingly. I think they should have been replaced. The expensive price of fuel was also a surprise. The navigation unit offered was useless as it did not even have hotels in Iceland listed so we swapped that out in exchange for use of the in-car wifi which worked very well mostly and in combination with our own iPad served for navigation instead of the Garman navigation unit.

Andrew

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2018 Mazda CX-3

Our car rental experience went very smoothly from beginning to end. The car handled the every changing road conditions extremely well. We were able to fit our 6 passengers with all our luggage to and from the airport and it was very comfortable traveling around south Iceland without all the luggage. It cost us under $100 for gas for the 4 days we were there and we did a lot of driving! We did drive in some snow and icy road where there were 4 wheel drive cars off the road but were slow and steady and able to manage without a problem. The return process was under 5 minutes and easy to get the shuttle back to the terminal.

Jean

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2018 Citroen C4 Grand Picasso

yes great servies with northbound...

Jian Tong

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2018 Volvo XC90

Karol

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Focus

Great! Easy rental process, car was clean, and the rental office was easy to get to.

Jonathon

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2018 Citroen Berlingo

Very efficient

Philip

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2018 Mazda CX-3

Very easy and smooth process of renting and returning the vehicle. This is the second time I’ve used them in Iceland!

Cisco

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2017 Ford Kuga

I had a great experience renting from Thrifty. The employee I interacted with was extremely helpful, efficient, and also gave tips on driving in Iceland. I ended up with Peugeot vehicle similar in size to the Ford Focus. The vehicle was in great condition upon receipt and even had studded tires installed.

Marie

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Focus

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Awesome car.
Swift collection of car and detailed explanation by staff. Return of car was a plesant experience too.
Thrifty was definitely a good choice.

Guan Xian

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Kuga

Great customer service, really helpful and informative

Dicky

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2018 Citroen Berlingo

I had a good experience with Thrifty Car Rental. The staff was helpful and very accommodating, and one employee inspected the car with us to make sure there was no damage beforehand. They made sure we understood everything about the car, the rental process and if we wanted extra insurance (the price includes collision insurance, but not other kinds, like windshield protection and gravel insurance). The office itself is a little ways outside Reykjavik (definitely not within walking distance) but there is a shuttle available. There was a little mix up with my payment, but it was completely sorted out within a few minutes. The drop off process couldn't be easier, you just park the car near the entrance of the office and drop the keys into the slot. All in all, I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for a car rental travelling from Reykjavik.

Rachel

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

There were no issues with our car. Everything worked fine. We got different car, it wasn't Ford Focus, instead we got Citroen, but I guess it was an upgrade, because it had GPS, so we got GPS for free :-)
Wifi worked wery well, it was the best thing we did, because we used it in the car and on all the properties where we stayed. We could take wifi box with us to the properties and the wifi box we had was much better than anything that was offered as 'complimentary wifi' :-)
Overall very happy with the rental.

Monika

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Focus

Great. Staff was kind enough to drop us off at the office to pick up our vehicle. I also appreciated thorough explanation on vehicle condition such as prior scratches and dents. The report that was handed to me was very clear and professional. I had an awful experience through a different car rental in Reykjavik so I appreciated your highly professional service.

Mitsuki

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

The Ford Kuga through Thrifty was in excellent condition and perfect for our needs. Great price when including insurance coverages and one-way drop off!

Matthew

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Kuga

Smooth pick-up and drop-off of rental car at Thrifty Car Rental. At pick-up, the staff showed us the full gas tank, nicks on the car bonnet that were already noted on the rental documents and assured us that the Premium CDW we had opted for provided full coverage (except damage arising from driving in rivers, tyres and wheels, which we were aware of and the staff reiterated). Returning the car at 5am (to catch a 7am flight) was quick and hassle-free. Nothing more beyond checking for a full gas tank and the mileage clocked. Having read several negative reviews about car rental companies in Iceland, my concerns were unfounded. I chose to book through Northbound for its competitive pricing, good reviews and ample details on their website, after having done a fair amount of online research. I will recommend and use Northbound's services again on future trips.

Wai Yee

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

At our puckup time, nobody was at the Desk at RVK. We needed to wait 30 minutes to get our car.

Return was obly possible without staff present via keybox.

Car was fine as booked.

Wolfgang

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Focus

View all cars from this company

Click here

Very Good! Only lacked some explanations on the roads to take (same for every rental company from what I heard)

Frédéric

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2018 Mazda CX-3

We booked a 2015 Ford Focus at Keflavik's Thriffty depot through Northbound. The bus from the airport to the car rental was quick. We got the extra Grand Collision Damage waiver and when we inspected the car, the clerk felt the tires were a little slim on the threads so after a bit of discussion she upgraded us to a 2017 Ford Kuga AWD with GPS, free of charge.

The only gripe we had was that most gas stations are "automats" which only accept credit cards (ours, from Canada, didn't work for some reason), although this had nothing to do with the rental itself.

Nicolas

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Focus

hi, Rúnar, Thrifty's Volvo xc90, which you borrowed through your company, was in good condition and the staff was friendly. If you visit Iceland next time, I will use your company again. Thank you. Rúnar

Eunbae

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2018 Volvo XC90

excellent.

Tanweer

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2018 Citroen C4 Grand Picasso

Very quick and easy to book a good value rental - the car we collected was better than booked and a query about the onboard Wi-fi was quickly sorted out over the phone

Emma

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2018 Ford Focus

Everything worked great. Car pickup went smoothly, the car was just what the four of us needed. It had very low km on it and it was good on diesel fuel. The Thrifty people were nice and got us on the road quickly. Drop off was easy and we waited about 10 minutes for the shuttle back to the airport which took maybe another 7 minutes. Overall, a real good experience

Julia

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2018 Citroen Berlingo