Reviews for Thrifty Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Thrifty Car Rental
Submitted 24. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Great!
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 23. Sep 2017
Good
Overall all went well with car rental. Some problems with arriving to get our car (shuttle bus) from office.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 22. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Positive experience, the car was in very good shape, the helpdesk at thrifty were very helpful and overall everything went smoothly.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 30. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Very quick and easy to book a good value rental - the car we collected was better than booked and a query about the onboard Wi-fi was quickly sorted out over the phone
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 20. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
It was perfect!
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 23. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
The staff were very professional and efficient. They came out to the car and checked it over with me to make sure any previous dents or scratches were properly recorded. They also gave me a free GPS, which turned out to be more necessary than I expected.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 26. Sep 2017
Good
Overall the process was very smooth. We were provided with a Ford Kuga which we were quite pleased with, although I suspect the Mazda may have been a better vehicle. Thrify also were having issues with their in-car wifi system (which we only found out after we had driven far away), so ended up having to return to Reykyavik the following day to pick up a dongle. Definitely make sure you check wifi is working before leaving! Northbound were great though - no issues with them at all, and everything with the booking otherwise was excellent.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 15. Oct 2017
Excellent
Smooth pick-up and drop-off of rental car at Thrifty Car Rental. At pick-up, the staff showed us the full gas tank, nicks on the car bonnet that were already noted on the rental documents and assured us that the Premium CDW we had opted for provided full coverage (except damage arising from driving in rivers, tyres and wheels, which we were aware of and the staff reiterated). Returning the car at 5am (to catch a 7am flight) was quick and hassle-free. Nothing more beyond checking for a full gas tank and the mileage clocked. Having read several negative reviews about car rental companies in Iceland, my concerns were unfounded. I chose to book through Northbound for its competitive pricing, good reviews and ample details on their website, after having done a fair amount of online research. I will recommend and use Northbound's services again on future trips.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 27. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Everything worked great. Car pickup went smoothly, the car was just what the four of us needed. It had very low km on it and it was good on diesel fuel. The Thrifty people were nice and got us on the road quickly. Drop off was easy and we waited about 10 minutes for the shuttle back to the airport which took maybe another 7 minutes. Overall, a real good experience
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 19. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience with Thirfty Car Rental was good, especially customer service was really helpfull- they patiently answered many questions we had before our trip.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 26. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Thrifty is located a few minutes away from the main terminal, together with most of the other rental companies. There's a large shuttle bus that passes through every 20 minutes, so be prepared to survive outside for a few minutes.

Picking up (and dropping off) the car from Thrifty went smoothly. There were just one or two people ahead of us, and the staff was efficient, so we didn't have to wait for more than a few minutes.

The "Mazda CX-3 AWD (or similar)" turned out to be a slightly larger Mazda CX-5, which was fine with me. The car's paint had pre-existing damage from gravel, which was great, since I had declined insurance coverage for that kind of damage...
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 19. Sep 2017
Excellent
Even though we did have a couple of minor problems with our Mazda CX5, our experience with Thrifty was positive. On our first day we had the "key battery low" sign appear, but thankfully we were still in Reykjavik and were able to get the second key from their city office. Then on the 3rd day the "BSM malfunction" sign appeared across the dashboard. That was scary, since we didn't know what BSM means. We calls the Thrifty number, a person immediately responded, though it was past 10 pm. The guy had to find out what BSM means. A few minutes later he called us back to let us know that it means Blind Spot Monitor, which was not important at all. No other issues while driving or when we returned the car. We didn't purchase any additional insurance from them (I received a letter of coverage from Mastercard, but didn't have to show it to them).
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 06. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Very easy process. Fast and courteous people working there. Great car, too.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 19. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Excelent. Car was waiting for us when we arrived. Clean with full tank. Drop off was equally efficient.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 26. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent. The pickup process was quick as well as returning back the vehicle. The van is clean when we pick up and it's a comfortable ride for 9 passengers as well as able to fit luggage bags at the rear. The car rental pick up location is very near to the Keflavik airport. The confirmation email should be updated with altenative 5 minutes walk, thus we don't have to wait for the shuttle bus out in the cold :)
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 07. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
It was great. I've used them before in Iceland and always have a great experience.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 15. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Experience was good. We had rented a compact to save on gas money and overall rental money. When we arrived they did not have a compact, instead we got a new Mazda MX-5 which was not as good on gas but was a 4x4. It turned out to be very lucky for us as a few places we wanted to go were 4x4 only roads and would have missed out on them altogether with the compact. We did spend an extra $50-$60 USD a day on gas however we all thought this was reasonable for the amount of travel we were doing.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 07. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Everything went very well. Car was ready upon arrival and very easy drop off process. Booking with northbound was easy and all my question were answered promptly.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 11. Oct 2017
Outstanding!
We booked a 2015 Ford Focus at Keflavik's Thriffty depot through Northbound. The bus from the airport to the car rental was quick. We got the extra Grand Collision Damage waiver and when we inspected the car, the clerk felt the tires were a little slim on the threads so after a bit of discussion she upgraded us to a 2017 Ford Kuga AWD with GPS, free of charge.

The only gripe we had was that most gas stations are "automats" which only accept credit cards (ours, from Canada, didn't work for some reason), although this had nothing to do with the rental itself.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 05. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was done easily and efficiently - but then again that's Iceland for you!
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 02. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Entire experience was fantastic from the car itself to service received
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 07. Sep 2017
Good
The Ford focus was fine, a little beat up, full of scratches on front bumper and a huge dent right rear passenger side, dent on drivers side too. Was hard to see the damage in the rain and darkness at night when I picked up the car. However the car rental guy walk around the car to inspect it with a flashlight. The car got us to all the sites and spots we needed to see and was good on gas. Overall a good experience.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 04. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Great
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 31. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
An excellent service! The free travel guide included was really handy and the service from Northbound and Thrifty was great! Really glad we decided to get in-car wifi and full insurance. Thank you and I would definitely recommend you to my friends.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 05. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
fine :)
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 01. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
We were thoroughly pleased with Northbound's car rental service (using Thrifty). We had elected a Citroen Berlingo and received a comparable Peugeot. Check-in and return at KEF Thrifty was effortless, and the car itself was in perfect condition / no issues. We chose Northbound for 3 reasons: 1) the prices couldn't be beat, and I had researched a ton 2) I finally found an agency that did not bundle insurances; I had arranged to use my Visa credit card for collision coverage, therefore I didn't want to pay extra for unnecessary bundled collision insurance and 3) they offered this sizeable diesel vehicle (like a compact minivan) which was comfortably spacious for a family of four with luggage while still not costing a fortune in fuel; plus the views from every seat... a smaller car would have meant smaller windows for the backseat. I'm so happy we stumbled upon Northbound.is, I've already recommended them to others planning their travel, will continue to recommend, and will definitely use again when we return.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 04. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
The car was good. We had no problems. Ran smoothly
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 17. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Service was great from clicking "pay my deposit" to dropping off the car months later and leaving Iceland. Everyone was knowledgable and helpful. Thanks!
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 27. Aug 2017
Good
The car was relatively new, but had already some technical issues. Luckily they checked the car before and made notes about those. Car itself - motor was very weak, not good for long distance driving.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 02. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
recommended to everyone, quick in answer to each question, lower prices.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 22. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
I was very pleased with our experience with Thrifty. We rented the Citroen Berlingo for a week. It was the perfect size for 5 adults and had lots of room for luggage. Did really well on gas as well. Customer service was very good. I called northbound prior to booking and they were helpful with answering my questions. My only suggestion would be to add another shuttle bus to and from Thrifty to airport. We waited about 15 minutes (both for pick up and return of car) for the shuttle bus and then almost didn't get on as it was extremely crowded.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 21. Aug 2017
Good
It was an overall positive experience renting with Thrifty through Northbound initially. Runar from Northbound was quick to respond to all inquiries prior to our trip and the vehicle was there for our group of eight upon arrival at the Thrifty office. We were initially docking at 2:30 p.m. and I was informed a person from Thrifty would be there to meet us at the dock with the shuttle to take us to the Thrifty office. We ended up late and did not dock until after 4:30 p.m. We waited a while because no one was there to meet us with the shuttle. After walking around and trying to locate someone, we ended up calling to tell them we had arrived. I wonder if there was no way for Thrifty to know we had docked late due to weather and that is the reason we waited and had to call? After that initial delay, all worked out in the end. For future, perhaps there could be a better way for Thrifty to know when cruise ships arrive later than expected? Thanks again!
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 21. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Everything went fine!
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 09. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
We had a very good experience with Thrifty and renting a car from them via Northbound. Picking up the car and returning it took very little time. The car was in great shape, yet at the same time, Thrifty had meticulously detailed any minor scratches so there was no issue upon return that we had caused any damage. After examining several rental car websites for Iceland that frankly were very confusing and the subject of some negative reviews, I would highly recommend using the Northbound site. It was easy to understand, easy to compare prices, and it seemed like they had taken the time to make sure they only had quality, reliable cars on their search results. After booking the car, I received a very friendly, personalized note from Northbound letting me know that they were there to answer any questions. We never had any, but it was reassuring to get a note from Northbound when renting a car in a country that we had never visited before.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 21. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
it was great.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 18. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
We had originally booked a manual rather than automatic car but there were none available so the employee at Thrifty offered us a Ford Ka manual or a Mazda 2 automatic.
We chose the Mazda 2 which was very good and we were pleased with it.
The inspection when we picked up and dropped off the car was quick and both employees were very courteous.
No complaints.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 30. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Car was as expected, everything worked alright.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 13. Oct 2017
Excellent
Very Good! Only lacked some explanations on the roads to take (same for every rental company from what I heard)
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 08. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience with Thrifty Car Rental at Keflavik was faultless! Staff were quick, efficient, friendly and courteous, and the car, a Peugeot 308 estate was excellent. It was economical, smooth and comfortable. Thanks.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 16. Aug 2017
Excellent
Part 1: we rented the car in the airport. The general reception was fine and friendly, however the clerk was totally inexperienced and had to go behind the partition to get answers to our questions. At the end his supervisor appeared and she was totally impatient with our questions (the questions were not at all unreasonable).
Part 2: we took the insurance that covered all possible damages, except for tires for some reason. We had two mishaps on the road. One with a trailer that nearly pushed us off the road when returning from overtaking us. He ended up knocking out left-hand mirror. The other was an ancounter with a sheep that chose to run towards the car and hit it. In Akurairi airport we contacted Thrifty offices by phone and within 15 minutes arrived two very nice and polite representatives, inspected the car (they were not at all impressed with the damage) and replaced it with another similar car. The rest of the trip was uneventful and we returned the car in Reyjavik city. The office there was polite and helpful and provided a lift back to town.
Remark: Ford Fiesta is suitable and adequate for two passengers with suitcases to travel the ring road.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 25. Jul 2017
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 02. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
It was ok, they were kind and helpfull.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 12. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Brilliant!
total waiting time = 5 minutes, almost new car and the exact car we've ordered, helpful and charming staff
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 23. Jul 2017
Worst car I've ever rented
This car was beat up
had dents all over ,hub caps missing from one side,doors would not close completely because of all the previous damage so rain leaked into car.
It takes about 30 minutes to fill up with fuel because the tube you put fuel into was damaged so you have fill very slowly so the pump doesn't shut off.
They gave me the car with 3/4 of a tank so they must have known about this problem before.
This is a car you would expect from rent a wreck!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 23. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
They gave me a Peugeot 208, which for me was a better option. The car felt good, I drove more than 2000 km over both tarmac and gravel roads. I had no problems with the car.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 27. Jul 2017
Excellent
Good. Got free shuttle service to and from the car rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 16. Aug 2017
Hi, Runar,

It was a perfect brand new car and we liked it. But how can you imagine renting a AWD without a spare wheel ? Just because it cost less to buy and anyway the flat are not include in the assurance. And if you call the assistance they don't really know what to do!
King regards. Sylvie
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 24. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 22. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Our Troop of 27 people rented (3) 9 passenger vans from Thrifty via Northbound.
Thrifty was great and the vans were as expected. The true hero in our story is Rúnar of Northbound.
I was tasked with the effort of pricing this out, to see if it made sense for our troop to pursue. During my search on the internet of various rental companies, Northbound kept coming up with the best prices.
The Customer Service while making this decision was top notch and you’d expect it to drop off once the vehicles were booked, but that’s not the case with Northbound.
Rúnar and I had a 3 month, long distance e-mail relationship in which he answered every question, dispensed advice, (do check out his pamphlet “Iceland 101”) and remembered our need for cargo space, which in the ninth hour was able to switch our reservation to a different set of vans that provided that space, offered a discount, and came with a higher tier of insurance.
Even after I messed up and forgot that when we arrived in Iceland a new day would have had begun and I booked the vans for the date we departed, he was on top of refunding a day’s rental.
When my family of 4 decides to return to Iceland, Northbound and Rúnar will be our first contact.
Be well,
Cheers
Nicholas Leary
BSA - Assistant Scoutmaster Troop 610 Pelham, NH USA
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 25. Jul 2017
Good
General experience with the Thrifty Car Rental is overall pretty good. We had only problem at the beginning of our journey as I didn't know that the car could be payed only via credit card. Very luckily, my two companions had credit cards with 75% of the needed amount of money. The guy at the desk was very helpful as he divided the payment to separate checks so that we could pay 75% of the price using two credit cards and for the rest I was allowed with paying by my debit card.
Regarding the car, it was rather new and suitable for 3 persons and lot of luggage. The only downside was that the provided Ford Focus didn't have an automatic cruise control (tempomat) which should be recommended for the Ring road (as there is mostly limit of 90 km/h). Other than that, we are happy that we were provided with the 2015 (fairly new) Ford Focus and we were satisfied with the help of the guy at the desk.
If the rating 5 means the best and 1 the worst, I'll rate the service with the 4.
rented a vehicle in July 2017