2 star reviews for all companies

I would say it was not so good, not so bad.
First of all, we went to collect the van, and the one they gave us was not the one we asked. We asked F. Transit Connect with a special distribution in the back and they wanted to give us a Docker without the space more than the bed. The Docker was very new but the back space was less. As far as we told them we asked about the Transit 2006, they showed us the van... it was so old!! This van cannot be for rental any more!! It has problems with the gas deposit...So, we told them that if we have any problem, I will claim and show it in their web. At last, they reconsidered the subject and give us a newer F. Transit (for 3 people) that they have available so after the fight they do it ok.
During our trip, the front wiper stopped working and we called to 24h service. They told us they agency will call us but they never did. We wait one full day more, calling again to 24h...

Ainhoa

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

The car was in poor condition. Halfway the journey the battery went dead. Northern lights told us that we probably left the lights on, which is not true. They would look for someone who would be able to give us a jumpstart but we were ofcourse on the other side of the island. There were no starter cables present in the car so after looking for a long time we found someone willing to help who also had starting cables. Since northern lights had not yet reached out again. Later that day the car wouldn’t start again, we bought our own starting cables and found someone willing to help.
I told northern lights and they told us to go to a repairshop in Akureyri. There they could tell us that it was a cable which was connected poorly and got loose and disconnected the battery from the car.
Furthermore the cooling fluid was empty. As in totally empty. We had to refill it with water while traveling...

Ferdy

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

suzuki did not work: no power and the door in the back was locked. The receptionist have changed the car.
The shuttle was not available from airport to rental office and we waited about 40 minutes to starting the service

Giorgio

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny

We have several complaints regarding the camper:
The refrigirator did only work on gas and it was very difficult to start. Every time we should start it we used between 15-30 minuts.
The blind curtains did not work.
The heatet over heated so it smelled ekectrical burned.
The camper door was very difficult to open/close.
The key to the camper was half brooken.
The camper also had a hole in the tavle and the plate to cover the gas was missing.
So in total, I am not happy at all. I did expect something better due to the cost I paid to rent the camper.

Helle

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020

We were disappointed with the rented vehicle: the handbrake did not work, there was no more washer fluid. We did appreciate the heated seats, however ;-)

The procedures for taking the vehicle are simple, we would have appreciated that the inventory of fixtures be established jointly with the lessor and this, to facilitate the inventory of fixtures when the vehicle is handed over at the end of the rental.

VALERIE

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We were supposed to get a Automatic 2017 Hyundai ix35 - Guaranteed Model
Vehicle Group: HYUNDAI IX35 TUCSON 2017 EXEC. 4X4 AUTO FREE GPS/4G WIFI BOX (diesel as clearly specified in the reservation process by Nothbund) as reported in the booking and Fara delivered a Subaru XV (PETROL) with 205.000 km on! We have experienced also some light on for low level of oil and some others.

Marco Luigi

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Free Cancellation & Amendments

tires have been run down, GPS was not provided, car was dirty inside, tank was not full, radio was not working, license plate loose, team very unfriendly > stay away

Hauke

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

The Suzuki we first got had just winter tyres no spikes. The car already run 280.000km. The door from the sidecar passenger was damaged. The wind was blowing throw the door and you could see the A-pillar throw the sealing of the door.
On the second day the battery has crashed after we spent a half hour walking. Then I have called them and explained the problem with the battery. They said probably we have forgotten something to take off in the car. Probably it would be our Fault but when we do not feel safe with the car we could come back and change it. That is what we did. Then I explained the problem with the door. At this point the guy already noticed that a steel plate is missing at the door. I explained him that this probably has been already when we got the car because of the damage the door already has. Then he asked me if I had talked with someone about that already. I have denied that...

Artur

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

the car was good, but somebody of the compagny should have told me before that winter time is not the right time to rent this kind of car , the price is to high for this conditione , there are no f roads to drive on they where al closed , I had the impression that i could go camp anywhere but this was not possible, camp sites are very expensive , we pay 2000 kr pp for a bit of toilet paper and shower. the compagny should have advised people like me to rent a normal 4x4 and stay in campsite houses , that way we should safe money and have a better time. for the rest iceland is amazing . greet vincent

Vincent

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2017 Mitsubishi Pajero Camper

Was dissapointed as because i dont use credit cards i had to purchase extra insurance which cost about 60 pound more than i was orignally quoted for the car

Peter

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Jimny

The car was good.
The Service and the company wasn‘t as they barely could say „Hello,good morning“ or something Else. Really unfriendly - and we were Not alone with this opinion. You dont get a receipt about your deposit and when you bring the Car back you dont get a receipt either. They just say we closed the contract so we cant charge you anymore. Not very trustful. They go around the car and look for every little thing and of you dont made photos or a video before your leaving they will charge you because you have no Proof that the damage has already been on the car. Luckily we Made a Video - another couple Not. The drivers from and to the Airport were totally rude.
Wouldnt Book there again. Would rather Pay More money without any possible surprises at the end. And Even if you have a Package for the extra insurance they exclude the Most of it pzr of the contract. The only nice Person was The one when we arrived in the Office...

Sophia

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Pickup: nobody was there and there are a lot of companies with similar names so this was quite confusing. After waiting 10 minutes the driver arrived.
Too many people crammed into the pickup bus (4 on the back seat instead of 3, 4 on the front seat including driver.
Check in was fine. We received an 'upgrade' but later found out our upgrade was not a 4x4?
Car was dirty, on the outside as well as inside (trunk). Lots of scratches. Tank was not completely full (80% full). We drove to the nearest tankstation to fill it up and clean it.
when we returned the car they tried to blame one of the existing scratches on us, luckily we had made pictures of all the damages beforehand. Would not recommend :-(

Guido

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara
Supplier response:
Dear Guido,

Thank you for this review. We would like to point out that it is written on the voucher that our shuttle goes back and forth between our office and airport to pick up our customers. We provided you with an upgrade and it was a 4x4 vehicle as booked. We do apologise if the vehicle was not clean like we take pride in. We would also like to point out that we did not blame for existing damage, but did ask for photos as there was a scratch that had been missed on the damage report signed by us and the renter.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

We did not have any issue with the car while we were travelling. However, the car was dirty when they gave it to us. The bedsheets were smelling very badly like they have been left in the car and not being washed. For the drop off, we picked the time 6am on the website but what a surprise to realise, when we arrived there, that the office only opened at 7am. Also, every time we had to call their emergency number nobody replied. Finally, we had to remind them the features we have paid extra for as they did not even check our booking.

Juliette

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Vehicle was OK. It was old and in pretty beat up condition. The front tires should not be in that vehicle as the drivers side was almost bald and the passenger side not much better. Hi nice you got over 85 km it would shake. I never really noticed due to the bad weather until the start of day 3 that was the problem. We had a short period of time to tour the island and I was not going to waste time trying to get a vehicle changes out when we were in the north east. I informed the rental peon when dropping by off and they made a very small concession in regards to waiving a $30 admin fee for missing the tunnel fee but otherwise was not really given any compensation for that part which was a fairly significant safety issue and slowed us down appt.
Keith

Keith Guillaume

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was good. Most people in Iceland are not very friendly. It may be the culture. When returning my last vehicle one of the associates were more concerned about filling the coffee than assisting customers. I won’t go back to Iceland, based on my experience.

Paul

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Citroen Berlingo

Dear Nordic Campers and Wild Campers,


I’m writing you because I rented a Nordic Campers camper van through the website Wild Campers, and the experience was not fulfilling.

My girlfriend and I rented a Dacia Dokker with a bed and a stove, and we expected, as your website proclaimed, that the car was equipped with a heating system, to warm up the nights. as we found out, this heating system was not at all installed, and we ended up spending most nights freezing.

Furthermore, as we came to pick up the car at the arranged hour, we were met with a car that first had to be prepared with curtains and a mattress, a door that could not be locked, and after driving away almost content, the car started smoking from the rear end and it would not accelerate as it should. Therefore, once more, we returned to the office in Keflavik, and were told to just drive off (from there, the car worked fine)...

Rasmus

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Very disappointed upon arrival, we wasted 3hrs getting the caravan for an engine light to come on 2 miles down the road. We returned it and then had to argue that we didn't want the same campervan which took another 1hr30mins to sort out. Overall I was very disappointed with the organisation and that we missed out on a number of locations on our route due to this.

It would take some convincing to book with you again after this experience, this was a scout for future visits and I feel let down. People were nice but that only is part of the experience the rest was terrible. We met another Camper from the same company broken down waiting hours to be helped, we witnessed cars being given out that needed to be jump started.. Not good.

Llewellyn

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019

Everything about it was wonderfully efficient! My only complaint is that the camper did not have overnight heating. When looking to make this reservation, the description of this camper lead me to believe that the camper had an overnight heater; it did not. For many of the nights (7 out of 10) was unable to get good/any sleep because temperatures were as low as 0°C. I am sure I would have enjoyed my stay more had I not been mislead and surprised upon the rental pickup.
This unclear communication is why I am ranking my experience so low (uncomfortable and poor sleeping conditions for 10 days is enough to ruin a potentially amazing trip). Had communication been clear, I would have definitely given a rating of "5".

Laura

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

Hi,
Our experience with the car itself was not as good as we expected. The car was pretty old, it had 155.000km on the clock and was not comfortable to be driven at all, brakes clutch, transmission, direction control, suspension, everything has to be checked and repaired in that car prior renting it. Icelandic roads are rough and sometimes can be dangerous in a car like that.
The rooftent was in the same condition as the car, pretty old with holes everywhere (we had to buy duct tape to repair it).

Although the pick-up at drop-off with NL was really easy going, and the staff was friendly as well.

We are coming back to Iceland soon (hopefully) and we will try another car rental company and maybe a different car also, but we will most probably use Northbound again as the website and customer service is good.

Alberto

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Found it difficult to close, especially since we are short. First night the zipper on one side broke so we couldn’t close it. Sleeping bags first provided were not warm enough. Second car we got was an old Jeep. Rear windshield wiper didn’t work. Was very disappointed in this rental! Would not recommend them.

Diane

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Hi,

overall the car was OK but I have to tell you that the people we met in the office were very arrogant and rude with us, specially at the beginning. Please fine below the details:

- The car didn't have a rear shelf, we complained about it. First they said this car never comes with a rear shelf. However we saw a few car with it. Then we told them about it and they took one from another car and gave it to us.
- The presure of the tyres was not the correct one (we got the light). They changed it after we came back and the message light about the pressure was ON during the whole trip.
- We tried to change the car because we didn't feel safe with these lights and also because we got a different car than the car booked - However they said it was not possible
- After a few kilometers another service light was ON, we thought it was because the car passed 20000km - Nobody said anything about it and we were scared about the whole trip...

David

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Our original flight was canceled I sent an email regarding the change. The rental (Northern Lights) apparently did not recieve the message.
When we arrived, we had to have the help desk call to have us picked up.
The man that transported us from the airport to the car rental location was VERY rushed, did not help with luggage. We had to chase after him.... were instructed to "C'mon, C'mon let's go. Put the bags in ... get in". There was NO conversation on the way.
When we arrived, he said "the keys are in it, go!"
We went in, signed agreements and left.
On returning vehicle, the person who so rudely picked us up from the airport was more conversant, NOT helpful with luggage, but delivered us to the airport alive.
The vehicle was less than expected ... never used on "F" roads (I don't think it could handle them ... regardless)
The Jimny struggled to make it up most hills, specifically Route 1...

Sophia

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

First time in my life I had such a terrible experience with car rent. After airport pickup some weird things started. We were driven to unknown company to take a Land Cruiser from them. Unfortunately or maybe not, the only option was to take uncleaned car, but with different conditions (not the same we had in our confirmation from Nordic Car Rental). The price was bigger about 300 Eur and other things I didn't check. We rejected their generous offer and went to Nordic Car rental office to look for the truth. In the office they had another generous offer for us: "we can return your deposit, because we don't have a Land Cruiser that you booked".
Long story short: after some negotiations, we took Dacia Duster for couple of days, until they have Land Cruiser. It ruined our plan , but luckily after two days, we got our car and it was the newer model.
All in all, beauty of Iceland compensates everything!

Augustas

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2014 Toyota Land Cruiser

I didn't get support to use GPS from Icerental4x4 . We paid for GPS and the GPS is not user friendly, it only knows few places and couldn't put the address I wanted to go to. The people at the rental office are not cooperative to show how to use it and one guy suggested to use POI and was horriable experiance to go from one place to another.
We ended up to come to the office by selecting Drop off option from the list and asked to drop us to our hotel as wecouldn't put the address to the hotel and we paid extra to go to airport next day

Helen

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Hi Runar,

Thank you for asking. The experience with Icerental 4x4 was not so good as expected.

1. Provided car was overused 140 000 km for Subaru Forester 2018
2. We had oil exposure within motor tank. In Rejkyavik I was seen some oil signs on the car, I have opened motor tank and saw there a lot of oil, we have contacted support, they checked and tell us that someone forgot to close oil tank, I have closed it manually.... I was a bit confused to listen it, why it was NOT checked...
3. Receiving a car was so slow...... we arrived at 1:00 a.m. and got car just around 4:00 a.m.
4. At the end we have paid 1100 euro for 2 scratches..... I still didnt get response from them, what is the real price and if I should get refund
5. The last one they charge deposite 3000 euro. First time I got such practice. Money still not returned to me

Appreciate your interest, hope they will improve the service...

Yevgeniy

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai Tucson

The rental itself was ok. The vehicle had done 228000km so wasnt perfect and had a crack in the windscreen. The interior had seen better days with the heated seat button having been lost into the panel. The concern from me is what company Icerental used for their vehicle maintenance as the day before we were due to travel back from Akureyri to Keflavik were were driving along and I noticed a wheel wobble. I got out to find that 3 wheel nuts had sheered off. Thankfully I had brought the car, with myself my wife and 4 year old, to a safe stop but this could have ended very differently particularly if it had been a heavy snow day! The recovery was arranged and collected in about an hour. We then were taken back to Akureyri where we had to wait for the fix. In total we lost about 4-5 hours of the trip. I understand there are vehicle defects but from mine and recovery drivers comments this is most likely to have been caused by incorrect wheel changing...

Christopher

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

The car had a whopping 150.000 km and left the battery depleted in the first stop, while driving up to the north. In an attempt to call for road assistance, the customer service accused us for making a bad use of the car and threatened us to pay for the expenses rather than helping us find a solution.

Kevin

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

They treated us right and there was no unexpected taxes.
But when we got stucked in a blizzard they didn't help us at all, we had to get out by ourselves.

Pablo

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2017 KIA Sorento

Not a great car in the weather conditions that Iceland experiences. Did not feel safe on many of the roads (which were mostly clear) but wind made them extremely hazardous. Next time I would hire a much sturdier car. I would have found honesty from the hire company that the car I am hiring is suitable for Iceland and not a ‘toy’ car as was how it was described on our return of the car. Found this offensive.

Kerry

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a Suzuki Jimny

We had reserved two Suzuki Grand Vitara’s from Icerental 4x4 but only one reservation went through due to a error on their side. As a result, we weren’t on the list to be picked up from the airport, and this caused us to waste time at the airport. They ended up giving us two Jeep Grand Cherokees. The horns on the cars did not work, and there were many times drivers in Iceland suddenly stopped or tried to pull out suddenly in front of us, but we had no way of honking to let them know. We were lucky to not have gotten into an accident. As for Icerental 4x4 the company, they tried to make money off of every little imperfection in the car - thank goodness we had pictures and videos! Northbound should really look at the google reviews for Icerental 4x4 and reconsider offering their services.

Elaine

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara