2 star reviews for all companies

The Suzuki we first got had just winter tyres no spikes. The car already run 280.000km. The door from the sidecar passenger was damaged. The wind was blowing throw the door and you could see the A-pillar throw the sealing of the door.
On the second day the battery has crashed after we spent a half hour walking. Then I have called them and explained the problem with the battery. They said probably we have forgotten something to take off in the car. Probably it would be our Fault but when we do not feel safe with the car we could come back and change it. That is what we did. Then I explained the problem with the door. At this point the guy already noticed that a steel plate is missing at the door. I explained him that this probably has been already when we got the car because of the damage the door already has. Then he asked me if I had talked with someone about that already. I have denied that...

Artur

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

the car was good, but somebody of the compagny should have told me before that winter time is not the right time to rent this kind of car , the price is to high for this conditione , there are no f roads to drive on they where al closed , I had the impression that i could go camp anywhere but this was not possible, camp sites are very expensive , we pay 2000 kr pp for a bit of toilet paper and shower. the compagny should have advised people like me to rent a normal 4x4 and stay in campsite houses , that way we should safe money and have a better time. for the rest iceland is amazing . greet vincent

Vincent

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2017 Mitsubishi Pajero Camper

Was dissapointed as because i dont use credit cards i had to purchase extra insurance which cost about 60 pound more than i was orignally quoted for the car

Peter

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Jimny

The car was good.
The Service and the company wasn‘t as they barely could say „Hello,good morning“ or something Else. Really unfriendly - and we were Not alone with this opinion. You dont get a receipt about your deposit and when you bring the Car back you dont get a receipt either. They just say we closed the contract so we cant charge you anymore. Not very trustful. They go around the car and look for every little thing and of you dont made photos or a video before your leaving they will charge you because you have no Proof that the damage has already been on the car. Luckily we Made a Video - another couple Not. The drivers from and to the Airport were totally rude.
Wouldnt Book there again. Would rather Pay More money without any possible surprises at the end. And Even if you have a Package for the extra insurance they exclude the Most of it pzr of the contract. The only nice Person was The one when we arrived in the Office...

Sophia

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Pickup: nobody was there and there are a lot of companies with similar names so this was quite confusing. After waiting 10 minutes the driver arrived.
Too many people crammed into the pickup bus (4 on the back seat instead of 3, 4 on the front seat including driver.
Check in was fine. We received an 'upgrade' but later found out our upgrade was not a 4x4?
Car was dirty, on the outside as well as inside (trunk). Lots of scratches. Tank was not completely full (80% full). We drove to the nearest tankstation to fill it up and clean it.
when we returned the car they tried to blame one of the existing scratches on us, luckily we had made pictures of all the damages beforehand. Would not recommend :-(

Guido

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara
Supplier response:
Dear Guido,

Thank you for this review. We would like to point out that it is written on the voucher that our shuttle goes back and forth between our office and airport to pick up our customers. We provided you with an upgrade and it was a 4x4 vehicle as booked. We do apologise if the vehicle was not clean like we take pride in. We would also like to point out that we did not blame for existing damage, but did ask for photos as there was a scratch that had been missed on the damage report signed by us and the renter.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

We did not have any issue with the car while we were travelling. However, the car was dirty when they gave it to us. The bedsheets were smelling very badly like they have been left in the car and not being washed. For the drop off, we picked the time 6am on the website but what a surprise to realise, when we arrived there, that the office only opened at 7am. Also, every time we had to call their emergency number nobody replied. Finally, we had to remind them the features we have paid extra for as they did not even check our booking.

Juliette

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Vehicle was OK. It was old and in pretty beat up condition. The front tires should not be in that vehicle as the drivers side was almost bald and the passenger side not much better. Hi nice you got over 85 km it would shake. I never really noticed due to the bad weather until the start of day 3 that was the problem. We had a short period of time to tour the island and I was not going to waste time trying to get a vehicle changes out when we were in the north east. I informed the rental peon when dropping by off and they made a very small concession in regards to waiving a $30 admin fee for missing the tunnel fee but otherwise was not really given any compensation for that part which was a fairly significant safety issue and slowed us down appt.
Keith

Keith Guillaume

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was good. Most people in Iceland are not very friendly. It may be the culture. When returning my last vehicle one of the associates were more concerned about filling the coffee than assisting customers. I won’t go back to Iceland, based on my experience.

Paul

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Citroen Berlingo

Dear Nordic Campers and Wild Campers,


I’m writing you because I rented a Nordic Campers camper van through the website Wild Campers, and the experience was not fulfilling.

My girlfriend and I rented a Dacia Dokker with a bed and a stove, and we expected, as your website proclaimed, that the car was equipped with a heating system, to warm up the nights. as we found out, this heating system was not at all installed, and we ended up spending most nights freezing.

Furthermore, as we came to pick up the car at the arranged hour, we were met with a car that first had to be prepared with curtains and a mattress, a door that could not be locked, and after driving away almost content, the car started smoking from the rear end and it would not accelerate as it should. Therefore, once more, we returned to the office in Keflavik, and were told to just drive off (from there, the car worked fine)...

Rasmus

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Very disappointed upon arrival, we wasted 3hrs getting the caravan for an engine light to come on 2 miles down the road. We returned it and then had to argue that we didn't want the same campervan which took another 1hr30mins to sort out. Overall I was very disappointed with the organisation and that we missed out on a number of locations on our route due to this.

It would take some convincing to book with you again after this experience, this was a scout for future visits and I feel let down. People were nice but that only is part of the experience the rest was terrible. We met another Camper from the same company broken down waiting hours to be helped, we witnessed cars being given out that needed to be jump started.. Not good.

Llewellyn

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019

Everything about it was wonderfully efficient! My only complaint is that the camper did not have overnight heating. When looking to make this reservation, the description of this camper lead me to believe that the camper had an overnight heater; it did not. For many of the nights (7 out of 10) was unable to get good/any sleep because temperatures were as low as 0°C. I am sure I would have enjoyed my stay more had I not been mislead and surprised upon the rental pickup.
This unclear communication is why I am ranking my experience so low (uncomfortable and poor sleeping conditions for 10 days is enough to ruin a potentially amazing trip). Had communication been clear, I would have definitely given a rating of "5".

Laura

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

Hi,
Our experience with the car itself was not as good as we expected. The car was pretty old, it had 155.000km on the clock and was not comfortable to be driven at all, brakes clutch, transmission, direction control, suspension, everything has to be checked and repaired in that car prior renting it. Icelandic roads are rough and sometimes can be dangerous in a car like that.
The rooftent was in the same condition as the car, pretty old with holes everywhere (we had to buy duct tape to repair it).

Although the pick-up at drop-off with NL was really easy going, and the staff was friendly as well.

We are coming back to Iceland soon (hopefully) and we will try another car rental company and maybe a different car also, but we will most probably use Northbound again as the website and customer service is good.

Alberto

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Found it difficult to close, especially since we are short. First night the zipper on one side broke so we couldn’t close it. Sleeping bags first provided were not warm enough. Second car we got was an old Jeep. Rear windshield wiper didn’t work. Was very disappointed in this rental! Would not recommend them.

Diane

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Hi,

overall the car was OK but I have to tell you that the people we met in the office were very arrogant and rude with us, specially at the beginning. Please fine below the details:

- The car didn't have a rear shelf, we complained about it. First they said this car never comes with a rear shelf. However we saw a few car with it. Then we told them about it and they took one from another car and gave it to us.
- The presure of the tyres was not the correct one (we got the light). They changed it after we came back and the message light about the pressure was ON during the whole trip.
- We tried to change the car because we didn't feel safe with these lights and also because we got a different car than the car booked - However they said it was not possible
- After a few kilometers another service light was ON, we thought it was because the car passed 20000km - Nobody said anything about it and we were scared about the whole trip...

David

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Our original flight was canceled I sent an email regarding the change. The rental (Northern Lights) apparently did not recieve the message.
When we arrived, we had to have the help desk call to have us picked up.
The man that transported us from the airport to the car rental location was VERY rushed, did not help with luggage. We had to chase after him.... were instructed to "C'mon, C'mon let's go. Put the bags in ... get in". There was NO conversation on the way.
When we arrived, he said "the keys are in it, go!"
We went in, signed agreements and left.
On returning vehicle, the person who so rudely picked us up from the airport was more conversant, NOT helpful with luggage, but delivered us to the airport alive.
The vehicle was less than expected ... never used on "F" roads (I don't think it could handle them ... regardless)
The Jimny struggled to make it up most hills, specifically Route 1...

Sophia

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

First time in my life I had such a terrible experience with car rent. After airport pickup some weird things started. We were driven to unknown company to take a Land Cruiser from them. Unfortunately or maybe not, the only option was to take uncleaned car, but with different conditions (not the same we had in our confirmation from Nordic Car Rental). The price was bigger about 300 Eur and other things I didn't check. We rejected their generous offer and went to Nordic Car rental office to look for the truth. In the office they had another generous offer for us: "we can return your deposit, because we don't have a Land Cruiser that you booked".
Long story short: after some negotiations, we took Dacia Duster for couple of days, until they have Land Cruiser. It ruined our plan , but luckily after two days, we got our car and it was the newer model.
All in all, beauty of Iceland compensates everything!

Augustas

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2014 Toyota Land Cruiser

Free Cancellation & Amendments

I didn't get support to use GPS from Icerental4x4 . We paid for GPS and the GPS is not user friendly, it only knows few places and couldn't put the address I wanted to go to. The people at the rental office are not cooperative to show how to use it and one guy suggested to use POI and was horriable experiance to go from one place to another.
We ended up to come to the office by selecting Drop off option from the list and asked to drop us to our hotel as wecouldn't put the address to the hotel and we paid extra to go to airport next day

Helen

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Hi Runar,

Thank you for asking. The experience with Icerental 4x4 was not so good as expected.

1. Provided car was overused 140 000 km for Subaru Forester 2018
2. We had oil exposure within motor tank. In Rejkyavik I was seen some oil signs on the car, I have opened motor tank and saw there a lot of oil, we have contacted support, they checked and tell us that someone forgot to close oil tank, I have closed it manually.... I was a bit confused to listen it, why it was NOT checked...
3. Receiving a car was so slow...... we arrived at 1:00 a.m. and got car just around 4:00 a.m.
4. At the end we have paid 1100 euro for 2 scratches..... I still didnt get response from them, what is the real price and if I should get refund
5. The last one they charge deposite 3000 euro. First time I got such practice. Money still not returned to me

Appreciate your interest, hope they will improve the service...

Yevgeniy

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai Tucson

The rental itself was ok. The vehicle had done 228000km so wasnt perfect and had a crack in the windscreen. The interior had seen better days with the heated seat button having been lost into the panel. The concern from me is what company Icerental used for their vehicle maintenance as the day before we were due to travel back from Akureyri to Keflavik were were driving along and I noticed a wheel wobble. I got out to find that 3 wheel nuts had sheered off. Thankfully I had brought the car, with myself my wife and 4 year old, to a safe stop but this could have ended very differently particularly if it had been a heavy snow day! The recovery was arranged and collected in about an hour. We then were taken back to Akureyri where we had to wait for the fix. In total we lost about 4-5 hours of the trip. I understand there are vehicle defects but from mine and recovery drivers comments this is most likely to have been caused by incorrect wheel changing...

Christopher

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

The car had a whopping 150.000 km and left the battery depleted in the first stop, while driving up to the north. In an attempt to call for road assistance, the customer service accused us for making a bad use of the car and threatened us to pay for the expenses rather than helping us find a solution.

Kevin

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

They treated us right and there was no unexpected taxes.
But when we got stucked in a blizzard they didn't help us at all, we had to get out by ourselves.

Pablo

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2017 KIA Sorento

Not a great car in the weather conditions that Iceland experiences. Did not feel safe on many of the roads (which were mostly clear) but wind made them extremely hazardous. Next time I would hire a much sturdier car. I would have found honesty from the hire company that the car I am hiring is suitable for Iceland and not a ‘toy’ car as was how it was described on our return of the car. Found this offensive.

Kerry

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a Suzuki Jimny

We had reserved two Suzuki Grand Vitara’s from Icerental 4x4 but only one reservation went through due to a error on their side. As a result, we weren’t on the list to be picked up from the airport, and this caused us to waste time at the airport. They ended up giving us two Jeep Grand Cherokees. The horns on the cars did not work, and there were many times drivers in Iceland suddenly stopped or tried to pull out suddenly in front of us, but we had no way of honking to let them know. We were lucky to not have gotten into an accident. As for Icerental 4x4 the company, they tried to make money off of every little imperfection in the car - thank goodness we had pictures and videos! Northbound should really look at the google reviews for Icerental 4x4 and reconsider offering their services.

Elaine

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We found the condition of the vehicle disappointing.
The back window wiper is simply not functional, and the drivers’ side wiper provides very difficult visibility (although the passenger side is in good condition). The shifting stick fabric is torn appart, and fortunately you were able to provide a USB to cigarette lightening plug connector, otherwise our USB connector could not charge our phone, which would have been a major safety issue with a dying phone while traveling between towns.

Security is our primary concern with this rental car, as the rear window should at least be visible in a stormy winter condition like today.
Unfortunately, for these reasons, we cannot be recommending your company due to the poor car condition.
On a final note, your service was good at check-in, however please make the necessary repairs on this rental fleet. And it look to us that communication between the retail points could be improved for we got a phone call clarifying drop off, even though it was clear from the contract that drop off point would be different that pick-up.

Sarah

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

the people working there are ok, especially the lady and man from Romania who did the 2 airport transport were very friendly and reliable. But I was very disappointed about the car we received: A Dacia Duster 4 wheel with more than 130.000 kilometers (!!) - I have been renting dozens of car but never had one with more than 100.000 km. Funny enough your rental office team was highly recommending (insisting) to an insurance upgrade for gravel protection which I finally agreed, but what a nonsense for a car with more than 130.000 kilometers that has seen all roads and gravel of whole Iceland hundreds of time... Next pain point: The fuel consumption was terribly high (around 9-10 liters per 100km) also mainly driving 80km with 6th gear and not many steep or bad roads - my budget for filling up the tank was far above everything I had expected before. After 2nd day a yellow warning lamp was showing up - obviously something with air pressure of tires but we first had problems to find out the systematic of checking and charging air...

Andreas

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Did not got the promised car. Was a Suzuki Jimmy. Not really the same class as a Vitata. Would not recommend to anyone.

Philipp

Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

I think the motorhome we hired was sub standard and would not have been acceptable in England.
There were many faults with it on collection such as toilet door would not open without much effort. All blinds were torn or stuck in position. The block out screen for the front would not fit so I had to use a sheet.
Overall I was not very impressed with the quality of the van.

D

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019

I coudn't get this car in Nordic Camper . When we arrive to piick it up, the car was not ready. A crap, old and very dangerous motorhome was ofered instead of the high roof. With no options, we have to take it. We have to drop it the next day because of the danger of driving this car because is slides in te road at every movement of the driving wheel. The third place for my child was unsafe and I will guess to say that ilegal (at least in Spain you can't drive with this dangerous place) A old, dirty hig roof was ofered this day, but engine problems made us take a trafic camper (not ofered at the begining) with no hig roof at the same price than the hig roof, when we know (and told to the employee atvthe moment), that this vehicle was cheaper than the high roof. But again, we doesn't have no optios. The renault trafic had good engine, but all the doors were in very bad conditions...

Alfonso Carlos

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

Hi Runar,
The interaction with the rental location personnel was pleasant. I think they’re spread thin because I had to wait a while and call to be picked up after landing into KEF. The vehicle has issues .. cracked windshield, steering veering to the left, wipers which worked erratically in the rain and a window which was completely inoperable. I was assured that the vehicle was safe to drive and was road worthy. However, given the issues I didn’t feel comfortable driving to destinations in my original plan and kept to good paved roads instead. The people at the rental location checked out each of the issues and promised to fix them all before the car is rented out again. Too bad my rental experience was ruined because of a vehicle riddled with issues.

Regards,

Sanjeev

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We had a number of problems that would make me not want to use Grand Iceland ever again, but I would definitely consider doing the same trip again with another rental company. I thought that it being one of the smaller companies we would get better customer service, but this was not the case. The camper van itself had a nice design with a sink and a cooler and gas stove, all the essentials for cooking meals. However the sink faucet (plastic) was cracked and leaked water all over our belongings each time we used it and then continued a slow leak even when not in use. We drove back to the company on day 1 when we noticed this and they put tape on the faucet (but it still leaked). We get to the campground and find out that our camping card doesn’t work and we don’t have the camping stove anywhere in the van. So we email and his only response is.... try the card again at the next place and buy a stove which he will reimburse us for when we return...

Annette

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2016 Ford Transit Connect Camper