1 star reviews for all companies

Heater didno work

Silvia from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019

Wir waren eine Woche mit einem Nordic Camper Fiat Motorhome (BJ 2008) unterwegs, zu anfangs gab es Schwierigkeiten mit dem Transfer vom Flughafen zum Office von Nordic Campers wir mussten 1h std. warten bis mal jemand kam und das erst nachdem ich angerufen habe. Nach einer schlechten Einführung zur Benützung vom Fiat Motorhome mussten wir noch 3 mal etwas fordern was wir bestellt hatten aber noch nicht im Camper waren. z.b. Bettdecken, Matrazzenspanntuch fürs Bett und 2. wc Chemikalie. Das WC und die Dusche war noch dreckig vom Vorgänger, überall klebten noch Haare an der Duschwand und der Boden sah aus als hätte er noch nie einen Staubsauger gesehen. Es lag sogar noch eine leere Cola Petflasche vom Vorgänger in der Kabine. In der Mitte unserer Reise stieg die Heizung plötzlich aus. Wir versuchten Hilfe zu holen und ruften die Notfallnummer an um 19...

Andrej from Switzerland
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018

Our experience was poor. The company operate a business model that charges high excesses for damages to customers upon vehicle return, for a minor scratch we did not believe had been caused by us. Whilst our experience with Northbound booking agency was excellent, our overall experience was poor.

Gareth from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Douglas from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Northbound is fine... but Geysir Car Rental? Let me tell and you decide. We had a car breakdown near Geysir Hot Spring Area and they didn't send a mechanic, asked us to find volunteers with cars/cables nearby. While talking they asked where we were from...As if this was related to the situation...After 4 hours, they finally sent the mechanic, after several phone calls which most of them they did not pick up.It was really hard to reach them on phone & mail. They did not call us back - not even once to check on us. I mean, if we had been in the middle of a road and not near a touristic area, probably we were frozen waiting.I can't recommend Geysir Car Rental company to anyone having experienced such an incident.

Pelin from Turkey
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

I strongly don't recommend Nordic car rental. The car was really in a bad shape with a lot of broken thing and strongly vibrating under braking. The car was unsafe, tires were almost bald, and we had to clean the air filter by our self. Also, employees were not professionals. We didn't get the car we booked but a model less practical. We're just lucky enough to didn't have any real issue because I don't think is the kind of company that you can have a fair resolution. Bottom line: isn’t a scam but we are not far from it.

Alexis from France
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2013 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

We had to wait more than 30 minuets in the airport for pickup. When the pickup service finally arrived the guy laughed at us because we in his opinion were to demanding?

The car had to many defaults. Windows in drivers seat was not working, doors were not closing proberly, and licens plates were not secured properly to the car with screws. We lost a licens plate while driving on dirt roads and had to pay 10.000 kr. I really thing this was unfair but has to sign and agreement because we had a plain to catch.

Kaare from Denmark
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

There were problems with Iceland 4x4 regarding the car's 4x4 functionality and some of the customer service. I've already addressed this with Iceland 4x4 and they have given me credits to make amends; though appreciated, I may be hard pressed to consider them again.

Mike from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

The vehicle was old and dirty. Nobody explained to us anything about its operation. When it broke down, we did not receive assistance from the company. We had to take the vehicle to the garage. They did not respond to e-mails or text messages, and when they answered the phone they were quite unpleasant and rude. We lost two days with the damaged car outside a garage. To finish, no apology or compensation.

David from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

Poor - Orange had been sold to Geysir, but this was not communicated and the pick up arrangements were not the same - so we waited for nearly an hour at the information desk only to find out we needed to take a shuttle bus to Geysir - something we had no idea about as we had never heard of Geysir before! The service at pick up was poor, it took forever and customer service was pretty bad. All in all, wouldn't rent from them again.

Kirsteen from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Nissan Micra

Hi !!
I rent a gray Suzuki Jimny during July 19th until August 4th. My boyfriend and I liked Iceland et all has been good with the car and the tent....was great. But honestly, the guy who greeted us was really not friendly. He was impatient when we asked him questions, he explain us the price in US money when we asked him to convert all that into Canadian money ... in short ... we were really angry .. and it really started our journey badly. The guy ended up pressing us to sign and ordered us to remove our luggage from his vehicle. In short, I would not recommend anyone else to go and rent from you.

Thank you
Josée Roy-Lafrance
From Canada

Josée from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

My transmission went after 5 or 6 days. So no I didn't like it very much.
However, Clara's customer service was incredible, and I was happy with the resolution, just disappointed with the time lost to the breakdown.

Robin from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Very very poor. Even a rating of 1.0 is too high. I've sent them an email explaining the problems I faced. Happy to forward a copy if you want to be aware of the issues. Please provide an email address that I should forward to if so.

Hemanth from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara

not good.

Klemens from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Not very good really as we had a bad experience with the vehicle sliding off the road on 2 Occassions due to tyre selection. Saturday was totally wasted because of this as we lost lots of time waiting to be recovered and driving around at a snails pace whilst other motorists with studded winter tyres were able to travel the same route with no problem at all. Our confidence in the vehicle/tyres was shattered. You did exchange the vehicle for one fitted with studded tyres which made a massive difference to vehicle control.
We were refunded 1 day's hire fee for the inconvenience but while I reflect on this now I don't think it was adequate compensation as we missed a day out 3 days to travel around the country and my wife was really scared by the experience.
Lesson here is that if you're going to hire out cars with winter tyres without studs you should warn motorists of the dangers or just fit tyres that are studded.

Wyn from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Our pickup was about 40 mins late, we we're told that our whole party of 6 would not be able to be shuttled to the pickup, the interior lights did not work, the fuel gauge was not functioning, we we're given about 1/4 tank upon pick up, the damage report was inaccurate (all damage was listed on the wrong side), the parking brake light was difficult

Kenn from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2017 and rented a 2008 Dodge Durango

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The staff of rent a wreck are very nice and friendly, but we had issues with the vehicles. The first Hyundai i30 (which had 270,000km on it) we received was given to us with extremely bald tires. The cords were showing through in parts (rubber totally gone), and the rest of the rubber was as bald as a balloon. I personally feel it extremely neglectful of them to have sent us out in a car with tires this bald, considering it was heading into winter season and we were likely to encounter frosted roads (which we did). The car was supposed to have winter tires on it, according to my booking. This vehicle also had issues with the keyfob, and we were locked out of the vehicle for 10-15 minutes at a time as we tried to get it to unlock. The physical key didn't fit into the door lock either.

About halfway through our trip we were able to swap to another Hyundai i30 which overall was in better condition, though the e-brake was not functional...

Matthew from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2011 Hyundai i30

We rented a 10 yo car of 140,000 kilometers, bad state with scratches everywhere. Ok for us. Battery problem after two days and a terrible emergency service : we basically didn't get any help. But still ok for us. At the end of our trip, we give back the car : 90000 isk (750 euros) for scratches already there at the beginning but that we didn't photograph (there were so many of them).

Denis from Belgium
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Leider war die Mietwagenfirma eine Enttäuschung. Wir wurden erst 45 Minuten nach vereinbartem Termin vom Flughafen abgeholt und bekamen dann zwar das gebuchte Auto aber ohne Navigationsgerät (mitgebucht, sie hatten auch kein anderes Fahrzeug mehr mit Navi). Zudem war das Fahrzeug in einem sehr schlechtem Zustand: Der Mitarbeiter mußte uns 3x erklären, wie er mit dem Auto rückwärts fährt, sonst hätte es nicht geklappt (mein Mann ist ein guter Autofahrer). Die Handbremse war kaputt, die normale Bremse ging kaum. Die Türen mußten wir aufhalten. Während der Fahrt kam alle 2 Sekunden die Meldung, dass eine Tür nicht ganz zu ist. Und das den ganzen Tag. An einem Tag in der früh ging das Auto garnicht auf. Erst nach 10 Minuten hat es geklappt. Schade. In Deutschland wäre es nie durch den TÜV gekommen.

Tatjana from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Icerental 4x4 not responding to any of my emails. Returned car on 30/7/17 and charged 75,000ISK (£500) for a small dent. Was assured that I would receive the paperwork needed for insurance claim. Nothing. Those good reviews were obviously from people who had a trouble-free experience but if, like me, you experience a problem - beware as they are not very co-operative.

Susan from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i30 Wagon

My experience with Icerental 4x4 was poor. First they were late to pick us up at the airport, which judging by the jokes from the people from the other car rental agencies is a common occurrence. Then when we finally got to the office it was extremely dirty and smelled bad. When they gave me the car it had less than a quarter tank of gas in it and no windshield wiper fluid. Instead of offering to fix the issue I was told just to bring it back the same way. We were supposed to have been given camping supplies including sleeping bags, cooking utensils, and propane. The sleeping bags were not made for an Icelandic climate. I was so cold that I ended up sleeping in the back seat of my car all week with every item of clothing that I had on. We were given half a bottle of cooking fuel, not enough to last for 8 days, and the rooftop tent was not sealed all the way around and offered no protection from the wind or rain...

Sarah from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

1. Icerental 4x4 did not have a car ready at the time we booked.
The manager kept saying "unfortunately ...." and we had to wait an hour for the car to be ready.

2. The company did not lend me a safe vehicle.
The first lent Suzuki Vitara, already run over 180,000Km, had a strange noise and powertrain trouble, so the next day we visit your company again then the mechanic checked and decided to exchange to another car. As a result we lost half day and had to change the itinerary.

3. The newly replaced car, Jeep Cherokee with mileage over 199,000Km, also had serious problem.
When we drive near by Myvatn with almost 90Km/h in the corner, the steering wheel become heavy and engine coolant temp went so high suddenly. I had to control the car very carefully and stopped by road side, then contacted the customer service. After 3 hours, one mechanic came from a garage in Myvatn and checked car, finally he recognized timing belt off and he said they don’t have spare parts...

Jong Geun from Korea, Republic of
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Hi there! Well, all seemed go OK at first, but... the car broke down the third day! It was a bit old and got hot. The company Icerental 4x4 responded reasonably well and provided us a new car four hours after our call (we were 200 km away from Reykiavik) , a Dodge Durango a bit old too but it worked correctly the rest of days although it was a bit dirty. _We will rate 1 the first car but 3 the second one.

Salvador from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee

The initial rental went smoothly enough although it was 4:50 am and only one person was available at rental counter. Our vehicle was already pre-arranged while the couple who went before had seemingly endless decisions so make that took 45 minutes during which an anxious Englishman wanted to drop off his vehicle quickly and the young man looked at us sadly and asked if we were in a hurry. I said we are very tired but of course that took 25 more minutes. Then we asked about getting any kind of breakfast and he directs us to a "bakery" but it was not open yet and had empty trays of Dunkin Donuts to stare at. Adding the surprise $3000 deposit for not taking your insurance even though our credit card covers it made for a rating of 2.0. But now move ahead to Monday which is a national holiday and we are to return car at 2:30 pm at Reykjavik office. So we are 7 minute drive to port to get on our Windstar cruise by 4:00...

Jane from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2017 Toyota Proace Verso

1. The guy who got to pick us up from the airport was 45 minutes late, did not call us though they had my phone number.
2. The Jimny they gave us was very old, broke down after just one day. If you would have to buy such a wreck of a car, the price would be cheaper than the lease for 2 weeks. Fortunately we were still in the Reykjavik area, they brought us a replacement within short time.
3. The replacement car was an even older big car (Nissan Xtrail), very high fuel consumption, never thoroughly cleaned inside - with one exception: the passenger seat was still wet with a brush cleaner or some other acid detergent. My wife got some severe skin inflamnation at her thighs after 2 hrs drive. We covered the seat with a plastic back and a blanket to move on. We probably could have taken legal action for physical injury.
4. Fortunately the Nissan was technically ok and brought us, sometimes over very rough roads, back to Keflavik...

Peter from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Worst car I've ever rented
This car was beat up
had dents all over ,hub caps missing from one side,doors would not close completely because of all the previous damage so rain leaked into car.
It takes about 30 minutes to fill up with fuel because the tube you put fuel into was damaged so you have fill very slowly so the pump doesn't shut off.
They gave me the car with 3/4 of a tank so they must have known about this problem before.
This is a car you would expect from rent a wreck!

Bill from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2017 Citroen C4 Grand Picasso

Very bad experience.
We rented 2 cars. Very bad condition: car with 125000 kms odometer; trunk did not close; R.passenger door diid not open from the inside; light of gas gasket was on 80 percent of the time; gas guzzler
The back of the rental place is filled with crashed cars and tires: very bad impression.
Don't know where they get these cars.
Unacceptable! Were uneasy during entire trip with a car in this condition.

Robbe from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2008 Hyundai Tucson

Not a good experience with Lagoon Car Rental.
Had puncture and found wheel nuts had been put on so tight it was impossible to get them off with the wheel brace supplied with the car. All Lagoon would do is send out a local mechanic to assist who I had to pay 50,000 ISK direct. If the car had been prepared properly I could have changed the wheel my self and would have cost me nothing.
Would not recommend to others and will post my views on social media.

MALCOLM from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

We cannot recommend Icerental 4x4! Our Suzuki Grand Vitara 2010 was not worth the Money.
On Arrival at the Airport we had to wait over 1 hour for the Transfer to the car although the flight were in time. We had to call them by phone and it takes again 30 Minutes until they arrive at the Airport.
The Car, a Suzuki Grand Vitara 2010, 150.000km was terrible worn out, the engine had no power, the gear shift was totally worn out. Remote Control did not work, the aircondition/Ventilation had an error.

Christian from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2017 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Car was extremely dirty when we got it. The cup holders had dirt stuck to it.
The person who assisted us with the documents when we arrived needs training. He did not explain a thing to us. We had to figure everything out ourselves.
Car was great.
Service needs a lot of work.

Radha from South Africa
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2017 and rented a 2017 KIA Sorento